Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Mar 6, 2014
    70
    The platforming can be tough at times and the camera only makes thing worse. The poor story and voice acting, straight out of a Saturday morning cartoon, will alienate the older audience, too, which really leaves Pac-Man and the Ghostly Adventures with no real market – which is a shame, as some of the ideas and platforming sections made for some of the best fun I’ve had in years.
  2. Feb 21, 2014
    56
    As a game addressed to kids, it is obviously a great choice. However, those looking for a challenging platformer or a deeper experience won't find it here.
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    55
    We hoped for a great return of PAC-MAN World style adventures, but Namco disappointed us with a generic, imprecise and quickly boring experience.
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    50
    Even though this new adventure of Pac-Man is targeted towards a younger audience, due to its bad design it can be frustrating and extremely difficult without any kind of real payoff to the gamer.
  5. 50
    It isn't a complete mess, but it's hard to imagine just who it was created for. [Christmas 2013, p.107]
  6. Apr 9, 2014
    40
    For all its flaws and the questionable attempts to modernise the Pac-Man format, you can’t fault Pac-Man and the Ghostly Adventures for being a run-of-the-mill, inoffensive (except for the biting) platformer.
  7. Mar 17, 2014
    40
    As bland and unmemorable as 3D platforming gets, and clearly not a Pac-Man game at all – just a cynical piece of tie-in merchandise.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Dec 29, 2013
    7
    I came into this game expecting more of an old-school gaming experience, and I stumbled into something very different. This is a 3rd person action/platformer. Any connection to Pac-Man appears to just be tacked on. It's like someone made a kid's game and decided that, to increase the appeal of the game, he should use Pac-Man. That being said, it's a very competent platformer. There's a decent share of cheap deaths, and sometimes the cameras and controls can be a bothersome, but it's actually pretty fun. It's certainly not as good as Psychonauts, but a lot of the gameplay felt similar. I wouldn't recommend spending $40 on it, but if you can get it for $20, there are certainly worse ways to spend your afternoon. Full Review »
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    8
    Pac-Man: And The Ghostly Adventures is a TV show tie in. that means WATCH THE SHOW BEFORE PLAYING THE GAME. alot of people didint understand most of the game because the show just came out and no one is watching it. no how is the game? VERY FUN. even though it doesnt try anything new this game is a fun game from begining to end. Full Review »
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Decent adventure platformer in an era when these are rare...

    It's a shame to see so many media reviews question who this game is created
    for. Me, that's who!
    In reality it's clear the game is mainly marketed at children who are watching the animated series; if reviewers think the game is too hard for children they are underestimating them. When I go back to some of the Spectrum and Master System games I used to play, in a time when arcade 'pay more money or gameover' ruled the gaming world, I realise just how hard some of the games I used to play as a child were.

    Adventure platformers are a rare thing now. Heck, in the N64's generation they were pretty much the mainstream genre (Mario 64, Banjo Kazooie & Tooie, DK64, Mystical Ninja et al). The huge worlds are probably deemed too time consuming to develop nowadays.
    Pacman and the Ghostly Adventures stands as a polished, colourful example in a time starved of such games. It doesn't really offer anything new, but it does offer challenge and variety and plenty of fun. The graphics are sharp and colourful, the music ranges from chirpy, catchy tunes to epic orchestral pieces and there is plenty of content. The bonus levels offer the greater challenge and I found them to be the most fun.
    Also, I had no problems with the camera. If you choose to use the right stick to take control the auto camera may take a back seat for a brief while, but I tend to use manual controls to constantly tweak the camera in these sorts of games any way. Thankfully it was easy to in this one.

    If you like adventure platformers, I highly recommend giving this a try, especially given the low asking price.
    Full Review »