Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Skill Stick gave you the power to deke the goalie in NHL 07 – now you can own the 1-on-1 matchup and undress opposing defenseman with complete control Use your stick to push the puck into space and walk around your defender. Once you're all alone in front, improved stick handling andThe Skill Stick gave you the power to deke the goalie in NHL 07 – now you can own the 1-on-1 matchup and undress opposing defenseman with complete control Use your stick to push the puck into space and walk around your defender. Once you're all alone in front, improved stick handling and shooting accuracy will give you the toolset to beat your goaltender for that decisive goal. Dynamic AI adjusts to your every move both on offense and defense, promising to challenge even the most skilled hockey players. The intelligent CPU scouts your tendencies like a coach and makes the necessary adjustments to shut down your money plays, forcing you to adjust your style of play. New analog speed control of the left stick gives you the variance you need to glide into the zone with control or get a burst of speed to step up on a defender. With new skating animations and responsiveness, you have the control to perform crossovers to maintain speed or carve tight turns for an immediate change in direction. 29 AHL teams – the top developmental league for the NHL – are exclusively featured and fully playable. Develop your talent with their minor affiliate until you are ready to call them up for the show. Be the GM and manage your team from the ground up while staying under the salary cap. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    For the first time I can remember in a hockey game, it's not about how fast you set up your one-timer--it's about positioning, spacing, and setting up the perfect play.
  2. NHL 08 manages to improve on last year’s already great hockey game. If you were a fan of last year’s effort, NHL 08 won’t disappoint.
  3. More precise skate speed control and a revised skill stick make NHL 08 an icy-hot dream.
  4. A great NHL experience that all but the most strategy-deficient gamer will enjoy. This ain’t your daddy’s NHL game.
  5. If you are a hockey fan then you need this game. It’s as simple as that.
  6. Electronic Arts has once again proved it is the king of American sport, and its constant drive to innovate is something to be commended and rewarded. Roll on next year, we say. [Nov 2007, p.120]
  7. This year, as 2K8 lags with its overcomplicated controls, EA has managed to slip by. NHL 08 is imperfect, but with its simple gameplay and its clean presentation, it’s somehow on track to lead the league and push it forward.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. TomL.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Amazing game! Amazing graphics, superb gameplay, absolute authenticity, what more could you want from a game? An essential for any hockey Amazing game! Amazing graphics, superb gameplay, absolute authenticity, what more could you want from a game? An essential for any hockey fan. Its the only game i use on my 360, its that good!!! Expand
  2. NV
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    Longtime EA fan, I loved 07, but this is leaps and bounds above it as far as gameplay goes. Lots of team and player creation and Longtime EA fan, I loved 07, but this is leaps and bounds above it as far as gameplay goes. Lots of team and player creation and customization too,a nd all in a super slick package. A few minor hickups (why only 24 created-team logos are available feels like a bit of cop-out), but otherwise don't detract from a superb effort. This is a must-have for all true hockey fans. Expand
  3. ratp0is0nratp
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    Excellent. So real its almost creepy.
  4. Josh
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    It takes a bit of getting used to, but its like that with every installment of NHL. The Defences are alot better, so when you score you know It takes a bit of getting used to, but its like that with every installment of NHL. The Defences are alot better, so when you score you know you deserved it. When you are cycling the puck in the offensive zone the defence will take away passing lanes forcing you to make smarter passes and use your defencemen to open up some holes. It feels lik you are playing an actual hockey game. The fighting is a huge disappointment, you just pound away at the other guy (no clutching, grabbing, etc.) There are some minor issues that have not been addressed, but this is a HUGE step in the right direction. Bye bye 2k8. Expand
  5. RickL.
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    This is my 16th year buying a yearly hockey game. Pluses: The graphics & superstars look strikingly realistic, the ability to play as all 29 This is my 16th year buying a yearly hockey game. Pluses: The graphics & superstars look strikingly realistic, the ability to play as all 29 AHL teams & rosters, Gary Thorne & Bill Clement (no goofy commentating), Great looking arenas (even the AHL ones are accurately named!), realistic penalty calling that doesn't affect game flow, every current Rbk Edge uniform for all teams NHL & AHL, good franchise/dynasty mode, and lots of equipment customization for players & goalies featuring all major equipment brands. Minuses: Some second line players look nothing like their counterparts (Boston's Bergeron, Kessel & Axelsson, for example), fighting really sucks (has any game ever gotten this right?), presentation kind of sucks (no stats shown at all during a game, the few player cutscenes only show height/weight info), typical EA Sports Trax that gets on your nerves after an hour, some difficult to naviagate menues. Overall, the best looking hockey game I've ever played, and maybe the most impressive. The only thing that kept me from buying '07 over 2k7 was the level of customization, and that's been addressed this year. Any negatives are only minor issues. Hardcore hockey fans need to get this game immediately, it's far superior to 2k8, and the closest yet you'll get to stepping on NHL ice. Thanks EA! Expand
  6. SteveG.
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    I am one of the most fanatic of hockey you can Imagine, I have played a lot of NHL, even if I tought that 07 was the best...I just realise I am one of the most fanatic of hockey you can Imagine, I have played a lot of NHL, even if I tought that 07 was the best...I just realise thet this one is just above that, it's not perfect but it's the best hockey gaem I ever played...and I told you ...I played a lot....wonderful!!! Expand
  7. Ric
    Sep 11, 2007
    3
    People claim that this is the most realistic hockey?? Try the poke check and keep your finger on the RB button...Does that look like a player People claim that this is the most realistic hockey?? Try the poke check and keep your finger on the RB button...Does that look like a player skating or a rag doll floating on the ice with his arm permanently in a locked position. That for me, totally ruins the experience!! Playing offence is fun but on defense the controls and AI are terrible. I thought this was EA's year but I may have to give 2K a look again. Collapse

See all 14 User Reviews

Trailers