Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    98
    NHL '13 delivers a massive update to the series that has been long awaited by fans.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    94
    The gameplay and atmosphere in NHL 13 is something every hockey fan should experience for him/herself. If you haven't already, go out and pick this one up. After all – unless we see some progress fast, it may be the only NHL action we get this season.
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    92
    Yet another masterful entry in the world-beating series, NHL 13 is an exemplary ice hockey game and the perfect example of how a sports game should be done. The presentation is second to none, the gameplay is nigh-on perfect and the wealth of content on offer is genuinely mind-boggling. NHL 13 is pucking fantastic.
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    91
    NHL has reached its peak with number 13. Realistic physics, brilliant ice control, a lot of scoring options, tougher opponents and goalkeepers and many different game modes. NHL 13 also has its negative sides. EA could have put new legends in the Be a Legend mode or a bit more balanced NHL moments in the game. There's no way that there are 26 challenges and certain teams are not in this mode. But with its True Skating Performance and its whole atmosphere NHL 13, and maybe NBA 2K13, are going to be my sports games of the year.
  5. 91
    NHL 13 is by far the most complete edition yet, surpassing the stellar NHL 12 by a long shot even if the commentary has some shortcomings.
  6. 90
    Finally the major changes come to the ice-hockey simulation and we have got quite a lot of improvements after last year's stagnation. [Oct 2012]
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    Fast, furious and packs staggering depth into its streamlined controls. [Dec 2012, p.90]
  8. Oct 22, 2012
    90
    One of the best sports game around, complete in every aspect and with some nice surprises like the GM Connected feature that we'd like to see it carried in other titles too.
  9. Oct 9, 2012
    90
    With a revisited physic engine and a lot of little tweakings, NHL 13 is one of the best sports game on the market.
  10. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    There is so much on offer again, that there is easily something for everyone. It's not the finished article, but as each year passes, we get closer to perfect virtual recreations of the sport.
  11. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Loaded with options benefitting both single play and online interaction, it's got just about everything a fan would truly want except you still can't make Gretzky bleed.
  12. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    This truly is the sports title of the year and there really isn't something else to ask for in this masterpiece.
  13. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Reconstructing the skating and goaltending succeeds at making the game more realistic, but not necessarily more rewarding. Still, these changes will pay huge dividends down the road. The new GM connected option provides just about as much flexibility in playing a sports game as we've seen, and there are more than enough ways to keep your mind off the looming lockout.
  14. Sep 11, 2012
    89
    With revamped GM and Pro game modes, a near flawless experience with online play, and a fantastic improvement upon the gameplay itself, NHL 13 proves to be worthy of hoisting the Stanley Cup.
  15. Sep 12, 2012
    88
    Another step forward in the evolution of the NHL brand from EA, although the increasingly complex control system brings also some flaws for the arcade fans. Plenty of options and game modes make NHL 13 the most expansive chapter so far.
  16. Sep 16, 2012
    87
    The season mode might not have changed, but the improved physics in NHL 13 compensate for that easily. More often than ever situations unfold like they would in a real hockey match. NHL 13 deserves to be crowned as the most realistic hockey game ever.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 9 out of 33
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    Anyone who plays hockey would know that this game is a great leap towards realism. I can't believe people say it's not worth $60... (I mean,Anyone who plays hockey would know that this game is a great leap towards realism. I can't believe people say it's not worth $60... (I mean, people buy map packs all year for COD????). The EA NHL series has been one of the most innovative and consistently improving sports games around. Let's look beyond the menus and see what's really happening here... The skating, goalies, AI, GM Brain AI and presentation have received massive overhauls and they've added in the biggest online dynasty mode in sporting game history. In Australia (where I live, born in Canada though) this game costs us $99 and I still think it's worth every cent. I've read through lots of reviews and I think a lot of the reviewers either haven't played the game in depth or haven't played NHL 12 or they have never played hockey... Full Review »
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    7
    The game is good. But the fact that I have to pay 60$ a year for incremental updates is kind of dumb. They need to change a lot more andThe game is good. But the fact that I have to pay 60$ a year for incremental updates is kind of dumb. They need to change a lot more and really make it a true sequel. So far the game is good, but feels a lot like NHL 12. They did do some tweaking with multiplayer though for the better. Overall this game gets a 7. Full Review »
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    Any of the reviews saying that this is just a couple tweaks away from being NHL 12, never really played NHL 12 that much. Smarter GM AI, aAny of the reviews saying that this is just a couple tweaks away from being NHL 12, never really played NHL 12 that much. Smarter GM AI, a puck that doesn't get sucked into the gravity of a player as it passes them, the puck chop, smarter, more fluid goalies, and a new way of skating... that's all I've discovered SO FAR! I will agree that most of the games have just seemed like it could have been NHL 10.1, 10.2, 10.3, but I find that this iteration of the NHL franchise is the biggest leap forward since the addition of the skill stick! Full Review »