Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Whether driving by the beach or beating the competition by cutting through a parking garage at 200 mph, Midnight Club: Los Angeles provides a seamless, breathtaking environment for everyone who loves to compete. With no load times, no tracks, and no rules, the game allows players to race who they want, when they want, and where they want in an unbelievable recreation of Los Angeles. A racing game is nothing without the great cars and Midnight Club: Los Angeles allows extensive customization of vehicles for both performance and appearance. Players can now fully personalize their officially licensed imports, tuners, classic muscle cars and motorcycles both inside and out with a dizzying array of licensed rims, spoilers, interior gauges, tires and more. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. The pinnacle of the series - honest to the original concept, but faster and better looking. [Dec 2008, p.76]
  2. The soundtrack is better, the characters more convincing and, for our money, the racing experience just that little bit more enjoyable.
  3. Midnight Club Los Angeles is a great racing game that has shown itself as one of the best arcade racers on the market.
  4. Not pretty, but smart as a whip, and constantly quick and accessible. [Christmas 2008, p.74]
  5. Midnight Club LA stays loyal to the series and is by far the most complete and finished version. The game is still a little bit unforgiving and frustrating but keeps it to a minimum. In contradiction, the game offers a very lively Los Angeles and the controls offers you exactly what need: to manouvre through traffic with mind boggling speed.
  6. Rockstar San Diego has created something good here, so if they release a patch that eases things up a bit, they’ll have something even better. If you are looking for something more beginner-friendly, you may just want to give it a rental first.
  7. I really enjoy the look and feel of Midnight Club: Los Angeles, and there's a good amount of content here, but the severe difficulty level makes it all much harder to appreciate. It's punishing, but if you're up for it, there are some sights worth seeing here.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Excellent. There are loads of things to customize your car with, the races are pumped with adrenaline. The police chases even more so. I honestly can't pick out many flaws at all. Higfhly Reccomended. Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Midnight Club: Los Angeles is probably one of my favorite games of all time. The multiplayer is amazing and the single player was good as well. The only issue I had was when I would run into the occasional modder who, (to put it politely) was not very nice. It is not fun running into one unless you are a modder yourself, but even then they still can mess with you. Over all Midnight Club: Los Angeles is one of the best games I have every played on the XBOX 360. Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    This game aggravated me at first with the difficulty but when I got the hang of it,wow it is truly a great game!I love it and the graphics are off the charts good.It puts burnout paradise to shame with the graphics and it wins in the game play by a bit.This company Rockstar is so unbelievable,there geniuses in all the games they make,for a straight up racing game,this game has got it all.For people just starting the game, don't get to frustrated in the beginning because there is a learning curb.I rate this game a 9.3. Expand
  4. DanG.
    Oct 30, 2008
    8
    I'm really enjoying the game. First impressions I wasn't too sure about handling, but after few plays you get to grip with cars. I find I'm able to corner really well now. Its beautiful rendered city has really nice graphics. Some people say its hard including reviews but I've raced prob 15 times and have won 5 times and I'm not a hard core gamer. You need to make sure you have nitro added to car and slip stream behind other cars or use short cuts to get ahead. But the traffic is set just right its easy to zip between cars. Negative points is cash system, I'm currently getting $300 per race for win. Each race can take upto 10mins. So even after 15 races I'm still stuck with the first car. Hopefully more cash will be given so can buy a nicer car. Also the garage options seem dull and bit slow loading. Hoping with new cars better paint jobs can be performed. Great game though for racing fans. word warning if police chase you and you avoid capture for a long time then get caught, the fine will be really high. I had to pay $1145 once, which is annoying since thats alot of race time money, prob 45 mins play time lost to cops. Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    If you are into great looking smooth playing street racing games this is the one for you. there is tons to customize on your car, the races are fun, as is running from the police. you don't really beat it you just play and play until you have the fastest coolest car on the streets of L.A. I had alot of fun with this game. I give Midnight club Los Angeles an 8/10. Expand
  6. BusierD.
    Jun 29, 2009
    5
    This game disappointed me in so many ways. It looked good, it played well at forst, and the car customization was great, but sfter a while it all fell apart. Paying to be able to use the paint editor on each car was an error, why should I have to pay to use it? The rubber band AI in the game was nothing but frustrating. In pink slip races having an opponent AI come up and pass you at a higher speeds than your car can even achieve seconds before the finish line was enough to make me chuck the controller. There are much better arcade racers out there, like Burnout Paradise (much more polished), Project Gotham 4, and Grid. They all offer much more complete experiences without the frustrarion of invincible AI cars that seem to defy physics. Do yourself a favor and avoid this one. Expand
  7. NajamU.
    Feb 18, 2009
    0
    unplayable.the worst game ever made.i wouldn't buy it if it were the only game made in 2008.the worst in the series of midnight club games.

See all 26 User Reviews