User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 298 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 298

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GaryL.
    Feb 10, 2009
    6
    There is a lot to like in this game. The running is a lot of fun and the aesthetic is really nice and all, but I really have a problem with the combat system, which is the focus for the last few chapters, and it is one of the worst combat systems I have played in a game. Awkward, clunky controls, little to no health, no way to know how much ammo you have, weird timing in order to grab aThere is a lot to like in this game. The running is a lot of fun and the aesthetic is really nice and all, but I really have a problem with the combat system, which is the focus for the last few chapters, and it is one of the worst combat systems I have played in a game. Awkward, clunky controls, little to no health, no way to know how much ammo you have, weird timing in order to grab a gun from an enemy, among other problems. I love the running part of this game, but the combat is flat out terrible and should have been left out out. Plus, it is very very short. I would recommend that you play it, if only just to play the fun parts, but it's definitely not one of the best games of '08. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    I liked the game. It may be short but it is good. Also, it's not that easy. It has awesome graphics, great artstyle, it's action-filled. I want to mention, THIS IS NOT A FIRST PERSON SHOOTER!!! It's possibly the only parkour game. There are some bad things in this game - gunfight sucks, it's too linear (wanted to have a free roam, or atleast different routes). It's a good game, butI liked the game. It may be short but it is good. Also, it's not that easy. It has awesome graphics, great artstyle, it's action-filled. I want to mention, THIS IS NOT A FIRST PERSON SHOOTER!!! It's possibly the only parkour game. There are some bad things in this game - gunfight sucks, it's too linear (wanted to have a free roam, or atleast different routes). It's a good game, but totally not worth the full price, you could rent it, it's no more than 10 hours. Expand
  3. JohnPifer
    Feb 22, 2009
    7
    People rip on this game too much. Yes, the story line is not that exciting and the fighting needs a bit of working on. But this game is amazing, I love it! The free-running fad has finally come in to the lime light with a very innovative game. I would have LOVED for this to be a sandbox style game, with a free city to run across.
  4. AndrewS
    Aug 15, 2009
    5
    I foolishly bought this game based on the demo. Shortly after the levels in the demo, the game becomes much more frustrating than fun. The detection on grabs seems to not want to work sometimes, and since the game has a lot of grabs onto poles and pipes, this is not a good thing.
  5. JasonP
    Nov 23, 2008
    6
    I'd have to say those giving this game above a 7 smell suspiciously of AstroTurf. Great in concept, the controls are awful. You just have to look at another free running game, Assassin's Creed to see it done right, and you realize just how far off the mark Mirror's Edge is. Repetitive, boring, frustrating. Not Fun.
  6. BrianP.
    Dec 31, 2008
    7
    The outdoor visuals are excellent. Indoors, not so much. The freerunning gameplay is loads of fun for the first few chapters until you start encountering too many enemies. After a point, the game seems to become more about forcing your way through the opposing law enforcement than speedily racing through a streamlined level. It's definitely worth trying if you've been enjoying The outdoor visuals are excellent. Indoors, not so much. The freerunning gameplay is loads of fun for the first few chapters until you start encountering too many enemies. After a point, the game seems to become more about forcing your way through the opposing law enforcement than speedily racing through a streamlined level. It's definitely worth trying if you've been enjoying the trailers and everything, but just know that you're going to die a lot. Also, you can't do most of the awesome disarming moves that the game will show you during loading screens. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2010
    5
    Mirror's Edge is the epitome of an one trick pony. While the first levels of the video game are enjoyable and truly unique, it eventually becomes stale at the midpoint of the game. Additionally, what becomes fun becomes frustrating. Even at the easiest difficulty, the game will be based on trial and effort. Even if you complete the difficulty after multiple times, the result is notMirror's Edge is the epitome of an one trick pony. While the first levels of the video game are enjoyable and truly unique, it eventually becomes stale at the midpoint of the game. Additionally, what becomes fun becomes frustrating. Even at the easiest difficulty, the game will be based on trial and effort. Even if you complete the difficulty after multiple times, the result is not satisfying enough. Overall, Mirror's Edge is something that you have never experienced before, but that does not necessarily mean it is a good game. Expand
  8. Sep 11, 2014
    7
    This game is NOT a first person shooter. It has a first person perspective, but it is a PUZZLE game. The main objective is parkouring your way through the city, and figuring out how to get around obstacles. I know this has some shooting in it, but it is hardly a shooting game, and furthermore the combat system is horrendous. Not to mention the controls are extremely complex, and movingThis game is NOT a first person shooter. It has a first person perspective, but it is a PUZZLE game. The main objective is parkouring your way through the city, and figuring out how to get around obstacles. I know this has some shooting in it, but it is hardly a shooting game, and furthermore the combat system is horrendous. Not to mention the controls are extremely complex, and moving around can be finicky. This could have been a great game, but it is held back by a few but not insignificant flaws.

    However, the game is not all bad. Of course not -- ! The concept, though not necessarily original, is well executed enough that it is unique. It's a lot of fun rolling around, and jumping, and running along walls, and climbing. Not to mention, despite coming out several years ago, the graphics still hold up. The high contrast world, the buildings, and the paint make this a visual feast. So it is worth checking out, but it may not be worth it for everyone.
    Expand
  9. Tongs
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Alright, this game is apparently NOT for everyone. If you like a gameplay experience that includes great sound and visuals, a story that actually makes sense and isn't completely blown out of proportion (anyone played almost any video game on the market today?), coupled with very well done levels and a way to get around things that isn't just jumping. I wasn't so sure about Alright, this game is apparently NOT for everyone. If you like a gameplay experience that includes great sound and visuals, a story that actually makes sense and isn't completely blown out of proportion (anyone played almost any video game on the market today?), coupled with very well done levels and a way to get around things that isn't just jumping. I wasn't so sure about the first time I played through the game, but when I went through again, just about everything about it really shone. There are only nine or ten levels, but some are fairly long, and so far (and this is since the game came out), I really haven't gotten tired of playing them. There are a few issues. Occaisonally, I've noticed that a particular jump from one object to another that should be easy, and usually is, will suddenly decide to stop working for a while. I failed a particular jump of about three feet ten times in a row due to this. But I've found that's rare. Others have mentioned getting stuck in scenery; I can't speak for that, as it has not happened to me in all the time I've played the game. Sometimes the levels become repetitive in design, but that doesn't really bother me. The use of color and contrast keeps things fresh-looking, and at the rate you're moving, you're never in the same place long enough to really mind. The plot's a little clearer the second time around, I will admit. At first everything happens a bit quickly. To anyone who was utterly confused, well, I bet you skipped the movies the second you were able and/or didn't actually try to put two and two together with the collective info you recieved. Or maybe you did put two and two together. And got seven. In short, a game that's beautiful in its simplicity, a concept that a lot of games today just have a lot of trouble with. Great gameplay (in my opinion), great sound and visuals, and the first person perspective has really never given me any trouble seeing where I need to go or what I need to do. In fact, in this game I'd actually prefer it to a third person view. Because, in the long time I've been playing it, I haven't been able to find anything to really complain about, I'm giving it a well-deserved 10 of 10. Just a warning, though: some people seem to have much more trouble with this game than others, and unfortunately, seem to rate the game directly with their ability to play it. Maybe rent it first, and if you love it, great, if you don't, at least you tried. Definitely not everyone's game. Expand
  10. Aug 14, 2011
    7
    Mirror's Edge, to me, was an excellent concept that was executed a bit poorly. The idea of free running around rooftops with parkour and jumping skills while in first person view...is interesting - and could be a blast if done right. And at times, it is a blast in Mirror's Edge - when you know what to do and the controls don't screw you over or confuse you. Most of the time you will beMirror's Edge, to me, was an excellent concept that was executed a bit poorly. The idea of free running around rooftops with parkour and jumping skills while in first person view...is interesting - and could be a blast if done right. And at times, it is a blast in Mirror's Edge - when you know what to do and the controls don't screw you over or confuse you. Most of the time you will be forced to stop dead in your tracks and stumble around the environment looking for the next thing you're supposed to jump to, jump from, or climb up...and it kills the momentum and the fun. Much like Sonic, for a game that hypes itself on being all about speed, it loves to slow you down to a halt about 90% of the time. Also, the combat in this game is horrendous and arguably broken but definitely cheap. Once again, just like with speed, for a game that's all about running it loves to put you into tight spaces where fighting is the only option, and the protagonist Faith is severely lacking in this area. To put it frankly, this game is frustrating 3 times more often than when it is fun. The gameplay mechanics just didn't gel properly and needed more work. As for the aesthetics though, I love the sterile feel that the pastel colors provide to represent this totalitarian utopia. It is a nice looking game, but even flaws come up there as the cutscenes are all done in a different style of choppy, sloppy, hand-drawn animations that just clash with everything else in the game. All in all, this game is worth a rental as there are some fun moments to be had (especially the chase scene near the end of the game where there are enemy runners after you) and some interesting set pieces as obstacles....but I can't justify paying much more than $10-15 on it. It's just flawed, but you can see the foundation for a potentially brilliant sequel in the future. Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    Wow, did this game have potential. Wow, did it totally foul it up. The demo truly makes Mirror's Edge look like fun, but that completely belies its nature: a game that can made you so mad that you're ready to swear off your Xbox forever. The game's emphasis is on flight rather than fight, which is fine. But when you take a character and game mechanic that is weak on combat and put theWow, did this game have potential. Wow, did it totally foul it up. The demo truly makes Mirror's Edge look like fun, but that completely belies its nature: a game that can made you so mad that you're ready to swear off your Xbox forever. The game's emphasis is on flight rather than fight, which is fine. But when you take a character and game mechanic that is weak on combat and put the player in a situation where combat is nearly unavoidable, it is not an entertaining challenge, it's just frustrating. The game's touted movement system, enabling regular couch potatoes to move with freerunner grace does not work as advertised. Sure, you can get through the tutorial, but in the real game? Forget stringing moves, you can barely do the basics because, surprise, you're being shot at. Falling off a handrail is a problem; when that handrail is on the 35th floor of a building, it's back to the last save checkpoint. That leads us to the next gripe: the checkpoints are VERY widely spaced. Expect to redo large sectors of the game only to be killed off by the same incomprehensible situation. Being trapped in a building atrium without any clear exit and a LOT of SWAT troopers can really put a damper on your enthusiasm. All in all, it was a game that had an interesting premise and a lot of promise, but failed to deliver on both. It does, however, give the gamer good cardio; you'll get so mad your heart rate will top out a few times. Expand
  12. UrielS.
    Feb 28, 2009
    4
    When i first saw this game, i was impressed. The graphics are totally awesome and the gamplay is cool too. But, even though this game is absolutely beautiful, it gets to a point where you realize that it's not really fun to play. I saw my friend playing the other day and he was totally happy, and the next week, he told me that it was boring after a while. I tried again to see if I wasWhen i first saw this game, i was impressed. The graphics are totally awesome and the gamplay is cool too. But, even though this game is absolutely beautiful, it gets to a point where you realize that it's not really fun to play. I saw my friend playing the other day and he was totally happy, and the next week, he told me that it was boring after a while. I tried again to see if I was mistaken, but all I saw is a bunch of repetitive things thrown in a pile of levels. Dont get me wrong, it's beautiful, but it's not really fun to play after a while. Expand
  13. ZacharyB
    Jan 12, 2009
    2
    While playing the demo i was impressed with the game. However, after renting it i can see now that it is nothing more than hype applied to a pile of rubbish. While the concept is good the game tackles it badly, telling you to run instead of fighting and then putting you in small enclosed areas with enemies you HAVE to fight. The clipping is ghastly and shoddy, at one point i was killed While playing the demo i was impressed with the game. However, after renting it i can see now that it is nothing more than hype applied to a pile of rubbish. While the concept is good the game tackles it badly, telling you to run instead of fighting and then putting you in small enclosed areas with enemies you HAVE to fight. The clipping is ghastly and shoddy, at one point i was killed mid air and was stuck there. Very short, poor game design. Expand
  14. Jun 28, 2011
    1
    This game is bad in every way: The story is told almost exclusively in monologue, the characters are all uninteresting, and important things only happen in cut-scene, which is like a movie giving plot points in nothing but text, and every plot element is as defined as a blurry photo of Big Foot. In the field of Game-play, it's nothing but frustrating, and the level design is idiotic. WhyThis game is bad in every way: The story is told almost exclusively in monologue, the characters are all uninteresting, and important things only happen in cut-scene, which is like a movie giving plot points in nothing but text, and every plot element is as defined as a blurry photo of Big Foot. In the field of Game-play, it's nothing but frustrating, and the level design is idiotic. Why would a game about free-running have about half of the levels solely indoors. Its also repetitive, as the only time it breaks away from running away from things is when you have to punch a security officers using the same moves. The only thing going for it is a creative premise, but even that's handled poorly. Instead of running all around a mall part of a city trying to figure out a good path to the objective, like a free runner actually does, this game has you run along linear repetitive paths. Expand
  15. Jan 17, 2012
    3
    Trial and error, trial and error. Nobodies reflexes work this fast and if they did then the unresponsive controls would screw you over. The overly sexualising of the women annoyed me too. Something I normally don't care about, but here it's just so overt and cheesy. The cut scenes try and have a unique style to them, but end up looking like a flash game. Neat concept, which literallyTrial and error, trial and error. Nobodies reflexes work this fast and if they did then the unresponsive controls would screw you over. The overly sexualising of the women annoyed me too. Something I normally don't care about, but here it's just so overt and cheesy. The cut scenes try and have a unique style to them, but end up looking like a flash game. Neat concept, which literally falls on it's behind. Collapse
  16. MGSFan
    Jan 13, 2009
    0
    Possibly the Worst Platformer Ever.

    Well i have nothing much to say about this game. You are a japanese girl in this game. This game is a straight RIP OFF from Prince Of Persia. Mirror's Edge is nothing but Prince Of Persia in First Person.

    If you feel sissy or want to change your sex from male to Female, this game is a MUST BUY.

    Terrible Game. Highly OVERRATED.
  17. AR
    Dec 12, 2008
    9
    This game is not without its flaws, but if you are a little forgiving for a first time attempt of a new genre, you will enjoy this game that was for once made with heart.

    While the combat is a little frustrating, the overall experience is fantastic. The game looks great, feels great, and it's so refreshing to see game developers take those risks and give us something new to enjoy.
    This game is not without its flaws, but if you are a little forgiving for a first time attempt of a new genre, you will enjoy this game that was for once made with heart.

    While the combat is a little frustrating, the overall experience is fantastic. The game looks great, feels great, and it's so refreshing to see game developers take those risks and give us something new to enjoy.
    Definitely worth playing!
    Expand
  18. [Anonymous]
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    This is probably the best game I've ever played. There are one or two places with extremely annoying puzzles (where I found myself attempting the same damn jump 20 times in a row before finally getting it). Also the contrast between the flash-esque cutscenes and photorealiztic gameplay is a little excessive. That't it though. Other than those two minor complaints, this game is This is probably the best game I've ever played. There are one or two places with extremely annoying puzzles (where I found myself attempting the same damn jump 20 times in a row before finally getting it). Also the contrast between the flash-esque cutscenes and photorealiztic gameplay is a little excessive. That't it though. Other than those two minor complaints, this game is flawless. The story is pretty cool so far (although I haven't gotten to the end yet), the controls are tight and game flow is brilliant. This is a game that I want to buy twice for each system I own so that EA gets the message to take chances like this more often. Expand
  19. MichaelR.
    Dec 27, 2008
    8
    As a final-year game design student, I find some of the negative reviews quite frustrating and very discouraging. Especially the review from a usually very trusted source - Edge Magazine, whom gave this game a 5. Regardless of this I chose to purchase this game, as the Demo alone, had me very interested. Now, the main problems that I was generally faced with this game, was the lack of As a final-year game design student, I find some of the negative reviews quite frustrating and very discouraging. Especially the review from a usually very trusted source - Edge Magazine, whom gave this game a 5. Regardless of this I chose to purchase this game, as the Demo alone, had me very interested. Now, the main problems that I was generally faced with this game, was the lack of guidance in certain scenarios, leading to either a wrongly footed jump to somewhere I'm not supposed to go, or being surrounded by four armed police because there seems no alternate route. However, despite this, the game is more than manageable, and it proves nothing more than a slow learning curve that causes the trial and error process. Being a brand new idea, the game is immediately slated by a minority of critics, horribly obsessed with destroying an original concept. When first person shooters went "X and Y axis", using two analogue sticks to control both movement and camera, were definitely found as a bit tricky, when most gamers were used to the singular D-pad. Looking down the line and you can see how easy it is for all gamers to manipulate this movement. The same goes for Mirrors Edge, and gamers getting used to the manipulation of flowing movement through first person perspective. Getting used to naturally knowing where the characters body is placed without having to slow yourself down, to know that you ARE close enough to the edge without having to look down at your feet. The other thing that pissed me off about Edge, was the fact all they seemed to care about, was how it massacred the portrayal of Parkour. Now that to me, really pissed me off. Being a game designer, and knowing NOTHING of parkour, to me, the concept of runners that are used to deliver information via the means of parkour in a futuristic, communist world, sounds great. I dont care if i'm doing justice to parkour, its just a character I have designed, the IDEA that the movement used to deliver, is very much like parkour, but not indefinitely "parkour". If it was purely about parkour, it would probably have a story that talks about this popular sport, but it doesn't, its simply characters that are acrobatic on rooftops. Much as Tomb Raider isn't slated because its not true to Gymnastics... Mirrors Edge offers a lot to a gamers desire, not the parkour specialist. It offers cool looking, feeling, movement that is interlinked with simple button presses. Of course, dying can break this flow, but regardless of that, getting good at this game, which essentially we all need to do if there is ever going to be this sort of game again, is all it takes to really enjoy it. Combat lacks that extra oomf, but these guys are "runners" not "fighters", and most times, i find taking out just one guard, and then avoiding contact with the others, tends to be the best way forward. Dont forget, this game is actually really easy if your not going for the "test of faith" achievement/trophy. So maybe if the reviewers just shoot the enemy, its not as hard as they make out... Im giving it an 8 because its very unique, the graphics are the best iv seen the 360 produce, the whole concept is just awesome, yet it is slightly short on lower settings, and the story is shallow. Id bank on a sequel, washing away these criticisms. Expand
  20. DarrenL.
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    Glorious! I couldn't stop playing this game, its completely unique and challenging but achievable. Personally I was in awe the first time I experienced the textures and when coupled with the gloss effects really gives you a fresh atmosphere to run around almost freely. Although many players will despise the fact that Faith is not equipt with hand guns / SMG's / Grenades / Rocket Glorious! I couldn't stop playing this game, its completely unique and challenging but achievable. Personally I was in awe the first time I experienced the textures and when coupled with the gloss effects really gives you a fresh atmosphere to run around almost freely. Although many players will despise the fact that Faith is not equipt with hand guns / SMG's / Grenades / Rocket Launchers and Missiles once you master the timing and and react rationally to your situations the your reminisce fondly as to how well you cope with their gun fire than the first time you did cowering behind walls because you didn't have anything to fire back! Wow and that comes from a massive FPS fan! :-) After completing this in normal difficulty im powering up the xbox to play again on hard! Congratulations Dice and EA on what should be a true classic. Expand
  21. DarrellH.
    Nov 14, 2008
    7
    Mirror's edge as it stands now is not a triple A title. Yes we all love it when games implement new ideas and concepts. We should not let a game pass through however just because they came up with a new idea. That said, the amount of times you will die, be it from death or from combat is so frustrating that it will inspire many gamers to just quit playing all together. Probably the Mirror's edge as it stands now is not a triple A title. Yes we all love it when games implement new ideas and concepts. We should not let a game pass through however just because they came up with a new idea. That said, the amount of times you will die, be it from death or from combat is so frustrating that it will inspire many gamers to just quit playing all together. Probably the most frustrating part of the game is its reliance on indoor environments, which are harsh because they are the stages that use the least amount of runner vision increasing the difficulty 10 fold (play through the first time you enter an office space and you'll see what I mean) If your looking for a great first person platformer, your not going to find it here. Mirror's Edge is good, but its not A material like say Portal, who Mirror's Edge could use a few notes from. Even though you may have found yourself scratching your head as per how you were supposed to solve a particular puzzle in Portal, you never were frustrated nor killed 20 times to figure it out. There were clear visual cues, which is really all Mirror's Edge really needs to make it say an 8. Better story for a 9. Expand
  22. Aug 19, 2011
    8
    Mirror's Edge is in a genre all it's own. The closest it comes to is a FPS, but it's definitely not as you won't be shooting for most of the game and won't even have to if you choose not to. It'll have you run across the rooftops of a breathtakingly rendered city, jumping from building to building, and breaking open doors as you run from your chasers. It's exciting, unique, and currently,Mirror's Edge is in a genre all it's own. The closest it comes to is a FPS, but it's definitely not as you won't be shooting for most of the game and won't even have to if you choose not to. It'll have you run across the rooftops of a breathtakingly rendered city, jumping from building to building, and breaking open doors as you run from your chasers. It's exciting, unique, and currently, well worth the price. My only disappointment with it is that it doesn't really have multiplayer, just time trials you can compare with others. Expand
  23. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is a bit short, and its control system has a bit of a learning curve, but once you get over these two things the heavens open and you realize you have a block of pure gold in your hands. The graphics/art are excellent, and the gameplay is EXTREMELY fun, nothing short of inspired. You will finish this game repeatably!

    Did I like it? It was INSPIRED!
  24. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    This is honestly one of my MUST HAVE 360 recommendations. It's not perfect but it's easily the most original game in recent memory. The parkour stuff is a lot of fun but even better is the setting. Despite your exposure to the world of Mirror's Edge being quite limited the design is so unique with a feel completely it's own that, if you're anything like me, it will stay with you LONGThis is honestly one of my MUST HAVE 360 recommendations. It's not perfect but it's easily the most original game in recent memory. The parkour stuff is a lot of fun but even better is the setting. Despite your exposure to the world of Mirror's Edge being quite limited the design is so unique with a feel completely it's own that, if you're anything like me, it will stay with you LONG after.

    It's a disgrace that a title this original isn't getting a sequel when Call Of Duty and HALO are churning out the same tired games repackaged each year.
    Expand
  25. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Mirror's Edge is an excellent title, have much interesting missions, and the gameplay is new, the graphics are amazing, this title is incredible. I love Mirror's Edge.
  26. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    This is a game that seemingly rewards you for your observation and response speed but a lot of the situations you get into can be solved with trial and error (and there's a good chance you'll be doing a lot of that here) as a lot of the moves you have to perform require precisely timed button combo's.

    Single Player The single player story has a good steady flow to it, in the style of
    This is a game that seemingly rewards you for your observation and response speed but a lot of the situations you get into can be solved with trial and error (and there's a good chance you'll be doing a lot of that here) as a lot of the moves you have to perform require precisely timed button combo's.

    Single Player

    The single player story has a good steady flow to it, in the style of a conspiracy murder story set in a utopian looking city. In-between levels you are shown FMV's in a very different art style to the game engine which I feel some gamers may not be fond of.

    While the environments can look and seem like a playground you're always being directed, it's not about multiple paths, in fact most of the gameplay boils down to three types; enemy area's where you will either run away run around or take on enemies it's usually your choice but there are moments where you will have to take them all down, puzzle area's where you will have to use your repertoire of parkour moves to ascend, descend or navigate through a room and chase area's where you will either chase down a target or be chased down yourself.

    Multi-player

    Multiplayer, perhaps not a major selling point here, though it does feature a competitive time trial and speed run modes both of which include ranked leader boards.

    Gameplay

    The gameplay is very smooth and frame rate drop is an absolute rarity, although occasionally once a level the action will pause for a moment to "load level" which can be quite the immersion killer.

    Most levels consist of moments where you may be bounding and wall running at your own pace toward an objective, to suddenly being chased or often confronted by armed police, you have all kinds of offensive moves at your disposal as well as a counter attack which if activated at the right moment will disarm and disable enemies, unfortunately this can take getting used to, as all enemies have different melee attacks and therefore different timing.

    There are also elevator rides that often break up chases which is good, so you know your safe to take a breath when you reach an elevator, but the preceding load time in the elevator's can be astonishingly long, which is strange because dying and respawning takes practically no time at all.

    Graphics

    Graphics are impressive, with stunning cityscape vistas and the city itself definitely hits the neo-Tokyo feel it was aiming for. Textures are very high resolution, I'm not completely sure what they were trying to achieve with the colour scheming but it's well implemented and rarely feels out of place. most of the environments area's are themed on a colour, there is a section where you're running through an office that is all yellow and out into a plaza and subway that is completely blue.

    Sound

    The sound design here much like the graphics is high quality and immersive(especially through headphones or surround sound.)
    Most music and ambient sound is very subtle, helping the player to lose themselves in the world of mirrors edge.

    Longevity

    Averagely the single player story will take most between 6-7 hours to complete, you might replay the main story to find all of the messenger bags that are hidden throughout each level.
    Outside of the single player there are time trials which are made of small sections of story areas.
    Then there is speed run, which is basically a time trial for whole levels of the single player as mentioned before both of these include leader boards to compete with friends and other users on a world ranking board.

    Final thoughts

    While I have no personal reason to dislike the art style of the cutscenes, I do wish they'd kept all the cut scenes in engine, I feel it would have helped me feel more connected to the character's (A very well executed example is Half Life 2).
    I would also like to have seen a co-op mode, maybe with players playing as other couriers seeing events from a different perspective, taking different paths helping each other throughout levels.

    Overall, even though It got a little frustrating at times, I enjoyed the ride (even If it was a little on the short side) and was left wanting more.
    Expand
  27. DanA.
    Dec 2, 2008
    8
    Mirror's Edge is by far one of the most innovative and exciting, genre-defining concepts this year. However, it's not perfect. The game is ridiculously short and does get repetitive. It's got a bit of Assassin's Creed syndrome in that sense. It takes the strides it needs to but overall feels like it could've been much more. I wouldn't recommend buying itMirror's Edge is by far one of the most innovative and exciting, genre-defining concepts this year. However, it's not perfect. The game is ridiculously short and does get repetitive. It's got a bit of Assassin's Creed syndrome in that sense. It takes the strides it needs to but overall feels like it could've been much more. I wouldn't recommend buying it unless you intend on doing time trials and learning how to speed run the game like crazy. Expand
  28. DmitriyP
    Apr 8, 2009
    9
    After the initial disappointment passed(when I got stuck on the scaffolding, running away from the heli - all I had to do was turn around) and I decided to give it another try - I really fell in love with the game. While there were some frustrating moments that could have been avoided my better level design, the visual experience was so unique, that it was really a joy to retry those After the initial disappointment passed(when I got stuck on the scaffolding, running away from the heli - all I had to do was turn around) and I decided to give it another try - I really fell in love with the game. While there were some frustrating moments that could have been avoided my better level design, the visual experience was so unique, that it was really a joy to retry those tough spots. The combat, while can be frustrating at first, become pretty easy once you realize that all you have to do is isolate and disarm your enemies. Expand
  29. MaxW.
    Dec 31, 2008
    9
    Mirror's Edge is probably the first game to fully cover the Parkour, or Free-running concept, and making it a first person game just makes it even better. The forces you to make your own way to where ver it is you need to go. However if you are finding it difficult, there is the Runner's Vission option to help you along. Filled with 9 reasonably long chapters throughout the Mirror's Edge is probably the first game to fully cover the Parkour, or Free-running concept, and making it a first person game just makes it even better. The forces you to make your own way to where ver it is you need to go. However if you are finding it difficult, there is the Runner's Vission option to help you along. Filled with 9 reasonably long chapters throughout the game, any Parkour lover or "wannabe" Parkourist, will love the moves and action in this adventurous game. The fully interactive city has no limits, so if you can jump there, you can go there. Not only is there a story mode, but a speed run mode, and a time trial mode. In speed run mode, simply redo the chapters, in a certain amount of time. In Time Trial, redo certain parts of chapters as fast as you can, then upload your tme to the leader boards. Only 2 aspects of the game dissapointed me. The fact that you cannot just simply Free Run around the citys rooftops and streets, and the fact that it is not an online multiplayer game. Imagine if you could go free running with a friend! Dice have created yet another masterpiece. A solid 9 out of 10 from Me =) Max :P Expand
  30. matteogh
    Dec 9, 2008
    9
    Finally something new in which the core of everything isn't just kill-them-all! Nowaday consoles do have a great potential but the games are always the some. This software house have been brave enough to brake this wall of "let's make the easiest thing: give players something to shoot at. They like it...mostly."
    I really like it. And is the first anwer to the main question: why
    Finally something new in which the core of everything isn't just kill-them-all! Nowaday consoles do have a great potential but the games are always the some. This software house have been brave enough to brake this wall of "let's make the easiest thing: give players something to shoot at. They like it...mostly."
    I really like it. And is the first anwer to the main question: why always and mostly only First-person-shooters?
    3rd generation games? this is probably the really first 3rd gen game ever made.
    Expand
  31. ChrisW
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    I found this an exhilarating breath of fresh air. The game is pretty and the choice of first person was inspired. Many people will tell you the game takes a little getting used to, but once you do, it's well worth the doing. The soundtrack and style choice is wonderful and gives you a wonderful sense of freedom or caged action as the section of the game requires. Many negative I found this an exhilarating breath of fresh air. The game is pretty and the choice of first person was inspired. Many people will tell you the game takes a little getting used to, but once you do, it's well worth the doing. The soundtrack and style choice is wonderful and gives you a wonderful sense of freedom or caged action as the section of the game requires. Many negative reviews seem to say this game falls down at gunplay....I question the point of this, when, repeatedly, the game points out you won't be mobile, and that picking up a gun should be temporary at best. If you want to use guns and you run upto 2 enemies rather than going around, nick one gun, blast the other guy away, drop the gun and continue on. In this way combat is very freeform, do you avoid everyone, breaking lines of site whenever possible, or do you circle around and ambush your would be attackers. A word of caution though, unless your very skilled, don't take on 3 guys in close combat at once. Divide and conquer and all that. Take note of the hints displayed between levels, there are many handy things like, how to stun opponents to make disarms child play, how to spin opponents around again to make disarms or just a regular beating a breeze. Again many critics are under the mistaken impression that there are areas that you MUST defeat enemies to continue, allow me to tell you there are only 2 such sections in the game, BOTH of them are boss battles, any section can be bypassed without defeating all the average enemies in the area. Admittedly there are a couple that this is trickier in (you may have to stun or disarm one or two to get to a door or ledge), but then if it was always easy the game might just get boring. It is true that there will be once or twice when you have no idea where to go, relax, take a deep breath and press the button that shows you where to go...then all that's left is working out how to get there. Ultimately this game is fun and freeing, and it's technical aspects live up to it. After several play throughs I've never encountered a bug other than a couple of slow loading textures. Anyone who likes fast paced free-form action would be well advised to try this game out. Expand
  32. EddieD.
    Jan 12, 2009
    8
    Most of the criticism this game receives is because it has a rather classical approach to game difficulty. It'll take time and plenty of retries to figure out how to get from point A to point B. If you can handle that you're in for an otherwise innovative and invigorating game experience. The combat is also not nearly as frustrating as some people make out. It's different Most of the criticism this game receives is because it has a rather classical approach to game difficulty. It'll take time and plenty of retries to figure out how to get from point A to point B. If you can handle that you're in for an otherwise innovative and invigorating game experience. The combat is also not nearly as frustrating as some people make out. It's different to a standard FPS, but once you get the hang of it it's just as rewarding. Not to say that the game doesn't have problems, such as some graphics glitches and clipping problem, but don't let critics who don't seem to appreciate the gameplay of this game persuade you not to buy this game. Download the Demo, and if, like me, you end up playing it several times to figure out whether this game is for you, just give it a chance. Expand
  33. BrandonM
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    I don't see why everyone gave this game a bad rating, i think this game is truly amazing, nothing like others. The combat system has a lot to be desired. I hope the sequl has a different storyline, different level designs, and a better combat system. All in all, if you want a game that stands out from others, i think you should get this.
  34. MrFlibble
    Mar 27, 2009
    8
    I was very intrigued by Mirrors Edge when it was nearing the end of development as it was something that little bit different. I tried the demo which was horribly bugged with scripted events failing to fire and some questionable clipping problems. However, when I saw it second hand for £10 I couldn't resist it. I have to admit that when I first fired it up and was being persued I was very intrigued by Mirrors Edge when it was nearing the end of development as it was something that little bit different. I tried the demo which was horribly bugged with scripted events failing to fire and some questionable clipping problems. However, when I saw it second hand for £10 I couldn't resist it. I have to admit that when I first fired it up and was being persued through the early levels and having to really think on my feet it was absolutely amazing. It was like being Jason Bourne, slickly disarming my opponents and deviously running away from danger. Brilliant! Unfortunately the level design does dip here and there and when it does you're left with the bare bones of the game which leaves you to make some very frustrating combo jumps. Now this wouldn't be a problem if it wasn't for the fact that there are clipping issues. I've jumped clean through bits I'm meant to be able to grab and got stuck in the scenery plenty of times. To make matters worse the game doesn't always seem to recognise that you've pressed the jump button. I tried four different controllers on two different 360's and, wired or not, every so often the game ignored me pressing jump. This was both during a simple one jump manouvre or during combo jumps. When you're playing on one of the few duff levels the game turns from being a joy to a trial of frustration. Add to this the ever so slightly hit and miss unarmed combat and the fact that on some particularly hard levels you end up disarming a load of people and the game keeps respawning more baddies making the whole thing feel rather futile at times. But when the game is a joy it really is! There are some very entertaining and clever levels. There are puzzles that make you feel like you actually solved them because you're smart rather than just took part in a tedious process of trial and error (I'm looking at you Tomb Raider Underworld!). So why did I give the game an 8? Well, problems or not there are those sections where the game really is a 10/10 game but they're offset by some annoying issues described earlier and the occasional tedious level. Mirrors Edge really is a flawed classic that's well worth investigating if you fancy something a bit different. Expand
  35. AdiD.
    Nov 13, 2008
    7
    Once you get over the first impression of a bland cityscape you realise just how well the visuals have been designed to help you make the most of the experience. Sadly, the gameplay itself prevents this Mirror's Edge from being a classic. The controls are clunky and less than intuitive and the repetetive nature of brute force progression can get tedious. Worth a look, but try before you buy.
  36. LunarC.
    Nov 15, 2008
    9
    I think Mirror's Edge is pretty underrated. It's rare that an original game worth playing hits the market, and I think that if you like platform games, you should definitely try it; it's just like Prince Of Persia in first person view with a bit of Sonic mixed up. This game is difficult, but not broken; a thing some reviewer seem to fail to understand. And while the I think Mirror's Edge is pretty underrated. It's rare that an original game worth playing hits the market, and I think that if you like platform games, you should definitely try it; it's just like Prince Of Persia in first person view with a bit of Sonic mixed up. This game is difficult, but not broken; a thing some reviewer seem to fail to understand. And while the longevity of the story mode isn't so great, what is fun about this game is replaying the levels in new ways and trying to improve your score. It's definitely one of the most interesting game this fall, and it holds a dear place in my heart, much like Portal does. Also, it's one of the few games which does not have brownish gray as a main color, and only for that, it deserves a thumbs up. Expand
  37. LotharioEscobar
    Nov 18, 2008
    5
    Combat never should have been included in this game. I just wanted to have fun exploring and jumping around a high-altitude sandbox; freestyle. Being constantly chased and shot at by the cops is mind-blowingly annoying, and the combat dynamic almost entirely ruins the parkour experience. I won't buy the sequel without trying it first, but I still have faith in the basic idea.
  38. DeeL.
    Nov 28, 2008
    8
    This game is pretty great because of the parkor. I hate be be elitist but I was into parkor myself before mirrors edge and I find it to be a very good simulation. All those times when you fall off the building a dozen or so times doesn't really pester me because I expected it to be difficult, just like real life. I can't count the number of times I fell on my ass or fell right This game is pretty great because of the parkor. I hate be be elitist but I was into parkor myself before mirrors edge and I find it to be a very good simulation. All those times when you fall off the building a dozen or so times doesn't really pester me because I expected it to be difficult, just like real life. I can't count the number of times I fell on my ass or fell right off the building (thankfully these buildings where shorter) and sometimes ran full speed into a wall because I tripped on the spring board or something. The game doesn't make you a parkor god, it just makes you really capable at parkor and makes it so when you fall off a skyscraper you don't die, you re-spawn. Sadly the game was kinda short and the plot was hilariously bad. So if you play this gaming expecting it puke entertainment all over you it's not going to work for you. If you come into it thinking it's a simulator or that it's meant to teach you how to do awesome stuff then you'll love it. You might even go outside try some vaults or jumps and find out that this stuff isn't easy (face, meet dirt). Most people give up at this point. All in all, I want to see a strong sequel with a whole new plot that is good. Expand
  39. VarunKumar
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    This probably is the best game i've played in a long time. It maybe has a weak storyline, maybe a few frustrating moments , maybe is a little confusing at times too, but what it boils down to in the end, is a perfectly structured, perfectly paced and a visually striking game that'll stay with all for a long time. I'll give it a 10, and EA DICE, I'm waiting for a sequel.
  40. MP
    Nov 30, 2008
    9
    One of the most original and unique gameplay experiences in years. Fantastic art style and cutscenes fill the game. Some acrobatic sequences can be frustrating though and combat is poorly implemented. Buy this game to support originality in game development, as opposed to endless sequels and boring old franchises.
  41. AlexanderB
    Nov 30, 2008
    9
    Awsome game that is a good rent. The reason why to rent it is because you can beat it in 6 hours. It is the best 6 hour game i have ever played and an awsome rent. Im probaly going to buy this for PC because once mods come out it will get longer. Overall rent it and buy the game if you really like it.
  42. DonnyD.
    Nov 15, 2008
    9
    Some of the reviews of this game are just incredibly unfair, considering that FarCry2 which is possibly one of the worst fps games of all time has a higher metacritic rating. This game is ten times better than Far Cry 2 and ten times as entertaining. It has flaws but nowhere near those of Far Cry 2. And some "proffessionals" dare to give it a rating of 50 just because they die frequently? Some of the reviews of this game are just incredibly unfair, considering that FarCry2 which is possibly one of the worst fps games of all time has a higher metacritic rating. This game is ten times better than Far Cry 2 and ten times as entertaining. It has flaws but nowhere near those of Far Cry 2. And some "proffessionals" dare to give it a rating of 50 just because they die frequently? That's just insane, do those guys lack opposable thumbs or something? Expand
  43. TimL.
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    It's hard to describe exactly what Mirror's Edge is like without actually showing it in action. In short, it's best to describe it as a first-person platformer, providing an exhilarating experience. The game lets you pull off amazing moves that are fun to string together into clever combos that can help you solve many of the game's puzzles. There are some frustrating It's hard to describe exactly what Mirror's Edge is like without actually showing it in action. In short, it's best to describe it as a first-person platformer, providing an exhilarating experience. The game lets you pull off amazing moves that are fun to string together into clever combos that can help you solve many of the game's puzzles. There are some frustrating moments in the game, however, especially when encountering multiple enemies, that can end up turning exhilaration into frustration. That said, for the most part, enemies add to the intensity of the experience, keeping you on the edge as you speed through the puzzles. The story mode has an interesting plot that helps to support the world of Mirror's Edge, but all in all it takes a back seat to the game play. The story mode should take about 5-10 hours to complete. There is also a Time Trial mode, which lets you play a speed run of each level plus additional subsections for the best time and skill rating. This mode adds some replay value and are a fun addition to the game after the main story. Looking back, I had a fun time playing Mirror's Edge. While it wasn't perfect, it was a unique, exhilarating experience that was enjoyable. Expand
  44. Jul 25, 2011
    8
    First lets start with the graphics, they are breathtaking and impressive. This isn't the typical first person game were you simultaneously you're running and gunning, wrong, it's not a first person shooter, is almost real. The gameplay shakes everything , tricky I most say, right when you are going to run is an interaction game, you utilize your instincts , is how you react to theFirst lets start with the graphics, they are breathtaking and impressive. This isn't the typical first person game were you simultaneously you're running and gunning, wrong, it's not a first person shooter, is almost real. The gameplay shakes everything , tricky I most say, right when you are going to run is an interaction game, you utilize your instincts , is how you react to the obstacle to be as fast as you can. They put you a ledge and a wall, okay, so you need to run press a combination of buttons and then you're in the rooftops. In other words , this is a first person plat former . Dice ( the creators of Battlefield) made something unique. Expand
  45. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    Mirror's Edge certainly had it's flaws, particularly in the final few combat focused chapters, but five years after release there is still nothing else quite like it. Traversing the unique landscape in first person is fantastic and the excellent soundtrack only adds to the overall experience. This first game didn't sell as well as it should have but I hope we get a sequel one day.
  46. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Finally a game that has true basic freerunning! The game is great in terms of the freerunning and the story but there are a few gripes. One, disarming an enemy is nearly impossible to do on the first try. And two, the training part has a very picky part where you have to run up a wall and the turn around and jump on a platform. I did what I told me to do God knows how many times and nowFinally a game that has true basic freerunning! The game is great in terms of the freerunning and the story but there are a few gripes. One, disarming an enemy is nearly impossible to do on the first try. And two, the training part has a very picky part where you have to run up a wall and the turn around and jump on a platform. I did what I told me to do God knows how many times and now once did it say I did it right, despite following all of the instructions.

    All in all, the game isn't perfect since it's art direction can confuse some eyes like mine. But it never stops in delivering it's core gameplay element: Freerunning.
    Expand
  47. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    The story is really bad, and the campaign is short. Takes under 2 hours on second playthrough from start to finish. But if you are looking for an arcade-style first-person platformer that's addicting, you can't afford to ignore this. The levels and maps are so well made, it's worth it just for the time trials. If you just want a good story, avoid. If you're looking for something different,The story is really bad, and the campaign is short. Takes under 2 hours on second playthrough from start to finish. But if you are looking for an arcade-style first-person platformer that's addicting, you can't afford to ignore this. The levels and maps are so well made, it's worth it just for the time trials. If you just want a good story, avoid. If you're looking for something different, you won't be dissapointed. I still played this game after completing story 4 times (excluding speed runs) and having all achievements just to go back and improve times on the trials. The problem is EA shut down servers for the game on Xbox 360. It's got a lot of replay value though. The game and its controls are simple and easy to understand, but I still enjoyed playing this even without doing the crazy glitches and taking overtly insane shortcuts like the world record holders. I still had fun playing the game like an average player and improving times despite not looking up guides to try new routes and stuff. There's so much more to this game than meets the eye. The best thing is that anyone can pick it up, play it and gain satisfaction from doing the game. There's nothing out there like it, and as long as you're into the idea of spending a lot of time perfecting something, you'll enjoy it in the same way as a racing game. It doesn't matter if you can't get anywhere near the world records. What matters is setting a target and achieving it with YOUR playstyle, not copying someone else's. That said, you do learn new things as you go along and perhaps watch a few world record videos. Regardless of how you play it, this game is addicting, fun and innovative. Expand
  48. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Truly outstanding. A very challenging but innovative game. The storyline is gripping and interesting and the gameplay is fantastic. The game will have you scratching your head for hours on some of the levels. Once you master the art of free-running, you will then have to master combat - and just because you've played COD doesn't mean that you'll be a natural by any means. Oh and notTruly outstanding. A very challenging but innovative game. The storyline is gripping and interesting and the gameplay is fantastic. The game will have you scratching your head for hours on some of the levels. Once you master the art of free-running, you will then have to master combat - and just because you've played COD doesn't mean that you'll be a natural by any means. Oh and not forgetting that intelligence and problem solving are the main skills required. These three things mean that you will be playing it for hours but when you complete it you will be over the moon - a feeling that few games give you anymore. The missions aren't too repetitive and most of them have their own adrenaline pumping section as well, whether its skyscrapers or cranes, the game will deliver on realistic situations that will have your heart breaking out of your ribcage. Aside from the story, it has a few other features to keep you going that are equally as challenging. The closest it gets to multiplayer is a leaderboard but not all games need online do they? The realism of the story and the city is second to none because the city looks realistic but you can also see that it is in the future and you can also sense that the city is ruled by a dictator. A game that I would recommend to anyone who takes gaming seriously and to anyone who wants to feel a sense of achievement at the end of a game. It deserved to win all the awards that it got. Expand
  49. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    This game is creative and different in a market saturated with generic military shooters. Games like this make me grateful that their are still innovative people in the gaming industry. But like anything in this world, it has it's flaws. The visual art style is one that feel clean and vivid. The controls take some time to get used to but is fine if your not picky. The story is somewhatThis game is creative and different in a market saturated with generic military shooters. Games like this make me grateful that their are still innovative people in the gaming industry. But like anything in this world, it has it's flaws. The visual art style is one that feel clean and vivid. The controls take some time to get used to but is fine if your not picky. The story is somewhat generic but the way its told engages you. The score is blissful and balanced. Replay value is medium considering there is a time trial mode.
    This game isn't for everyone. It's for those who will give games a chance to soak in and marinate.
    Expand
  50. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    get adrenaline pumping game although the story is rather pointless you feel like the character when you play this game its all about running and there is a learning curve once you learn it you will be able to pull off sweet moves this game is parkour in a nutshell and it is fun the only problem is the story and the very organized parts that will keep you running around in circles for 20get adrenaline pumping game although the story is rather pointless you feel like the character when you play this game its all about running and there is a learning curve once you learn it you will be able to pull off sweet moves this game is parkour in a nutshell and it is fun the only problem is the story and the very organized parts that will keep you running around in circles for 20 minutes but its a great game other wise Expand
  51. Mar 3, 2013
    5
    A solid new IP from EA. Its nice to see EA take some chances with new IPs. The game has an elegant simplistic art style that is different from any other game out. The game focuses on parkour which combines running and a puzzle element of where to go next. Its interesting to see a game focus purely on running. Although, free running in videogames this generation is nothing new, it hasn'tA solid new IP from EA. Its nice to see EA take some chances with new IPs. The game has an elegant simplistic art style that is different from any other game out. The game focuses on parkour which combines running and a puzzle element of where to go next. Its interesting to see a game focus purely on running. Although, free running in videogames this generation is nothing new, it hasn't ever been the sole focus of a game. As of any game that relies heavily on one or two main game mechanics, the game starts getting tiring as the game progresses. And the combat could have been better implemented. Overall though, its nice to see EA games go the creative route instead of playing it safe with a more traditional type of new IP. Expand
  52. Jul 12, 2012
    9
    What a game! I love the complete first-person style of the game (yes, even when you roll) and the pace of it. It combines puzzles with fast-paced action. This is a game that truly challenges your mind without being a slow-paced puzzle game. It brings about what games should be--not mindless kill-ems, but challenging and testing of problem-solving skills.
  53. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Best new IP this gen. The game is gorgeous. The game is long by today's standards and the controls, while a little hard to get used to feels great. The story is also interesting.
    The game is a tad old so I am not gonna go crazy reviewing it here but it is a must buy. No reason to not have this gem in your collection.
  54. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    A really under-rated game. The art style, the soundtrack and the parkour gameplay were really solid, and this made Mirror's Edge one of my favorite games of this generation. Sure, the combat wasn't really solid, and the game was relatively short, but you can find it dirt cheap anywhere online, and you won't regret it.
  55. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    Personally, this was my favourite game of 2008. It wasn't perfect and to be honest the game feels much like a tech demo/prototype for another game. The game is rather niche, hence the lack of mainstream success but if you're into visually stunning games with inspiring settings and unique gameplay mechanics then Mirror's Edge might just be for you.

    Graphics: 9/10 Gameplay:
    Personally, this was my favourite game of 2008. It wasn't perfect and to be honest the game feels much like a tech demo/prototype for another game. The game is rather niche, hence the lack of mainstream success but if you're into visually stunning games with inspiring settings and unique gameplay mechanics then Mirror's Edge might just be for you.

    Graphics: 9/10
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Features: 6/10

    Mirror's Edge may be too basic for some and can feel quite empty in terms of content and story but if you enjoy replaying levels (time trials) to improve your time, then Mirror's Edge should keep you satisfied for a while.
    Expand
  56. May 2, 2013
    8
    I had a lot of fun with this game. Such creativity and innovation was put into this game. A first person parkour action shooter? Mirror's Edge was the first of its kind, and hopefully won't be the last. The entertainment was superb, the plot engaging, and I also thought the animated cut scenes were a nice addition; added to the aesthetic of the overall experience. My only problem with theI had a lot of fun with this game. Such creativity and innovation was put into this game. A first person parkour action shooter? Mirror's Edge was the first of its kind, and hopefully won't be the last. The entertainment was superb, the plot engaging, and I also thought the animated cut scenes were a nice addition; added to the aesthetic of the overall experience. My only problem with the game was the controls, at times were a bit hard to master. Especially the wallriding and the disarming actions. If those were cleaned up just a wee bit, it would have been a 10/10. I honestly hope they'll be doing a sequel, excellent work. Expand
  57. Aug 29, 2013
    5
    Mirror's edge is something unique,new and refreshing in the gaming world.. but its not for everybody...

    The good: Running jumping and moving around at great speeds while performing acrobatics is great fun and its the games greatest strength. Its something you never experience in gaming before.. especially when you string a series of moves together as you gain speed its very
    Mirror's edge is something unique,new and refreshing in the gaming world.. but its not for everybody...

    The good:
    Running jumping and moving around at great speeds while performing acrobatics is great fun and its the games greatest strength. Its something you never experience in gaming before.. especially when you string a series of moves together as you gain speed its very exhilarating. Also the graphics and the overall design concept is great and beautiful..

    The bad
    The story in the single player campaign is just an excuses to go through all the levels. Also the story at times dosent even make sense, and its plain ridiculous. Almost zero character development and the artistic style of how everything is communicated looks bad and feels cheap.

    This game is not a shooter, but you have the option to pick up a gun.. AVOID THIS AT ALL COSTS.. the combat mechanics are beyond broken.. Almost unbelievable that this game came from the creator of the BF series.

    Also this game is very short.. which almost feels like a tech demo rather than a full game.

    Today it can be found in bargain bins for like 5-10 bucks.. for that price its worth playing this unique and short game...
    Expand
  58. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic gorgeous visuals and fun game-play with a decent story, although the game is a bit on the short side and has....well cut-scenes that suffice the Time trials add a lot of replay value as well as the hidden runner bags, the game is worth the buy just for the anti-runner encounters that we will hopefully see more of in the sequel.
    So to sum up this game is stupidly
    This game is fantastic gorgeous visuals and fun game-play with a decent story, although the game is a bit on the short side and has....well cut-scenes that suffice the Time trials add a lot of replay value as well as the hidden runner bags, the game is worth the buy just for the anti-runner encounters that we will hopefully see more of in the sequel.
    So to sum up this game is stupidly cheap fun beautiful and has a good amount of replay value that will leave you entertained for hours and hours on end this is a must buy for anyone even remotely interested in free-running (Parkour)
    Expand
  59. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    I found that mirrors edge is a great game. I know that some people complain about the shooting system but the game wants you to think outside of the box and connect different moves. I didn't find that the shooting system was okay. The running and jumping system feels so fluid like I found that anytime I did a skill roll I was proud that I did it. The only thing I didn't like about the gameI found that mirrors edge is a great game. I know that some people complain about the shooting system but the game wants you to think outside of the box and connect different moves. I didn't find that the shooting system was okay. The running and jumping system feels so fluid like I found that anytime I did a skill roll I was proud that I did it. The only thing I didn't like about the game is that the story is way too short I completed it in an hour. Expand
  60. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    Mirrors Edge was a unique experience for all the way back to its' time. Free running was mostly unheard of, and this game was purely that. This is what gripped me about the game; I loved the fluent, intuitive movement, and the flow of the game was so incredibly smooth and flawless that you couldn't really go wrong. After playing the demo, I can't say my opinion changed. In fact, the gameMirrors Edge was a unique experience for all the way back to its' time. Free running was mostly unheard of, and this game was purely that. This is what gripped me about the game; I loved the fluent, intuitive movement, and the flow of the game was so incredibly smooth and flawless that you couldn't really go wrong. After playing the demo, I can't say my opinion changed. In fact, the game seemed even more worthwhile than before. Having finally got the game, I found it to be a new experience, with an interesting story set in a subtly dystopian alternate reality, where the general public disregarded free speech and went about their lives without questioning anything. This is something else Mirror's Edge does well; rather than an in-your-face, dark and dreary setting, the city looks clean and rather pleasant, but is underlined by darker goings on. The tale unravels as you make your way through, running, fighting and shooting your way along rooftops, through office buildings and underground.

    The game isn't perfect, though; simply free running the entire way, there isn't really much variation, no extra mechanics that games nowadays would make use of to break up the monotony. The story is inspired, and in some ways unpredictable, but feels a little unimaginative.

    I can't say the game isn't good though, and anyone that has yet to play it is greatly missing out on a genre defining classic.
    Expand
  61. Jan 28, 2015
    9
    First i play this game for like 27 time beautiful graphic sountrack god story simple but cool the parkour is **** awesome Faith connor is great the only problem is short but ad the fantastic game
  62. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    This is one of my favorite games of last generation, of all time for that matter. The aesthetics in this game are absolutely amazing. The high contrast in color is not only helpful, but also visually amazing. The game is a parkour adventure game with some of the best video game music I've ever heard. The music really completes the experience. This game is a wonderful experience for bothThis is one of my favorite games of last generation, of all time for that matter. The aesthetics in this game are absolutely amazing. The high contrast in color is not only helpful, but also visually amazing. The game is a parkour adventure game with some of the best video game music I've ever heard. The music really completes the experience. This game is a wonderful experience for both your eyes and ears. The story is a bit weak, but it is fairly easy to follow because of that. This can be a positive or negative depending on how much you care for a deep story. Mechanically, this game excels greatly. The game does not make you feel nauseous or dizzy, the dot in the middle of the screen helps a lot with that. The game is fairly short, but you are getting a very high quality experience in that time. Your first play through will most likely take about 6 hours. After that, it should only take you about 3-4 hours. For $60, the game is a bit overpriced, but today you can buy it for $20 or less. This is an amazing bargain. Even though this game was released in 2008 (Xbox 360 and PS3), its graphics are still beautiful and hold up very well. The game runs very well on 360, with only a few texture pop-ins. There have never been frame rate drops in my experience with the game either. If you have never played Mirror's Edge, it is an amazing game that every gamer should experience. Expand
  63. Aug 30, 2014
    8
    Was really fun at first until I got more into the game.. In the beginning really you were just jumping off anywhere you wanted and using different methods of "parkour" to get where you had to be, and it was a blast. When combat was first introduced it was alright , kinda repetitive but atleast you could just ignore the people shooting you if you didn't wanna fight them. Then, theWas really fun at first until I got more into the game.. In the beginning really you were just jumping off anywhere you wanted and using different methods of "parkour" to get where you had to be, and it was a blast. When combat was first introduced it was alright , kinda repetitive but atleast you could just ignore the people shooting you if you didn't wanna fight them. Then, the storyline kinda turned into a drag, you were frequently forced to fight 1v5 and transform this great parkour game into a mini FPS where you just sat behind cover and shot them with a gun, which really ruined it for me. Also, the random free-running parts of the game kinda drifted away... And, the tricky challenges which you didnt ever wanna do, start to make you rage ALOT more. As you get more and more good with the mechanics of the game, you wanna start doing objectives a little faster and try to run the way through, well let me just say THIS GAME IS NOT FORGIVING AT ALL, and you will constantly fall to your death at the stupidest times. Expand
  64. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    From Start To Finish This Game Is Unique. The fantastic art style, parkour and fighting is simply great. I would recommend this for any platformer fan considering its pretty much a fps platformer (literally)
  65. Nov 13, 2014
    8
    This game was a good one.

    Memorable story and memorable characters. The game was very easy to jump into, as the tutorial was not very long at all [maybe at least 5-10 minutes]. A problem I had with the game was the button layout but it was partially configurable. Another issue was the fighting mechanic, as it was very linear. Overall though, this game was pretty good and I would
    This game was a good one.

    Memorable story and memorable characters. The game was very easy to jump into, as the tutorial was not very long at all [maybe at least 5-10 minutes].

    A problem I had with the game was the button layout but it was partially configurable. Another issue was the fighting mechanic, as it was very linear.

    Overall though, this game was pretty good and I would definitely play it again if I had to.
    Expand
  66. Feb 18, 2015
    10
    I played this game about 4 years ago and the graphics would still be amazing if the game was released today. Now i'll admit, I can see why some people may not like the gameplay because its not action packed. There are a lot of slower puzzle type aspects to the game. But overall the game is incredible, I can't wait for the second.
  67. Jan 17, 2012
    0
    Trial and error, trial and error. Nobodies reflexes work this fast and if they did then the unresponsive controls would screw you over. The overly sexualising of the women annoyed me too. Something I normally don't care about, but here it's just so overt and cheesy. The cut scenes try and have a unique style to them, but end up looking like a flash game. Neat concept, which literallyTrial and error, trial and error. Nobodies reflexes work this fast and if they did then the unresponsive controls would screw you over. The overly sexualising of the women annoyed me too. Something I normally don't care about, but here it's just so overt and cheesy. The cut scenes try and have a unique style to them, but end up looking like a flash game. Neat concept, which literally falls on it's behind. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. But for every bit as brilliant Mirror’s Edge is, it’s also equally as frustrating. For every time you exclaim in joyful accomplishment by nailing a series of jumps and lifts, you’ll lament missing a ledge by the width of a fingernail for what feels like the hundredth time, just as much.
  2. Mirror's Edge is a distinct game, both in playability and visuals and that's a major feat. Faith is full of character and her world is colorful and vibrant, although the adventure is quite short.
  3. Mirror’s Edge seems to be yet another game marking EA’s gaming renaissance. Rather than churning out endless sequels, it’s encouraging to see that they’re willing to take a leap of faith (pardon the pun) and let ace developers such as DICE try out new IPs and ideas.