User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 175

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Well first off,the game DOESN'T beat Gran Turismo or Forza 3 but does give a comeback in years.. Hot Pursuit thumps and wrecks Shift in evry possible way.. The game has brought back the originality of the Need for Speed series and it really deserves recognition in every way necessary.. EA has crashed and burnt with this series but now they are croosing on the high way well done EA!!! It's an adrenaline rush from when you crash into an incoming car or use you speed boost to go to first!!!! If EA stuck with this who knows where they could of been right NOW!!!! Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2010
    3
    I'm not sure if this is mention anywhere but in europe, you need to enter a code to play online. If someone has already entered that code they you can not. So for example you can not do so if you buy second hand, or you cant share a copy with your brother or if your partner has their own account. This should be taken into account when buying the game. It holds no value.
  3. Nov 20, 2010
    5
    This is not a bad game, just very limited and grows tiresome very quickly. The roads are boring, the handling is horrible. It honestly feels like Ridge Racer with weapons. The brakes serve the purpose of creating drift, you can enter a hairpin at 200mph and throw a last second drift and make it. At first glance it seems a lot of fun, and it is. Then you realise that the perception of variety or replayability is false. Each and every game has you running from or being the cops. Trust me when I say that this may have some appeal for a few hours but when the novelty wears off, you are left with a pretty bare shell of a game. No story, no tuning, no car painting. Again, I dont understand how such a game can get superb critic reviews. All the previous nfs games were better. Burnout was much better. WRC 2010 was a lot better. I just dont get it. I am very dissapointed with this game. Just beware, this is a sub standard, ridiculous, tedious, pointless game that will make you wonder where all your money went, and if you think buying second hand will help, forget it. Only the people who buy the game new can play online. Buy second hand and you must pay EA for the pleasure, as well as MS for the live service. It is called an online pass and is a joke. Not only do they sell me a poor game for my £40, but they then de-value it with this kind of tactic. EA has no respect for the people that buy their games and make them rich. I bought this game, I own it, it is my right to sell it again if I wish. EA wishes to make that difficult for me. What I think of this kind of tactic from a huge company made rich by loyal people over many years is un printable. Use your imagination. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2010
    0
    OK metacritic, you just proved how critics will push a game. I should have read USER reviews before I purchased this game. I bought this game, played it (about 5-6hrs) until i realized how empty it is. I was basically doing the same thing over and over with a different car. I mean it was ok at first but seriously a Porsche cayman and a gt 500 cant possibly handle exactly the same right (drift and everything)? The fun factor was gone way too fast, so i sold it the next day and wont miss it. Too bad the next person who buys it, cause as you've heard, they wont have the online pass i used. And online cant make up for a nice looking lame game. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    All these people saying its fantastic, are speaking rubbish to be polite. lets get one thing straight a police car, sirens traffic moves, not in EA's mind it doesn't your going along and all the traffic just dordles in the middle of the road. secondly steering is terrible, typical need for speed game just bang a few cars together add some police and sell as many copies as possible, don't waste your money buy something else you will regret it Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    I love this game. I was looking forward to this since I heard burnout creators criterion was behind it. The graphics are fantastic, with amazing car models and stunning scenery. The car selection is vast, and you are constantly rewarded with a new one. The handling model is great and its easy to pull drifts off. Crashes are spectacular, and the a.I. is impressive. Cops are relentless and fun to play as. Criterion has redefined the need for speed series and I look forward to more Expand
  7. May 4, 2011
    4
    This sucks! I really want to give this a 0 but I'll be fair at least. Firstly I really looked forward to this game, but then i played it... Repetitive career, no split-screen to race at home against friends, only good thing is graphics and its something different being a cop. Luckily i bought it second-hand and i will trade it again tomorrow for something better.
  8. Nov 20, 2010
    8
    A good arcade racer that goes back to basics , featuring solid car handling and an insanely addictive cops vs racers hot pursuit multiplayer mode . The only problem I have is the game just doesn't quite measure up to Criterion's last title , Burnout Paradise - There is nowhere near as much stuff to do here , and the graphics too are just not as good . The new Autolog leaderboards however are a brilliant addition , and playing against the A.I is much less frustrating than in recent arcade racers like Blur and Split Second . Both Need For Speed and Burnout fanatics alike are going to hate all the things that are missing from there favourite racers , but those looking for a simple pick up and play, almost Chase HQ like arcade experience will find plenty to enjoy here . Solid but not spectacular . Expand
  9. Nov 24, 2010
    5
    I really was looking forward to this game, but I was really disappointed. The game immediately felt like it was Burnout, which it is for all intents and purposes -- the same developer made it. There's no story, which is fine, but I lack any sense of cohesion. As well, you can't personalize and collect cars in the same way as previous games, which makes the sense of connection less than any racing game I have played in the past few years. I also am frustrated that I paid 64.95 for this game and the first time I loaded it I was forced to watch an ad for another 64.95 game. It's tactless. It just doesn't feel right as a whole and I don't, for once, agree with the reviewers. I would wait until this is in the bargain bin but your mileage may vary. Expand
  10. Jan 2, 2011
    6
    I've been comparing this game to the other two made and I believe it doesn't live up to the other two. My biggest problem with this game is that it's nearly impossible, even in the beginning, to stop racers without completely wrecking them. I'd prefer the tools I have (EMP, Spikes) to put the racer into a position that would allow me to "pull them over". Pros: Awesome menu of cars
    Graphics are beautiful
    Switching from cop to racer & vice versa is easy
    Progressing is quick


    Cons:
    No chases in freedrive
    Can't stop racers, gotta wreck them
    Map in HUD isn't very helpful
    Would trade helicopter for 'backup' unit
    When racers crash in your roadblock they warp ahead instead of being 'caught'
    Expand
  11. Apr 12, 2011
    4
    I cant help feeling that this game has been really overated by the critics.. When i first heard about the game,I thought "Great! Need for Speed is going back to its roots.Its going to be like & play like Need for Speed 1 on the 3DO,Saturn & PS1 all those years ago,but with better graphics,Free Roaming & Online multiplayer"! How wrong i was.. I was really looking foreward to this game,but what i got,was burnout with licensed cars.. Its is waaaay too arcadey,Rubbish/Non-Exiistent handling physics,& over emphisis on drifting/powersliding!.. These are expensive,finely engineered cars in the game.they're supposed to be driven with precision around corners,& stick to the road.Not Slide around them sideways! A slower,more considered & realistic pace would've been welcome too,encouraging smooth,tactical races & chases.not everything blurring past & people crashing every 3 seconds!.. Theres one other MAJOR problem with the game.Its a Free Roaming game,with absolutely NO POINT to the free roaming! i was expecting to be able to chase,or be chased by Racers or cops,be it CPU ones,or other players.Nope,None of that! The game made the exact same mistake as the Abismal Need for Speed-Undercover.A free roaming game,with no need or purpose to free roam.great... It would've been nice,to at least be able to drive to the different events,like in Underground 1,2,Carbon & Most Wanted.But what do i know,I'm only a gamer.A paying customer.I never even dreamed i would before release,but i traded it in towards Test Drive Unlimited 2.A much more Complete package, Expand
  12. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    I don't look for realism/simulation in a racing game, I look for a fun factor. This game is fun and it should help tide me over until the game in the Burnout series comes out.
  13. Dec 10, 2010
    2
    I'm sorry, but a game that is still utilizing rubber-band A.I. should not be getting such high scores. Beyond that, this frankly feels like half of a game. There is none of the free roaming fun from Burnout: Paradise which makes the great scenery seem pointless as it's hard to appreciate barnstorming planes at 200 mph. At least half of the races are just time trials, and that really doesn't scream 'hot pursuit' to me. Some of the time trials take 5+ minutes to run, with no cops to outrun or racers to bust, it gets incredibly boring. After a while you do get used to it's shoddy controls, but at the start you're punished for playing it like a realistic racer or an arcade racer. It ends up landing somewhere between the two. After every crash, takedown or weapon fire, the game enters a slo-mo kind of replay that you cannot turn off, the problem is the half second of lag between it ending and you getting control of your car again, that's enough to screw you out of a win if you're in traffic or about to enter a turn. As for multi-player, any Mario Kart game ever made is more fun than this for vehicular combat. Between the idiot AI traffic (It just stops in the road as you near it), the BS catch-up AI racers and the lack of depth in the game in general, I highly recommend that you avoid this game. I got this for 35 bucks on Black Friday and I mean it when I say it is the FIRST game I will ever sell to Gamestop and I don't feel guilty in the slightest. Expand
  14. Jan 31, 2011
    4
    the game isn't great the car fell to heavy to drive no costumazation option lame open world and the game get quickly old after 9 hours one thing is good about the game is the graphics
  15. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    This game suffers from the most severe rubber-banding since Split Second. You can gain constant boost by driving against traffic, but you then wonder where your "AI" opponents get it from, especially when they only drive WITH the flow of traffic. You're miles ahead, have excellent speed on straights and corners and then woooosh, you've been passed by an opponent who doesn't even have their boost activated! WTH!!? I loved the Burnout and NFS series and, although there are a couple of moments of enjoyment to be had, they are short lived. Autolog is a an adaptation of a similar feature implemented in other racers and nothing special. Races (as mentioned earlier) suffer from rubber banding. Pursuits are fun, but epic moments are rare. Time trials are frustrating: your controller will probably wear out due to overuse from constantly selecting the restart race option. It looks as though Criterion has let its fan base down on this one, so don't believe the hype from all the magazine reviews. If you are keen on buying this, then wait for it to come down in price: £40 is a lot of cash wasted for a basic arcade racer. If you've already bought it, trade it in quickly and get back as much as you can. Epic fail developers Expand
  16. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    This is simply the best arcade racer on current gen consoles for the last few years in my opinion. Everything oozes class and it is a great adrenaline experience. The "Aulolog" feature is dangerously addictive - being told constantly that a friend has just beaten your score means a hell of a lot of replayability. Multiplayer is a blast, despite there being too few modes - hoping some DLC may correct this. My only real complaint is the fact they haven't allow you to use the Kinect sensor to take a photo for your profile - hopefully that will be patched in with future updates. If you like arcade racers - get this now. Expand
  17. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    This is the best non-sim racing game to come out since Burnout paradise, to no surprise since the team from Criterion had their hands in the development. Essentially it is Burnout with licensed cars. The graphics and soundtrack are top notch, gameplay is what you come to expect from Criterion crew, heavy cars that actually let you feel like your going fast, mixed in with the hot pursuit formula. Every car handles a little differently so there is a slight learning curve. The autolog feature is a welcome addition where your times are posted to compare with friends, and it even has a wall where you can taunt your slower friends. Weapons have been added, at first I thought they were gimmicky, but soon realized that they are vital to your success. There are two sets of missions, The police and the racers. Giving you the option to play to your prefered style. The police are the more aggressive (aka Burnout style) missions set to stop those pesky street racers, while the racers do everything they can to avoid being busted. There is lots of progression to be made on both sides, weapons level up, your score unlocks new rides, and earning golds on the courses open up new races. The tracks have many short cuts to be discovered if you want to win. The AI keeps the challenge fresh by causing traffic accidents in front of you and constantly trying to shut you down with their weapons. A must have for the arcade racer fan. My only complaint is that the game is victim to EA's pay to play online codes, But overall an awesome edge of your seat race experience!! Expand
  18. Dec 3, 2010
    0
    This game did not keep up to its standards in my eyes. I was expecting something along the lines of burnout, fable, and need for speed most wanted. where you could wreck other cars, choose a side and do things to affect what side (cop or criminal), and a story line is the biggest one. This game to me was a fail. It had very high expectations and did not meet them.
  19. Dec 18, 2010
    3
    The online social stuff is ground breaking, the scenery is nice and the racing modes are varied.

    My low score is mainly down to the handling, it's rubbery and disconnected. This is a racing game so handling is at the core of everything that you do in it but each car feels like a heavy, wobbly chunk of rubber with no wheels. There's a powerslide but it's clumsy. I don't think arcade racing
    models have to be this bad - compare it to the deeply controllable powerslides in Ridge Racer, the crazy excitement of the first two Burnout games or even the customizable involvement in Midnight Club LA. Expand
  20. Nov 2, 2011
    4
    I wanted to like this game, looked at the critics reviews, I should buy it. The best thing about it is the graphics, but even some parts of it are bad. It is almost impossible to see oncoming traffic. The second good thing is the car list and you don't have to buy them. That's it. The bad things: Handling is terrible, boring, opponents with the same car drive much faster than you (I'm not that bad at driving games). Some call it the best Need for Speed ever but I don't think so. It's the worst one. I have played almost all NFS games. They haven't beat Underground 2 yet. I bought it used and I have to buy an online pass for 800 MS points to play online. Go CENSORED yourself. I liked Burnout Paradise made by Criterion Games, but this one is poor. I want to sell this, REALLY!!! Expand
  21. Feb 2, 2011
    9
    Simply an outstanding racer. Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit strikes a perfect balance between arcade and simulator. While the career may get a little old at times, the Autolog system definitely makes challenging your friends a hell of a lot more fun. Online competition is intense, and I really enjoyed playing as both the racers and the cops. Simply put, this is Criterion's best game since Burnout Revenge. Expand
  22. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome! And that's coming from someone who doesn't often play racing games. I got this because I had NFS: Hot Pursuit 2 on the PS2 ages ago, and this definantly beats it. The campaign isn't repetative like a lot of these people make out, its actually very diverse and fun. The multiplayer is also brilliant and extremely addictive. Maybe the one downside is that it doesn't have split screen but It hasn't bothered me and I usually love split screen games (my blog: http://gamingtwin.blogspot.com/) I suggest you run out and buy it now! Or at least rent it. :) Expand
  23. Jan 5, 2011
    8
    After several days gameplay online I've changed my score from a 4 to an 8. Why? Because although the flaws I pointed out previously still are annoying, however online is where the most mileage is. Playing and beating friends scores, compelling mutli-player modes, auto targeting of new friends to include on your list, the scale of things to complete are amazing. However the car mechanics are woeful, as the majority of cars in the three different classes handle almost the same. And the pop up traffic still defies intellect! But it's great mindless fun online, so if you are going to buy this game make sure you have online enabled otherwise please see my 4 score review. Expand
  24. Jun 28, 2012
    1
    If you are looking for a reboot of the Hot Pursuit series, then don't look here. If you are looking for an upgrade to the Burnout series (the game the creators made before this), then don't look here. If you are looking for some sort of hybrid between the Hot Pursuit series and the Burnout series that tries to be both but turns into neither, then this is your game. Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit is a game with all the bells and whistles to attract any racing gamer but with none of the depth to make it worth-while. So let me just start in with Single Player. There's no story, no substance like any of the previous Need for Speed games and, after about 5 hours, you'll find yourself droning on between the different races because there's just not a lot of interesting to do. It also doesn't have the flare of driving to each race track that Burnout Paradise had, which would have been fabulous considering its a driving game so I like to spend the game... driving. And then you might be thinking that at least it must have killer races, except most of the racers are time trials and you will spend literally the first 10 hours of gameplay trying to just get some stupid gold medal for no reason. It's not worth it. Basically, Single Player will not hold you over and it's beyond boring. So then I swapped over to Multiplayer. It's amazingly flawed. First of all, you can't play anything online unless you've unlocked one car for either racer or cop in the single player. Whomever designed that system, it's really bad and stupid. But I thought meh, I'll earn more for being good. Except the game not only rewards having the highest level, but gives you a HUGE boost for being the highest level in the game. So a level 7 vs a level 20 is not an even match. How did that slip by the creators? Still, I let that roll off my shoulder and decided to at least try. The multiplayer feels exactly like the single player, bland and flawed. I think my favorite flaw is that racers can drive backwards and go behind the cops and wait. Why the hell is that even allowed? But wait, it gets better. They also call this a dog chasing a rabbit type of game (No joke, that's almost a direct quote from before the game came out), except it's like being a dog with absolutely no teeth. Seriously, I could catch up to the racers but I couldn't do anything to them as a cop. On the other side, being a racer isn't about racing anymore, but more about swiveling in circles around the cop. I think the creators need to really retool and refocus this game so that it's more towards what it's supposed to be about. Racing. If a racer stops, give him a few seconds before he's disqualified for running away. That way they have a reason to always be moving forwards. Also, racers need to know that they are still in a race, where first place is the only winner, not this "group win" crap where even if you get disqualified for holding the cops up you are a winner. It should be racers against racers and cops and cops teamed up to take down the racers. Not racers vs cops. That's I think the largest flaw with the online. And on the other side, cops shouldn't be able to hurt each other as easily as it is in this game. Seriously, I launched an EMP and it decided to latch onto the cop to the let instead of the racer right in front of me. That's bad programming and it ruins the game. Last, the online felt... dated to say the least. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this game to a friend. Expand
  25. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    What is with all these negative reviews? Clearly, they haven't been playing the game enough. This game is absolutely amazing. What do you get when you put the Burnout guys on the Need for Speed franchise? The best arcade racer ever made, of course! This is the most beautiful, frantic racer I've ever played. It's fast, it's reckless, it's competitive. The multiplayer is the finest I've ever seen in a racing game, even better than your more traditional sim like Forza Motorsport 3.

    Frankly, these negative reviewers are missing the point. In fact, I'd go as far as to call them rather unintelligent. How could anyone find the graphics mediocre? If you have trouble steering in the game, you're just bad at games period. And for the people who say there's nothing to do, have you even been online yet?

    Yes, there is an unskippable ad at the beginning that plays only once, but once it's out of the way, you'll never see it again.

    Overall, this game is a win on all fronts, and you'd have to be an idiot to dislike it.
    Expand
  26. Jul 24, 2011
    0
    OK. This game is RIDICULOUSLY HORRIBLE. The graphics are the only good thing about it. HOW DO U MAKE A RACING GAME WITHOUT MANUAL TRANSMISSION? SERIOUSLY?

    I was so unbelievably disappointed when i bought this game. If there was a way to give a negative rating, i would give this game a -500. Not only is there no manual transmission (as if that wasnt enough) it doesnt even have an adequate
    rating system for each car. The physics engine sucks. If you want a racing game, you need a good physics engine with MANUAL TRANSMISSION. I dont understand how difficult it would be for them to provide a patch for manual transmission. F**K EA and CRITERION. They shouldve used Most Wanted as a template. Expand
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    2
    Back in the day, Need for Speed was a good series that, coincidentally, released a Hot Pursuit for the PC. Fool that I am, I thought that EA had remade that old winner, added some cars, built new tracks, and fixed some of the mistakes that they'd made, like the cheating AI.

    They did add cars. They built a pseudo-open world. But they managed to take a game that was fun and turn it into
    something guaranteed to give you stress-induced heart trouble. It has been part of the EA ethos for ages that if the player is winning, the AI is not only allowed to cheat, but cheat horribly. Never has that been more apparent than in this game. Playing as a cop, you will quickly start cursing your fellow officers as they hit new levels of incompetence. Letting a speeder by is a mistake, but being spike-stripped by your fellow officers is maddening. AI cars can stop and turn on a dime, you slide around like a drunken air-hockey puck. Handling is so poor as to be nearly unmanageable at times (if it's raining, you better be driving like a senior citizen, because anything over 40 miles per hour and you'll be trading paint with oak trees). The cheating continues on the other side of the game. Amazingly, as soon as you take to being a racer, the police force is suddenly staffed by telepathic snipers who can drop a spike strip exactly where you intended to be microseconds before being there. Roadblocks are established with lightning speed in perfect locations, and EMPs can hit you from another planet. Jump back to being a cop, and the super troopers have gone to bed, leaving the Keystone Kops you were working with before back on duty.

    There are some pluses to the game, of course. The graphics are beautiful (if you have an HDTV...forget using standard def), the crash animations -- which you'll see often -- stunning, and some of the roads are rather well laid-out. You can freedrive as a cop, which is also cool, not to mention vital as practice.

    If you're freedriving or driving with your buddies, you'll have fun. Against the AI? It's clear the ESRB rating doesn't govern gamer responses; your language will definitely rate M as the AI appears out of nowhere to trash your ride.
    Expand
  28. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    No story.... Waaah!! Cars don't handle realistically.... Boo Hoo!! Not enough variety.... Sob!! .........To all the red score detractors I say three words..... BLOODY GOOD FUN !!!! After a break of many, many month's I loaded NFS: Hot Pursuit and spent an afternoon of rapture and (old) boy racer joy. As a quick fix adrenalin rush, this can't be beat. Short, point to point race's (on either sides of the law) at lightning fast speed and awe inspired drifting is arcade heaven. Not every game needs a story, realistic handling and lots of variety. Not every game needs to be played for eight hours at a time (not that there's anything wrong with that)......... There are games that I buy, play then on-sell. And there are games I hold onto because they are keepers. This game is a keeper. Expand
  29. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    What a game,what a rush.EA and Criterion are just pushing the limits of what to expect out of a driving game.Well one thing is for sure is that Nobody and I mean nobody can compete with them when it comes to racing,fun,integration of online/offline components,wow!The only real competition was midnight club los angelas but they aren't even close to this title and burnout paradise!To me those two games from EA are my picks for best driving games ever.I mean including forza 3 even though thats simulation,I lose myself in this game like no other,it's like an action movie/stratagy game/first person shooter/Racing brilliance,great job once again !!! Perfect 10 no doubt! Expand
  30. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    This game is excellent. the graphics are great and the sound effects are amazing. the gameplay is also even more fun now that you can shoot emp's and other things like that. my only disappointment is it feels too much like burnout.
  31. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    The Good: Insanely addicting multiplayer, slick presentation, great sounds, unbelievably fun gameplay The Bad: virtually no customization options, limited single-player experience Graphics: 10 - One of the nicest looking games available, and yet the frame-rate is a good as it gets. Sound: 9 - Awesome sounds and good music, although the track selection could be better. Replay Value - 7 for single player, 10 for multi-player. This is a game meant to be played with others.

    Full Review below:

    When I heard that Criterion was going to develop this game, and that it was going to be an old-school Need for Speed game, I thought it was going to be awesome.

    Honestly, after playing the demo, I wasn't sure about this game. I was going to pre-order it, but ended up getting the newest Assassin's Creed game instead (a worthy purchase). I was going to wait until it ended up a GameStop or something used to get a better deal. I saw this game at Target (and Best Buy) for $35 in the Black Friday ads and decided to go for it. I waited in line for 2 hours to get this game. I wasn't sure if it was worth it...

    Believe me, it was. The demo did not do this game justice.

    Think Burnout meets old school Need for Speed. Cops vs. Racers. No story to get in the way, just good old-fashioned high-speed chases. Add some great cars, gorgeous visuals, and a silky-smooth framerate, and this game doesn't disappoint. Single player alone was worth the $35.00. The game modes are fun, especially the Hot Pursuit modes, where a group of racers try and out-run the cops. One great aspect of this game is that you can play both sides, and both sides are really fun. So it has a pretty good single-player mode. But it's multiplayer that makes this a killer game. Playing as either the cops or the racers in Hot Pursuit mode online is ridiculously fun, especially if you have a headset and can talk during the race. I haven't tried the other online modes yet, but Hot Pursuit mode is enough to keep me playing for months to come.

    The other really cool feature is known as Autolog. It's kinda like Facebook for your game. Autolog compares your times and achievements in single-player mode to those of your friends playing this game. It's a nice departure from traditional leaderboards that feature inhuman achievements made by the top players. I do wish they added some more customization options like those found in NFS: Most Wanted. It would be sick to be able to customize a police car. But these are just minor gripes.

    Bottom Line: If you don't have (or don't use) online access for your console of choice, you'll have some fun with this game, but your replay value will be limited (I would just rent it). However, if you play multiplayer with this game, you won't be able to put it down very easily. Be careful, as this game's multiplayer will eat up hours upon hours of your time.
    Collapse
  32. Jan 19, 2011
    1
    I can't see how anyone thinks this game is good. Nitrous boost is supposed to make you accelerate, not in this game. If your driving 170 mph a Crown Vic police car shouldn't be able to pass you in the game.
  33. Mar 19, 2011
    6
    When this game was revealed I was so excited due to my love for old-school NFS games before their recent decline, with the Hot Pursuit series my favorite. At first I was very pleased, but soon I would be plagued by a single gameplay element that would almost destroy my experience. First, the good. Graphics are stunning, with many of the locales a throwback to the originals ( the wooded state park area was especially cool). Cars all look great and comprise a dream list of supercars any car-nut would kill for. Handling is a lot of fun, with high-speed drifting being the focus. The soundtrack is ok but could have been much better. There are standard race events, time trials, preview events and the like for streetracers. For cops, there are interceptor, preview events and most importantly hot pursuit events. This game plays like a hybrid between NFS and Burnout, which has upset a lot of the purists. Not me, I like both series so I liked this direction. There is an open world to drive around in but races are on closed courses with many shortcuts for each. The cop events are a little more open world and while you have a little more freedom you still can't go everywhere. There are two full careers, one for racers and one for cops. Each can be tackled at the same time or separately. You gain bounty for your placement in each race, the better you place the more bounty you earn, earn enough and you'll level up, with twenty levels for each career mode. Now for the bad. Rubber-band AI has always been a problem for NFS and arcade racers in general. However, with today's advanced technology there is no excuse for it, it is just plain lazy programming. All the cars boast different stats but they mean nothing. You could be driving the fastest car in the game and get blown away by much more inferior cars. All this I'm used to. What I wasn't used to or remotely prepared for is the level of rubber-banding for racers and the sheer ruthlessness of the cops. Challenge is one thing, but this game is blatantly unfair. Rivals seem to have infinite boost, make turns impossible for even the most skilled drivers, if they are in front, most of the time that's where they'll stay, if you have a several second lead they'll catch up during the last few moments of the race even if you haven't made a single mistake. Also you'll be racing against cars in classes above your own, how this is fair I don't know, being as the game tells you what cars are available to you in a given event and the cars they drive almost always aren't on the list. The cops are even worse. They seem to have unlimited resources like spike-strips, choppers and roadblocks, and they always no exactly when to use them without fail. One race I was seconds from the finish, wrecked a cop that had been harassing me most of the race, and had avoided multiple spike-strips and roadblocks. When I wrecked that cop a cutscene played, one always does when you wreck someone, when it ended there was a roadblock just feet from where I was and couldn't be dodged, with the finish in sight. This would have been fine but the roadblock was not on the screen nor on the mini-map before the cutscene, costing me the race. Your skill level has nothing to do with whether you win or lose, the game decides whether or not it will be gracious enough to let you win on any given race. Some days it seems to be in a better mood than others. You will be trying events over and over, not to better your score, but to merely complete an event. At first I was determined to get golds, but by the halfway point in the game all I wanted to do was finish. This is a game that doesn't like to lose in the worst way. I finished the game but was so upset by the time I was through I can't see myself giving it a second playthrough or giving the overpriced DLC a chance. This is a shame because this should have been the perfect arcade racer, but I don't recommend the type of punishment this game hands out to anyone. Hopefully this will be addressed in the sequel. Expand
  34. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit is the definitive racing game of this generation, and a successful reboot of the franchise. EA has handed over the reigns to Criterion Games, the developers of the popular Burnout series. However, this is not a Burnout game, it is nowhere near, in fact. Hot Pursuit allows players to take behind the wheel of over fifty licensed cars. There are no "in between" vehicles here. The game cuts to the chase by including world renowned exotics from manufacturers such as BMW and Bugatti. In terms of visuals, this is a beautiful game, lighting, textures, and the amount of detail in the environment has pushed the Xbox 360 to it's limit. This is apparent in the frame rate, which has been locked at 30fps. This comes across as disappointing due to fact that racing games generally maintain a solid 60fps during gameplay, particularly in the Forza Motorsport franchise. Nonetheless, this is a minor gripe, it should not deter anyone from the game. The gameplay is fantastic, players have the choice to play as the cop or racer throughout the career. I still have not decided which is better, since being a cop or racer is just too damn fun. Regardless of who you play, you will have access to various weapons such as nitrous and turbo, which gives you a boost in speed for a short period of the. My favourite in particular, is the use of EMPs, which flatlines electronics and causes a significant amount of damage to your target. The game has also introduced the Autolog system, which keeps track of your online progress. It also acts as a social utility where you can compete and communicate with friends. All in all, this is a fantastic, yet addictive racer. I found myself playing hours on end. The career will span anywhere between twenty and thirty hours, and along with a robust multiplayer , Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit will keep you coming for more. Expand
  35. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit is one of my favorite racing games of this generation, Developed by the creators of the Burnout series Criterion delivers a great arcade racer about cops and racers. It's fast, fun and intense. Cars may not handle realistically, but they are not designed to. This is about driving fast cars at crazy speeds, Need for Speed has had some pretty bad releases in recent times with Need for Speed The Run and some of the ones coming before Hot Pursuit, So this is a great return to form for the Need for Speed series. If you are just looking for a fun racing game that doesn't go for realistic handling then this is for you, If you want realistic driving then avoid this one. There are some issues with the game, the biggest being that there is absolutely no local multiplayer and the online multiplayer is pretty empty now, How a racing game can not include local multiplayer is beyond me, But either way it's still a fun game. Expand
  36. DME
    Oct 1, 2013
    5
    The online mode is a lot of fun, especially with friends. But the solo modes are nothing but a bunch of awfully boring and tedious time trials. The game just feels empty and lifeless. Also, there is no split-screen multiplayer, which is disappointing.
  37. Feb 22, 2012
    6
    If you like repetitive arcade racers that look good, but have terrible collision detection and AI that can pull turns on a dime, this is the game for you. Honestly, this game looks great and sounds great, but I cannot let the collision and AI problems go unnoticed considering this entire game is predicated on the concept of stopping racers or not being stopped by the cops. I have, on too many occasions, watched the AI blow through a called in road block, literally bumping the cop car out of the way, take no damage and keep going at full speed when it SHOULD have resulted in significant damage and slow down. I have, on too many occasions, t-boned a drifting car at top speed, as a police officer, only for the AI to take no damage and actually get bumped ahead. The AI never misses a shortcut or a drift, and can magically avoid traffic or simply glance off them (whereas if the player tries glancing off the car, it's damage and slow down). Multiplayer is equally a mess, with the collision detection problems magnified by lag. Maybe worth picking up now that it's in the greatest hits bin, but only if you like playing, essentially, the same tired things over and over with significant amounts of frustration. ||| @BillGR17: Sorry, I can't let this slide... This is NOT "the real Need for Speed". Go back and play the original NFS: Hot Pursuit on PC then come back and play this garbage. The difference is night and day. There was so much more to do in the original Hot Pursuit, and skill played a much larger factor. Not like this one where you have to be LUCKY to get in a position to outsmart the AI who can maneuver in ways you can't, regardless of control scheme. This game is absolutely bland compared to the original Hot Pursuit which, even though that game had its AI issues, was much closer to the ORIGINAL Need for Speed than this mess. This is Burnout Light with better graphics. Expand
  38. Jan 24, 2011
    7
    I shouldn't even post on this seeing as i never played the game so i will give it the average user score. That being said, i will never play another Need For Speed game again. I absolutely loved Most Wanted and the Underground series. so my expectations were high for Carbon. That game was ok at best. Drifting was just ridiculous, but in a way fun. So i bought Pro Street thinking it would be ok at best. Absolutely terrible. The repetitiveness of this franchise is terrible. So that being said (i think i missed whatever one came after pro street, but who cares), Ive lost all hope for the NFS series. Tired of spending so much money on the same game over and over and over. Expand
  39. Jan 8, 2011
    8
    I'd heard good things about this game, so I decided to pick it up. Being a big fan of Burnout and previous NFS games, I was very impressed with the gameplay initially. As the game progresses, however, it feels like the game is just being cheap to make you go at that one race again and again. It's actually possible to totally lose the racer you're tailing because he makes a last minute drift turn down a completely different road. All in all, the game was pretty good but not amazing. Would recommend it to any racer fan, but I didn't like some bits. Expand
  40. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    Super fun multiplayer and career that prepares you for whats to come in multiplayer.. Unlockables and great graphics and a stratigical twist in the game makes the game more fun.. Best racing game out there
  41. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    un buon arcade e lo stampo criterion si sente tutto. graficamente non eccezzionale e la guidabilità delle auto risulta un pò troppo pesante.

    il divertimento c'è e le modalità sono immediate e divertenti.

    il multiplayer è divertente ma è strutturato non benissimo:manca la ricerca personalizzata con stanze ed affluenza visionabile dal
    menù e spesso si sprecano minuti e minuti alla ricerca ''cieca'' in modalità (troppe) in cui magari non c'è nessuno pronto . Expand
  42. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    Those of you put off by the 'Need for Speed' name thanks to years of mediocre efforts by EA should think again. Coming from the makers of 'Burnout: Paradise', Hot Pursuit sees the NFS franchise return to its routes, namely high speed police pursuits in all manner of sports and super cars and it is certainly much improved.

    Hot Pursuit is a good game in single player but you really need
    to find friends to play against if you are to get the most from it. On-line you can play as racer (reach the objective without being caught by the cops) or the cops (take out the racer before they reach the objective) as well as competing against each other’s best times over a series of different events. Worth buying even if you are not usually a fan of racing games. Expand
  43. May 10, 2011
    8
    Liked this game! Been playing racing games awhile and this ones camera rocks hard. Teh effe3cts aren't like the tv spot and teh trailer, but overall i had fun with it. Not sure why people hate it in some cases but i and my brothers played it alot.
  44. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    Finally the old style need for speed is back !
    The first need for speed that i had was Need for Speed 3 : Hot Pursuit !
    yes there is many ppl saying WTF happen with Need for Speed well those are ppl who didnt know what was the real Need For Speed so i like it even if it was hard when i start it i think its easy to master it so this was good deal for me coz i saw it on sales for 20 Euro so
    it was a good deal for a racing game and it the game that it will make u have a good time with friends and a lot good gameplay on single and on multiplayer ! BUT this game has online pass so u cant activate it in another account to play it online !!! that wasnt good at all Expand
  45. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    The game is very easy, there's no leaderboards and absolutely zero skill involved in the driving. It isn't a bad experience, but no-one can take this seriously as a racing game. The online race is actually more addicting than the cops & robbers, which have perks/powerups. The graphics are great, and the cars are decent. But all of the feel the same to drive, with VERY subtle differences in handling, but performance is pretty much the same. It's enjoyable and fun while it lasts, but it doesn't last for long. Getting to level 20 cop and racer and playing all the online events until it becomes incredibly boring took me 58 hours. That's to do everything, including all achievements. For NFS nowadays it's quite long, but for an average racing game, it's not long enough. And the reason for this is because the gameplay is so repetitive and there's no real precision involved. However, the game is remarkably very good for what it is. It has a fantastic set of cars to choose from, even if it is very small and all of them feel similar handling-wise. There are only slight differences between cars in the same category/class, but no matter which you pick, you are not disadvantaged, so in a way it is balanced. The graphics, smooth frate, solid controls, beautiful environments and cars coupled with the almost lag-free multiplayer matchmaking and innovative modes make this game a must experience. Drifting is extremely fun, the normal race mode is addicting and overall, Criterion have pulled it off. It's a game which has no barriers to entry. You can just jump in and play it. But, by some miracle, if you're good at this almost skill-less game you can still beat inexperienced player even if you take the same route and don't crash. If you want serious racing look elsewhere. If you want something arcade and fun this is definitely worth playing. Expand
  46. Nov 7, 2011
    4
    A fairly average arcade racer, like an Outrun for 2011. I played it a couple of weeks as my friends posted score but the handling isn't very good and game play too simple. Bit of a waste of money at release day prices.
  47. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Love this game for what it is, childish smashing and crashing fun. It's not a game that takes itself seriously, it is not a sim. It's an old school arcade game and knows it, you new kids don't get it and that's cool but I'm old and remember games like this one and it is a dying breed of just pick up and play with non gamer friends and enjoy.
  48. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This is a good game. If you are a NFS fan and expect something like Underground or most wanted or something dont buy it. If you are a mainstream gamer that enjoys multiplayer or racing games that dont require that much brain power this is the game for you. I have 100% completion after 60 hours of gameplay and the multiplayer is a lot of fun but it can be frustrating sometimes.
  49. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Absolutely brilliant online game modes, great fun to play with your mates and extremely reliable server. one downfall the career is random, doesn't have a story line and is very repetitive.
  50. Nov 22, 2011
    5
    When the game was released, I was sceptical about it and if it would match up to NFS Undercover (which I really liked). I only decided to buy the game 2 months ago from my local 2nd hand video game and DVD shop.

    It' had so much potential but it just didn't deliver for me, the car handling was slow and sluggish and differed massivly from the usual arcade style NFS car handling.

    The
    whole concept of it was good, but the game let it self down really badly with poor car handling and too many races and not enough other types of events e.g. road rage and pursuits Expand
  51. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    The Game has the best Need for speed graphics to date, the cars handle great (Arcade Style) and the landscapes look amazing. When you step into a chase race, you really feel the music and the adrenaline that comes with it. Its the most rewarding cops and robbers car chase game there is. The matches work simple, you log in to the HUB where you see all your new and old matches waiting for you to click on. You can either be a Regular Racing Punk, or a Cop. You vehicle upgrades as well, the upgrading system does not work like NFS Most wanted. It upgrades with the time line of your matches that you've completed. There are plenty of cars to race with and plenty of matches to chase people. When you Step into a high level car chase on any of the sides (cops/punks) you are in for the ride of your Life.

    For the price of 30$ new this is well worth your money
    if you were looking for a new racing game and didn't get what you wanted from NFS THE RUN. Pick this game up. Its beautiful and riveting ------
    Cons No Open World Chases
    EA Pass needed to play Online.
    Expand
  52. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    Gra jest tym co uwielbiam w Need for Speedach. Jest tu zręcznościowy tryb jazdy znany z poprzednich części serii, masa samochodów, masa tras, ucieczki przed policja, dopieszczanie czasów, medale, osiągnięcia, piękne krajobrazy i cudowna playlista.
    Jestem na etapie 20% ukończenia gry, ale już wiem że się zmotywuję i ukończę ją na 100 :)
    Polecam.
  53. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I now play a wide range of games but I have always loved driving games. The concept of this game pulled me in and I don't regret being pulled in because it was worth every penny. The game plays smoothly and is achievable for anyone but the most skilled players will be able to find challenge after challenge and most experienced players should be able to get all the non-DLC achievements, like I did. If you like to play with your friends then the auto-log is atcually useful. There wasn't really a story as such but the story mode played well with a vast aray of events to keep you engaged and the last few events are amazing especially for the tactical players who still love destruction. Online is good but I preferred the story, I did like watching other people use the same tactics that I use and it felt so frustrating but that's the whole point of online. The downloadable content is ok but too overpriced in my opinion and thats why I never got it. Most people will become bored of the time trial/ rapid response events and might finish the game feeling that there was something missing but nearly all games aren't perfect are they? A game that I would recommend and something that I thoroughly enjoyed playing. Anyone who plays racing games should love this one. Expand
  54. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    I am proud to say Criterion did an excellent job with this game and it completely lives up to how great Need for Speed was in the past. This game is a reboot of an older NFS game and succeeds in capturing the sense of entertainment that was seen before. The first thing that stands out is how outstanding the graphics are, and even though I do not really care about graphics I have to praise them. Next is the soundtrack, the main theme being Edge of the Earth by 30 Seconds to Mars which I loved listening to. The rest of the songs have a rap and pop feel to it, and some really stand out while you are driving and having epic moments. Next is the gameplay, it is extremely fun with a less realistic and more arcade feel, adding a lot of fun to this game. The ability to be a cop or racer is what is crucial in an NFS game since the missions play differently and you get to see different stuff with each. The amount of events in single-player may not seem like much to some, but it will when they get deeper in the game since the later events will get really difficult and will include some really crazy driving. The car selection in this game is incredible, with 5 divisions of the car classes from sports to hyper there is a really good amount of them, and you will feel difference with every car you drive. Online in this game is a blast, with racers and cops chasing them online it feels great, and I rarely felt I was at a disadvantage regarding player experience, it will keep you entertained for a good while. The only flaws this game has is a few weak songs in the soundtrack (maybe its the great songs that belittle them) and a really high difficulty in the time challenges making it very difficult to progress. The NFS franchise had a great comeback and it is interesting to see what it has to offer in the future, this game is a total recommend and it will be for a while. Expand
  55. Jan 13, 2012
    8
    I love this game. It is not a simulator but "arcade racer" is probably most accurate. While it plays very fast and loose, it is arcade in the sense that it is easy to just pick up and play once you adjust. Drifts are long and the nitrous is plentiful. The cars you get are all dream cars, which is great considering those are the cars I want to drive, not some s2000 or Honda fit that I'm forced to drive to get to the Koenigseggs and Paganis. An online pass is required to play online. Online is really great especially if you race with friends. "Autolog" is addicting as well, beating a friend's time and boasting about it feels pretty great. A personal high point for me is the sound, the engine and exhaust noise is exaggerated and makes driving fast more engaging. Minor annoyances however: The balance between cars is sometimes questionable mainly because of the boost, but that makes the races interesting. Takedowns also provide frustration at times, if you are in front of a car, don't try and stop so they hit you, it does nothing; again probably to prevent cheap wins but still annoying. Free Drive is pretty pointless, but still fun to pass time occasionally. Music is bad. 2/3 DLC packs are worth getting. Lamborghini pack is great but easy. Super Sports Pack is a necessity for those that want challenge, a great set of super-exotics and really challenging/fast-paced races. Porsche Pack is pointless unless you really need more Porsche. Overall: A great game, fun to play if you want something fun and fairly easy to get into once you adjust to the loose controls. Great for that 15-30 minutes of adrenaline a day after you beat it. Expand
  56. Mar 21, 2013
    2
    An absolute insult to the Need for Speed franchise, as this entry holds NOTHING that made the original Hot Pursuits so great. First off, the handling system is beyond broken: it's delayed as hell and you're forced to drift even in the slightest corners it tries so hard, but oh so hard to be NFS4:HS and fails miserably. The tracks are insanely shallow, they're all sprints (no circuits afaik) there's practically no challenge aside from a few corners that even a five year old could drive around and you're going so fast, with a graphics engine so awful that you just cannot see what the hell's ahead and you're just bound to slam into a wall because of the garbage steering which every car seems to have (to tell you the truth, the only difference between certain cars are the abuse they can take and their speed, nothing more). The inclusion of weapons is also another thing I don't understand okay sure, HP2 also had weapons, but they weren't nearly as ridiculous. First of all, racers shouldn't have weaponry, and they sure as hell shouldn't have EMP cannons and Spike Strips. That's just dumb and a VERY pitiful excuse for "game balance". The roadblocks are pointless since they all have an opening which is stupid. The Spike Strips in this game are ungodly annoying aswell, they activate immediately which makes split-streaming other racers/cops practically impossible. Not only that, whenever you're hit by one of these weapons or god forbid, hit a wall or get TAKEN DOWN (LOL BURNOUT CTRL+C CTRL+V) you have to watch an annoying as heck screen of the likes of "SPIKED!" or "CRASHED!" and then just speed away as if nothing happened apart from losing a bit of health. Yeah, ok. That's exactly how I expected a Hot Pursuit game to work: to bust racers, you have to take them down a ton of times until they're finally arrested. No, sorry, this is not how a NFS game should work. If I wanted to play Road Rage online, I'd go play Burnout 3 or something. This game is the ultimate proof that by this time EA was just cashing in on "new" games by just rehashing and fusing old concepts into a mish-mash that cries out for the apocalypse; an absolute disaster, you can see the exact same thing happening on Most Wanted 2012, that game is a copypaste of Burnout Paradise. The superb fun that was the Hot Pursuit game mode in NFS4 and Hot Pursuit 2 in... NFS Hot Pursuit 2 was completely ruined by this game, and it only set a bar for the worse which were the future EA titles. Also, did I mention that this doesn't have split-screen either? Wait, the insanity doesn't stop there: it takes as long as it takes to load a new race as it does to RESTARTING A RACE. So, you screwed up? Oh, no problem, we'll just make you WAIT HALF A MINUTE FOR THE WHOLE THING TO LOAD. And another thing, you don't even get to "start" the race, the game just drops you with the race already a bit in progress, followed by a nearly-unskippable cutscene (it has an option to skip it but you'll in fact just skip like 2 or 3 seconds of it). I agree, it's nitpicking but it's these little details that make the game so much more frustrating than it should be. There's also an incredibly shallow free roam mode which blatantly looks unfinished. You can't do anything in it aside from driving and accessing the pause menu. What a joke. Expand
  57. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Take Need for Speed's beautiful exotic cars, the Hot Pursuit series' signature stunning locales, full Cop and Racer campaigns and Criterion's mastery of arcade-racing controls and what do you get? One of the best racing games ever made. I have a few minor gripes like how the Hyper series selection is of lower quality compared to the other series and the level 3 weapons can get pretty ridiculous, especially the nearly impossible to avoid lvl 3 roadblocks. However, they're a microscopic blemish on an otherwise perfect racing game. Expand
  58. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Great game. Great if not amazing details, missions, and cars. Arguably the best Need For Speed game ever made and in the top 2 in challenging for the Need For Speed Series
  59. Aug 8, 2012
    2
    Need for speed has gotten worse and worse over the years, I don't know what happened since NFS: Most Wanted + NFS: Carbon, those were both great games that I very much enjoyed, hot pursuit though... its just, there was nothing new when it came to being the driver, no open world, just pick this track, pick this, and this, until you finish the game, no story, just click and drive, which doesn't make a good game. I did like playing as the police however, it did feel different, but didn't compensate for the emptiness of the rest of it. Expand
  60. Nov 2, 2013
    2
    It seems that the Need for Speed franchise is a dying franchise, weined from the interest's of EA's profit margins, so why should they need to give a damn about making the one game that everybody should had been anticipated for. For all the commentary about 4-player local coop and 8-player system link, customization tools and the returned joy of being the pursuee, HOT Pursuit is a very bad excuse in the shadow of the original. There is no customization whatsoever, you can't even choose which car you want to drive for particular events, choosen randomly with a very limited set of colors. I know the original Hot Pursuit had this, but this game came out in 2010! We know of the varied customization abilities tried and true in the Original Most Wanted and Underground series, so why exclude it from here? It seems the overall affect of this game's success was the neat little graphics, but how do graphics keep a person's interest if they can't bother to play the game for 2 hours to try some sliver of fun, besides the wreck of online play that they jam into your ear for the very first 20 minutes of starting the game. There is also no need to freeroam either, as you can't really enjoy driving the car you want to, especially since all the cars handle like a tank trying to hit a 180 at 400 miles per hour: meaning, horribly. Also, the stats of each cars are contextually inept, mentioning torque and weight for some unknown reason, rather than giving the simplified stats that most gamers could understand: Speed, Acceleration and Handling. So I hope that EA thinks that any kind of game that would limit their profit margins even by a half of a percent is too much of a risk to them, because this was the game that made me hate EA and stop buying their crap from here on out. They told me what they thought of the customers, so I fought back. Expand
  61. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    Great game, great graphics, great soundtrack, great fun. Being a gamer who has been gaming since gaming began i can tell you that as you get older games no longer have the ability to make you wake up early jump out of bed and play them like when you were a kid, however, this was the first game to make me do that in years. I just kept wanting one more try, another try to better my score and get the gold medals. It was a lot of fun. Expand
  62. Nov 30, 2010
    0
    The Good: Insanely addicting multiplayer, slick presentation, great sounds, unbelievably fun gameplay The Bad: virtually no customization options, limited single-player experience Graphics: 10 - One of the nicest looking games available, and yet the frame-rate is a good as it gets. Sound: 9 - Awesome sounds and good music, although the track selection could be better. Replay Value - 7 for single player, 10 for multi-player. This is a game meant to be played with others.

    Full Review below:

    When I heard that Criterion was going to develop this game, and that it was going to be an old-school Need for Speed game, I thought it was going to be awesome.

    Honestly, after playing the demo, I wasn't sure about this game. I was going to pre-order it, but ended up getting the newest Assassin's Creed game instead (a worthy purchase). I was going to wait until it ended up a GameStop or something used to get a better deal. I saw this game at Target (and Best Buy) for $35 in the Black Friday ads and decided to go for it. I waited in line for 2 hours to get this game. I wasn't sure if it was worth it...

    Believe me, it was. The demo did not do this game justice.

    Think Burnout meets old school Need for Speed. Cops vs. Racers. No story to get in the way, just good old-fashioned high-speed chases. Add some great cars, gorgeous visuals, and a silky-smooth framerate, and this game doesn't disappoint. Single player alone was worth the $35.00. The game modes are fun, especially the Hot Pursuit modes, where a group of racers try and out-run the cops. One great aspect of this game is that you can play both sides, and both sides are really fun. So it has a pretty good single-player mode. But it's multiplayer that makes this a killer game. Playing as either the cops or the racers in Hot Pursuit mode online is ridiculously fun, especially if you have a headset and can talk during the race. I haven't tried the other online modes yet, but Hot Pursuit mode is enough to keep me playing for months to come.

    The other really cool feature is known as Autolog. It's kinda like Facebook for your game. Autolog compares your times and achievements in single-player mode to those of your friends playing this game. It's a nice departure from traditional leaderboards that feature inhuman achievements made by the top players. I do wish they added some more customization options like those found in NFS: Most Wanted. It would be sick to be able to customize a police car. But these are just minor gripes.

    Bottom Line: If you don't have (or don't use) online access for your console of choice, you'll have some fun with this game, but your replay value will be limited (I would just rent it). However, if you play multiplayer with this game, you won't be able to put it down very easily. Be careful, as this game's multiplayer will eat up hours upon hours of your time.
    Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 73
  2. Negative: 1 out of 73
  1. Jan 24, 2011
    80
    While Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit is a terrific racer, it's also a poignant reminder that Criterion will probably never be able to match the standard they set with Burnout 3.
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    A fast, fun, pretty and globally mastered game, even if we could regret a rather short content, and a solo career a bit too classic and repetitive.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    85
    Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit reminds me of the first part of the assassin's creed-series. In general, the game is great, but it's missing variety and long-time motivation. Especially the number of time trials shouldn't have been this high. Races and pursuits are much more fun. The small amount of about 100 cars doesn't really matter, because all of them were done well, although some them have only 300 PS. Altogether, it's a great action-racing-game, but there is maybe more potential for Hot Pursuit 2.