Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    65
    In the end, I don't think I'd recommend Port Royale 3 as a great purchase on the Xbox 360. There's some novelty and a bit of fun to be had, but it quickly overstays its welcome unless you're in love with the idea of a hardcore merchant simulator.
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    65
    Port Royale 3 is an often frustrating experience as a result from its lack of in-game communication regarding both gameplay mechanics and mission objectives. Add a confusing controller setup and lackluster graphics, Port Royale 3 is a hard recommendation to even gamers that enjoy real-time strategy and city expansion gameplay. The few moments that do offer genuine entertainment are simply not enough to even recommend Port Royale 3 to longtime series fans.
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    75
    Port Royale 3 could have been something big, but the developers didn't try to put in a bunch of new features to reboot the series. Compared to the pc-version Kalypso removed the multiplayer-mode and the loading time is a bit too long. On the other hand the controls were mapped pretty fine on the gamepad, but i think the audience for such a game on consoles is pretty low.
  4. 40
    Enough to make Blackbeard retire. [Dec 2012, p.97]
  5. 40
    It's an improvement on staring out the window. [Issue#91, p.78]
  6. Sep 14, 2012
    76
    On consoles you won't have the opportunity to challenge your friends online, but otherwise you'll get a straightforward port of a well-crafted PC-strategy with focus on economy.
  7. Oct 1, 2012
    45
    In closing, this game wasn't really my bag. The story was poorly executed from the cutscenes to the plot and the controls threw me off a little. The game has a steep learning curve and no real incentive for you to continue playing. The game is open ended so you could continue your adventures but I had my fill of the game a long time ago. I am sure fans of the series will love the new instalment, but with so many other titles being released each week now as we build up for Christmas, I expect this to get little attention and would be hard pressed to recommend otherwise.
  8. Sep 16, 2012
    50
    Port Royale has many menus and weird systems that don't make any sense. On top of that the games fun is spoiled by some annoying bugs.
  9. Oct 14, 2012
    50
    A game that's so overcomplicated and hard to manage that takes away almost every tiny aspect of fun that could be had.
  10. 70
    A little bit too efficient, a bit too distant from the player, but still I´m very happy Port Royale 3 exists. Its a game that gives you a lot of options for your actions without forcing you to use them. You can labor all day if you want to or just instead take five for a whole hour without having too watch your trade-empire crumble instantly.
  11. Oct 14, 2012
    75
    A valid managerial game, deep and with a lot of freedom for the player. Anyway it pays for the lack of a proper tutorial and a somewhat excessively fast playing speed.
User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Dec 26, 2013
    4
    Port Royal 3 tried to make an immersive world where you could either be a pirate and plunder for riches, or a merchant, using your skills to trade across the Caribbean and amass a fortune. It failed. Horrible graphics, no guidelines on even how to play and even if you manage to find a way to play you will be bored out of your mind. I have nothing left to say about this utter piece of junk. Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    if you can get best the high learning curve and somewhat repetitive game play. Port royale 3 is a solid 17th century trading sim where you sail across the Caribbean trading, setting up your business and building buildings in ports, and taking part in naval combat. The naval combat is mediocre and repetitive. Lastly, great graphics. Full Review »
  3. May 11, 2013
    1
    Garbage; complete and utter junk. The learning curve is steep as there are no explanations on how to do even the most routine tasks...and once you figure them out you'll wish you hadn't wasted your time. The game offers so little in the way of strategy it's almost remarkable. This game could have been introduced in the early 90's and still would not have been cutting edge. Stay clear if you are looking for anything sim/ strategy related. Full Review »