Omerta: City of Gangsters Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: Feb 12, 2013
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 12 out of 18
  1. Feb 7, 2013
    70
    The game falls short on too many points to really earn a top score, but Omerta: City of Gangsters is by no means a bad game. Building your criminal empire is entertaining, but not as exciting as you might expect.
  2. May 10, 2013
    65
    There isn't enough depth to the main game to attract anyone with a yen for crime management games, and while I did enjoy the combat, there's not enough of it to justify the game's purchase as a turn-based-strategy title.
  3. Feb 3, 2013
    60
    While Omerta has a great gangster style with the black and white photos and jazz music, the gameplay itself feels more like work than playing a videogame. The animations in the fighting scenes are stiff, and the only thing that changes when your influence on Atlantic City grows are the emblems above the houses. All missions start up slow, and especially in the first few hours you are constantly waiting for your henchmen to finish their task.
  4. 55
    If Omerta had a persistent world in single player, rather than neighbourhoods which you played then left never to have an impact on you again, or more in depth strategy system when it came to earning money and resources, action cut scenes rather than stills, ok, so it still wouldn't be the greatest game ever, but it would have been worth spending time with.
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    50
    Has far too many rough edges and faults to come close to Firaxis' brilliance. [Issue#95, p.82]
  6. Feb 12, 2013
    50
    It’s not deep enough and therefore not fun enough.
User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Jul 26, 2014
    8
    Bom jogo, talvez muito criticado por ter a aparência e jogabilidade de um jogo de estratégia do público de PCs.

    Boa interface, complicado
    Bom jogo, talvez muito criticado por ter a aparência e jogabilidade de um jogo de estratégia do público de PCs.

    Boa interface, complicado como na vida real! hehe

    Prós:
    - Bom enredo;
    - Boa profundidade no universo;
    - Fiel na retratação da época;
    - Port de um gênero do PC para consoles;
    - Sistema de combate com boas opções de ações;
    - Muitas opções de 'Perks'.

    Contras:

    - Complexo demais no início;
    - Pouca customização de personagens e cenários;
    - Sistema de combate muito simples (longe de ser um XCOM).
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2014
    6
    So close and yet so so far, game is way to short due to bad mechanics, I finished a sandbox game on hard in less than 35 minutes on my verySo close and yet so so far, game is way to short due to bad mechanics, I finished a sandbox game on hard in less than 35 minutes on my very first sandbox game. It left me wanting a lot more content that just wasn't there, a few drive-bys and you win so disappointing. Huge potential but missing way to much to work. I could see myself loving this game if it wasn't so dumbed down and had a few more mechanics to make it challenging or interesting. Full Review »
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    0
    How boring and repetitive, Kalypso! The economy management sucks and the battles are uninspired. After 15 minutes I just quit to never comeHow boring and repetitive, Kalypso! The economy management sucks and the battles are uninspired. After 15 minutes I just quit to never come back. Kalypso, your Tropico series is so addictive, funny and well done I'm sure you can do a lot better than this. Full Review »