• Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: Feb 12, 2013
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 12 out of 18
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    45
    A very interesting idea gets dragged down by a lackluster production: repetitive and boring fights, shoddy controls and sub-par graphics make it hard to be recommend for anyone.
  2. Feb 20, 2013
    44
    Omerta is a great idea, but it drags too often and enthralls too little.
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    42
    Omerta: City of Gangsters feels like a game that’s half way there in execution. The empire building aspect is a whole lot of fun, and seems to be more thought out than the combat. It doesn’t help that the combat is similar to XCOM, and that XCOM did it way better. But the empire building half of the gameplay is really promising, and something that deserves to be expanded on more.
  4. Apr 21, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, Omerta: City of Gangsters isn't worth playing. The concept is solid, as is the decision to split the game into two distinct game types, but the execution of both game types is subpar.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    40
    Omerta is the kind of game I came into wanting to love. Unfortunately, Omerta falls short in every category that counts, and even the parts it manages to get right fall flat long before they become interesting. I really wanted Omerta to be a better game; I really wanted it to be the mob simulation we have all wanted, even if we didn’t know we did. Instead, we got a disappointing shell of what might have been.
  6. Feb 18, 2013
    40
    I tested the Xbox 360 version of Omerta, which controlled fine. The 360 versions of Tropico both had decent performance, and the same is true here. As well as working smoothly on a technical level, the actual control scheme is well-thought out. It’s clear that Omerta began life with both platforms in mind instead of console being tacked on as an after-thought.
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    40
    So the mechanics, narrative, and modes are poorly executed, but the very concept of a mobster strategy/tactics game can’t be denied. It’s a fantastic idea, and the novelty of feeling sort-of-almost-not-really like a mob boss will make the game enjoyable on occasion. Unfortunately, there’s not much here beyond a concept that you can only hope someone, someday will make a great game out of.
  8. 40
    The occasional turn-based tactical shootout could’ve injected some much-needed verve, but the arbitrarily frugal placement of cover points too often forces your thugs to stand out in the open, and questionable line-of-sight will make you curse the inability to save in the middle of an engagement.
  9. The paper-thin strategy, piss-weak story, and miserable appearance are compounded by an insulting lack of polish.
  10. Mar 8, 2013
    30
    We give a sacred oath that we will never discuss this game again...
  11. Feb 1, 2013
    30
    Oh, Haemimont. You've broken my heart...Omerta: City of Gangsters is patchy and clunky, but it's also dull and frustrating.
  12. Mar 19, 2013
    20
    In recap, Omerta is a poor attempt at making a turn based mafia game and this is truly a shame, it looked like it could have been so much more. The idea is quite novel, Omerta though was poorly executed and has left the door open for someone else to come along, use the same idea, refine it and produce a much better product.
User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Jul 26, 2014
    8
    Bom jogo, talvez muito criticado por ter a aparência e jogabilidade de um jogo de estratégia do público de PCs.

    Boa interface, complicado
    como na vida real! hehe

    Prós:
    - Bom enredo;
    - Boa profundidade no universo;
    - Fiel na retratação da época;
    - Port de um gênero do PC para consoles;
    - Sistema de combate com boas opções de ações;
    - Muitas opções de 'Perks'.

    Contras:

    - Complexo demais no início;
    - Pouca customização de personagens e cenários;
    - Sistema de combate muito simples (longe de ser um XCOM).
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2014
    6
    So close and yet so so far, game is way to short due to bad mechanics, I finished a sandbox game on hard in less than 35 minutes on my very first sandbox game. It left me wanting a lot more content that just wasn't there, a few drive-bys and you win so disappointing. Huge potential but missing way to much to work. I could see myself loving this game if it wasn't so dumbed down and had a few more mechanics to make it challenging or interesting. Full Review »
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    0
    How boring and repetitive, Kalypso! The economy management sucks and the battles are uninspired. After 15 minutes I just quit to never come back. Kalypso, your Tropico series is so addictive, funny and well done I'm sure you can do a lot better than this. Full Review »