• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2009
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 80
    OutRun is just as much fun as it was when released more than two decades ago, though the gameplay fundamentals haven't changed much and the series is still in need of a bonafide relaunch. That said, I still love OutRun. I'll never get sick of Heart Attack mode.
  2. This arcade racer doesn't do anything new, but its tried-and-tested formula continues to defy its age.
  3. OutRun may be a series that has been around for two decades, but OutRun Online Arcade feels like a modern racing game.
  4. In motion, it's a painfully beautiful game: in the saturated richness of its colours and the raw exuberance of its backdrops; in the soaring melody of Magical Sound Shower and the husky elocution of the girl who voices the menus; in the hard, brilliant, arcade brashness of it all; above all, in the unique balance and beauty of its handling.
  5. 90
    Classic arcade racing successfully ported to the Xbox 360, reasonably priced, smooth running online multiplayer, high replay value.
  6. Outrun Online Arcade is largely the same game that it's been for the last 23 years, which is to say that it's a simple and fun arcade racer that works great as a time killer, but it's nothing that's going to entertain for hours at a time.
  7. It's refreshing to see the game translated into a slightly newer form that's just as fast paced and challenging as the original, if not more so.
  8. Glaring, suspicious omissions and a mostly broken online multiplayer aside, OutRun Online Arcade is a solid conversion of an already fun arcade and Xbox game.
  9. 83
    Make no mistake, what's offered in Outrun Arcade Online is brilliant, addictive fun, but it could have definitely offered more.
  10. A timeless classic. At a reasonable download price, everyone should own it. [Apr 2009, p.81]
  11. Outrun Online Arcade is one of the indispensable downloadable games in the market. Thanks to its incredible gameplay, its addictive -although not very well taken the most of- and its features, untouched since the eighties, we can say this is currently one of the best arcade racers.
  12. OutRun 2 remains a pinnacle of the arcade racing tradition, a peak that, through both design and circumstance, may never again be topped.
  13. Even at $10, we won't be taking another ride with OutRun until Sega serves up some substantial new content. [May 2009, p.80]
  14. Unbelievably fun once you settle in to the drift-focussed arcade racing, and at 800 MS Points/£7.99 it feels like good value for money, but it's not the perfect version of the game we hoped it would be.
  15. One of the more famous games of all time comes to today standards thanks to Playstation Network and Xbox Live Arcade; even if you don’t know this game and you don’t like 80’s games, you must try Outrun Online Arcade, because it’s a funny and frustration-free title.
  16. 72
    With OutRun Online Arcade SEGA has come up with a nice game for only ten euro's. It looks nice, has an error here and there, but the soundtrack makes up for it. Players can surely enjoy this game for hours.
  17. 75
    OutRun Online Arcade doesn't bring anything new to the table, but is does provide gamers with a solid arcade experience well worth the 800 Microsoft points.
  18. Outrun Online Arcade offers just the thing that makes Outrun so great for a decent price. And on top of that the game has some delicious and relaxing multiplayer fun.
  19. The highest carat of Sega's golden oldies returns (again) to prove that the blue skies are still the best.
  20. Outrun Online Arcade is, essentially, the same game that arrived on PS2, Xbox and PSP three years ago, but it's still a great offering for arcade lovers. Several game modes, great visuals and a lot of fun in a game that it's worth it, if you don't own last-gen entries.
  21. 80
    Ultimately this version of OutRun isn’t the most complete, and doesn’t have a huge amount of depth. What it does do well, though, is boil down the most exiting parts of the racing genre and deliver arcade-style thrills to your living room.
  22. Still one of Sega's best racers. [Apr 2009, p.92]
  23. OutRun raises the bar for the series, with better visuals and more functionality than its disc-based predecessors. While OutRun may be more like “drag” racing than road racing for those who have experienced its cars and roads before, it’s easily worth the asking price to new fans of the series and to those who plan on exploring its multiplayer modes.
  24. One hell of a taster. [Issue#45, p.100]
  25. Outrun Online Arcade doesn’t offer a whole lot of a different experience from recent Outrun games. The multiplayer is a bit of a mixed bag, but at 10 dollars (or 800 Microsoft Points) it’s a great arcade experience that can be a whole lot of fun.
  26. A highly polished and entertaining game.
  27. A great remake of a timeless classic. The pure arcade gameplay that was loved by so many, in a new revamped package that will appeal to modern gamers the world over.
  28. 70
    If you've always fancied the idea of having the genuine OutRun arcade cabinet experience with added online support then OutRun Online Arcade does exactly what it says on the tin while managing to be a lot of fun to boot.
  29. Outrun is most definitely a blast from the past. Hardcore fans of the series or even fans of improving scores or times will love this addition to the series.
  30. If you've still got your copy of OutRun 2006 lying around, OutRun Online Arcade won't provide anything new beyond being the best looking version of the game to date.
  31. Although Outrun will always have a special place in my gaming heart, time has certainly moved on and even with enhancements the title struggles to really impress. Its main saving grace is the fact that Xbox Live Arcade is perfect for those quick 5-10 minute gaming sessions and OutRun fits the bill perfectly.
  32. It's obvious that SEGA doesn't pretend to innovate with this new OutRun, but its offering is quite good anyway. It's the perfect example of a classic arcade remade by today's standards and it has Magical Sound Shower in it, which is always a great addition.
  33. A great game - obviously - but it's lacking in features already in the original Xbox port. [May 2009, p.104]
  34. So despite its promise of fast cars and buxom blondes suggesting otherwise, OutRun Online Arcade isn’t quite the game our dreams are made of, but it’s damn near close.
  35. Outrun Online Arcade is a must buy for anyone who loves driving games, its addictive, fast and fun.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. musicmaniac1965
    Apr 19, 2009
    9
    before i start of about what i like and love about this game, i will tell you the bad news first, so we end with a good feeling. there are 2 before i start of about what i like and love about this game, i will tell you the bad news first, so we end with a good feeling. there are 2 bug's in the game when you play online. the first one can be done if you play with collissions on. the second place player can rub his front of the car to the first player's side. if he touches the car long enough, he will get a boost so far away, that player 1 can't even catch his slipstream ! the second one i guess most of you have seen on youtube, but at the forks of the road, suddenly a piece of floor dissapears, and your car gets stuck. this will not happen to you if you are the host, but other players can expirience it. also the game is a stripped down version from outrun 2 SP, as the turbo outrun music is missing, and also 5 ferrari's. all this to keep download size small, and the price at 800 points. the good news is the developpers are now aware of this, and will release a patch to end all trouble. also if the game sell's enough, they may release the outrun 2 tracks and the reverse tracks from sega ! so if you love outrun, buy it. the troubles will be dealt with, and more content is always welcome to such a good good feeling arcade racer. now the good news: on the 1 player game, everything that was missing on the outrun coast to coast game is in this one ! so the vulcano erupts if you finish outrun mode stage A, flower pettals will fall and doves fly across the screen if you finish outrun mode stage C, the rocket gets launched if you finish outrun mode stage D, and coulorred confetti will fall down if you finish outrun mode stage E. also every effect from the arcade is here, and even been updated. so the low hanging clowds, the sun and lens flare when the sun shines in your face, and the higher resolution all helps creating a even more magical sega outrun mood. for me, this is a dream come true. even now i got the full 200 gamerscore from the game, i will be playing this time and time again. and online really adds to the fun, especially if the problems got solved. Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    An absolutely brilliant racer that has lovely sharp graphics, great pick-up-and-play gameplay, and that all important 'just one more go'An absolutely brilliant racer that has lovely sharp graphics, great pick-up-and-play gameplay, and that all important 'just one more go' factor. It's so incredibly playable, and although it's missing much of the 'coast to coast' retail release for xbox /ps2 /pc, it's online play, and HD graphics make up for it! Awesome.. my advice? get this right away and also get the coast to coast version for PC (or xbox or ps2) as well! Full Review »
  3. NealV
    Apr 27, 2009
    6
    I love OutRun2/SP, but this is disappointing. Why so little mention in reviews of the EVIL slowdown?! Certain stages (especially a couple of I love OutRun2/SP, but this is disappointing. Why so little mention in reviews of the EVIL slowdown?! Certain stages (especially a couple of final stages) have slowdown that's so bad it totally throws you off your game - no way can that be good. Sumo can't have taken much pride in their work when a cut-down port of their last-gen classic runs so much worse on more powerful hardware. Don't even think about trying to sell me those missing OutRun2 tracks as DLC until you've fixed the slowdown! Full Review »