Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    A charmingly made game of thieves that's funny and addicting above all. You may play it alone, or with three other thieves, which multiplies the fun. [Issue#231]
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    The stealth mechanics are so pure. [Issue#136, p.110]
  3. May 15, 2013
    80
    As a single player game, you’re able to take your time, case the joint and find effective ways to complete the map. Like Metal Gear Solid and other stealth games, it’s satisfying to get through each area, work out guard patterns and find the perfect hiding places. As a multiplayer game it’s a whole different monster. Sure, an organised group can probably best a level as quietly and efficiently as single player, but with offline play and friends like yours, you know what it’s going to be like
  4. May 14, 2013
    70
    Regardless of which thief you prefer to use, or if you'd rather tackle the game solo or with other players, you're going to need a great deal of patience, luck and skill in order to handle Monaco's complex missions.
  5. Apr 24, 2013
    85
    An original and demanding game, capable of delivering great satisfaction to lovers of stealth and strategy together with a very intense co-op experience.
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    90
    It’s clear that Monaco is a labor of love, from the meticulously detailed levels to the quirky art style and devilishly complex experience. Clearly, it’s possible to be inspired by many unrelated influences that yield an original, delightful, and frenetic outcome; Monaco: What’s Yours Is Mine is living proof.
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    90
    Delivers one of the purest and most enjoyable cooperative experiences I've had in quite some time.
  8. 80
    Monaco is a stylish and considered game that's all the more remarkable for being the work of just one man. It's absolutely worth your money.
  9. Apr 24, 2013
    70
    Monaco: What's Yours Is Mine has noticeable problems that keep it from reaching its potential. The appeal of stealth ties in largely to how scared you are of being caught, and because it's so easy to escape in this downloadable game, the tension slowly evaporates.
  10. Apr 24, 2013
    85
    The demanding difficulty may be a turnoff for some, but Monaco manages to deliver an impressively minimalist twist on stealth that doesn’t sacrifice the depth or strategy the genre is known for.
  11. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    It may not be the game of stealth the blueprints and lingo of red exclamation marks suggest, but Monaco’s loot and scoot play has a winning personality that’s all its own.
  12. 80
    A fun game unlike anything we’ve seen on Xbox. Don’t be surprised if it sneaks off with your time and money.
  13. Apr 24, 2013
    70
    When Monaco is working — when two or more people are picking through its stages, evading traps, conking out guards, and breaking into dangerous territory, it clicks like an expensive safe. It nails the white-knuckled, Hollywood heist motif with style. But you’re going to need like-minded friends — and a whole lot of patience — to get there.
  14. Apr 24, 2013
    88
    Whether you’re all on the same couch or meeting up online, Monaco offers a multiplayer experience unlike any other game on the market. The text-based story that unfolds between levels is great fun, especially once you begin to see the different perspectives on the tale that unlock as you play. Rule out impatient players and graphics snobs when picking your team, but everyone else should gear up for the big heist.
  15. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    Monaco is the first game I’ve played that truly nails feel of the heist, with enough traps, items, and different characters that co-op play with friends should be a staple of your online activity for the months to come.
  16. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    It's a unique twist on the stealth genre and one that's worth exploring in three dimensions. [Issue#97, p.77]
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Challenging, charming, and the most fun you will have playing a co-op game on the xbox. And by co-op I mean with your friends sitting on the couch next to you for once. In general I am not a fan of retro pixilated art styles... but man does it work here when combined with the beautiful lighting and blueprint style fog of war. Play a couple of hours of the campaign and then invite your friends over, make a beer run, order pizza... yah it's that kind of game, and it's glorious! Full Review »
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    Yet another excellent indie couch co-op centric game. The retro pixel art is great, the multiple player types allow for a lot of stealth options. Recommended for anyone who likes stealth and can do couch co-op. Full Review »
  3. May 26, 2013
    8
    Ok so this is only my first impressions of the game This is based off the first about 30 min my friend and I played this game. Most of my review is just my opinion anyway. It is a great game I absolutely love it but at some parts and for some achievements co op is forced which i get but you know every now and then I just want to play a heist game like this solo (I love heist games). Also I felt quite rushed by the timer. I think that games should never have achievements for doing stuff in a certain time because I prefer to just enjoy the game not rush through it but thats just my opinion. Otherwise Monaco is a great game I would recommend this game to anyone looking for a good co op games. Full Review »