Portal 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 994 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 994
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2014
    9
    The original Portal may have only lasted about five hours but it is quite rightly considered a classic by almost anyone that played it. Portal 2 is therefore in an awkward position. Change too much and you risk ruining what made the first so special, change too little and it makes a sequel pointless. Fortunately Portal 2 gets the balance pretty much spot on.

    As with the original the
    The original Portal may have only lasted about five hours but it is quite rightly considered a classic by almost anyone that played it. Portal 2 is therefore in an awkward position. Change too much and you risk ruining what made the first so special, change too little and it makes a sequel pointless. Fortunately Portal 2 gets the balance pretty much spot on.

    As with the original the star of the show is the portal gun itself and Valve have again managed to craft a number of challenging but fair puzzles that require the gun to be exploited in increasingly clever ways. The first couple of hours of the single-player campaign play out in a similar fashion to the original (with the addition of the very funny Stephen Merchant on voice over work) before the game adds a few new features, such as light bridges and repulsion goo to keep things fresh without overcomplicating matters. Taking around eight hours to complete the single-player is again a joy to play through despite the fact that a large part of the original games charm was its originality. The only slight gripe for me was the fact that some of the sections outside the regular testing zones lose the focus that kept my interest throughout the original, but this is only a very minor issue and I am sure not everyone would agree.

    Perhaps the biggest new feature added for this sequel is the Co-Op play, either via Xbox live or split screen. This opens up a whole new set of puzzles that require intelligence and teamwork to complete, coming in at around four hours it is a great addition to an already very good game.

    If you were a fan of the original or you are simply bored of the endless FPS game released on consoles recently you could do a lot worse than picking up a copy of Portal 2.
    Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2017
    4
    C'est nettement plus long que le premier Portal (trop long en fait...) et le semblant de scénario permet d'alterner de temps en temps "exploration" et les salles classiques de test (lesquelles restent la partie la plus intéressante du jeu). L'humour balourd voire débile n'apporte pas grand'chose a contrario des quelques nouveautés de gameplay qui enrichissent l'expérience.

    Hélas, cette
    C'est nettement plus long que le premier Portal (trop long en fait...) et le semblant de scénario permet d'alterner de temps en temps "exploration" et les salles classiques de test (lesquelles restent la partie la plus intéressante du jeu). L'humour balourd voire débile n'apporte pas grand'chose a contrario des quelques nouveautés de gameplay qui enrichissent l'expérience.

    Hélas, cette espèce de casse-couilles chinois de la téléportation devient de plus en plus pénible et répétitif jusqu'au moment décisif où l'on se retrouve bloqué. Je ne vais pas chercher une "soluce" mais retirer la galette du lecteur et caler la table avec. Quand c'est mal fait, c'est mal fait. Par ailleurs, Valve n'hésite pas à nous resservir son vieux moteur Source (2004 !) adapté à la hache sur la 360 (grande promo de textures pourries et foire à l'aliasing) et franchement ça commence à se voir !
    Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2015
    9
    Portal 2
    Simpler and Better
    Portals single player has greatly improved since the original The single player mode felt much more fleshed out in terms of story to keep you going towards the end goal. Good or bad, Portal 2 takes a much simpler approach to level design this time around making this game much more casual friendly. I needed tons of help to get through the original portal, I
    Portal 2
    Simpler and Better
    Portals single player has greatly improved since the original
    The single player mode felt much more fleshed out in terms of story to keep you going towards the end goal.
    Good or bad, Portal 2 takes a much simpler approach to level design this time around making this game much more casual friendly.
    I needed tons of help to get through the original portal,
    I only got stumped in portal 2 maybe 2 or 3 times total towards the end.
    Portal 2 is even more unpredictable than the original was, there are so many twists and turns with the story and levels that you have no idea where the end of one puzzle is going to take you.
    It was a great and much needed change of pace to go back and forth between testing rooms and half life style locations
    really kept the gameplay and story moving forward, making it almost impossible to put your controller down.
    There are a few added puzzle aspects such as light bridges, anti gravity beams, gels, and being able to redirect laser beams, but if im being honest these additions felt more gimmicky to me than innovative.
    if its not broke don’t fix it.
    I feel like the developers tried to cram too much into this game too fast.
    Portal 2 also features a co op mode, unfortunately though, at least on ps3, there seems to be issues connecting to steam so you are stuck playing local co op rather than online
    this isn’t an issue if you have friends.
    but as glados will tell you
    I don’t have any friends so I couldn’t effectively get through the 6 levels or get a true co op experience.
    I did however play back and forth through a couple of levels and love the challenge added of having to actually effectively work together with now 4 portals.
    Portal 2 is the same charming and addicting puzzle game as the original with still so much added to make it a much better overall experience.
    With the puzzle solving greatly dumbed down, and the characters still hilarious, and a very worthwhile ending, you owe it to yourself to run through this amazingly charming puzzle game.
    for what it is
    First Person Puzzle Platformer:
    9.5/10

    Overall:
    9/10
    Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    Portal 2 plays in a league few are privy to. The puzzles alone would feel like you were doing math every waking second you invest in the game if that were simply it. Of course, for the soduko or Tetris diehards, that might be enough. But it's the zany conversations had between AI characters that really makes it all so much more entertaining. Perhaps the best thing about Portal 2 is itPortal 2 plays in a league few are privy to. The puzzles alone would feel like you were doing math every waking second you invest in the game if that were simply it. Of course, for the soduko or Tetris diehards, that might be enough. But it's the zany conversations had between AI characters that really makes it all so much more entertaining. Perhaps the best thing about Portal 2 is it doesn't take itself serious for one second. I can say this is one of the more entertaining games I've played in recent memory. Certainly worthy of a purchase, especially if you can pick it up for cheap like I did (Xbox Live sale for $9.99). Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    Here we go, another Portal 2 review... for Xbox 360 now. I actually played the Xbox 360 version before the PC version. But, anyway, it is basically the same as PC. Great graphics and great gameplay. With more levels, characters, dialogue, humor than the original Portal. And even a new multi-player mode, this is a rare gem in the gaming world. A masterpiece on it's own, I totally recommendHere we go, another Portal 2 review... for Xbox 360 now. I actually played the Xbox 360 version before the PC version. But, anyway, it is basically the same as PC. Great graphics and great gameplay. With more levels, characters, dialogue, humor than the original Portal. And even a new multi-player mode, this is a rare gem in the gaming world. A masterpiece on it's own, I totally recommend this game. 10 out of 10 from me. Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    A game of this intelligence and creativity deserves to be praised and lauded. Portal 2 packs more ideas into one game than the rest of this year's games combined. Portal 2 expands on the unique application of portals to solve puzzles while delivering a great story filled with likable characters. These puzzles are incredibly satisfying to solve and the addition of elements like gels addsA game of this intelligence and creativity deserves to be praised and lauded. Portal 2 packs more ideas into one game than the rest of this year's games combined. Portal 2 expands on the unique application of portals to solve puzzles while delivering a great story filled with likable characters. These puzzles are incredibly satisfying to solve and the addition of elements like gels adds greater depth to the same. While not a huge graphical step up from its predecessor, visuals are of little importance when gameplay is as smooth and characters are as vibrant as this. Co-op is not a tacked-on feature, adding more hours to the single player campaign. With four portals at your disposal, puzzles are even more complex so the two of you will need to put your heads together. Portal 2 is easily one of the most innovative titles of this generation, a game with magic that will never age. Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Even tho its short its amazing. Campaign fun and make you laugh. And co-op is just great fun with friends. Well done valve!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Portal 2 9.7/10
  8. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Portal 2 is a creative and hilarious game that everyone should experience, full of clever puzzles, hilarious one-liners, and awesome game mechanics. You just can't go wrong with this one.
  9. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Portal 2 is the best successor the first game was amazing and and this one is far more better than the first as it it was improved in every way this game is a must own the single player was great but it doesn't stop here as there is an amazing multiplayer mode
  10. DME
    May 5, 2012
    10
    Portal 2 is one of those games you will remember for years to come. It's quite simply a masterpiece. The voice acting is perfect and the dialogue is downright hilarious. There's also plenty of eastereggs scattered throughout the game and a very challenging cooperative mode. The only downfall is the retail price. If that's the problem, then rent it or borrow it. One cannot simply passPortal 2 is one of those games you will remember for years to come. It's quite simply a masterpiece. The voice acting is perfect and the dialogue is downright hilarious. There's also plenty of eastereggs scattered throughout the game and a very challenging cooperative mode. The only downfall is the retail price. If that's the problem, then rent it or borrow it. One cannot simply pass this game up. Expand
  11. Dec 6, 2014
    7
    Portal 2 is a puzzle privilege. It's challenging and entertaining simultaneously. The game is a nice escape from mainstream games and offers players a unique and rewarding experience.
  12. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    For those unfamiliar with this game:

    Basically, it's like a first person shooter -- except you solve puzzles, and instead of a gun that shoots bullets, you have a "gun" that shoots portals, either red or orange. In the game you are a lady who is under the control of a robot overlords, and you are forced into industrial looking rooms, and made to figure out how to escape. A seemingly
    For those unfamiliar with this game:

    Basically, it's like a first person shooter -- except you solve puzzles, and instead of a gun that shoots bullets, you have a "gun" that shoots portals, either red or orange. In the game you are a lady who is under the control of a robot overlords, and you are forced into industrial looking rooms, and made to figure out how to escape.

    A seemingly simple concept, but a lot more sophisticated than it sounds. You can play alone or with another person. It's really a lot of fun, and endures even more with its excellent voice acting, and post apocalyptic storyline.

    If you like puzzle games, even in the least, then you should definitely check this out. It's definitely a classic. Superior to the first games. Lots of fun.
    Expand
  13. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    This is pure epicness, its the 1st Portal's potential maxed out to the funnest limits, this is Valve doing what they do best, innovate. I have to say playing through this game in both singleplayer and multiplayer was extremely fun and entertaining and it gives me the feeling that it was worth playing this game again and again. Oh, also the great sense of humor from the 1st game isThis is pure epicness, its the 1st Portal's potential maxed out to the funnest limits, this is Valve doing what they do best, innovate. I have to say playing through this game in both singleplayer and multiplayer was extremely fun and entertaining and it gives me the feeling that it was worth playing this game again and again. Oh, also the great sense of humor from the 1st game is triplicated in this game having great fun jokes and awesome voice acting. The new elements added to this game like the light bridge and all the gels are again, amazing. The free DLC they added with the challenge modes also adds quite some value and the multiplayer game is just so fun playing. It is definitely a must-buy and its a great 10/10 Expand
  14. May 20, 2011
    10
    There's only one big flaw in Portal 2. ONE. That's it. No challenge rooms. But, by the time you've gotten through the super enjoyable and fairly long single player, then beaten the even harder co-op, you might not care. I won't spoil any surprises in Portal 2, everything I spoil is a glorious surprise fuelled with invention and wit taken away from you. Simply put, the single playerThere's only one big flaw in Portal 2. ONE. That's it. No challenge rooms. But, by the time you've gotten through the super enjoyable and fairly long single player, then beaten the even harder co-op, you might not care. I won't spoil any surprises in Portal 2, everything I spoil is a glorious surprise fuelled with invention and wit taken away from you. Simply put, the single player adventure is completely brilliant, and the co-op is too. Easily 20+hrs of portal firing, robot flinging, turret killing brilliance. Expand
  15. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    This game is truly a masterpiece in both story and game play. The story will keep you laughing and satisfied through out. The game gives you tons of those satisfying moments where after tons of guessing and failed attempts you figure out the puzzle and continue forward. The multi-player keeps the fun going with a decent plot and more challenging puzzles. My complaints are that theThis game is truly a masterpiece in both story and game play. The story will keep you laughing and satisfied through out. The game gives you tons of those satisfying moments where after tons of guessing and failed attempts you figure out the puzzle and continue forward. The multi-player keeps the fun going with a decent plot and more challenging puzzles. My complaints are that the multi-player can easily be ruined if you join the game with some complete idiot because you don't have a friend to play with. It can also be ruined by not having a friend to partner up with to play the game who hasn't already played through the game. Expand
  16. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Disagree as you might, I find this to be the greatest first-person video game to date, and possibly the longest I've ever played. It requires you to think... a lot, and you have to take your time figuring out puzzles and at the same time as it's frustrating, it's lots of fun and is extremely rewarding. The story is much more involving than the first game, and the Aperture story isDisagree as you might, I find this to be the greatest first-person video game to date, and possibly the longest I've ever played. It requires you to think... a lot, and you have to take your time figuring out puzzles and at the same time as it's frustrating, it's lots of fun and is extremely rewarding. The story is much more involving than the first game, and the Aperture story is impressively expanded upon from the first game. Also when playing the first game and then comparing it to this one, a lot of the smallest aspects that may have seemed questionable at first end up making perfect sense. The amount of detail payed attention to is simply amazing, plus there are countless little Easter Eggs, some harder to spot than others. The story is very humorous and the characters, including our own mysterious character that we play as - Chell, are very interesting and there are plenty of awesome little twists. The graphics in this game are also the best I've ever seen from Valve and it has the most awesome, yet bizarre ending I've ever seen from any video game ever before. The replay value is, in my opinion, very high, and there's two entirely different storymodes you can play, each as challenging as the last and both have their own special little quirks that make them unique over the other. This is a game that all gamers should play through from start to finish at least once in their lifetimes, because that's how superb it is. It's hard to overstate my satisfaction. Expand
  17. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    A brilliant sequel to an incredibly innovative game, this is one of the purest, most focused games I've played on this console. A true masterpiece combining fast paced visuals, an intense soundtrack, and a driving story-line. A must play for any 360 owner. The only drawback to this game is that it is very short, so much so that I cannot give it a perfect rating. Find it in a discountA brilliant sequel to an incredibly innovative game, this is one of the purest, most focused games I've played on this console. A true masterpiece combining fast paced visuals, an intense soundtrack, and a driving story-line. A must play for any 360 owner. The only drawback to this game is that it is very short, so much so that I cannot give it a perfect rating. Find it in a discount bin for a good price and than I would give it a 10. Expand
  18. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Game of the year, everything about the game is great. As for how long it is, not an issue because it has allowed casual gamers(not me) to actually complete a game for once.
  19. May 13, 2011
    9
    The 2007 original fell into that category of games which requires no sequel (eg. Bioshock) and the announcement of a second game was met with considerable apprehension. Thankfully, Valve managed to prove us naysayers wrong. Portal 2 is bigger, funnier and more challenging than its predecessor. Serves us right for doubting the brilliant minds behind Half-Life and L4D.
  20. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    An incredible puzzle game for just the single player alone. The co-op campaign is the best campaign that I have ever played with a friend. The ONLY reason this doesn't get a ten is the fact that I did find that the second part of three in the single player sort dragged on. Apart from that though, the game is perfect
  21. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    I played this game two years ago. But you know why I review it now? Simple. Portal 2 is, in my opinion, the best game ever made. No game has left me so much hungry for more than Portal 2. It had a considerable duration, an emotional grappling, a clever script, an engaging gameplay with a cooperative campaign that is just as fun, and in my opinion, Valve's finest (And Valve has got its fineI played this game two years ago. But you know why I review it now? Simple. Portal 2 is, in my opinion, the best game ever made. No game has left me so much hungry for more than Portal 2. It had a considerable duration, an emotional grappling, a clever script, an engaging gameplay with a cooperative campaign that is just as fun, and in my opinion, Valve's finest (And Valve has got its fine stuff, ain't it?).
    Portal 2 takes off from the simple premise that the exquisitely evil GLADoS (One of the best villains in video game history, and there is no way to argue that) has got you again in the Aperture Science testing facility. The facility is tearing apart, and you, Chell, are trapped in there for a lifetime, or at least that is what GLADoS thinks. Along with you, a new divine character joins this adventure, a robot called Wheatley. Oh my god! IT DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER!
    The turrets, GLADoS, Wheatley.... Even Aperture's CEO Cave Johnson. You will not forget these characters. They are all full of wit and hilarity, and they really attach to you in an emotional ride, and that is the best way to describe Portal 2. It gets better when we talk about gameplay.
    The original Portal was well-known by its innovative gameplay but also its short duration (1 or 2 hours). Portal 2 is a pleasant 8-10 hours ride, which are more than enough for a puzzle game. Still, I had so much fun. Puzzles are harder than ever, and the addition of the three gels make puzzles even more mind-bending. They are indeed challenging, and even though the boss battle still was disappointing in contrast to the puzzles, I didn't care, as I found the ending joyful and made me cry as a little b**ch.
    The story in Portal 2 was never imagined to be as deep. But as you travel through Aperture's decadence, you will realise how dark the plot is turning halfway through the game, with a twist that will break your heart. Why? Because the characters are so well done, the voice acting is amazing and the game is genius at creating bonds within them and you. Even the Co-op campaign, which was really good and also offers a considerable duration (About 6 hours), has a storyline that leaves you on the edge of your seat. The Co-op campaign is a great addition. It really forces you to be cooperative and responsive to the other player, and the two bots you play as are equally as charming, and puzzles are equally as hard as in the campaign.
    The visuals on this game will not blow your wig off, but damn they were impressive. Aperture's decadence is sometimes incredibly detailed, and you will find some scenarios even on Xbox 360 breath-taking. The Co-op campaign doesn't have the same visual dazzle. Still, it wasn't glitchy neither unbearable.
    So, that's it. 10/10. My favourite game of all time. The best thing this generation of gaming has brought, and the best dish Valve layed on his big feast of outstanding game. Portal 2 is so great words can't even describe it. You will soon find yourself hopeless asking for a Portal 3. Guess we will have to wait, but I sure want to hear a turret again saying: "Are you still there?" with its T-Pain style voice.
    Expand
  22. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    One of the best puzzle games I ever played. This sequel improves over the first Portal in almost every aspect like the puzzles and story and a lot more 10/10.
  23. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely hysterical game. There was never a moment where I wasn't entertained or in a state of negative emotion. Portal 2 is an intellectually challenging and consistently surprising puzzler with more memorable moments than I could count. Valve's masterpiece.
  24. May 18, 2012
    9
    If you're a gamer that takes it's time with games and doesn't rush through it you'll find a lot of gameplay here. I must've spent about 3 full evenings with a friend going through the co-op. The single player is a great ride too. 9/10
  25. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    Outstanding fun and entertaining as well. At its heart is a simple idea. But the idea has been built on to epic proportions and the world blown wide open to match
  26. Apr 16, 2017
    10
    I cannot begin to describe this game in a way anyone who hasn't played it would understand, so I'll simply say this; Portal 2 is the greatest puzzle game you will ever play. No other game will have you thinking as hard while laughing your ass off at the silly side character and insane plot.
    Truly one of my favourite gaming experiences and I'll not soon forget about it.
  27. May 30, 2012
    6
    Good game, but if you played the original and thought it good but not great, then this is really just more of the same. There are a few new tricks to learn, but puzzle wise the game didn't feel as challenging as the original. Perhaps thats because I was already accustomed to the puzzle theme of using portals. In any case, I felt there wasn't enough new stuff there, and it got to be a bitGood game, but if you played the original and thought it good but not great, then this is really just more of the same. There are a few new tricks to learn, but puzzle wise the game didn't feel as challenging as the original. Perhaps thats because I was already accustomed to the puzzle theme of using portals. In any case, I felt there wasn't enough new stuff there, and it got to be a bit of a chore and felt like going through the motions just so I could seen the ending. Though I have to admit, the story and characterisation was much better this time around. Other than that I couldn't find too many other positive things to say about this game. It doesn't have much re-playability even when you take the coop mode into account. Overall if you loved the original then its more of the same, but if like me you really didn't see what all the fuss was about the original, and just thought it an okay first person puzzler, then you probably wont find your opinion has changed much with the sequel. So its good, but not a classic, at least not in my book. 6 / 10 Expand
  28. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Valve literally did nothing wrong with this game. It is actually underrated. This game is better than any call of duty (after 4) and it kills any other platformer. Valve wins.
  29. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    A great game with a great story, and a great co op mode. Though I think this game is a little overpriced for what you get, I think it is still worth getting.
  30. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    If you have half a brain, this game is a huge rip off at full price. I paid 20 bucks and beat it in 4 hours.I know other people can't solve puzzles and it takes them longer, but I would not recommend this at 60. Overall it is fun, but SHORT!
  31. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Intuitive puzzles that combine the traditional physics of Half-Life with two portals returns in the sequel to hit-sensation to the original "Portal". The new array of puzzles are significantly more varied and numerous, as well as fiendishly difficult during the second half (and challenging during the first), this amounts to a very lengthy single player, but what really makes this gameIntuitive puzzles that combine the traditional physics of Half-Life with two portals returns in the sequel to hit-sensation to the original "Portal". The new array of puzzles are significantly more varied and numerous, as well as fiendishly difficult during the second half (and challenging during the first), this amounts to a very lengthy single player, but what really makes this game stand out is its ingenious story driven all the way by undeniably classic humour (ranging from fat-jokes to light-hearted banter regarding murder), the finish is certainly climatic, if there's one thing valve is good at (and there are several) its concluding a game leaving the player feeling triumphant and fulfilled, i'll be honest, I cried. The Co-Op side of things are good and well thought out, but it really just amounts to the more experienced player babying the secondary through the challenges, which isn't that much fun. Very suited (although not high-standard) graphics, amazing soundtrack, brilliant presentation, incredible game Expand
  32. Apr 19, 2011
    4
    As stated by others, the game is too short (4 hours), too easy and the graphics are dated. Not worth the full price. Fanboys are already skewing the score as you can see by the reviews. Even people who admit the game is too short and the graphics are dated still rate it 10/10, proving they are trying to inflate the score. Why give a perfect score if there are obviously flaws which youAs stated by others, the game is too short (4 hours), too easy and the graphics are dated. Not worth the full price. Fanboys are already skewing the score as you can see by the reviews. Even people who admit the game is too short and the graphics are dated still rate it 10/10, proving they are trying to inflate the score. Why give a perfect score if there are obviously flaws which you yourself have stated? Valve employees and hired agents are also inflating the score as they use the same phrases Valve uses in advertising the game. Expand
  33. Apr 18, 2012
    7
    Entertaining but not mind blowing nor GOTY worthy like IGN pointed out. I really don't see why of the commotion for this game, yeah its fun and challenging for a while but it gets boring, you are always contained, plot driven and not very good graphics at all. Bought it for new for $30 and even Im regretting having payed that much for this.
  34. May 1, 2011
    9
    Aside from being really short, I really can't find any fault with this game. A lot of people are complaining about the graphics, but even though it still uses the same old engine from the first game, I think they squeezed every bit they could out of it as the game looks much better than the first. It isn't going to win any beauty contests, but there is nothing overly wrong with it from aAside from being really short, I really can't find any fault with this game. A lot of people are complaining about the graphics, but even though it still uses the same old engine from the first game, I think they squeezed every bit they could out of it as the game looks much better than the first. It isn't going to win any beauty contests, but there is nothing overly wrong with it from a visual standpoint. Anyway, that's not what the game is about. It is all about the story and the gameplay. The story is great, just don't expect some kind of epic narrative with cutscenes and all. Your character never says anything, and you only catch glances at her through portals. The way the story progresses is through NPC's that speak to you and each other throughout different levels. They are all brilliantly funny, and GLADOS is as humorous and menacing as ever. As for the gameplay, you are put into different test-chambers and have to figure a way out using a gun that creates two different colored portals, one an entrance and the other an exit. It all starts simple enough but the difficulty ramps up nicely as new elements are introduced, like goo, hard-light pathways and laser reflectors. It isn't hard like most other games where they throw more bad-guys at you, or a boss or something. They just make you use your brain in ways other games don't, you're solving puzzles, but it looks like an FPS. It is also nothing you can't figure out on your own, you just have to spend a little time in each room and try different thing to see what works. And DON'T use the strategy guide, that kills the purpose of this game. All in all Portal 2 is a great game that could have been better if it were a little longer, there is a co-op mode with different characters and story, so that helps, unless like me you are a solo-gamer. Still, it is like nothing else you've played, except the first Portal. I'd recommend playing that one first so you know what's going on story-wise and because it will be an excellent primer for this game. I went back and played the first after playing this one and breezed through it, but I remember when I first played it thinking how hard it was and wondering how they could be any more inventive. The devs really topped themselves. Great game that makes you think, not many of those nowadays. Expand
  35. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    It's hardly a flawless game but you've got to admire what Valve were able to do with such a simple concept. The way they've expanded upon the universe and story created within the first Portal game is definitely worthy of merit. It's also rare to find a game with a such a humble sense of humor. It's a must own.
  36. Jul 14, 2015
    10
    Portal 2 is Portal 1, but better, the aesthetics do a great job of setting the mood, the humor is spot on with all of the jokes making me laugh, the gameplay, while the same, doesn't feel the same because of all the new puzzles, and the multiplayer is just as good with new and interesting puzzles.
  37. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    The Back to the Future of video games. One of the most hilarious, clever, and original stories ever penned for the medium in addition to being one of the most seamless gameplay experiences ever produced. There is no distinction between gameplay and narrative which lends itself not only to developing complete, lengendary characters right before your eyes but to experiencing an environmentThe Back to the Future of video games. One of the most hilarious, clever, and original stories ever penned for the medium in addition to being one of the most seamless gameplay experiences ever produced. There is no distinction between gameplay and narrative which lends itself not only to developing complete, lengendary characters right before your eyes but to experiencing an environment that shifts and changes just as organically as those personalities trapped with you at Aperture. The finely honed atmosphere is abound with tense electronic pulses and physical effects that at times make you feel truly like the lab rat that you are. The beauty of the series, however, is is ever-encroaching feeling of control held within the player despite your arsenal never truly heralding new gadgets. It's the real human sense of inevitable freedom and escape powered by ingenuity that drives the player to complete each puzzle, a trait that Chell is indeed replete with. The main campaign is short and linear (8 hours), but so expertly crafted and dense with character that repeat playthroughs are as necessary as watching BTTF for the 20th time 25 years after it's release. Portal 2 is a masterpiece. Expand
  38. Aug 15, 2011
    5
    For starers I liked portal 1 it was an intresting experiance but valve wanted more money and came out with this. Portal 2 has a better story and good charicters but the experiance is stuffed but the aged engine and the repetitiveness which really harms the experiance. The liquid effect was a let down and the action was slow as well as the pacing. The voice acting was good and certanFor starers I liked portal 1 it was an intresting experiance but valve wanted more money and came out with this. Portal 2 has a better story and good charicters but the experiance is stuffed but the aged engine and the repetitiveness which really harms the experiance. The liquid effect was a let down and the action was slow as well as the pacing. The voice acting was good and certan puzzles were fustratingly hard which lead to portal 2 being more of a hard to get sequel trying to gain attention becasue it uses the title most people loved and played so much in 2007. Expand
  39. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    This game, and its prequel, shows to us that resolving puzzles can be a lot funnier killing soldiers or monsters with guns. Even with only three characters speaking, Portal 2 has one of the best narrative in FPG.
    GOOD THINGS:
    Puzzles more difficult, Co-op mode, GLaDOS.
    BAD THINGs:
    Chell still doesn't speak.
  40. Feb 10, 2015
    7
    Portal 2 is how i imagined it to be....a solid video game. portal 2 brings a unique gameplay to the table of first person shooters. Its a fun, time wasting game. Now portal 2 is not a game that i was addicted too and played for hours and hours, no portal 2 is a game that i played for an hour or two and then stopped. Why? well portal 2 to me was fun but not too fun get what I'm saying?Portal 2 is how i imagined it to be....a solid video game. portal 2 brings a unique gameplay to the table of first person shooters. Its a fun, time wasting game. Now portal 2 is not a game that i was addicted too and played for hours and hours, no portal 2 is a game that i played for an hour or two and then stopped. Why? well portal 2 to me was fun but not too fun get what I'm saying? Overall it is a game you cannot hate on. It has great dialogue (very funny), a solid concept, and involves alot of brain solving. Expand
  41. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Like Portal 1, Portal 2 is a smart and fun puzzle platformer with a good sense of humor. If you liked Portal 1 you're pretty much guaranteed to like Portal 2. One thing that sets the sequel apart from its predecessor is the inclusion of multiplayer levels. I found this part of the game to be more fun than the single player, and when you combine the two the game is appropriately long. TheLike Portal 1, Portal 2 is a smart and fun puzzle platformer with a good sense of humor. If you liked Portal 1 you're pretty much guaranteed to like Portal 2. One thing that sets the sequel apart from its predecessor is the inclusion of multiplayer levels. I found this part of the game to be more fun than the single player, and when you combine the two the game is appropriately long. The graphics engine, while dated, has aged well and still looks great. The music is also worth mentioning... Portal 2 has one of the best soundtracks in recent gaming. On the negative side I feel that the game dragged a bit in the middle... probably because I wasn't a huge fan of the "story." Expand
  42. May 27, 2014
    10
    I rarely give a game 10/10, but Portal 2 does something which some games like this fail to give, A Comedy FPS Puzzler, its hilarious story, Amazing Puzzles, Unique Co-Op and not forgetting the excellent ending, This game is not only the best Xbox 360 game, but the best game of all time
  43. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 has arrived.... ABOUT TIME! After a few delays, lots of promotion, and so many playthroughs of the first game, I finally got to play the full game! This game... is just the most fun I and many people have had in such a long time. The night before Portal 2 arrived through my door, I just couldn't sleep. It was like Christmas all over again.

    The first Portal was, let's say an
    Portal 2 has arrived.... ABOUT TIME! After a few delays, lots of promotion, and so many playthroughs of the first game, I finally got to play the full game! This game... is just the most fun I and many people have had in such a long time. The night before Portal 2 arrived through my door, I just couldn't sleep. It was like Christmas all over again.

    The first Portal was, let's say an experiment for Valve; a prototype. In no way did Valve believe they would be making the sequel they have just made. Back in 2007, they had no idea Portal would get the response it received. Portal 2 was so worth the wait!

    FOR FULL REVIEW (This is just a segment): http://www.nave360.com/review-portal-2/
    Expand
  44. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    This is an amazing game, top 10. It has fun, but challenging, obstacles and challenges that make you want more. And for those who want more, the multiplayer is a whole other campaign! Cleverness of gaming has ceased to amaze from Valve. It also has great voice acting and fantastic music, as well as good graphics. Unfortunately, after you beat this the only thing left is the FREE DLC, whichThis is an amazing game, top 10. It has fun, but challenging, obstacles and challenges that make you want more. And for those who want more, the multiplayer is a whole other campaign! Cleverness of gaming has ceased to amaze from Valve. It also has great voice acting and fantastic music, as well as good graphics. Unfortunately, after you beat this the only thing left is the FREE DLC, which is amazing, and then what? Expand
  45. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    I've never had a game grab my attention more than in portal 2. I'm a huge fan of valve and this was not what I expected but intrigued me none the less. This game makes you work your brain and that alone is worth its weight. I got this as a gift from my girlfriend who doesn't play video games and I woke up to find her playing this after I fell asleep for about 10 hours. Well done! I am aI've never had a game grab my attention more than in portal 2. I'm a huge fan of valve and this was not what I expected but intrigued me none the less. This game makes you work your brain and that alone is worth its weight. I got this as a gift from my girlfriend who doesn't play video games and I woke up to find her playing this after I fell asleep for about 10 hours. Well done! I am a true fan and I would have never even picked this type of game off the shelf. Expand
  46. May 27, 2011
    6
    Because we celebrated the innovation and mind blowing game play in Portal 1 doesn't mean we have to extend the honeymoon to Portal 2 and give it a free pass. I thought Portal 1 was a "10", but with as much time as Valve has had, I don't think Portal 2 deserves high praise. To do so would be just to encourage the lack of innovation and their milking an idea as a cash cow. What madeBecause we celebrated the innovation and mind blowing game play in Portal 1 doesn't mean we have to extend the honeymoon to Portal 2 and give it a free pass. I thought Portal 1 was a "10", but with as much time as Valve has had, I don't think Portal 2 deserves high praise. To do so would be just to encourage the lack of innovation and their milking an idea as a cash cow. What made Portal 1 so great is that nothing like it had been done before. Every new mechanic and piece of the environment was being seen for the first time as you played it. Portal 2 would have been more worthy of praise had it been a DLC add-on a long time ago. Now I just question why more wasn't done with it. Using such an intellectual property to claim $60 for one night of mildly entertaining hoop jumping seems not only disappointing, but perhaps even immoral. I feel like Valve really missed an opportunity here to have the community go"Wow! they did it again!...unbelievable!...no one would have expected them to introduce these types of (characters/creatures/guns/environments/online game types/droid customizations/gadgets...etc.)!" Bottom line...instead I am left saying rather wistfully...oh...they did it again. Expand
  47. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is fantastic. The humor is very well done and the things they've added to give variety to the gameplay are excellent. Portal 2 is definitely setting the bar for sequels in a year where the majority of hyped games are second and third entries of a franchise. This game is utterly hilarious and they outdo Still Alive with the new end credits song. This game is perfectly consistentPortal 2 is fantastic. The humor is very well done and the things they've added to give variety to the gameplay are excellent. Portal 2 is definitely setting the bar for sequels in a year where the majority of hyped games are second and third entries of a franchise. This game is utterly hilarious and they outdo Still Alive with the new end credits song. This game is perfectly consistent throughout and has a very satisfying and well done ending. Expand
  48. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    This is a game that is absolutely perfect in every way, shape, and form. Everything about this game completely blew me away. From the storytelling and pacing. To the characters and puzzles that would really get me thinking. Definetly a must play
  49. May 9, 2013
    10
    I'm giving this game a ten and a short review. It's beyond FUN. I've gotta say, I played it with a friend and had such a laugh it's unreal. The game really challenges you to think and especially on the co-op mode, work together. I'm sorry but letting your friend collect something you need on the far side of the room, holding a button down so he can cross back over and simply letting goI'm giving this game a ten and a short review. It's beyond FUN. I've gotta say, I played it with a friend and had such a laugh it's unreal. The game really challenges you to think and especially on the co-op mode, work together. I'm sorry but letting your friend collect something you need on the far side of the room, holding a button down so he can cross back over and simply letting go only to watch him unexpectedly plummet to his death is beyond laughable, the good thing about it is.. there isn't any frustation, once you know what to do, you just go back and do it. You don't really get penalised for it, the game is challenging enough in my opinion. I couldn't help but love this game and it's very morbid yet entertaining humour! Expand
  50. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is an amazing game. It combines humor, wits and creativity into one. Some people would argue that a puzzle game can't be much. But Portal 2 does just that. It offers an amazing witty single player campaign, hilarious co-op and an overall creative experience. I would highly recommend this game. I only argue that the there are only two campaigns and after your done both ofPortal 2 is an amazing game. It combines humor, wits and creativity into one. Some people would argue that a puzzle game can't be much. But Portal 2 does just that. It offers an amazing witty single player campaign, hilarious co-op and an overall creative experience. I would highly recommend this game. I only argue that the there are only two campaigns and after your done both of them, there's no real reason to come back. Expand
  51. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    If you liked Portal then you'll love Portal 2! It's just like Portal only bigger with more puzzles, characters, obstacles, and the return of GLaDOS! Another feature that makes Portal 2 better is the all-new co-op mode, P-Body and Atlas are well designed characters and it's fun to play Portal 2 with a buddy. Overall the game is amazing and a well improvement over the previous Portal despiteIf you liked Portal then you'll love Portal 2! It's just like Portal only bigger with more puzzles, characters, obstacles, and the return of GLaDOS! Another feature that makes Portal 2 better is the all-new co-op mode, P-Body and Atlas are well designed characters and it's fun to play Portal 2 with a buddy. Overall the game is amazing and a well improvement over the previous Portal despite the short campaign and repeated auto saves. Worth it on any console! Expand
  52. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    Portal 2 is way too short and super boring at times, it was a cool game a few years ago but certainly not today. Portal 1 came in a cool package called the Orange Box with several other decent games, and I thought that was a fair way to sell it for $60. I'm very surprised they released Portal 2 as it's own full retail game, it's NOT worth anybody's $60, it's more of a $20 title for puzzlePortal 2 is way too short and super boring at times, it was a cool game a few years ago but certainly not today. Portal 1 came in a cool package called the Orange Box with several other decent games, and I thought that was a fair way to sell it for $60. I'm very surprised they released Portal 2 as it's own full retail game, it's NOT worth anybody's $60, it's more of a $20 title for puzzle fans. This game should be picked up used and returned within a few days after you beat it, the multiplayer experience is just as dull. BORING! Expand
  53. Jul 24, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portal 2 was definitely a good game. I only gave it a 8 out of 10 because it was just too similar to portal 1. The main reason that I loved this game was the dialogue. Westley was very funny, whether he was good or bad. There was so much humor in this game, that I wanted to keep playing it. Expand
  54. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Valve has a reputation for excellence, and that is shown by their latest installment, Portal 2. An excellent continuation of the gripping franchise, Portal shows just how engaging a puzzle game can be. With a wonderful atmosphere conveyed through the charismatic cast and puzzles that will make your head spin, Portal 2 is a fine contender for one of the best games of the year.
  55. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This game completely blows its predecessor out of the water. It brings brand new elements, while keeping the classic game flow that we have all fallen in love with. The multiplayer is top class, leading to a great replay value. If you haven't already, go buy it now. There is a reason it has toped the metacritic charts in all the categories.
  56. MJR
    Apr 22, 2011
    10
    An easy game to score for the amount of enjoyment I've recieved from the game. It's actually about 10 dollars cheaper than other new games to boot and I don't think I've ever laughed so hard during any game. It is seriously a gem. I'll give it a 9.9 because there is no such thing as a perfect game but this comes very, very close. It has its own flavour and is anything but generic. And forAn easy game to score for the amount of enjoyment I've recieved from the game. It's actually about 10 dollars cheaper than other new games to boot and I don't think I've ever laughed so hard during any game. It is seriously a gem. I'll give it a 9.9 because there is no such thing as a perfect game but this comes very, very close. It has its own flavour and is anything but generic. And for people complaing about it being too similar to the first game well...duh. It is a sequel. I don't know what changes they could have made and still have it be Portal. Its just a really awesome refinement and they do add some new elements, also the enviroments are quite different the further on you go. as one of the reviewers said it makes the first one look like the protype it was. Expand
  57. Nov 16, 2011
    2
    The most overrated game of this year...surprised ? ^_^ 5 hours main story + 3 hours of coop for 60 $ ?
    The puzzles are creative, but still way too easy, GLADOS is annoying, i don't see how people can find her creepy. The voice acting is great, however. The graphics are incredibly outdated, in fact it reminds me of graphics in 2008. o_O Too many fanboys of Valve - too many perfect scores.
    The most overrated game of this year...surprised ? ^_^ 5 hours main story + 3 hours of coop for 60 $ ?
    The puzzles are creative, but still way too easy, GLADOS is annoying, i don't see how people can find her creepy. The voice acting is great, however. The graphics are incredibly outdated, in fact it reminds me of graphics in 2008. o_O Too many fanboys of Valve - too many perfect scores. Perhaps I will never understand what is so great about Valve's games, because to me, they are all recycable garbage on a VERY old engine.
    Expand
  58. May 11, 2011
    10
    Just an incredible experience. There are very few games released these days where you feel the love and compassion towards the material. It's almost as if they could care less if they made a dime on the game, as long as others get to experience it. I have no clue how they came up with the gels system, etc, but it's all just brilliant. Throw in some much needed humor with Wheatley and itJust an incredible experience. There are very few games released these days where you feel the love and compassion towards the material. It's almost as if they could care less if they made a dime on the game, as long as others get to experience it. I have no clue how they came up with the gels system, etc, but it's all just brilliant. Throw in some much needed humor with Wheatley and it just cherry tops it all. I love hearing about the 'geniuses' that got through the game in a few hours (walkthrough help much?). Oh brother, because I found the campaign relatively difficult and extensive. Regardless, bravo to another Valve masterpiece. Expand
  59. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    Beautiful story, the puzzles make you think and a little creepy as well. .

    .10/10
  60. Mar 7, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portal 2 is an puzzle, adventure kind of game. For some reason its known as Portals 'successor'. Portal was imaginative and original. It was a big cake (ha) with every detail covered. Portal 2 however just more of it really. It just seems to be so similar it may as way be called 'Valve's turd'. However I will say the controls are still easy to use regardless of which console you play it on. Any die-hard Portal fan will be slightly or bitterly disappointed by the fact there are no interactions with the companion cube. Except that one fraction of the game where it gets vaporised. There is no reference to cake or anything that made Portal such a childish success. Valve has made an attempt to put more depth into the game by adding a funny but mostly irritating character called Wheatly. He tags along for some of the game trying to explain the simple plot. Halfway through the game turns the tables and makes the villain your friend and your previous friend the enemy. The game really pushes this down your throat, by really trying to make accept your friend has become your enemy. Only I can't really care about Wheatley becoming the enemy. GLaDOS is still funny but only in the sense that she is trying to compare to Wheatley. The game as a whole lacks any reason to play it again. This was slightly disappointing because the puzzles were mind stimulatingly fun. The cooperative campaign was slightly fun with another person to play with. Half way through the game we were just seeing if we could dodge turret attacks. In short Portal 2 cannot be called better than the previous game, because its only just more of it. You should buy this just to see the story, no other reason really. Expand
  61. Dec 30, 2011
    8
    Overall, a very good game. The writing and acting is some of the funniest stuff I've encountered anywhere. There are some very clever moments and some of the environments REALLY push this game beyond the confined spaces of the original. The co-op, especially with a friend and voice chat, is also a ton of fun. The only negatives for me were the frequent load screens (really ruins theOverall, a very good game. The writing and acting is some of the funniest stuff I've encountered anywhere. There are some very clever moments and some of the environments REALLY push this game beyond the confined spaces of the original. The co-op, especially with a friend and voice chat, is also a ton of fun. The only negatives for me were the frequent load screens (really ruins the pace of some scenes), somewhat brief length (3-4ish hours?), and overall easiness of the puzzles (especially the last quarter of the game). Expand
  62. Apr 23, 2011
    4
    As stated by many here the game is very short for the price. The graphics engine is old, it looks like Valve games from 10 years ago. The complexity of the puzzles are a disappointment. Given the time to release the game, and the limitations, I am surprised by the reviews. Clearly the name "Valve" contributed to influencing the reviewers. At the end of the day I am going through theAs stated by many here the game is very short for the price. The graphics engine is old, it looks like Valve games from 10 years ago. The complexity of the puzzles are a disappointment. Given the time to release the game, and the limitations, I am surprised by the reviews. Clearly the name "Valve" contributed to influencing the reviewers. At the end of the day I am going through the game simply for hte achievements. Expand
  63. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best Video Games EVER!!!!! The Plot is great, the graphics are great, the characters are funnier than ever, It's an all around great sequel. I highly recommend it.
  64. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Valve has taken an idea and fully elaborated on it. Some greatest puzzle solving madness ever to grace video games. The game is a little short but that's okay. If this was a 20+ hour single-player experience the game may become tedious and repetitive. The story is somewhat dark and engrossing and really allows the player to become enthralled with the game. Not toAbsolutely amazing. Valve has taken an idea and fully elaborated on it. Some greatest puzzle solving madness ever to grace video games. The game is a little short but that's okay. If this was a 20+ hour single-player experience the game may become tedious and repetitive. The story is somewhat dark and engrossing and really allows the player to become enthralled with the game. Not to mention the spectacular (and difficult) co-op campaign. From exploring the modern day Aperture Sciences and then on to the fictional company's weird past, everything in Portal 2 is an absolute joy. 10/10 Expand
  65. Apr 15, 2016
    9
    Played through the solo campaign. Loved it. Great dismal story that's easy to follow and get immersed in. Very witty dialog. The puzzles do an excellent job of being tasking but not tedious. One of those games you just gotta play and beat because it's so unique.
  66. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    I really wish this would have been Portal 1. The gameplay though unique just gets old after a while and is been there done that after the first game. My favorite aspect of Portal 2 where the co-op missions. On the short side but sweet.
  67. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 isn't just about portals. As a matter of fact, initial development excluded portals altogether. That says a lot about the true heart of this game. It's an action-adventure game disguised as a puzzle game, and it's story-driven game. Chell's story, Glados' story, and ultimately Aperture's. Portals are just means to tell and advance that story. The action, beautifully-pacedPortal 2 isn't just about portals. As a matter of fact, initial development excluded portals altogether. That says a lot about the true heart of this game. It's an action-adventure game disguised as a puzzle game, and it's story-driven game. Chell's story, Glados' story, and ultimately Aperture's. Portals are just means to tell and advance that story. The action, beautifully-paced and driven by a dark and ominous soundtrack, invokes memories of Half-Life 2. The writing and voice acting are superb, with plenty of comic relief to put a smile on your face. While it's not the revolution HL2 was, it's as every bit a masterpiece in game design. Players looking for hardcore dexterity-based puzzles may be disappointed. Those of us who enjoy all aspects of gaming will cherish Portal 2 as an instant classic. Expand
  68. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Wow! This isnt even my favorite genre of game, and I still LOVE it! That's showing you that it's made well. If a game is great, it transcends all genre's and becomes a great game for all. I just tried it by chance, the next thing I know, I'm buying it, playing it, and looking forward to the next time I'm going to play it. It's inventive, creative, sarcastic, intuitive, smooth, artistic,Wow! This isnt even my favorite genre of game, and I still LOVE it! That's showing you that it's made well. If a game is great, it transcends all genre's and becomes a great game for all. I just tried it by chance, the next thing I know, I'm buying it, playing it, and looking forward to the next time I'm going to play it. It's inventive, creative, sarcastic, intuitive, smooth, artistic, imaginitive, and thought provoking. It sharpens the mind. Expand
  69. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The flaws: replayabilty is low. Now that that's done, Portal 2 is the most complete measure of Valve's genius. The source engine looks brilliant, not realistic, but brilliant. The characters apart from the player are the most enjoyable interesting characters in any game. The puzzles are challenging but never unfair and you get an incredibly lengthy single-player compared to the original.The flaws: replayabilty is low. Now that that's done, Portal 2 is the most complete measure of Valve's genius. The source engine looks brilliant, not realistic, but brilliant. The characters apart from the player are the most enjoyable interesting characters in any game. The puzzles are challenging but never unfair and you get an incredibly lengthy single-player compared to the original. You also are invited to bring along a friend in split-screen or online and do even more, more challenging puzzles. Best game Valve has ever made period. Expand
  70. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    Quite similar to the original and massively overrated, as all valve games are. It is much more fun to play coop than solo so I recommend finding a friend to play with
  71. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    An absolute treasure.

    This game had made me waste HOURS into. That's how great this game was.

    The story, characters, level design, and overall strategy was pulled off so well in this game.
    The game had some hard levels that were very fun to try and complete.

    This is a game I will most likely never forget and would die for a third game.
  72. May 10, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is the sequel to the Orange Boxes multi game pack which contains Portal. Portal 2 is a puzzle game which bring you into the experience and solving incredible puzzles. You may think the first levels are easy but trust me, they get harder, way harder. If you a fan then you'll know whats going on but if your new then don't worry, you may not understand whats going on but you'll havePortal 2 is the sequel to the Orange Boxes multi game pack which contains Portal. Portal 2 is a puzzle game which bring you into the experience and solving incredible puzzles. You may think the first levels are easy but trust me, they get harder, way harder. If you a fan then you'll know whats going on but if your new then don't worry, you may not understand whats going on but you'll have a fun time with the cast of characters and the great dark and funny humor they bring. And if you somehow finished the game you and a friend can play together! But is this game good? Yes. Is it better then Portal 1? No. Portal 2 may be a better improved version with more content but Portal one felt more in place. Portal 2 makes the characters with very open feelings but in Portal one it was just you and Glados with a big secret. But in all's cases. You got to buy this game. Great Game. Expand
  73. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Reviewing this without taking into account some of the ill thought decisions Valve has made is difficult but necessary I feel. Portal 2 is incredible. I have not been as delighted, surprised or engaged by a game since I first played Shenmue. Level design is inspired, story is funny and surprisingly deep compared to the first game. You must play this game.
  74. Jun 13, 2011
    6
    As a puzzle game Portal 2 is incredible. But it suffers one of the main pitfalls of all puzzle games, it becomes repetitive and once you get into the later stages of the game the puzzles either become frustratingly difficult as you either have to find the tiny little solution in the massive puzzle room or the puzzle is just too easy once you figure out how the different gels work. ThoughAs a puzzle game Portal 2 is incredible. But it suffers one of the main pitfalls of all puzzle games, it becomes repetitive and once you get into the later stages of the game the puzzles either become frustratingly difficult as you either have to find the tiny little solution in the massive puzzle room or the puzzle is just too easy once you figure out how the different gels work. Though this game is entertaining, and somewhat of an intellectual feat the first run through, if you've graduated from high school and out of the main gaming demographic, you'll probably find the puzzles a little too easy and the humour a little too juvenile. A good rent, but save your $40 (depending on your system). Don't fall for the gaming critics, especially these days, most are bought and paid for. Expand
  75. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I love the story, I love the characters, I love the level design, I love the innovation and I love this game. They better be making a portal 3 because this game blew me away.
  76. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    So very challenging, so very fun. Made my head hurt, but for all the right reasons. I never played the first game, but this is truly a work of art. It is so cleverly done and thought through that the developers must be pretty chuffed with themselves. I literally cannot fault this game, except possibly the graphics which aren't amazing, but I'm not that bothered, the gameplay literallySo very challenging, so very fun. Made my head hurt, but for all the right reasons. I never played the first game, but this is truly a work of art. It is so cleverly done and thought through that the developers must be pretty chuffed with themselves. I literally cannot fault this game, except possibly the graphics which aren't amazing, but I'm not that bothered, the gameplay literally compensates for it all. Expand
  77. May 18, 2012
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Mind-bending and addictive from the first minute. Multiplayer is an excellent addition, although the single player campaign is the real attraction here. The puzzles strike a perfect balance of difficulty and accessibility, but the game is built on character moments and a funny/dark/beautiful atmosphere. You'll laugh, empathize, and be totally immersed. Nothing isAbsolutely incredible. Mind-bending and addictive from the first minute. Multiplayer is an excellent addition, although the single player campaign is the real attraction here. The puzzles strike a perfect balance of difficulty and accessibility, but the game is built on character moments and a funny/dark/beautiful atmosphere. You'll laugh, empathize, and be totally immersed. Nothing is perfect, but this title's flaws are too minor to even mention, so 10/10. Don't miss this one. Expand
  78. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    there is nothing wrong with game if you love portal you will want to play portal 2 it is one of the best puzzle/action you could ever buy/own if you like puzzle games get this the ending is so good
  79. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    As much as it breaks my heart to give this a 9 I have to. It just wasn't everything I was hoping for. Don't get me wrong, it was an amazing game and still one of my all time favourites. The story was really amazing, the humor was as good as ever, the graphics (despite what some people say) were actually pretty good and still way better than the first one, and the puzzles were challengingAs much as it breaks my heart to give this a 9 I have to. It just wasn't everything I was hoping for. Don't get me wrong, it was an amazing game and still one of my all time favourites. The story was really amazing, the humor was as good as ever, the graphics (despite what some people say) were actually pretty good and still way better than the first one, and the puzzles were challenging at times while not being close to impossible. The learning curve is really amazing (as was the one in the first Portal). Most of the time you would walk into a puzzle and start thinking of how you could solve it and when you finally do you feel really good about yourself despite the fact that GLaDOS is insulting your every move. The trailers of this game were probably the best trailers I've ever seen. They did exactly what they were supposed to do. They got me completely pumped for the game. Maybe a little too pumped actually which is part of the reason I gave it a 9. My expectations were unbelievably high and it only slightly let me down. I kind of felt that the co-op mode was kind of annoying to use just because unless the person you are playing with is at the same place as you you have to play levels several times or skip levels. My last problem and probably the biggest is it didn't really have very much replayability. The co-op added to it a bit but after that I didn't know what to do with myself and I found myself wanting so much more. It's not even the short story that was my problem (approximately 4 hours to beat) but it was that I had no incentive to play it once I beat it. Maybe if they had some things to unlock or the challenge levels they had in Portal 1 then I'd be fine and I'd probably give it a 10 but I didn't really feel like playing it again just to get my money's worth and there was no incentive to anyways. Expand
  80. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    So Portal 2 is probably the best puzzle game ever. Even better than Tetris. So the gameplay basically is about making puzzles with a gun that shoots portals, along with some items like, for example, cubes that you have to put on buttons. The first game won awards for it's original gameplay, the funny but sinister voice acting for the machine GLaDOS, and the song at the end, that also had aSo Portal 2 is probably the best puzzle game ever. Even better than Tetris. So the gameplay basically is about making puzzles with a gun that shoots portals, along with some items like, for example, cubes that you have to put on buttons. The first game won awards for it's original gameplay, the funny but sinister voice acting for the machine GLaDOS, and the song at the end, that also had a lot of humor. So the sequel was inevitable.
    There are two modes, single-player and multi-player, of course. In single-player you play as Chell, the protagonist of the previous game, as she wakes up and finds a friend named Wheatley, who will help her to find the way out. In the way, something happens and they are now in the test chambers again. Without giving away too much, the story is a lot more complex in comparison to the multi-player and especially the original game, taking the most time to complete of the three. Also, the voice acting for every character is wonderful, with well-written dialogue. Almost every line they say could be a meme. Graphically, is the best-looking game that uses the Source engine, and has some pretty good visuals. The gameplay is still fun, even if it lost the fresh factor, it manages to keep it new with some new and inventive mechanics. There are easter eggs too, that are pretty interesting and, most importantly, fun.
    The multiplayer is like another game. Taking place after singleplayer mode (without revealing anything, so you can play this one first without spoilers), GLaDOS now tests two robots, ATLAS and P-Body, through the chambers. The story in this part isn't very important, similar to Portal 1.
    There are a lot of inventive uses for the two player mechanic, and even some mechanics that aren't on the single-player campaign. Obviously, it's shorter than the solo campaign, but even then it's one of the best multiplayer modes of all. You could say that the game actually has two different campaigns.
    The soundtrack is good. There are more techno ambience sounds, but, unlike in Portal 1, they will be more notorious. There are some songs here and there, without spoiling anything, and they are good, but nothing compared to the original. Overall, the game not only is an improvement to an amazing game, but also manages to keep it fresh.
    Expand
  81. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Let me start off by expressing my shock toward the negative reviews I've seen. Now look, the game is not without it's flaws, but few games deserve a 1. I would only give a game a 1 if I bought it, loaded it up, and it came up as a screen that said "Haha, you just paid $50 for NOTHING". I can sort of understand the middling scores, since I can see some of the frustration with certainLet me start off by expressing my shock toward the negative reviews I've seen. Now look, the game is not without it's flaws, but few games deserve a 1. I would only give a game a 1 if I bought it, loaded it up, and it came up as a screen that said "Haha, you just paid $50 for NOTHING". I can sort of understand the middling scores, since I can see some of the frustration with certain elements, but frankly, all this rage-posting pissed me off enough to score the game a perfect 10 when I probably would have just given it an 8 or 9, just to offset the people who think that this excellent game deserves a 1 for their stupid complaints, which I shall discredit in a way that also shares my own feelings.

    1) "The game is too short". This is probably the most common and valid reason I've seen, so I'll tackle this one first. First of all, anyone who claims that they beat this in four hours is either lying, has no concept of time, or enjoyed playing so much that they lost track of time. This game cannot be beaten in four hours on the first run. I'm sorry, I don't believe you. The people who say eight hours, I'll believe you, at least for the solo campaign. It took me about 10 hours all in all and I only got stuck about 4 times. Even so, on a speed run, I could see someone completing it in 6 hours if they REALLY knew what they were doing and never faltered. 4 hours on a first play-through is complete bull.

    That being said, it could be argued that 6-10 hours for a campaign is still very short, particularly with little replayability and at full price. I would argue that we generally pay $20-30 for a two hour movie. Two movies would cost about the same and that's only 4 hours. So 6-10 hours of gameplay can be worth the price.

    I say "can" be worth the price, because it depends entirely on how GOOD the gameplay is. If it was 6-10 hours of BAD gameplay, I could understand the complaints. However, the fact that people complained that it was too short implies that they ENJOYED the time they spent with it SO MUCH that the brief time they spent with it simply wasn't enough. So why are these people giving it a 1? If you gave it a 1, I would expect that you hated the gameplay, but if that were so, why complain that it was too short? It's like complaining that your friend's waffles taste terrible while also complaining that they didn't make enough of the terrible waffles to satisfy you. It makes you sound like an idiot.

    So to summarize on this point, I can understand people who think the game is too short to justify the cost of the game. I kind of agree in theory, but frankly, the quality of the gameplay makes up for this to me. Plus, there is SOME replayability. Even if you don't want to play the co-op campaign (which is a lot of fun), you can replay the game with developer commentary (a concept that I think more games should implement because it is fascinating), you can achievement hunt, and, well, you can play the game again. It's a great game well worth playing more than once. I mean, if you have no intention of ever playing the game again, just rent it! That's what rental stores are for. Anyway, enough of that.

    2) "First Day DLC! SACRILEGE!" Anyone who complains about first-day DLC needs to understand two things. First, the DLC in question is purely cosmetic. If you don't want it, you don't need to get it. Second, you need to understand that the AAA video game market is having a hard time dealing with rentals and resellers. By including first day DLC that you can get for free by pre-order it, they encourage their customers to buy it retail. It's an advantage for buying it at full cost instead of waiting for it to be available used. It can be frustrating when this tactic is employed on something significant, but in this case, it was just for silly pointless things, so your argument is moronic and also doesn't reflect the actual content of the game at all.

    3) "The Xbox Version got shafted" I actually kind of agree, but you guys act like that's Valve's or the game's fault. No. It's the Xbox's fault. You think they dumbed down the graphics because they have some kind of vendetta or because they're lazy? No, it's because the Xbox is simply not as powerful as the PS3 or a personal computer and because Microsoft has to make everything proprietary. So yes, it is the weakest release out of all of them, but the most you will notice is reduced graphics and the lack of a bundled PC version. And frankly, if you picked up Portal 2 for the graphics, you are an idiot, and if you want to play it on your PC, you should just buy the PC version.

    Disappointment in one or two aspects of the game is no reason to act like the game gave you cancer. It is a great game. It may be shorter than some retail games, but the content you get during that gameplay is far better than what you would get from most other games
    Expand
  82. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is sequel to portal a game i did not enjoy i found it repetitive however this sequel with its new toys is a joy to play it has dated graphics yes but gameplay is all that matters and there is enough here to sate you.
  83. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    THE GREATEST GAME IN THE FREAKING WORLD! WHOEVER DOES'NT HAVE IT MUST GO BUY IT RIGHT NOW! YOU WILL UNDERSTAND WHY IT IS SO GREAT WHEN YOU PLAY IT! IT WILL CHANGE THE WAY YOU THINK FOREVER!
  84. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games of the year, has game of the year written all over it. Both the single and co-op, each easily reaching over 6 hours of game play, single player a bit more. Part of playing portal is to beat the game in a fast run through and the run through is full of Aperture lore and a genius story. Another plus side of this game is that it makes your cognitive learningThis is one of the best games of the year, has game of the year written all over it. Both the single and co-op, each easily reaching over 6 hours of game play, single player a bit more. Part of playing portal is to beat the game in a fast run through and the run through is full of Aperture lore and a genius story. Another plus side of this game is that it makes your cognitive learning improve through amazing problem solving puzzles with no violence and still maintains a level of excitement and fun through out the game. Highly suggest for gamers who loved portal 1 and people who love puzzle games. Expand
  85. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I was surprised by how good the reviews were for Portal 2. And then I played it. Superior to it's predecessor, it actually encourages co-op play with friends. As of April 20th, it is the best game of 2011.
  86. May 11, 2011
    10
    P2 is a mind blowing thrill of a game. Fun to play, witty and some a cool drink of water of the same hum drum games that come out all of the time. If you liked the first one you will LOVE this one. It is a sequel that is 100 times better than the first one. The first one introduced a fantastic concept and tinkered with it but it was short, damn short. This one will surprise when youP2 is a mind blowing thrill of a game. Fun to play, witty and some a cool drink of water of the same hum drum games that come out all of the time. If you liked the first one you will LOVE this one. It is a sequel that is 100 times better than the first one. The first one introduced a fantastic concept and tinkered with it but it was short, damn short. This one will surprise when you realize how long it is. I wont spoil anything but I will say they introduce some mechanics, environments and items that are as integral and creative as the portal gun. Pure genius. Expand
  87. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is going to be a big candidate for game of the year so do not be stupid you kids it is not funny to give score 0 it is not funny becouse it is not your thing so stop it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  88. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is not just an another puzzle game, it is without a doubt an incredible piece of art which combines clever writing with absolutely perfect gameplay. The core mechanics of portal 1 have been massivly upgraded adding a lot of more variety into the gameplay. The story is a huge improvement from portal 1, there are a lot of more characters in it, it is funnier and the most importantPortal 2 is not just an another puzzle game, it is without a doubt an incredible piece of art which combines clever writing with absolutely perfect gameplay. The core mechanics of portal 1 have been massivly upgraded adding a lot of more variety into the gameplay. The story is a huge improvement from portal 1, there are a lot of more characters in it, it is funnier and the most important thing is the fact that it's over 3-4 times longer than it's predecessor. As a bonus, an spetacular co-operative gamemode was added in which adds even more hours of gameplay. I am not being ridiculous when I say that portal 2s coop mode is easily the best co-operative gameplay you can ever experience in a interactive media. I barely just scraped the surface on why portal 2 could be one of the best games of this year. You can't afford to miss this one. Expand
  89. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Let's start this off by saying I am not a Portal fanboy. I had never played the first one, until last week when my brother picked up Portal 2 based on its rave reviews. I reluctantly played it and was blown away. I went and bought the orange box to play number 1 through first. The only reason I'm giving it a 9/10, is because I would have liked it to be longer. I wouldn't say it wasLet's start this off by saying I am not a Portal fanboy. I had never played the first one, until last week when my brother picked up Portal 2 based on its rave reviews. I reluctantly played it and was blown away. I went and bought the orange box to play number 1 through first. The only reason I'm giving it a 9/10, is because I would have liked it to be longer. I wouldn't say it was unbearably short, but it was so good that I couldn't put it down. That being said, the addition of co-op mode and its entirely different puzzles/storyline from the single player mode, lead to practically two games in one. The puzzles are very different from 1, with the addition of the new elements (no spoilers here!), and I was supremely impressed that it wasn't stagnant or redundant to its predecessor (which many puzzle games tend to be.) As for the folks worried about the graphics, I have played a lot of games with great graphics, that don't have a leg to stand on when it comes to story, entertainment, gameplay, etc. Games that do not rely on their graphics but instead on story and gameplay, transcend their time period. Remember when N64 had cutting edge graphics? Great puzzles, an interesting story (with some brilliant voice acting on all 3 (or 4) characters, and clever dialogue that had me laughing throughout, lead me to my score, and to anticipation for Portal 3 Expand
  90. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Takes everything we knew and loved in the original and fully bakes it into a longer and more complete experience. It is a great joy to feel Valve's quality production once again. Excellent characters, story, gameplay, coupled with dialogue and characters full of wit and charm.
  91. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    First off, I am not a fanboy. But all you have to do to love Portal 2 is look into the details. Doesn't Wheatly's animations seem life-like? How about GLaDOS? Valve spent time to have them Animations, and give them personalities. They don't just stand there and say stuff, they jurk around. They simulate hand movements. They were given deep personalities by Valve. And the stuff they say canFirst off, I am not a fanboy. But all you have to do to love Portal 2 is look into the details. Doesn't Wheatly's animations seem life-like? How about GLaDOS? Valve spent time to have them Animations, and give them personalities. They don't just stand there and say stuff, they jurk around. They simulate hand movements. They were given deep personalities by Valve. And the stuff they say can really make you feel the antmosphere of the Encichment Center. Sure some Hardcore FPS fanboy might overlook these details, because he has never seen true gaming art and is afraid of it. Don't be the fanboy. Expand
  92. May 11, 2011
    7
    The user score is much closer to the truth than the critic score unfortunately. I loved portal but I found this sequel to be a little disappointing. It's too short, (just under 6 hrs), and too easy. There wasn't a puzzle that had me scratching my head for more than a few minutes, and I'm not exactly Einstein. The co op is great fun, but again is too short and easy, Anyone who played theThe user score is much closer to the truth than the critic score unfortunately. I loved portal but I found this sequel to be a little disappointing. It's too short, (just under 6 hrs), and too easy. There wasn't a puzzle that had me scratching my head for more than a few minutes, and I'm not exactly Einstein. The co op is great fun, but again is too short and easy, Anyone who played the souped up hard version of the levels in Portal 1 are going to be VERY disappointed with the game's lack of difficulty. On the bright side, the story is better than I thought it would be and the voice acting and presentation are top notch despite the game still using the half life 2 source engine. There are also a couple of subtle nods to the greater half life universe for anyone who cares. Overall this game should be played as it is entertaining, but rent it insted of buying as your unlikely to play it more than once. Short but mostly sweet. Expand
  93. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 may lack the simple charm of it's predecesor, but it succeeds in finding it's own in this more story driven installment. With the introduction of more puzzle elements, Portal 2 picks up where the first one left off and doesn't skip a beat. It also introduces co-op mode which continues the story where it's single player bows out. Where the single player's puzzles weren't asPortal 2 may lack the simple charm of it's predecesor, but it succeeds in finding it's own in this more story driven installment. With the introduction of more puzzle elements, Portal 2 picks up where the first one left off and doesn't skip a beat. It also introduces co-op mode which continues the story where it's single player bows out. Where the single player's puzzles weren't as difficult as the firs one's, co-op has the potential to stump you and your friend for quite some time. Do yourself a favor and experience this game. Expand
  94. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    This is one the best non-violent games ever made. It is also the funniest. If you love Pixar movies, odds are you'll also love this game. Highly recommended.
  95. May 17, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game that teaches as it goes. No killing, no swearing, just humorous, innovative game play that never leaves you feeling frustrated. Every time you finish a puzzle you feel like you just got that much better at the game, which is a great feeling a lot of games are missing nowadays.
  96. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best puzzle game I have ever played. It goes above and beyond Portal in so many ways, improving it in every single aspect. It has amazing level design (like almost every Valve game), hard puzzles and a huge amount of variety. It also has a very good story that fits nicely in the Portal and Half Life universe. Finally it has the best voice acting and script I have ever seen.Portal 2 is the best puzzle game I have ever played. It goes above and beyond Portal in so many ways, improving it in every single aspect. It has amazing level design (like almost every Valve game), hard puzzles and a huge amount of variety. It also has a very good story that fits nicely in the Portal and Half Life universe. Finally it has the best voice acting and script I have ever seen. It combines a brilliant British comedian/actor named Steven Merchant and clever and funny dialogue making it one of the most enjoyable games to listen to. And that is just single player, it also has a very lengthy and enjoyable co-op. I recommend Portal 2 to anyone. Expand
  97. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Awesome game but.....
    Does anyone else feel like they've already played this game before? The original Portal is easily one of the best games ever made: It was entertaining, had excellent puzzles, was short enough it didn't wear out it's welcome AND it was easy on the wallet. Now Portal 2, while just as engaging and hilarious with some great puzzles DOES wear out it's welcome around the
    Awesome game but.....
    Does anyone else feel like they've already played this game before? The original Portal is easily one of the best games ever made: It was entertaining, had excellent puzzles, was short enough it didn't wear out it's welcome AND it was easy on the wallet. Now Portal 2, while just as engaging and hilarious with some great puzzles DOES wear out it's welcome around the three hour mark (where the original ended). The puzzles were still clever but i just wasn't as entertained as I was in the first part and the game felt more like work than a fun experience. Great game, but wait till it drops in price.
    Expand
  98. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Singleplayer has interesting puzzles that are always challenging but never feel impossible as well as an improved story. Singleplayer alone would make the game worth buying but with the added co-op the game increases its replay value. A must have for fans of the original, fans of puzzle games, or fans of good games in general.
  99. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    A great continuation of the portal story. It's sad to see users such as "Valvesucks" needlessly bring down the user score when they obviously haven't tried the game.
  100. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    This game is one of "those games". To keep the review short this game is: Fun, Challenging and it has a strong story. If you liked portal 1, then you have to play this game, It has some of those gamer moments where you brain and heart goes "oh **** this is awesome". This game would be a 10 but there is hardly any replay value.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    98
    Portal 2 is a triumph in every sense of the word, a wonderful experience from start to finish and one that you won't soon forget.
  2. May 23, 2011
    90
    Indeed, this is both mathematical and storytelling art-work; it teams a gripping narrative with an inventive gameplay mechanic that makes for an excellent and unforgettable ride.
  3. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    May 22, 2011
    92
    A huge and stunning sequel, as witty as it is brain-bendingly challenging. [July 2011, p.98]