User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 866 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 866

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    4
    As stated by others, the game is too short (4 hours), too easy and the graphics are dated. Not worth the full price. Fanboys are already skewing the score as you can see by the reviews. Even people who admit the game is too short and the graphics are dated still rate it 10/10, proving they are trying to inflate the score. Why give a perfect score if there are obviously flaws which you yourself have stated? Valve employees and hired agents are also inflating the score as they use the same phrases Valve uses in advertising the game. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    3
    While the voice acting is top notch, and GladOS is creepy as ever, I feel as though I've been taken advantage of. I blasted through the single player campaign in about 5 1/2 hours, and while it was a joyous 5 hours I don't think it was worth $50. And while I have heard that the co-op will add several more hours of game play, I found it to be buggy, laggy, and overly complicated at best. And if you're not a fan of having to play well with others, you've severely overpaid for the game. The sub-par graphics combined with short duration and high price cause me to tell people to stay away from Portal 2 until it hits the bargain bin. Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    0
    I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu, it feels more like portal 1.5. The puzzles are mostly the same rehashed from the first, the humour is not good either, and if that wasn't enough then think : This game takes about 5-8hrs to complete, that is not very long, every review site has mentioned the the replayability is almost zero, other fps games have multiplayer to extend life, this has a boring co-op that no one would want to bother with, just pointless, only get when the price drops because otherwise people like valve are going to think it's ok to charge big money for a very short game with no point in replaying, a disgrace and a letdown. Dont fall into hype trap, i regret wasting money, dont put yourself in my shoes in a few days time when the game is done and your down money. Collapse
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    1
    If you have multiple systems, avoid the Xbox version, it's by far the worst of the bunch, the worst visuals, and many key features missing.

    The PS3 version comes with free user-content, steamworks, a PC/Mac copy, cloud saving etc..
  5. Apr 20, 2011
    4
    To sum it up this game DOES NOT deserve all of the praise it's been getting. Not to say that it's completely undeserving but it should not be at a 94. Like other people have said this is a 10 hour experience, single player and co-op, it has absolutely no replay value so basically you go through everything once and your done, great way to spend $60. The game is also getting praised for its story, the game should be getting no praise for this what so ever. The story sucks, it's paper thin and on top of that it's predictable. The critics reviewing this are absurd, they're grasping at straws trying to make it seem like the story has some profound depth and that the characters go through some deep emotional development, to say that the game has these qualities would be a lie. They also conveniently forgot to mention the length, any other game they would've more than gladly mentioned the 10 hour completion time but not in this case, the almighty Portal can't have any flaws can it? Overall this game is vastly overrated, it does have good design and it has personality, but does it represent the medium at its best? Hell no. I would've given it a higher score but the critics and Portal fanboys made me hate it. Food for thought, aren't critics essentially Portal fanboys? Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2011
    4
    As stated by many here the game is very short for the price. The graphics engine is old, it looks like Valve games from 10 years ago. The complexity of the puzzles are a disappointment. Given the time to release the game, and the limitations, I am surprised by the reviews. Clearly the name "Valve" contributed to influencing the reviewers. At the end of the day I am going through the game simply for hte achievements. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2011
    1
    Funny but nothing more - only less than 6 hours long (in singleplayer). Valve must be kidding! Even some of the features from the trailer were removed (the vacuum tubes). I will definetly not pre-purchase a game on Steam again. It was way too expensive - and not really worth the money. The gameplay is great, but not very challenging...
  8. May 12, 2011
    0
    This game is a rental at best! I finished it without problems in about 3-4 hours. This is better served as DLC because of the length. Decent enough but I'm lowering the score to zero to counter act some of the fan boys.
  9. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    Portal 2 is way too short and super boring at times, it was a cool game a few years ago but certainly not today. Portal 1 came in a cool package called the Orange Box with several other decent games, and I thought that was a fair way to sell it for $60. I'm very surprised they released Portal 2 as it's own full retail game, it's NOT worth anybody's $60, it's more of a $20 title for puzzle fans. This game should be picked up used and returned within a few days after you beat it, the multiplayer experience is just as dull. BORING! Expand
  10. Jun 14, 2011
    4
    what a complete disappointment..i absolutely loved Portal 1 and still to this day think it is one of the best puzzle games ever created...the advanced maps were fun as hell, the challenges (least steps, time, and portals) were all challenging and satisfying, and the end game was fantastic...Portal 2 strips away all the fun by forcing you to learn the new mechanics like the gels and bridges..it doesn't feel like I'm playing a game..it feels like I'm doing work and work is NOT FUN. It's one of those games that starts out interesting, but gets very tedious and very boring as it goes on..honestly, the 5 1/2 hours i played felt like an eternity...I felt it most around chapter 6 when the game just completely diverts from the formula that made Portal 1 so great..and that's the AMAZING AND SMART PUZZLES..no one cares about story in these types of game and I felt that Portal 2 tried to force the story on you..gamers want to be challenged, not listen to robots bickering about when you don't even know what they are talking about half of the time...I really wish Valve included some type of mode where it was just straight puzzles with advanced maps..similar to the way Portal 1 did it..only this time they could've thrown in the new mechanics to spice things up if they wanted to...I thought a mode like that would be first on top of their list..instead it was just focused on forcing a story down our throats...honestly, the end game was really predictable and wasn't as satisfying as Portal 1...when it was all over, I said to myself "wow I don't remember anything I did"..and I thought about it and I figured out why I thought that to myself..there were very few memorable moments in the game...who could forget in Portal 1 when you first picked up the portal gun off the pedestal, an achievement popped up,and you instantly started screwing around with it because it was so cool...who could also forget the first time you soared through the air to clear a gap and felt that feeling of being immersed in that moment...WOW that was incredible..Portal 2 u just slide on gel and cross light bridges in overly big rooms where it seems that only 1 solution can be found...whatever happened to multiple solutions like in Portal 1 where you basically need to do the faster solution to even clear some of the challenges..that's what made it so great, there were more solutions right in front of your face than you thought was possible...This review is getting too long, but I hope I made some good points and helped people out Expand
  11. Nov 16, 2011
    2
    The most overrated game of this year...surprised ? ^_^ 5 hours main story + 3 hours of coop for 60 $ ?
    The puzzles are creative, but still way too easy, GLADOS is annoying, i don't see how people can find her creepy. The voice acting is great, however. The graphics are incredibly outdated, in fact it reminds me of graphics in 2008. o_O Too many fanboys of Valve - too many perfect scores.
    Perhaps I will never understand what is so great about Valve's games, because to me, they are all recycable garbage on a VERY old engine. Expand
  12. Aug 24, 2012
    1
    wth!? why the 9.5!!? seriously, im a big fan of portal, such a good interactive and brainy game, but no storyline, no characters, no of nothing, seriously overrated game
  13. Mar 7, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portal 2 is an puzzle, adventure kind of game. For some reason its known as Portals 'successor'. Portal was imaginative and original. It was a big cake (ha) with every detail covered. Portal 2 however just more of it really. It just seems to be so similar it may as way be called 'Valve's turd'. However I will say the controls are still easy to use regardless of which console you play it on. Any die-hard Portal fan will be slightly or bitterly disappointed by the fact there are no interactions with the companion cube. Except that one fraction of the game where it gets vaporised. There is no reference to cake or anything that made Portal such a childish success. Valve has made an attempt to put more depth into the game by adding a funny but mostly irritating character called Wheatly. He tags along for some of the game trying to explain the simple plot. Halfway through the game turns the tables and makes the villain your friend and your previous friend the enemy. The game really pushes this down your throat, by really trying to make accept your friend has become your enemy. Only I can't really care about Wheatley becoming the enemy. GLaDOS is still funny but only in the sense that she is trying to compare to Wheatley. The game as a whole lacks any reason to play it again. This was slightly disappointing because the puzzles were mind stimulatingly fun. The cooperative campaign was slightly fun with another person to play with. Half way through the game we were just seeing if we could dodge turret attacks. In short Portal 2 cannot be called better than the previous game, because its only just more of it. You should buy this just to see the story, no other reason really. Expand
  14. Apr 20, 2011
    0
    I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu, it feels more like portal 1.5. The puzzles are mostly the same rehashed from the first, the humour is not good either, and if that wasn't enough then think : This game takes about 5-8hrs to complete, that is not very long, every review site has mentioned the the replayability is almost zero, other fps games have multiplayer to extend life, this has a boring co-op that no one would want to bother with, just pointless, only get when the price drops because otherwise people like valve are going to think it's ok to charge big money for a very short game with no point in replaying, a disgrace and a letdown. Dont fall into hype trap, i regret wasting money, dont put yourself in my shoes in a few days time when the game is done and your down money. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    98
    Portal 2 is a triumph in every sense of the word, a wonderful experience from start to finish and one that you won't soon forget.
  2. May 23, 2011
    90
    Indeed, this is both mathematical and storytelling art-work; it teams a gripping narrative with an inventive gameplay mechanic that makes for an excellent and unforgettable ride.
  3. A huge and stunning sequel, as witty as it is brain-bendingly challenging. [July 2011, p.98]