• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Feb 29, 2012
  • Also On: PC, PC
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    Nexuiz offers an old-school gameplay, but finds its own identity by adding some interesting features. If you're a fan of the genre you can't miss it.
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    60
    The overall impression is of a thoroughly mediocre arena-shooter that never quite manages to deliver. On a crowded online market Nexuiz is reduced to a short term affair without much longevity. As this is a game that relies solely on an active multiplayer community, it's hard to tell how long Illfonic can manage to keep this going. Unfortunately, Nexuiz is not the game to revive the arena-shooter.
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    50
    Nexuiz fails to transform or improve previous experiences of a genre that has great references.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    70
    Nexuiz is the perfect fusion between speed and accessibility. A minimal amount of choice in game modes ruins longevity and some online problems can sometimes be frustrating.
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    65
    Sure, Nexuiz is a fun shooter, but only under the right conditions. Unfortunately those right conditions are pretty rare, leaving you with unbalanced teams and terrible music.
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    71
    With limited multiplayer options (and no single-player modes other than bot training), long waits for matches to start, boring weapons, and a carrot-on-a-stick progression system that is way more stick than carrot, Nexuiz is doomed to obscurity.
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    At a cheap 800 Microsoft points, the game certainly merits trying. It goes without saying that as more people purchase it, the game's experience will only become better. Until then, long load times and a tough reward system ensure that it certainly caters to the niche of insanely fast-shooters, but might be unforgiving and underwhelming to other types of gamers.
  8. Mar 3, 2012
    50
    With a better matchmaking system and more multiplayer options, it would be easier to recommend. As it stands, with so many quality shooters in the budget download market (or even the free-to-play market, for that matte), the few intriguing pieces of Nexuiz aren't enough to lift it above the crowd.
  9. Mar 1, 2012
    50
    It all adds up to shallow pleasure that quickly gives way to a litany of niggling frustrations. Nexuiz is fine with the broad strokes, thanks largely to a tried-and-trusted style of gameplay that is inherently appealing, but it's in the nuance and details that it really comes unstuck.
  10. Mar 1, 2012
    60
    As beloved as the subgenre and the original Nexuiz mod are among a certain crowd, this Xbox Live Arcade remake is nothing more than a haphazard port of a 2005 mod for a game that came out 10 years ago – except you have to pay money for it. Those of us older folks who are nostalgic for the gameplay Nexuiz emulates likely have a PC that runs any of the dozens of excellent alternatives, and the younger console crowd has plenty of more modern shooters to choose from.
  11. Feb 29, 2012
    60
    It's hard to forget that even after the numerous PC updates, you're playing a nearly seven year-old game, and after a few hours, it feels that way. If you are looking to take a trip back to the glory days of Quake mods, Nexuiz is what you are looking for. Just don't expect to stay for long.
  12. Feb 29, 2012
    65
    Nexuiz meets the bar of quality you'd expect from a console arena shooter, and does very little to rise above it. If that's enough for you, Nexuiz will not disappoint.
  13. Apr 12, 2012
    50
    It's a solid little shooter, but there are so many different ways to shoot people online now that it's hard to get excited at a game like this one. [May 2012, p.60]
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    When I first saw this game's trailer, I shook my head in disbelief. How could a game change so much from its original form in just only aroundWhen I first saw this game's trailer, I shook my head in disbelief. How could a game change so much from its original form in just only around 6 years? In case you don't know, Nexuiz was an old Quake 2 mod from 2005. It was a fun Multiplayer arena FPS, and better yet, it was FREE. The game finally comes back after 7 years in 2012 under the same title, Nexuiz. Now just because it has changed so much from its original form, doesn't mean it is a bad game. Its a fun game and great for people who like to play the classic, fast-paced, arena shooters we all know and love, e.g. Quake 3 or Unreal Tournament. The game looks absolutely beautiful for a console game and runs at an amazing 60 fps. Tight controls, fun gameplay, and endless replayability, this game is great for old and new fans alike. However, Many can agree that PC is made for these types of fast-paced shooters, as on console you aim sort of on a grid, making it slower to aim around you and slower to react to being shot. This can ruin it at sometimes, but mostly, you will be OK when it comes to the console shooter. Another complaint I have is that there is a very limited number of maps, only 9 available at launch. Obviously this can be fixed through DLC packages and what-not, but its no excuse for the amount at launch. This is a very fun arena shooter, a good game for those who are looking for a new console "old-school" style, Fast-paced FPS. Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2012
    5
    I really wanted this game to shine since I played the quake mod and the free release on mac and I had a good time playing it. This new versionI really wanted this game to shine since I played the quake mod and the free release on mac and I had a good time playing it. This new version looked pretty good however it has an extremely big problem, the fan base the mod gained on PC and Mac will be unlikely to buy it on console, really few people who had the previous version will buy this one. Then comes the presentation, the menus are quite ugly and you could see not much thought was put on them. Graphic-wise this game looks pretty good since it was made with an engine we know we can trust however there are a few textures that pop and some details that could have been improved but its ok for me. Now the gameplay. Its fun to have a quick-paced arena shooter but it still has its shortcomings, there are no single player modes apart from bot practice which disappointed me a lot when my gold membership expired. After the struggle of finding a match it becomes fun and refreshing. Another problem I had was the characters, in both teams the characters looked pretty much the same, there was almost nothing that varied in character design. Overall this game manages to have fun gameplay but too many downsides for me to be able to recommend it, download the demo since its always ok to try but remember there are downsides and in a month or two really few people will be playing this. Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    No players online. Bot's are OK, but don't really use powerups effectively. Good and cheap if you and a friend feel a need for some old schoolNo players online. Bot's are OK, but don't really use powerups effectively. Good and cheap if you and a friend feel a need for some old school action online 1 on 1, but for more than that, look elsewhere Full Review »