NHL 07 Xbox 360

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 166
  2. Negative: 74 out of 166

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SeanE.
    Feb 18, 2007
    4
    I preferred the game when you could actually skate with the puck, u cant skate more then 10m without getting poked or someone stumbling into you and you losing it, also when i am on the attack i can never land a pass, the ai on your team is horrible, so many times i have tried to set up a one timer to realize that the other player went behind the net, NHL07 for regular xbox is way better I preferred the game when you could actually skate with the puck, u cant skate more then 10m without getting poked or someone stumbling into you and you losing it, also when i am on the attack i can never land a pass, the ai on your team is horrible, so many times i have tried to set up a one timer to realize that the other player went behind the net, NHL07 for regular xbox is way better then NHL07 for the 360. Expand
  2. DanielT.
    Dec 15, 2006
    2
    Introducing a new controller setup without a practice mode is insane - and looks meh.
  3. TimB.
    Sep 20, 2006
    2
    Almost as exciting as watching elementary school hockey on an iPod...
  4. jimbreyer
    Sep 20, 2006
    2
    The controls are pretty cool. They don't make up for the overall beta-version feel of the thing.
  5. BenjaminF.
    Jan 4, 2007
    1
    Great game with awesome gameplay and graphics, but its too damn easy.....I have been playing the EA Sports NHL Series for about 7 years now, and difficult mode is SOO easy.......they need to make this game harder...in my dynasty, sidney crosby has 67 pts in 7 games......thats almost 10 pts a game average.....realistic? I think not!
  6. mattlaritechikie
    Jan 6, 2007
    2
    welll this adam N kid is the biggest idiot i have ever seen.....this game is one of the easyest games i have ever seen....i always win like 10-1....my friend once won 23-1!!!!.....you can ALWAYS blow oast the defense men ......and you can cut across the net and always score...or unless you hit the post/crossbar..or you are a sucky guy and you miss the net....so i would take off that adam Nwelll this adam N kid is the biggest idiot i have ever seen.....this game is one of the easyest games i have ever seen....i always win like 10-1....my friend once won 23-1!!!!.....you can ALWAYS blow oast the defense men ......and you can cut across the net and always score...or unless you hit the post/crossbar..or you are a sucky guy and you miss the net....so i would take off that adam N kids repley he knows nothing about this game!! Expand
  7. KevinG.
    Oct 6, 2006
    2
    I have been playing NHLPA/EA hockey since 1994 and this is the fisrt time I regret spending the money for this piece of crap. Seems they did away with the skating engine that really made the 06 game altogether and now the controls are mushy, passing accurately is almost impossible and the "star" icon under the player is WAY TOO BIG, plus the view is so far away you can't even read I have been playing NHLPA/EA hockey since 1994 and this is the fisrt time I regret spending the money for this piece of crap. Seems they did away with the skating engine that really made the 06 game altogether and now the controls are mushy, passing accurately is almost impossible and the "star" icon under the player is WAY TOO BIG, plus the view is so far away you can't even read the player names on the jerseys! Dynasty control screens are so small that you can't read them also. VERy VEry Disapointing, Why not bring back Air Warrior! Now there is a game worth the money! Expand
  8. SteveG.
    Sep 15, 2006
    3
    I've been playing EA and 2K intensively with the 06 and this week. While both have progressed this year, IMHO this one still lacks the detail and polish.
  9. GeorgeM.
    Sep 20, 2006
    3
    Compared to some of EA's other efforts (esp. football), must say this one is a disappointment.
  10. TadSmith
    Sep 20, 2006
    3
    Online, it's still behind the competition.
  11. JohnG.
    Nov 11, 2006
    2
    First, the good: great innovation by EA by putting all the offense controls in the analog sticks, and the goalie movement is uncanny, all which makes for a great shootout game. And of course, the graphics are top notch. But all of that is burried under the sheer medicrity of everything else in the game. In terms of defense, it's terrible!Putting the checking on the right stick makes First, the good: great innovation by EA by putting all the offense controls in the analog sticks, and the goalie movement is uncanny, all which makes for a great shootout game. And of course, the graphics are top notch. But all of that is burried under the sheer medicrity of everything else in the game. In terms of defense, it's terrible!Putting the checking on the right stick makes it so hard to hit. It is extremely difficult to poke check and maintain possession of the puck, while the CPU has no trouble doing this 99% of the time. Passing is impossible, they rarely connect, and of course, the CPU's passing is near perfect. Skating is also erratic, your players always seem to have to skate in a circle to get back on defense rather than just skate backward, leaving the CPU on breakaway most of the time. What makes the game really frustrating is that the CPU can always do things much better than you, and I means superhuman feats, like being able to block a shoot with his skates and/or stick with his back to you or on the opposite side of where the shot was going!And the CPU also seems to recover too quickly form a big hit or a poke check(I even tried slashing to impede the CPU's progress and the player still kept going or as he's shaking it off the puck is still following him!) I did mention that the goalie movement is great, but there are some pretty stupid goals scored in the game, like the goalie stopping the puck his glove, only to continue sliding backward and thus his glove hand crossing the goal line and whenever the goalie clears the puck and it's turnover, it almost immediately results in a goal since the goal never recovers. Overall, great shootout, terrible hockey game. Sort it out next year, EA. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 90
    The Skills Stick alone make NHL 07 a completely different game and one worthy of the new NHL. [Oct. 2006, p.96]
  2. 87
    A great hockey game, pure and simple...NHL 07 represents the first truly next-generation gameplay innovation.
  3. The bar has been raised. Stellar graphics and a great new stick/shooting system are the hallmarks of this title. While perhaps a little light, yet, on the multiplayer aspects, the game does have a solid franchise mode and is just pure fun to play.