Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 418 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. 100
    4J has turned in an accomplished port, boasting crisp, high-resolution visuals and a reorganised inventory...In terms of console sims, nothing touches it. Minecraft's world is one that everybody should experience.
  2. May 8, 2012
    90
    A perfect console porting for the Notch's masterpiece, with the promises of new, free of charge updates.
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    90
    A learning experience of the best kind. [July 2012, p.67]
  4. 80
    The amount of missing features is disappointing, but as a first step this is an excellent console version of one of gaming's most open-ended and creative experiences.
  5. May 22, 2012
    80
    This version is somewhat limited compared to the original, but overall it is a decent adaptation and absolutely obligatory for anyone who has never experienced the game on PC.
  6. May 11, 2012
    80
    Only on the console you'll get basic explanations as well as comfortable crafting without having to read through millions of forum pages. But the pad-explored worlds are limited and not infinite like on the PC with the result of you losing a sense of freedom. It is still fascinating, though.
  7. May 10, 2012
    55
    If Minecraft on the PC is the video game equivelent of LEGO, then Minecraft on XBLA is Duplo. It's a perfect introduction to the game and its experience-but it won't take long for you to outgrow it and want the real thing.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 163
  1. May 16, 2012
    10
    I found it great adaptation. The music is very good and the only thing that could improve the control. I played a bit on PC and the keyboardI found it great adaptation. The music is very good and the only thing that could improve the control. I played a bit on PC and the keyboard is still the best but having Minecraft on the xbox is superb. Really recommended and justified the 1600 MP. Expand
  2. May 11, 2012
    10
    So far, same old minecraft. claaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasssic. Great gameplay, so crappy its good graphics, and creativity make this good, and xblaSo far, same old minecraft. claaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasssic. Great gameplay, so crappy its good graphics, and creativity make this good, and xbla makes it better. Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Minecraft for the Xbox 360 is a welcome addition for Microsoft, although not as good as the PC version that can have more players on a singleMinecraft for the Xbox 360 is a welcome addition for Microsoft, although not as good as the PC version that can have more players on a single server and mods, it is starting to catch up. It is a incredible game that is waiting for you to explore through it's high mountains and deep caves filled with the good and the bad. Although you can only have 8 players on a server, the announce at the Xbox one E3 of Minecraft on the console should hopefully upgrade to more players although to my knowledge nothing has been said, with its few bugs and problems this game is great for people who have or haven't got the PC version of the game, I would recommend it to all players. Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    If you are wanting to check out Minecraft for the first time, the Xbox 360 version adds a few new features that make it more user-friendlyIf you are wanting to check out Minecraft for the first time, the Xbox 360 version adds a few new features that make it more user-friendly than its PC counterpart. But at the same time, the 360 version is an older build of the popular PC game with some changes. There are no dedicated servers, some items are unavailable (clay), and a limited map size. At the same time, they offer drop in/drop out play on other players save files.

    The 1600 MSP is cheaper than its PC counterpart ($26.95) but since there are features missing (dedicated servers, some items not available to be crafted, limited map size) its a wash in my opinion. If they decide to update the 360 version to the PC's current version, I would give this a 9.
    Expand
  5. May 9, 2012
    8
    It's Minecraft, just now on 360. The maps are smaller, it is running on an older version of the game (with updates to be rolled out over time,It's Minecraft, just now on 360. The maps are smaller, it is running on an older version of the game (with updates to be rolled out over time, much like the pc version), and it has ditched dedicated servers in favor of a drop in, drop out system based on the original player's save. It also includes a nice 4-player splitcreen mode, and allows for eight people to play together at any one time. They have also implemented a more intuitive crafting system, allowing the player to easily manage that which he wishes to create, along with the materials needed, doing away a lot of the trial and error that normally comes with crafting. If the changes they made to the game don't bother you, then you are in for a great experience. Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2012
    7
    I am a huge fan of Minecraft. When I heard that it was coming to Xbox with cross-platforming, skins, texture packs, mods, and the latestI am a huge fan of Minecraft. When I heard that it was coming to Xbox with cross-platforming, skins, texture packs, mods, and the latest up-to-date version (although that wasn't so bad), I should have not trusted a company I had never heard of before. Who are 4JStudios? I have no idea! Perhaps if Mojang ported Minecraft to the Xbox360, it would have lived up to these empty promises. While this was a huge let-down, I was quite impressed with the split screen functionalities, the general quality of the port, and the sweet nostalgia of Beta 1.6.6, not to mention the fact that it was completely re-written in C++ and not Java. If you're a strict console gamer, but you've heard of Minecraft, I recommend this to you, defiantly. If you're a long time player who wants a nostalgia burst, be my guest. I do not, however, recommend this to people who were waiting for it and were exited about 4j's empty promises, so don't bother if you're one of those people. Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    Without purpose there is no reason to do anything. This boring turd is somehow considered a game by many people who obviously are retarded.Without purpose there is no reason to do anything. This boring turd is somehow considered a game by many people who obviously are retarded. This so called game needs to die and die fast. Expand

See all 163 User Reviews