User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    If you like rpg games and strategy/puzzle games, look no further this is the game for you. I never was able to play the original and am happy it came to XBLA. Well worth the 1200msp for the single player alone. Did I mention it has 1vs1 and 2 vs 2 multiplayer. The game is awesome.
  2. May 16, 2011
    8
    The first thing that came to mind playing this title was the epic battles my brother and I used to have with Tetris Attack, back on the SNES. It's the ultimate competitive puzzle game. I think I played it a solid 2 or 3 days without a break when I first picked it up. It was that difficult to set down.

    People will throw "RPG elements" in there as if there were any. There is for the single
    player in the most extremely loose sense of the word, so if you're buying this for that reason, don't. It's a strategy puzzle game.

    Core gameplay has you linking units of the same color together which then fire off at the enemy champion after a few rounds. Defense is maintained by creating walls by linking units horizontally as opposed to vertically or simply leaving extra units in the way to soak up damage. It's pretty simple but it takes awhile to really master.

    The reason I give this an 8 instead of a 9 is because it's horribly imbalanced online. Unfortunately, the two most common strategies utilized by players that really want to win don't require an ounce of strategy and still manage to win 90% of the time. I hope balance issues are addressed because the potential for an extremely deep puzzle game is there if not for that one hinderance.

    2v2 mode is awful. Avoid it unless you really like being paired with idiot teammates. I have been on the short end of the stick every time I have ever attempted it. The only difference between the basic 1v1 battle and the 2v2 battle is you have to worry about someone else mucking up the otherwise awesome combos you set up rounds in advance. Truly a terrible idea and one I wish wasn't linked to an achievement.
    Expand
  3. May 26, 2011
    5
    If you're a fan of turn based strategy games then for sure try this one out as it is fun and terribly addicting. It falls flat as far as graphics and storyline go but that's not what these type of games are about. The main flaw of this game though are the long loading screens. Every time you take a few steps or get in/out of a fight you have to endure a loading screen. They are so bad in fact that I stopped the game because of them. Expand
  4. May 7, 2011
    9
    Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes is this year's Puzzle Quest. Merging elements of puzzle, strategy and role playing, players face off against a beefy single player campaign where you'll take to the story with a few different characters that each have their own main strengths/weaknesses and different units for you to adjust your tactics and strategy. The game also adds the option to play competitively online which is a new addition. If you have the DS game or heard about the game on the DS you'll be happy to hear that the graphics have been upgraded to beautiful HD visuals, achievements/friend's leaderboards added as well as adding on the already mentioned online battle modes. Aside from the lack of variety with the game (things are mixed up with side quests, puzzle challenges and the like), this is the perfect arcade game to keep you entertained and before you know it you'll have spent hours playing this game. Recommend Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This is the Puzzle/RPG genre to perfection. It's not slow and boring like Puzzle Quest, where it can take upwards of an hour for one battle. This is more fast-paced, smart, and has a real story, which can take up to 40 hours depending on how you play and if you do all the side questing. That's not all though, you can play online in 1v1 or 2v2 battles.
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this one all the way through. I don't play a lot of this type of game, so I spent a while playing the game but not really doing combat effectively. But once I stopped ignoring chains and all that (like a dope), encounters became a lot more fun. I enjoyed the stories and the characters. I really liked the art style and the overall presentation. I still don't consider myself a big fan of turn-based combat games (though I've been enjoying the Fire Emblem games and, given what a Final Fantasy fanboy I am, I'm surprised I haven't played more of the Final Fantasy Tactics games), but I'd sure like to see more games like Clash of Heroes. Now, if only the game would have told me earlier on that I was playing like such a dunce, maybe I would have enjoyed my time with this game even more. C'est la vie, I guess. Expand
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    Clash of Heroes is basically a puzzle game crossed with a turn based strategy title. Players take turns to move their individual units around on their grid in an effort to stack similarly coloured units vertically (to start charging for an attack) or horizontally (to create a defensive wall). After a set number of turns the attack launches across the centre line towards the opponent's army, interacting with any enemy units which are in the way, and possibly damaging the enemy leader as well. Specials units are also dropped at random and these launch more powerful attacks once activated. The single player campaign provides good value entertainment (and needs to be played to unlock extra characters) but, for me at least, it is the multiplayer that has brought me back to play time and time again as it can often become a very tactical affair. Expand
  8. May 27, 2011
    9
    I am a fan of strategy games and this little gem really hit the spot. At first, the feeling was.."hmmm..this is quaint and simple" with a smirk thinking I might toy with it for a few more minutes. Next thing I know, its hours later and my thirst for the game was growing with each step. Next thing after that, it had been around a week and I had played nothing else. There is something about the mechanics of the combat that is addictive. It borrows a bit from bejeweled in that placing 3 units adjacently is at its base, but the similarities end there. You can build walls for defense horizontally and attacks vertically. Turn timers based usually on the relative strength of an attack count down and then your units charge across to the enemy field, smacking into them with a variety of unit based effects. It feels like Voltron has formed his blazing sword when you light the candle on some of the heavier pieces and it really builds suspense while one of these impending doom bringers is charging up. It is a great thrill when you develop a strong attack or defense and then watch it unfold successfully. Between the battles you walk around to different locations and can find random encounters or treasure chests containing artifacts for your hero (more a general than a combat participant). Each hero gets a different spell that slowly charges during each battle with effects ranging from direct damage to shields or wall manipulation or reduced cool downs and much more. The narrative won't blow you away, but it fits the game. The beauty of this game is its simple approach that yields complex strategy/puzzle decisions. You don't have to be a chess master to beat the game, but you will put your thinking cap on and rub your chin as the game throws twists and turns at you. Bottom line...accessible strategy/puzzle fun that has multi-player to boot, but can also entertain a room of strategy enthusiasts even during single player as different possibilities are spotted and discussed. Dig it!!! Collapse
  9. May 27, 2011
    0
    I am a fan of strategy games and this little gem really hit the spot. At first, the feeling was.."hmmm..this is quaint and simple" with a smirk thinking I might toy with it for a few more minutes. Next thing I know, its hours later and my thirst for the game was growing with each step. Next thing after that, it had been around a week and I had played nothing else. There is something about the mechanics of the combat that is addictive. It borrows a bit from bejeweled in that placing 3 units adjacently is at its base, but the similarities end there. You can build walls for defense horizontally and attacks vertically. Turn timers based usually on the relative strength of an attack count down and then your units charge across to the enemy field, smacking into them with a variety of unit based effects. It feels like Voltron has formed his blazing sword when you light the candle on some of the heavier pieces and it really builds suspense while one of these impending doom bringers is charging up. It is a great thrill when you develop a strong attack or defense and then watch it unfold successfully. Between the battles you walk around to different locations and can find random encounters or treasure chests containing artifacts for your hero (more a general than a combat participant). Each hero gets a different spell that slowly charges during each battle with effects ranging from direct damage to shields or wall manipulation or reduced cool downs and much more. The narrative won't blow you away, but it fits the game. The beauty of this game is its simple approach that yields complex strategy/puzzle decisions. You don't have to be a chess master to beat the game, but you will put your thinking cap on and rub your chin as the game throws twists and turns at you. Bottom line...accessible strategy/puzzle fun that has multi-player to boot, but can also entertain a room of strategy enthusiasts even during single player as different possibilities are spotted and discussed. Dig it!!! Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    A damn good tactical strategic game that has a ridiculous amount of depth for an XLA title. [Issue#73, p.102]
  2. Jun 4, 2011
    90
    A true original: witty, challenging and bigger than most retail games. Trust us, it's ace. [July 2011, p.87]
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    70
    This HD remake of Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes offers the same great puzzle RPG action with superior graphics and online play, but at the end of the day it feels more at home on the Nintendo DS.