Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 26 out of 42
  1. Feb 15, 2011
    48
    Overall Mindjack would have been a decent launch title when the Xbox 360 first arrived; but at this stage in the console's life Mindjack is simply not 'up-to-snuff.' The bland and dreary visuals combined with poor audio and a less than thrilling single player mode suggests Mindjack is best left for the bargain bins.
  2. Jan 27, 2011
    46
    There's little to redeem Mindjack. You'll quickly grow tired of the unresponsive controls and repetitive shootouts, and the multiplayer game's appeal, while novel, is fleeting. What's left is a dreadful shooter that will have you wishing you could mindjack into another host, preferably someone who's playing a better game.
  3. Jan 24, 2011
    42
    Even if you give other players the boot, too few checkpoints sometimes means replaying 20 minutes of content, and mowing down scores of low-IQ, undifferentiated thugs (and the occasional cybernetically enhanced ape), while contending with flabby controls, invisible edges that soak up bullets, and cover mechanics that feel grandfathered in from a previous generation of third-person shooter.
  4. 41
    One good idea does not always translate into a great game, but the potential here is what makes the whole experience that much worse. With a bit more thought and a more polished story, Mindjack could have been something special. Instead, it's something to avoid.
  5. Jan 27, 2011
    41
    Compared to Mindjack, I even like some of the dance games for Kinect – there at least I move my body. But nothing about this game makes me sweat. It's sad because given the mindhack feature, this could have been a game with potential.
  6. Mar 3, 2011
    40
    Feelplus and Square-Enixʼs new try in the shooting genre falls way too short, compared even to the weakest 3rd-person shooters of the last five years.
  7. 40
    The idea of mind hackers who can wear other people's flesh as disposable armor in stop-and-pop firefights has potential, but Mindjack feels lobotomized. [April 2011, p.75]
  8. Feb 20, 2011
    40
    Still thinking of buying this? You must be out of your mind. [Issue#106, p.106]
  9. Feb 10, 2011
    40
    Mindjack has a couple of good ideas, but their poor implementation is not enough to save this mediocre action game.
  10. Jan 28, 2011
    40
    Sometime a good idea can shape-up a good game. That's not the case. Multiplayer in Mindjack could've saved the day, but all the other stuff will give you only an enormous headache.
  11. Jan 24, 2011
    40
    Cheap science-fiction, lame story and a not-fun gameplay system. We're still wondering why Square Enix wanted to develop an action-paced game without any kind of meaning at all, just a copy & paste of games like Gears of War and Uncharted. Nothing interesting here, better wait for something that's worthy of our attenttion.
  12. Jan 18, 2011
    40
    But despite its enormous potential, Mindjack is ultimately a frustrating and forgettable shooter with horrible presentation, clumsy controls and a plodding campaign.
  13. Feb 8, 2011
    35
    A complete waste of good ideas. There's really no reason why you should bother buying this mess.
  14. Mar 31, 2011
    30
    The cover shooter genre has plenty of untapped potential. Vanquish hinted at this by kicking up the pace a few (hundred) notches, but Mindjack is perhaps the first to actively introduce truly new kinds of gameplay, and I had my fingers crossed for its success. Unfortunately, the finished product is about as botched as a game can get.
  15. Feb 26, 2011
    30
    Its idea of merging solo, co-op and deathmatch combat into a single mode is as noncommittal as its story, which merges decades-old cyberpunk cliches into one appalling mess. [Mar 2011, p.92]
  16. Feb 9, 2011
    30
    The bottom line is the more I played Mindjack, the more I wanted to stop playing Mindjack. I made it through to the end, but it wasn't without a lot of head-scratching, hair-pulling, and obscenity-laced tirades.
  17. Nobody in their right mind should buy this.
  18. Feb 4, 2011
    30
    A laughable game that should have never seen the light of day.
  19. Jan 28, 2011
    30
    On paper, the concept for Mindjack is definitely attractive. It's the execution of the concept that fails miserably due to lackluster gameplay, poor enemy A.I. and a ridiculously silly narrative.
  20. Jan 28, 2011
    30
    This futuristic actiongame is so bad on so many levels that it almost looks like they did it on purpose. Gameplay, graphics and presentation: it's all terrible.
  21. Jan 25, 2011
    30
    Good ideas and good intentions only go so far when the game itself is as incompetently made and balanced as this seriously flawed shooter.
  22. Jan 24, 2011
    30
    Mindjack may of aroused my mind prior to its release with some interesting concepts, however the repetitive, uninspired gameplay becomes so tedious that playing the game simply bored me out of my mind. Definitely better alternatives out there.
  23. Jan 27, 2011
    26
    There really isn't much fun to be had here. Not even in a masochistic way.
  24. Feb 17, 2011
    25
    Mindjack is one of those games that brings unique ideas to the table but ultimately fails in overall execution.
  25. Jan 29, 2011
    25
    Mindjack's execution is just ludicrously poor at times.
  26. Jan 21, 2011
    20
    Basic, totally generic gameplay.
User Score
1.2

Overwhelming dislike- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 29
  2. Negative: 26 out of 29
  1. Feb 28, 2011
    2
    WOW. Never have I seen such a mildly unique game be so brutally raped by terrible producing and awful buggy gameplay. This game looks like crap and plays like crap. A shame as it had some potential. Full Review »
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    3
    Okay guys. The only thing good about is the idea, I really appreciate the idea of this game, BUT, the whole thing is poorly presented. Bad gameplay, the story is not convincing, bad AI, almost everything is bad. If you value your money, and go buy another game. If you value your time, don waste your time on this. I am surprised why would any publisher will release this, maybe to remind us how good is the other games?This is the worst game I have played. The 3 marks, are for the idea and effort. Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2011
    4
    Seems like everything in this game works bad, like hundreds games that just copy and paste ideas of other games without any care.

    The
    multiplayer can be fun, but when you realize that some are better than this, you will wanna get out.
    If you want a good game, move away from here.
    Full Review »