Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Games Master UK
    Apr 3, 2012
    78
    Veteran Ryu fans will be disappointed, though this is a solid, if easy, action game in itself. [May 2012, p.78]
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    77
    As the first game in the series since Itagaki's departure, it's kinder, gentler, lighter, and a little less interesting.
  3. 80
    It may not live up to the series' impossibly high standards, but it's still a gem in its own right. [Apr 2012, p.56]
  4. 80
    Ninja Gaiden serves up some Hollywood setpieces with a rock-solid combat system. Forgive the hyperactive cameraman and choose the right difficulty, because the wrong one will ruin your game.
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Control quirks and main game length aside, this is as thrilling as ninja games get, and a fun addition to the series, whether alone or with friends. Forget the naysayers and cut loose with good ol' Ryu.
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    85
    Ninja Gaiden 3 is a brave departure for the infamous action series – and it's focus on sword fighting and spectacular quicktime sequences could disappoint diehard fans.
  7. Apr 13, 2012
    79
    Even though Ninja Gaiden 3 is still a relatively good game, with all the setbacks such as the high amount of QuickTime events, marginal design layout, and more, nothing pains me more than to say that Ninja Gaiden 3 is not the best game in the series. It's a shame too because like many of us, we have come to expect amazing work from the people of Tecmo and Team Ninja, but we can hope that this new team learns from this and grows the series back into greatness.
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 56
  2. Negative: 25 out of 56
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Worst NG game of the 3. Feel really ripped off. To bad they screwed up my favorite action game. Story wise its a really bad story. 1 & 2 didntWorst NG game of the 3. Feel really ripped off. To bad they screwed up my favorite action game. Story wise its a really bad story. 1 & 2 didnt have a really good story but they made it up by killer gameplay. This time they `focus` a lot on the story but its horrible.

    Game has been simplified. If you enjoyed the first 2 games, stay away from this one.
    If youre a casual gamer that wants to finish a game by only pressing one button, than maybe youll enjoy the game.

    I at least feel really ripped off.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    This game is not terrible!! It's just not fun. As someone who best Ninja Gaiden 2 on master ninja difficulty (xbox) I enjoyed the punishingThis game is not terrible!! It's just not fun. As someone who best Ninja Gaiden 2 on master ninja difficulty (xbox) I enjoyed the punishing difficulty. This game is a dumbed down version. Those who thought the previous games erred too hard, are going to love this. One sword, one nimpo. I started the game in hard and I've yet to have one problem. All the gore is gone. You walk to one ares, press the x button, kill everyone and move to next area. Same thing over and over. Theres some stealth in the game, which is really cool. But there aren't enough moves. Fighting got boring during my first fight. Ultimate attacks are lame. They're just one hit one kill sword slashes. All in all, this new guy ruined this game. He removed everything that was fun. Like I said...its not terrible. Just not fun..wait until the price goes down. I forgot, online is ok......death match and team death match. Same thing...mash x. Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    Let me first say this..... This game is not a bad game.....IT'S JUST NOT A NINJA GAIDEN GAME!!! When it was announced that NG3 would have beenLet me first say this..... This game is not a bad game.....IT'S JUST NOT A NINJA GAIDEN GAME!!! When it was announced that NG3 would have been rebooted from scratch .As a fan i knew this could only mean one thing....either make or break. I don't particularly think that NG3 is a bad game, It just stripped out everything that made the previous NG games enjoyable and replaced it with poor choices. Yes the combat is fast / but it took away all the weapons (yes... one weapon throughout the whole game) Yes it's easy / but NG is suppose to be challenging. Yes it's bloody Aha! / but it took away limb decapitation (d'oh). What you're left with is a generic hack n slash game which allows you to play with Ryu Hayabusa.
    It's fun but they really drop the ball with this. I am praying that they release weapon dlc's for this.
    Full Review »