NBA 2K13 Xbox 360

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 130
  2. Negative: 26 out of 130
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    5
    This game sucks! It's all about animations and sticking animations together fluently, instead of being able to be free with your movements. This... plain and simply... makes for a BAD basketball game. The menu music is horrible too!
  2. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    I don't play basketball nor do I even watch it, but I bought this game hoping to have something to do, and it somewhat succeeded in that. Although I'm not a huge fan of the game of basketball I did have fun playing this game. It did not last as long as I hoped, but for the time that I was really into it I quite enjoyed it. It takes a revolutionary step in the "Career mode" adding socialI don't play basketball nor do I even watch it, but I bought this game hoping to have something to do, and it somewhat succeeded in that. Although I'm not a huge fan of the game of basketball I did have fun playing this game. It did not last as long as I hoped, but for the time that I was really into it I quite enjoyed it. It takes a revolutionary step in the "Career mode" adding social media, sponsors, and one of my favorites the post game interview. THE VERDICT: I had never bought a NBA game before and I was somewhat satisfied with the purchase. If you enjoy the game of basketball you will probably enjoy this game a little more then I did. And in case you're wondering, I'm more of a hockey person;) Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    6
    I can't believe all the lies I see I had to create a user just so I could write the truth. Let me be very clear this game is not I repeat NOT better then 2k12. the my player mode or as they call it in 2k13 my creator mode is crap. as a rookie your only given like 5 min or so to play in game that determines where you get drafted making it very hard to get picked higher then 10th. I almostI can't believe all the lies I see I had to create a user just so I could write the truth. Let me be very clear this game is not I repeat NOT better then 2k12. the my player mode or as they call it in 2k13 my creator mode is crap. as a rookie your only given like 5 min or so to play in game that determines where you get drafted making it very hard to get picked higher then 10th. I almost forgot its much harder to level your person up unlike in 2k12 that if you got high enough in a drill you would not only get XP but you would get like +1 inside shot and so forth, not in 2k13 drills are almost useless even if you get gold you only get about 60 XP that's it no extra state for doing good. 2nd if you have multiple people using your gamer tag too bad you have to create one person and they are there forever so you can't have multiple my career modes with different people because if you try it will put that one person in every time. and it won't let you change the persons name. 3rd the playlist is so short you will get sick of it before you know it. the last problem I have is with the controls well others like the whole control stick thing I hatted it and sometimes you do a dribble move you never meant to, oh and if you where like me and never really used them in the first place it punishes you with great def all around. I almost forgot for those who got the All star DLC with the pre order don't bother its controls are so glitchy its not even worth it. so whats good about the game well they have included a lot more older teams and legends into the game which is a plus in my book. the graphics have also improved. if you don't have other people using your Gamer tag my career is a plus as far as looks you can go talk to the GM of your team just like in real life and it shows it. also you can buy apparel to change your players look when he is on the court getting to the arena and all that good stuff. oh and also in the off season your GM will ask you who you think they should try to sign taking a page out of MLB2k12. though at least in my case they went after no one I said they should so it felt like they really didn't care. Overall I am deeply saddened by NBA 2k this year I thought it would be better but it was a big disappointment do yourself a favor and keep 2k12 or re-buy it because 2k13 is just a shinny pile of crap. its going down the road of Madden and that's not a good thing. only reason its not getting a lower score is because well its not as good as 2k12 its still at times a decent game. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    7
    As far as gameplay and graphics go, this is a carbon copy of last year's game. The only major difference this year is the inclusion of the right stick being for dribble moves and if you want to shoot you must now hold LT and then the right analog. The old school teams and dream teams are still a blast from the past to play with and rosters and associations are fun but unchanged. If youAs far as gameplay and graphics go, this is a carbon copy of last year's game. The only major difference this year is the inclusion of the right stick being for dribble moves and if you want to shoot you must now hold LT and then the right analog. The old school teams and dream teams are still a blast from the past to play with and rosters and associations are fun but unchanged. If you love basketball this is a tremendous game but for people like myself who aren't big basketball fans, it's simply above average at best with not a ton a replayability. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2013
    5
    One of the most dissapointing titles for me.. HUGE 2k fan.. Bought the Dynasty for this one.. MY PLAYER mode for me was RUINED.. MICROTRANSACTIONS and the VC points dropping into everything I do.. I do NOT play online nor should i be forced too to get my full VC points that i shouldof earned to get MY PLAYER guy to develop at a decent rate.. Complete fail on that part
  6. Jun 29, 2013
    6
    2k Sports did OK with this game. Everything about it is ok. They are all lazy, money eaters. My MyPlayer is rated a 99. His pass is a 95, but whenever I try to pass out of a double team, a big man comes out of the blue and intercepts the pass. He is a 6'2 point guard, and gets blocked by all of the other point guards. This really frustrates me. 2k really needs to step it up, because right2k Sports did OK with this game. Everything about it is ok. They are all lazy, money eaters. My MyPlayer is rated a 99. His pass is a 95, but whenever I try to pass out of a double team, a big man comes out of the blue and intercepts the pass. He is a 6'2 point guard, and gets blocked by all of the other point guards. This really frustrates me. 2k really needs to step it up, because right now, I'm on the verge of buying NBA Live 14. Also, they need to improve the rating you get coming into the nba. Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2014
    5
    Let me start off by saying I'm not a fan of the sports in general or a fan of the franchise. With that said I give this boring game a 5. Its kinda cool starting out and doing interviews for scouts to get recruited to play on their team, after that its really lame. Who wants to sit and watch 50% of the game while your on the bench??? Not me, this game is more boring than a game on tv withLet me start off by saying I'm not a fan of the sports in general or a fan of the franchise. With that said I give this boring game a 5. Its kinda cool starting out and doing interviews for scouts to get recruited to play on their team, after that its really lame. Who wants to sit and watch 50% of the game while your on the bench??? Not me, this game is more boring than a game on tv with teams your not interested in. Lame and boring, all around no replay-ablility. The soundtrack however, I did very much enjoy. Expand
  8. Oct 23, 2012
    0
    NBA2K13 is a great game hands down! This year the game has the best graphics to date certainly much improved better then 2k10,2k11,2k12! This is one of the most realistic NBA2K games ive ever played! This year there is a new move control stick that give players move controls to do moves while on the court using the right joystick, and now pressing X to shoot. Also the game music is allNBA2K13 is a great game hands down! This year the game has the best graphics to date certainly much improved better then 2k10,2k11,2k12! This is one of the most realistic NBA2K games ive ever played! This year there is a new move control stick that give players move controls to do moves while on the court using the right joystick, and now pressing X to shoot. Also the game music is all produced by Jay-Z and the game features real music. For all the crew lovers like myself CREW is not back in this game BUT there is MYplayer online. There is a new mode called myplayer blacktop online. You can play 3 vs 3 online with your myplayer guy and yet its def not crew it's certainly good enough to hold people off until nba2k14 and hopefully crew will return. Overall this game is a MUST BUY for any basketball/NBA fan it's the best 2K NBA game ever , and ive played them all going way back to even sega dreamcast! Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    80
    This is a welcome new standard for sports videogames as a whole and with any luck, will generate interest in getting the audio right. There are only so many places left to make it new and NBA 2K13 has crossed another off the list.
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    82
    This is still a great game, and sports fans will love this, but for those still clinging to NBA 2K11 or 2K12, you'll want to take the plunge if you really need that roster update or desperately want to play as the Dream Team.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Dec 17, 2012
    90
    There's no need for another basketball game series if the NBA 2K franchise keeps releasing games like this. [Jan 2013, p.74]