User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 55
  2. Negative: 19 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    7
    It's both good and bad. Sure the characters are a little under-developed but the concept here is different and unique. Tactics and most of the enemies will repeat over and over again but I'm still enjoying it after all. IGN was a little harsh on it giving it a 3 (awful), but in my opinion this is still a game that should be at least be looked at.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    I honestly loved this game the style of it was great the body being blown around. It took me as surprise as I thought its never dying aspect I thought it was a bit sketchy, but It was well worth it.
  3. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    All the reviewers and critics who give this game a bad score are retards. This game is f*cking awesome. So hardcore and fun...................... Ikr.
  4. Feb 5, 2012
    4
    I think I have to differ with my fellow user reviewers. NeverDead follows the same cycle of developers creating a great idea, but in the end the opportunities for a great game are squandered thanks to poor dialouge from the characters, poor design decisions, and poor characters in general. In my opinion it's just another good idea gone bad.
  5. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This game is fun. It's just a fun game. Don't play it if you're expecting it to shatter expectations and defy all genre standards, because it won't. What it WILL do is make you laugh and remind you that games are meant to be played and enjoyed for the sake of being played and enjoyed.
  6. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    I stopped listening to IGN back when they gave Metro a 6.5 and started giving 9's that had Call of Duty slapped on the cover and I am glad I did. This game is unique, something hard to find these days. Its by far not the best and a bit cheesy from time to time, But if you enjoy that crazy action sort of game that comes out of Japan every now and again this games fun. The graphics are fairly impressive aswell too. The voice acting could have used a little more work though. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    4
    This is a bad, bad game... Konami slipped on this title. It's a 3rd person action game, where the protagonist (Bryce) it's a demon hunter, who is cursed by the Demon's King with immortality: he can lose any body part and gather them again. The action resumes in modern days when you and your partner, a girl (who is mortal) hunts demons: the main gameplay is a mixture of beat em up, and puzzles, with the occasional boss fight. Ok, nice, but we have some (many?) problems: the graphics are bad, and outdated, the acting is cheesy, but the worst thing, is the gameplay. You lose body parts every time you are hit by an enemy (and this happen almost all the time in combats), and to recompose yourself (and be able to attack again), you must roll up to these body parts. The main problem is that your assistant is attacked at the same time (and you must revive her, quickly), and that every time you catch a body part, if a enemy attacks you, you lose it again... add to this some bugs and glitches to the gameplay, and we have one of the worst games of the year, with a utterly frustrating and boring gameplay. My score: 4,1 . Expand
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    5
    "NeverDead" not only squandering an interesting premise as transforms into a hindrance, an excuse for include challenges that test not the skill, but the player's patience. At first, gets to be fun the festival of destruction of enemies and scenarios, but only until when will realize that this is repeated until the end of the game. Incidentally, the final struggles are among the most frustrating already viewed in the game. In the end, "NeverDead" is nothing more than a generic game action and shooting with esquisitões characters. Expand
  9. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Konami once again surprised everyone - made their own Devil May Cry, with a European taste. Soundtrack could easily qualify for Oscars. With a hint at the sequel!
  10. Feb 4, 2012
    7
    i love this game and its great fun and good action,
    NeverDead is fun ,well made and something new, gamers should start taking games for wot they are an not what they want the game to be like, the demons in neverdead are alot like DMC demons like some have four legs an some with blades as head! When you get hit your body parts detach from each other with your head spinning an rolling
    around trying to find its torso, legs and arms. u have to roll over the body part 2 attach them all bak together so u can get back in the action. Yes most games have life bars but nerverdead you can't die as your body falls apart but you have to watch your just your head as one demon tries its hardest to hoover your head up into its pits of its stomach and if that happens to you a slider appears where you have to hit the button at the right time for the demon to spit you out, if you miss then sorry your heads staying in their for another 500 years! gameover lol. Neverdead is a good action game that is fun and the main characters are dukenukemISH , the combat is pretty good for a hack an slash/3rd person shooter.
    if you want an addictive game with a good story line and generally fun then this is the game for you.
    Expand
  11. Mar 18, 2012
    5
    Have you ever had very high hopes for something only for it to turn out mediocre and disappointing? That is NeverDead in a nutshell. This adventure by Rebellion Developments oozing so much originality that itâ
  12. Sep 21, 2013
    7
    The game was too short, the dialogue needs some serious work, and I feel like they could have added more features to the game in general, like an actual new game+, more types of enemies, more weapons, etc. The combat could have been expanded upon as well but it was otherwise fairly enjoyable. Like other people have said, there were some unique ideas in here that could have used a little more work. Even with its shortcomings I still found it quite fun, and it was well worth the $10 I paid for it. Expand
  13. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    Somehow I feel that a lot of these perfect scores on here come from the people who made the game, nice one guys. "Hey guys, our game is great and reviewers who gave it negative scores are just retards who hate our company, LOLZ, it's just like DMC but better!!!" The game might be a fun way to waste time with some friends in a its-so-bad-it-is-actually-entertaining kind of way, if it was 19 bucks, but a five hour pile of crap for 60 dollars? Expand
  14. Feb 12, 2012
    2
    How to mess a good idea would be how i see Neverdead. The voice acting is horrible, the gameplay is so random that it makes it feels ''hardcore '' to some but it is just testing your patience really. Frustration is common ground with this game, glitch in graphics is even more common. Save your bucks, and wait for others games...this one should be Everdead.
  15. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    NeverDead, uff, difficult review. Ok, the game have great ideas, but the game lost much, because all this bigger ideas have bigger mistakes, the gameplay is good, but is so strange, the graphics are mmm... strange. The story is good, and the characters great. But with much problems, NeverDead is a regular game, is like a comedy-action game.
  16. Mar 6, 2012
    4
    Hey. Get off da forums. Play me at Madden. Dis game garbage. I picked this game up like, yesterday. Wasted about a good...13 hours of my time playing it. My honest review: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory had a better, more in depth story than this ol' hunk a garbage. This game isn't worth the amount of time the Mexican immigrants put into making the disc. Sincerely: Madden.
  17. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    As a veteran gamer who cut his gaming teeth on the likes of the ZX81, I can honestly say that I
  18. Feb 21, 2013
    4
    Os gráficos e o conceito de regeneração são bons, e só, porque a jogabilidade horrível, os monstros foram desenhados com a bunda, os personagens não possuem carisma.
  19. Nov 24, 2012
    4
    The graphics looks ok along with art style, busty sidekick also helping to love the game but it's all in vein.
    Shooting is bad with **** targeting and swordplay is disorienting. The game is trying to be humoristic with character lines, but it comes out so lame. Dismembering is kinda boring and annoying.
  20. Jan 13, 2013
    2
    The story is the games best feature since the game-play is mostly a frustration. The game concept where your limbs fall off, mostly takes away from the game rather than adding to it, as your easily broken apart and picking back up your limbs or having your head cut off, which leads to you having to roll back to your body only to have you head cut off again moments later. The way you die in this game is also poorly thought out, were you simply have to fail to press a button at the right time, while in side an enemy stomach. The guns in the game feel under powered making you want to use your sword, most of the time, which is a pain to control an often leads you to having your limbs taken off. They are enemies in the game that constantly re-spawn enemies and take a while to take down unless they are environmental hazards you can use to your advantage. Using the environment can be fun and using your head to reach certain locations and hidden items is where the game makes sense. Collapse
  21. Jan 13, 2013
    0
    The story is the games best feature since the game-play is mostly a frustration. The game concept where your limbs fall off, mostly takes away from the game rather than adding to it, as your easily broken apart and picking back up your limbs or having your head cut off, which leads to you having to roll back to your body only to have you head cut off again moments later. The way you die in this game is also poorly thought out, were you simply have to fail to press a button at the right time, while in side an enemy stomach. The guns in the game feel under powered making you want to use your sword, most of the time, which is a pain to control an often leads you to having your limbs taken off. They are enemies in the game that constantly re-spawn enemies and take a while to take down unless they are environmental hazards you can use to your advantage. Using the environment can be fun and using your head to reach certain locations and hidden items is where the game makes sense. Collapse
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 46
  2. Negative: 20 out of 46
  1. Mar 10, 2012
    50
    A great concept with potential, torn to pieces by bland shooting, horrid dialogue and frustrating design. Swordplay can be fun but there's little else to enjoy. [Issue#82, p.88]
  2. Mar 1, 2012
    45
    We give developer Rebellion a pat on the back for trying something original in the shooter genre, but it simply doesn't work that well. The story is dumb and so is main character Bryce. The gameplay is incredibly repetitive and gets really frustrating, really fast.
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    70
    NeverDead's heart is in the right place: committed to entertaining you, no matter the cost - even if it means losing your head a few too many times along the way. [March 2012, p.120]