Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    94
    It may feel like a minor upgrade, but NCAA Football 12 really adds the eye candy graphics to make it compete with other sports games this year. NCAA Football 12 takes us to the next level of depth and authenticity with new Game Day traditions, improved Road to Glory mode, and a ton of little detail improvements that make it a real joy for any college football fan to play. All that's missing is the tailgate party.
  2. Jul 11, 2011
    94
    The best football game to date.
  3. Sep 8, 2011
    91
    There are still a couple of features that need to be tweaked, such as recruiting, but with the addition of custom playbooks, the coaching carousel, conference realignments, and a fully revamped Road to Glory mode, NCAA Football has shown great strides in the last couple of titles, and NCAA Football 12 is the result of a development team putting in some hard work to make the fans happy.
  4. Jul 13, 2011
    91
    With all the new game play additions, better menus and customization options, a revamped Road to Glory mode, Custom Conferences, a new tackling engine, and presentation that represents all the major Game Day Traditions, ESPN overlays, and very cool replays that not only happen during big plays, but even are recapped at quarter's end and game's end, you really couldn't ask for anything more.
  5. Jul 13, 2011
    90
    NCAA Football 12 is simply loaded with content, as always, and most of what is here will seem familiar on the surface. Those that really dive into the meat of the game, though, will find so many welcome changes that it is hard not to appreciate what Tiburon has done here.
  6. Jul 11, 2011
    90
    It ain't perfect – and we're more convinced than ever that perfection in an HD sports game is an impossibility – but it is another soaring triumph that has something for just about everyone.
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    90
    Once again, EA Sports NCAA franchise has managed to up-the-ante resulting in a game that is more authentic and enjoyable than ever before.
  8. Jul 8, 2011
    90
    NCAA 12 is better than NCAA 11, and yet I feel like we've come to the point in the series' lifecycle where the changes – while all worthwhile – are getting harder to notice.
  9. Jul 18, 2011
    88
    Though these issues hamper the experience, NCAA Football 12 still stands as one of the strongest recent entrants in the series.
  10. Jul 13, 2011
    86
    Like a fifth-year senior, NCAA Football 12 relies on its experience more than improving its game. With minimal improvements where it matters most, it doesn't have the benefit of updated rosters of real players to help its case. It's undoubtedly the best game in the series to date, but when you can pick up last year's game for a fraction of the cost, it's difficult to recommend at full price.
  11. Jul 14, 2011
    85
    Simply put, this game warrants a purchase whether you have NCAA Football 11 or not.
  12. Jul 13, 2011
    85
    It's basically a slightly better version of last year's game, which isn't a terrible thing at all since I loved it, but those of you hoping for anything groundbreaking are probably going to be disappointed.
  13. Jul 11, 2011
    85
    The gameplay is the sweetness fans expect, but it's largely unchanged. That's not a knock -- you don't need to reinvent the wheel every year -- but it does keep NCAA Football 12 from feeling like a groundbreaking experience. Instead, it's more like a special edition of NCAA Football 11, which I'm more than happy to play for hours and hours.
  14. Jul 25, 2011
    84
    Overall, NCAA Football 12 is largely unchanged from last year's product – and this is not a bad thing. However, there are enough new features in the package to make it worth the money. The deeper Dynasty mode, including expanded coaching options and careers and online leagues, and always-addicting Road to Glory mode will keep you coming back for more. This is an easy recommend for fans of the series.
  15. Jul 19, 2011
    83
    In the end NCAA 12 is a success on the field where it counts, and I strongly suggest playing in an online league with some friends as this is the best way to enjoy the game's dynasty mode. That said, we are at a point where NCAA has hit its ceiling. Yes, it's a good game and better than last year, and I suspect that most fans will have a grand old time with it, but hopefully NCAA 13 can finally be the complete and total package.
  16. Jul 14, 2011
    83
    Easily the best way to enjoy NCAA Football 12 comes from Road to Glory mode, where your player can go from high school to senior year, all the while earning every step of the way through in-game accomplishments.
  17. Sep 28, 2011
    80
    If you crave a bit more outside of just football and legacy modes, NCAA is the all comprehensive product you're seeking.
  18. Aug 4, 2011
    80
    The robust feature sets and game modes help the replay value of this title as the season wears on.
  19. 80
    It's a genuinely great football game, but this edition delivers the kind of small-scale updates that only a paints-his-chest-and-face-on-Saturdays fan could love.
  20. Jul 18, 2011
    80
    There is no doubt that NCAA Football 12 is a great game of college football. What it isn't however is a huge upgrade from last years game. If your looking for a new feel to the Road to Glory mode then this is definitely one you want to check out. Otherwise there isn't enough new here to make this a must purchase.
  21. Jul 14, 2011
    75
    For the litany of improvements, the feeling that EA Tiburon has stopped taking any chances with the franchise is inescapable. After six years on the current generation of consoles, it's time to take a risk and give football fans something new to get excited about. As it stands, NCAA Football is in the very unusual position of being both the best-in-class football game, and a total underachiever.
  22. Jul 13, 2011
    74
    You may have to be a football fanatic to like this game, but if you are you will love it.
  23. Jul 14, 2011
    70
    The on-field action is as exciting as ever, but off-the-field problems drag NCAA Football 12 down to the turf.
  24. Jul 21, 2011
    60
    A modest revision from last year's game, NCAA Football 12 brings adequate football gameplay with robust multiplayer dynasty features, for a price.
  25. Jul 12, 2011
    60
    It's a decent football sim thanks to its excellent Dynasty Mode; and the new tackling physics, custom playbooks, and other features are sorely needed additions. But we're deep into this generation, and expectations have been raised for sports games (and pretty much everything else). So why does it feel like I'm playing a game that should have come out in 2008?
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Jul 17, 2011
    5
    This game suffers from some serious lag time issues and game freezes if you try to play it straight from the disc. Instead you need to download it to the Xbox hard drive or else you'll have a frustrating experience like I did for four days of my initial playing. Probably the biggest ananthema against this game is the five minute quarters that you are stuck with and not allowing you to adjust the quarter length. Overall, the game is the best looking football game I've ever seen, they've added some things to make it more interesting (expanding high school options and season) or boring (hello Coach's Simulator), and they've taken away some things to make it a better (no more 'what play was the defense in when you threw that interception', should I go to the library or the gym?) or less of a game experience (no more Corso, no more weekly team or NCAA articles during the season, no more Legend's shrine with the collected trophies behind glass and all your highlights playing on a big screen TV, no more easily accessible replays)....but the beauty of the graphics doesn't make up for less of a football experience for me to recommend it at all. I wish I didn't trade in my '09 for this one Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    I haven't played NCAA 11 so I can't compare the two. But I had serious fun playing this game, and in my opinion, it's the best NCAA football game to date. Full Review »
  3. Jun 23, 2012
    7
    This game may not be top tier graphic wise, but why do they need to? This game is so much more realistic than madden in its gameplay due to madden having to work on graphics, not gameplay. Graphics still must be improved, but this game makes me feel like im at a NCAA football game right at the moment. Full Review »