User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    Yet another excellent indie couch co-op centric game. The retro pixel art is great, the multiple player types allow for a lot of stealth options. Recommended for anyone who likes stealth and can do couch co-op.
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    It's an awesome game, that can be challenging at times (especially on your own). But it's definitely a game worth playing, with friends. Go and buy it!
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    5
    I'm glad so many people have really enjoyed this game. I end up feeling like there is something wrong with me for feeling like it is mediocre at best. I applaud the attempt to do something different. For my couch-surfing multiplayer sessions I think I'll be more likely to fire up Spelunky.
  4. May 26, 2013
    8
    Ok so this is only my first impressions of the game This is based off the first about 30 min my friend and I played this game. Most of my review is just my opinion anyway. It is a great game I absolutely love it but at some parts and for some achievements co op is forced which i get but you know every now and then I just want to play a heist game like this solo (I love heist games). Also IOk so this is only my first impressions of the game This is based off the first about 30 min my friend and I played this game. Most of my review is just my opinion anyway. It is a great game I absolutely love it but at some parts and for some achievements co op is forced which i get but you know every now and then I just want to play a heist game like this solo (I love heist games). Also I felt quite rushed by the timer. I think that games should never have achievements for doing stuff in a certain time because I prefer to just enjoy the game not rush through it but thats just my opinion. Otherwise Monaco is a great game I would recommend this game to anyone looking for a good co op games. Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    I've noticed a couple glitches but overall for an arcade game this is really great. I've read that on PC it's even better so if you're a PC gamer go with that. I'd say that as a coop game (live coop) it's one of the best since some of the earlier XBLA games. worth checkin out
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    I'm liking Monaco quite a lot, but it's not perfect game by any chance. There are couple of gripes I have with this. First of all enemy AI. It's just ridiculously stupid and scripted. Guards patrol the area in semi predictable ways, I like their pattern and figuring them is a bit of a challenge which I like, but when they eventually see you, you just need to break the line of sight withI'm liking Monaco quite a lot, but it's not perfect game by any chance. There are couple of gripes I have with this. First of all enemy AI. It's just ridiculously stupid and scripted. Guards patrol the area in semi predictable ways, I like their pattern and figuring them is a bit of a challenge which I like, but when they eventually see you, you just need to break the line of sight with them and then they just quit, they don't search the area where you went missing, or even look behind a door where I'm hiding even though I obviously went there but they just barely saw me in front of the door so they can't, it all feels just too scripted and it sucks out a lot of tension that a stealth game should have. Also, Monaco feels a bit too much coop heavy and in single player some of the classes are just way too underpowered to face many of the situations. There's nothing wrong with making coop game, it's perfect here actually, the best coop experience I've ever had, but if putting in a single player with no means to get any traits of other classes some of them just become a bit pointless, of course you can survive with all of them, I've tried but you can't do it really sneaky and stealthy like you should be able to in a sneaking game. Overall I really like this game, it's a great game but in terms of tension, AI and balance it falters a bit too much for a stealth game, it just feels like a 7 to me. This isn't the definitive stealth game some may have been expecting, but definitely pick it up if you have couple of friends you can play on your couch, you can play this locally with 4 players, even on PC and even on the same keyboard which is really rare these days. Collapse
  7. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Challenging, charming, and the most fun you will have playing a co-op game on the xbox. And by co-op I mean with your friends sitting on the couch next to you for once. In general I am not a fan of retro pixilated art styles... but man does it work here when combined with the beautiful lighting and blueprint style fog of war. Play a couple of hours of the campaign and then invite yourChallenging, charming, and the most fun you will have playing a co-op game on the xbox. And by co-op I mean with your friends sitting on the couch next to you for once. In general I am not a fan of retro pixilated art styles... but man does it work here when combined with the beautiful lighting and blueprint style fog of war. Play a couple of hours of the campaign and then invite your friends over, make a beer run, order pizza... yah it's that kind of game, and it's glorious! Expand
  8. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    I'm liking Monaco quite a lot, but it's not perfect game by any chance. There are couple of gripes I have with this. First of all enemy AI. It's just ridiculously stupid and scripted. Guards patrol the area in semi predictable ways, I like their pattern and figuring them is a bit of a challenge which I like, but when they eventually see you, you just need to break the line of sight withI'm liking Monaco quite a lot, but it's not perfect game by any chance. There are couple of gripes I have with this. First of all enemy AI. It's just ridiculously stupid and scripted. Guards patrol the area in semi predictable ways, I like their pattern and figuring them is a bit of a challenge which I like, but when they eventually see you, you just need to break the line of sight with them and then they just quit, they don't search the area where you went missing, or even look behind a door where I'm hiding even though I obviously went there but they just barely saw me in front of the door so they can't, it all feels just too scripted and it sucks out a lot of tension that a stealth game should have. Also, Monaco feels a bit too much coop heavy and in single player some of the classes are just way too underpowered to face many of the situations. There's nothing wrong with making coop game, it's perfect here actually, the best coop experience I've ever had, but if putting in a single player with no means to get any traits of other classes some of them just become a bit pointless, of course you can survive with all of them, I've tried but you can't do it really sneaky and stealthy like you should be able to in a sneaking game. Overall I really like this game, it's a great game but in terms of tension, AI and balance it falters a bit too much for a stealth game, it just feels like a 7 to me. This isn't the definitive stealth game some may have been expecting, but definitely pick it up if you have couple of friends you can play on your couch, you can play this locally with 4 players, even on PC and even on the same keyboard which is really rare these days. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    A charmingly made game of thieves that's funny and addicting above all. You may play it alone, or with three other thieves, which multiplies the fun. [Issue#231]
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    The stealth mechanics are so pure. [Issue#136, p.110]
  3. May 15, 2013
    80
    As a single player game, you’re able to take your time, case the joint and find effective ways to complete the map. Like Metal Gear Solid and other stealth games, it’s satisfying to get through each area, work out guard patterns and find the perfect hiding places. As a multiplayer game it’s a whole different monster. Sure, an organised group can probably best a level as quietly and efficiently as single player, but with offline play and friends like yours, you know what it’s going to be like