NHL 07 Xbox 360

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 166
  2. Negative: 74 out of 166

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. A.B.
    Dec 31, 2007
    8
    I used too play hockey and I could never skate for long with the puck. You have to constantly pass it around and this game allows you to do that with pin point accuracy. But it is hard to get the puck off the AI. But I found a trick to doing it. All you have to do when they are coming down , You land a huge hit on the guy and one of your guys comes along and takes and bang, You are back I used too play hockey and I could never skate for long with the puck. You have to constantly pass it around and this game allows you to do that with pin point accuracy. But it is hard to get the puck off the AI. But I found a trick to doing it. All you have to do when they are coming down , You land a huge hit on the guy and one of your guys comes along and takes and bang, You are back on offense. Expand
  2. ChristopherS.
    Aug 9, 2007
    9
    Best-Hockey-Game-Ever. Anyone who rates this below an 8 is nuts and likely hasn't got past the game's learning curve. There are some small glitches, and that is the only reason it's not a 10.
  3. RichardS.
    Apr 11, 2007
    9
    An excellent game! When I played my first game I thought "this sucks!". I have since played many hours and now think it's thebest hockey game, if not best sports game I've played. I have been a hockey game fan since the Sega Mega Drive days of NHL 92 and NHLPA 93. I loved the speed and freedom of movement. When I bought my xbox I played NHL 2K4 and 2K5 but found them both really An excellent game! When I played my first game I thought "this sucks!". I have since played many hours and now think it's thebest hockey game, if not best sports game I've played. I have been a hockey game fan since the Sega Mega Drive days of NHL 92 and NHLPA 93. I loved the speed and freedom of movement. When I bought my xbox I played NHL 2K4 and 2K5 but found them both really frustrating - it was impossible to pass the puck accurately and every goal I scored was a breakaway as passing was a no-no. I tried to set up good goals but it was impossible. I stuck with the 2K versions as people said the EA games were too arcadey and rubbish. I think NHL 07 is brilliant - I score fantastic, realistic goals with loads of free movement, intricate passing, and attacking moves. I don't understand the other posters' complaints, passing is very well done (I mainly play international games though) and shooting is great too. My only complaints: sometimes I shoot from way out and score yet with no backlift. Also the commentary is too repetitive. Otherwise I am loving it. Expand
  4. RedwingsRockRangersSuck
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    The best game with out a dout. Skill stick makes it the best golies save are awesome looking too, but I can make awesome moves between my legs or anything so that could be better.
  5. AdamN.
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    All the people who dont like this game want the same old game where you always win a 7-6 game. EA has made this game as realistic as possible at this time. The old games were SOOOOO unrealistic. I don't want to be able to destroy every offensive player by hitting Y, and then usig unrealistic turbo to blow by the defenders and score with the same move. I want a real game where you All the people who dont like this game want the same old game where you always win a 7-6 game. EA has made this game as realistic as possible at this time. The old games were SOOOOO unrealistic. I don't want to be able to destroy every offensive player by hitting Y, and then usig unrealistic turbo to blow by the defenders and score with the same move. I want a real game where you fight in the corner, and then set up plays to score. One Timers aren't automatic goals anymore, and the goalies dont slide and stack the pads on ever play like in nhl 06. EA shouldnt change a single thing about the gameplay. You need to grow a pair and learn how to actually play a realistic hockey game. Expand
  6. MichaelM.
    Dec 26, 2006
    9
    I'm speaking as a hockey noob, but this game is so much fun to play (once I worked out the rules). Very intuitive. I just wish there was more stuff to do... and that GB were better.
  7. GatorB.
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    This is an excellent hockey game. That being said, I agree that it is probably one year off from being a perfect hockey game. EA has put down a great foundation. I
  8. Adam
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    I haven't had this much fun playing a sports game in a long time. Yah, there should have been a more next-gen checking system and few more online/offline options. All and all though what it comes down to is playing hockey and this game does on the ice what every hocky game should do from now on. and that is...letting us control the stick. Thanks EA.
  9. RavenX301
    Sep 28, 2006
    8
    The same person seems to be reviewing this game to give it a terrible over all....your not fooling anyone. The game IS a step in the right direction. I would only buy 2K games before this becasue A) they were cheaper, and B) they were more deep than EA's games......Even though B may still be true, after last years piece of sh$t 2K6, i wasnt to thrilled to have seen they didnt change aThe same person seems to be reviewing this game to give it a terrible over all....your not fooling anyone. The game IS a step in the right direction. I would only buy 2K games before this becasue A) they were cheaper, and B) they were more deep than EA's games......Even though B may still be true, after last years piece of sh$t 2K6, i wasnt to thrilled to have seen they didnt change a damn thing in the gameplay. Still the same boring play......same, same, same, same......Not that EA is'nt to be blamed but this was the most exciting hockey game I've played sense 2002 Hitz, and i am still enjoying it. Jugster J seemed to be nothing but a moron so you CAN TRUST MY REVIEW, give them both a shot and buy the one you like most. Expand
  10. JonN.
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    Best NG sports game on the market. Wicked controls...feels like you are playing hockey.
  11. JohnCrew
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    Hey...it would be nice if 2K fanboys didn't come on here in groups and give NHL low ratings...it just proves how afraid the 2K fanboys are of NHL 07...the best hockey game on the market by far...go back to your 2K website and stay there. Besides it won't change the HIGHER Metacritic given by real reviewers, and it won't change the minds of consumers either seeing that NHL 07Hey...it would be nice if 2K fanboys didn't come on here in groups and give NHL low ratings...it just proves how afraid the 2K fanboys are of NHL 07...the best hockey game on the market by far...go back to your 2K website and stay there. Besides it won't change the HIGHER Metacritic given by real reviewers, and it won't change the minds of consumers either seeing that NHL 07 is outselling NHL 2K7 by about 20 to 1. Expand
  12. CharlieC
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    Awesome, blows 2K away. The new controls rule!
  13. Bobbobbo
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  14. RobE.
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    The game plays more like real hockey then its predecessors.
  15. LawrenceM.
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    NHL 2007 for the Xbox 360 is the best hockey videogame I've played since NHL 94, and that's saying something. The goal variety is amazing, the puck physics are phenominal, and for once the opposing goalies have individual characteristics and styles. EA has finally managed to pump out a fun to play simulation hockey game.
  16. TP
    Sep 17, 2006
    9
    Great game, got some bugs but it really paves the way for a improvement in EAs 2nd shot at Next Gen in NHL 08.
  17. SS
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    It's amazing! I love that you learn how to shoot, learn how to skate, deke and check, and learn how to pass. I suppose it would be harder for a casual gamer, but I love that playing this game involves skill. I think it's the best NHL since 96
  18. [Anonymous]
    Sep 17, 2006
    9
    Closest thing to real hockey I've ever played...few minor bugs like the computer shot totals, but forgivable considering this is the first effort for next gen...great job EA!
  19. DaveK.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    Buy it now...play 10 games to get used to the controls...and you will be very happy.
  20. boxboxer
    Sep 16, 2006
    8
    Once you learn the controls this will be the best of the 2 this year, I gave it an 8 only because the ice could still use some work.
  21. WarrenL.
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Love the new controls. Awesome game EA. You have outdone your competition.
  22. PhilipP.
    Sep 15, 2006
    8
    This is 12 years in the making. Ever since 2000 I have played the 2K series starting on Dreamcast because I haven't been happy with an EA NHL game since NHL 95 on Genesis. EA has finally won me back. This game is not flawless, fights, team ai not setting up offence/defence correctly (i got used to passing back to the blue line in 2k, but i'm not willing to trust my defencive This is 12 years in the making. Ever since 2000 I have played the 2K series starting on Dreamcast because I haven't been happy with an EA NHL game since NHL 95 on Genesis. EA has finally won me back. This game is not flawless, fights, team ai not setting up offence/defence correctly (i got used to passing back to the blue line in 2k, but i'm not willing to trust my defencive line to be onside). But the new Skill Stick makes this game a beauty, the controls work great on offence and defence. I have never been so excited when I score a goal, no matter if I strip the goalie of his dignity, or it just trickles in. Congrats EA, can't wait to see the polish in 08. Expand
  23. DebL.
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Awesome game, love the new controls and goalies look and play fantastic.
  24. ReelWorld
    Sep 15, 2006
    9
    Graphically stunning. The new control scheme certainly adds challenge to the game from the get-go and does require a learning curve. Goalie animations are much improved and the cheap goals are a thing of the past mostly. Replay value is right up there and this could quite honestly be the best sports game that EA has released to date!
  25. KublaG.
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    Wicked game! Visuals are amazing, and the new controls are very intuitive. NHL 07 rocks, can't wait to see how it improves in NHL 08!
  26. AtomH.
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    The best hockey game made in the last 10 years.
  27. MarkW.
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    A simple, pure, fun game.
  28. BrianB.
    Sep 14, 2006
    8
    The graphics are amazing, though the ice does not look as good as 2K7. The control scheme--once you get the hang of it--makes the game feel more like hockey than any NHL game to date, though winning face-offs is next to impossible. The loose puck AI is much improved, but the defensive game is still lacking, and CPU teammates move offsides far too often. The presentation is really rounded The graphics are amazing, though the ice does not look as good as 2K7. The control scheme--once you get the hang of it--makes the game feel more like hockey than any NHL game to date, though winning face-offs is next to impossible. The loose puck AI is much improved, but the defensive game is still lacking, and CPU teammates move offsides far too often. The presentation is really rounded out by the commentary from Thorne and Clement, but it's not as deep as previous commentaries in the series, which included more analysis of the way you were playing. All in all, a great game of hockey, with a few areas for improvement. Expand
  29. J.A.
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    EA knows hockey and "It's in the game". Graphics are truly next gen and the new control setup work perfectly. This game has it all. From the stitching on the players jerseys to realistic puck physics. If you love hockey you will love NHL o7. One of the developers actually read through the entire Collective Barganing Agreement in order to make Dynasty mode authentic. EA paid attention EA knows hockey and "It's in the game". Graphics are truly next gen and the new control setup work perfectly. This game has it all. From the stitching on the players jerseys to realistic puck physics. If you love hockey you will love NHL o7. One of the developers actually read through the entire Collective Barganing Agreement in order to make Dynasty mode authentic. EA paid attention to every detail. Expand
  30. Superyoma
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Skill stick and watching the goalies is next level sports gaming!
  31. Brysonic
    Sep 10, 2006
    9
    The new controls are much more intuitive. Nice to finally see some inovation...
  32. RobN.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Truely the best EA game I've ever owned. A remarkable achievment
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 90
    The Skills Stick alone make NHL 07 a completely different game and one worthy of the new NHL. [Oct. 2006, p.96]
  2. 87
    A great hockey game, pure and simple...NHL 07 represents the first truly next-generation gameplay innovation.
  3. The bar has been raised. Stellar graphics and a great new stick/shooting system are the hallmarks of this title. While perhaps a little light, yet, on the multiplayer aspects, the game does have a solid franchise mode and is just pure fun to play.