Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime spree. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-timePAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime spree. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-time store rips, cyber-crime or major bank vaults for that major PAYDAY. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    85
    Payday 2 is pure first-person shooter fun that, while not about to turn any heads visually, is certainly a knockout as far as gameplay goes. Fans of four-player co-op will get a great deal out of Overkill’s heist-themed sequel.
  2. Aug 22, 2013
    80
    Payday 2 is a great game when you have the right participants. This is a co-op game, and that cannot be stressed enough. If you intend to go in solo, there is little here to warrant a purchase. However, if you have a regular crew of three friends willing to take on heists with you, there is little else like this experience. Not to mention it is extremely fun when played right.
  3. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    It's still a long way from being the slick, sophisticated crime thriller it wants to be but, with a little forgiveness from the player, this rough diamond manages to shine.
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    A rough single-player mode and unfriendly online matches mar an otherwise fun first-person shooter.
  5. Aug 18, 2013
    75
    Overkill has plans to update the game, and squash the bugs. A year's worth of DLC is scheduled post-release. But right now, it's like I'm standing outside a vault. There's something brilliant inside, and I'm willing to wait.
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    70
    As long as you can find some felons to fight alongside, Payday 2 is an addictive and challenging criminal pursuit.
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    50
    For a game that focuses on the presumably brisk and stressful art of armed robbery, Payday 2 involves one heck of a lot of waiting around. [Issue#139, p.96]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 56
  2. Negative: 10 out of 56
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    The game is great and will only get better with each update DLC. Some peple experience minor connection problems but the ones I know that hadThe game is great and will only get better with each update DLC. Some peple experience minor connection problems but the ones I know that had thoose problems have been easily fixed and is enjoying the game right now. Recommend everyone who likes FPS and want a new experience compared to the same old CoD and BF is giving. Game 10/10 Collapse
  2. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    Its a good game! I play it with a lot of friends although it has a hardware fee but it's okay! The first part of the game was good to i lovedIts a good game! I play it with a lot of friends although it has a hardware fee but it's okay! The first part of the game was good to i loved the diamond heist in the skyscraper. There is diamond heist here too but it's a little worse. Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Made for multiplayer!! This game would be a straight 9-10 easy if people weren't reviewing its non online element. The most fun to come out onMade for multiplayer!! This game would be a straight 9-10 easy if people weren't reviewing its non online element. The most fun to come out on xbox since gta. Love the concept, love the options, love the pace and tension. MUST PLAY WITH FRIENDS!! Don't even bother playing offline or with randoms who don't have their mics on. AMAZEBALLS!! Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is the best example of coop since left 4 dead 2 this game you can literally go into with 3 other friends and just play. in this game you play as one of four criminals than do multiple heists so they can get rich quick the game starts off with you doing small jewelry store heists to big heists where you steal a fusion reactor for the senator so people would have to keep driving petrol cars. in payday 2 you can customize your mask and guns with attachments and paint that you get by completing heists. the game isn't all good though there are some major texture errors or just poor quality visuals but these don't effect the amazing gameplay. All in All payday 2 is a great game that you can play for many hours with your friends and wont get boring any time soon. Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2013
    8
    This game is great fun with friends and the RPG elements are done well although I do not like having to spend cash to unlock them (In gameThis game is great fun with friends and the RPG elements are done well although I do not like having to spend cash to unlock them (In game cash not real world) there is a variety of missions available through crime net and almost all can be completed in a stealth fashion, the fire-fights are also incredibly intense and fun to play however this game is really bad single player although the bots function well enough to fight effectively and revive you should you go down they do not have any interaction with the loot forcing you to lug 3 4 or even 9 bags over to the escape whilst under heavy fire which isn't fun in the slightest, I also found that you only get a small portion of your earnings each money to spend for instance I secured $100,000 of coke in the Watchdog's mission yet only got $25,000 spending cash which is bad considering I braved it alone at a low level with decent guns and no body armour, if you want to go stealth right from the start you'll be disappointed as you won't have as much experience in the ghost or mastermind skill tree's so stealth is a difficult option for newbies.
    All in all this is a great 4 player co-op package much like the Left 4 Dead series and if you have 3 friends I urge you all to give this game a shot
    Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2013
    6
    I love this game, or I did until the updates made the game less and less fun with each new update. The rewards for completing heists becameI love this game, or I did until the updates made the game less and less fun with each new update. The rewards for completing heists became less and less rewarding. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    1
    I originally gave this game an 8. For now, I'm dropping it to a one.

    Payday 2 is an excellent game, but I encourage you: do not buy it.
    I originally gave this game an 8. For now, I'm dropping it to a one.

    Payday 2 is an excellent game, but I encourage you: do not buy it. Overkill has not shown the same support for consoles as they have for PC. In the time that PC has received twenty (20) updates, Xbox 360 players are currently waiting for their first.

    The current rumor is that Microsoft will not allow such a large patch through; however, it's astounding as to how much time has passed between release and Overkill finally getting to the patch at all.

    I encourage no one further to buy this game, as this disparity is unfair and should be addressed.

    Note: I would be saying this in any instance, even if PC and consoles were to be in opposite positions. We are all paying customers, we deserve equal support. If Overkill/505 cannot provide that support for a system, then they should not release it for that system.
    Expand

See all 56 User Reviews