NHL 14 Xbox 360

NHL 14 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unlock the highest level of hockey aggression, speed and skill. Deliver hits with the NHL® Collision Physics, built from FIFA’s Player Impact Engine. Drop your gloves with the new Enforcer Engine, powered by EA SPORTS™ Fight Night technology. Dangle defenders with new One-Touch Dekes andUnlock the highest level of hockey aggression, speed and skill. Deliver hits with the NHL® Collision Physics, built from FIFA’s Player Impact Engine. Drop your gloves with the new Enforcer Engine, powered by EA SPORTS™ Fight Night technology. Dangle defenders with new One-Touch Dekes and experience enhanced speed and control with the second season of True Performance Skating. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    95
    At any rate, if you have any interest in hockey games whatsoever, then you probably already own this, but if you don’t, go out and get a copy – you’ll have an absolute blast.
  2. 92
    EA Canada has smashed the puck right into the back of the net once again with NHL 14, providing masses of content, unparalleled gameplay and the usual superb presentation you expect from an EA Sports game. It's perhaps not as big a leap forward over NHL 13 as you'd hope, but regardless, NHL 14 is a winner once again.
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    90
    Even though NHL 14 isn't a huge step forward for the franchise it builds upon the steps that its predecessor has taken and delivers a satisfying ice hockey-experience, that is definitely enhanced by the new collision physics, which make NHL 14 a rather more visceral game.
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    83
    There is plenty in NHL 14 that will satisfy each and every fan out there, and in the end that should be the ultimate goal.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    It’s been some time since I’ve enjoyed an NHL game as much as this one – regardless of your interest in hockey, you’ll find that NHL 14 is the best hockey simulator available and a blast to play.
  6. Sep 6, 2013
    80
    It's a confident entry in the series that makes tweaks in all the right places, but you feel that they're holding back--that they're saving their 1st rounders for a next-gen debut.
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    60
    The new features brought to the table don't add enough over what was available in NHL 13, making this a dubious buy for anyone who still has last year's game and can live without the crushing new hits and more widespread fisticuffs.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 37
  2. Negative: 17 out of 37
  1. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    I have dreams about this game. It is incredible. The way I can glide so gracefully using EA's new engine makes me tingle inside. The new deke,I have dreams about this game. It is incredible. The way I can glide so gracefully using EA's new engine makes me tingle inside. The new deke, deke, shoot feature is incredible. EA if you are reading this. I love you. Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    A really really good game. am primarily a pc gamer but i like ice hockey so bought this and glad i did, it has brought me back to occassionalA really really good game. am primarily a pc gamer but i like ice hockey so bought this and glad i did, it has brought me back to occassional 360 gaming. when i need a bit of a rest from eveonline or dota2 (and lol there are times i do), then this is the perfect remedy. lol a game to counter other games. what a life, hehe. good range of play modes. enjoy the playing with other players in a team as a single character mode the most (select online team i think it is next to career) as opposed to playing me against opposition alone. the ultimate team is a good idea- for collectors its great as i imagine it is for ea and the cash cow aspect. the only thing i would say is i feel like it is a fifa14 clone-not the play style, thats unique but the menu system. i feel it cheapens the game. the menu system needs rehashing anyway- thats why it gets 9 from me not 10. needs to be grouped better. complicated can be good but sometimes so is simplicity. easha, single player,ultimate team,be-a-pro,career,online mode. it does too much. id like to see a solution-a better menu system or a platignum or officianado edition(more expensive) with multiple disks for maybe certain play modes(disks themselves even good quality ones cant be that expensive) or lol a favourite (mode)direct to from boot up screen so i can get straight into team play. Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    NHL 14 is a solid game in the NHL franchise. It fixes quite a few legacy problems the game has had but doesn't fix everything. With each andNHL 14 is a solid game in the NHL franchise. It fixes quite a few legacy problems the game has had but doesn't fix everything. With each and every iteration NHL gets closer to simulating the real world counterpart but for every 2 step forwards it takes it takes 1 backwards. This year its easier to score so much so that i have a hard time losing on superstar. i haven't tried playing with the sliders to increase the difficutly but i'm bound to do that as i've only lost 2 games in a total of 40 played. The HUT seems to be getting more and more expensive to participate in and thats a big problem for me having paid $60 to play the game in the 1st place i shouldnt have to pay extra to compete in Hockey Ultimate Team. That being said the mode is still as solid as ever and the add features to be a pro are decent but lackluster in the long run. its far from the experience of NBA 2K live the life mode. The fighting mechanics are FAR improved and add a significant boost to the enjoyability of each game. Sadly fights also happen too often now and with players that wouldn't normally fight a lot. As stated before scoring is easier which gives the game a more arcade feeling. It loses some of its simulation feeling but i do find myself scoring in many more ways that previous iterations which is a positive thing. Over all the game still looks great and plays great and with the added quick dekes its easier than ever to make highlight real goals. if you enjoy the NHL series or the sport itself then you will love this title. It gets better every year since 2009 and i'm looking forward to the next 1st next gen NHL already! Overall 8/10

    Its a solid iteration with some significant improvements and a few hiccups here and there don't hold back what is still the best NHL video game series of all time.
    Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2014
    5
    I wouldn't go as far as saying its the worse game in the world but for some reason I expected much more from EA this year than the followingI wouldn't go as far as saying its the worse game in the world but for some reason I expected much more from EA this year than the following years.
    The enforcer engine is pretty cool at the start. But it does get annoying after a while especially when your playing HUT and your best player lays a hit and gets into a fight over it. It gets annoying there should be an option where you can opt out of a fight but instead you get jumped.
    HUT and Be A GM has been by far my favorite, its what keeps me playing the NHL games.
    Live the Life, played 40ish games, and I got bored. Not really much to do. Every now and then you get interviews which get boring to do since there are only like 20 different questions you get asked.
    EASHL is the same as NHL 13. Can't really complain or praise.
    NHL 94, good addition gives that arcadey feel to the game.
    The game speed is also a bit slow for my liking but that can be adjusted with sliders.
    All in All this game gets a solid 5.
    Expand
  5. May 21, 2016
    4
    the refs are so one sided in my opinion this game is not good. if you want to buy go right ahead but i warned you that the refs are not good,the refs are so one sided in my opinion this game is not good. if you want to buy go right ahead but i warned you that the refs are not good, and you might want to return it Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2013
    2
    NHL has been my favorite sports video game for years but sadly this last one belongs in the penalty box because it has been naughty. FirstNHL has been my favorite sports video game for years but sadly this last one belongs in the penalty box because it has been naughty. First time I tried playing online I was rewarded by sluggish skaters and unresponsive controls. The second time I played it online I was beat so bad it was frustrating. My opponent seemed to know every trick in the game. Games today are being shipped incomplete. Instead of releasing a game well baked games come out broken and in need of updates. I understand they are much more complex then the glory days of NES but no one should pay $59.99 year after year and experience only marginally improved games with unbalanced online play. Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2013
    0
    The game is good unless you are a hardcore fan and put some real time into it. Then the constant computer errors and goalie problems drive youThe game is good unless you are a hardcore fan and put some real time into it. Then the constant computer errors and goalie problems drive you insane. How many times have we seen things that make no sense. Computer teammates race you to the puck just to skate in front of his own net, turn it over and ur down. Then momentum switches and people can do whatever they want. Ur down 3-0. Im in division one. I have a good club. I hate your game. Most problems ive ever had with any game ever. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews