Portal 2 Xbox 360

Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 949 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Valve is working on a full-length sequel to its award-winning, mind-bending puzzle action game for the Xbox 360 and PC.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    100
    Despite being so much bigger than the original, I actually felt a little melancholy once Portal 2 was over, simply because it's so rare to find a game this smart, this funny, and this rich with detail. It elevates Portal from an odd, memorable experiment to one of the most significant series in Valve's stable with a unique voice and an incredible level of quality that all developers should aspire to.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    100
    Genius is an often overused word but Valve's work on Portal 2 is genius in the truest sense. The studio has exhibited exceptional creativity in the game, even compared to some of its other masterpieces. If we could give it 11/10, we would.
  3. May 20, 2011
    100
    A truly spectacular sequel that reaches previously unthinkable heights. Portal 2 is an experience to be cherished and already a strong contender for the best game of 2011. [Issue#72, p.78]
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    Overall, Portal 2 is an absolutely amazing title. Everyone (including myself) was disappointed when Portal 2 was delayed earlier this year, however, it was more than worth the wait. Portal 2 is a masterpiece that I can see myself playing for years.
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    94
    Portal 2 has an enormous warmth that makes it easy to adore, even when you're up against its many frustrating brainteasers. An amazing gameplay experience merged with a very unique, engrossing concept. Truly an exceptional experience that almost any gamer should give at least one go.
  6. May 10, 2011
    90
    Portal 2 is an amazing puzzle game that, thanks to ingenious puzzles and an especially homourous story, keeps you gleud to your screen for hours on end. And you'll play it all with a big smile on your face.
  7. May 2, 2011
    70
    Emancipation complete for Portal, which gets rid of his "bonus game" condition with a second episode that is certainly no revolution but still manages to justify its new status.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 301
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. ThanksPortal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10 Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    It's almost embarrassing how people tend to criticize this game based on it's shortness. I think the critics tend to rush through games toIt's almost embarrassing how people tend to criticize this game based on it's shortness. I think the critics tend to rush through games to give it the fastest possible time as its average. Obviously the graphics had flaws (I did find a couple glitches, including one in Wheatley's 15th chamber that kept me from an achievement), but I think they are still bright, the use of multiple characters was clever, and the complex story, especially compared to the simple Portal, is absolutely brilliant. You can't go wrong with Portal 2. Expand
  3. May 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a lot more fun than the original. I don't agree with reviewers claiming the graphics looked dated, it's definitely an upgrade from the first portal. Is it short? Well, it was longer than I expected so that was refreshing, but once you know how to solve the puzzles, you could probably beat it in 4 hours, but I guarantee you your first run through will not be so easy to pull off. Replay value is HIGH, I'm on my 3rd time through. Co-op is good if you have a friend physically by your side, but it's frustrating online. Gaming with strangers causes frustration and game drops
    The GLaDOS wit is back, and when she's not saying snarky/witty things, you get it from about 3 other characters/voices. The developers have added now portal elements like a light bridge, a anti-gravity tunnel, repulsion gel, acceleration gel, and a white portal enabling gel. These new game dynamics change the way you have to experience the game, and it's quite a fun experience as a result.
    The developer commentary wasn't as involved as the original portal commentary, and lacked observations from the voice over talent. But some of the commentary actually flew right over my head because of how technical it actually was.
    The ending seemed to eliminate the franchise, so that's a bummer. But I really enjoyed this game, and will continue to enjoy the game.
    Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is not just an another puzzle game, it is without a doubt an incredible piece of art which combines clever writing with absolutelyPortal 2 is not just an another puzzle game, it is without a doubt an incredible piece of art which combines clever writing with absolutely perfect gameplay. The core mechanics of portal 1 have been massivly upgraded adding a lot of more variety into the gameplay. The story is a huge improvement from portal 1, there are a lot of more characters in it, it is funnier and the most important thing is the fact that it's over 3-4 times longer than it's predecessor. As a bonus, an spetacular co-operative gamemode was added in which adds even more hours of gameplay. I am not being ridiculous when I say that portal 2s coop mode is easily the best co-operative gameplay you can ever experience in a interactive media. I barely just scraped the surface on why portal 2 could be one of the best games of this year. You can't afford to miss this one. Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    Portal 2 is a very interesting, tricky, strategic, puzzle game. It can be easy and it can hard. It tests your mind in parts of the game andPortal 2 is a very interesting, tricky, strategic, puzzle game. It can be easy and it can hard. It tests your mind in parts of the game and thats basically it. Its all fun and it holds one of the most jaw dropping moments in recent gaming years. "Yeah that just happened". But the reason I've given it a 9 is because once you beat the story and play the multiplayer which tests your working ability with your firends, there really isn't much more you can do. Its fun and you will enjoy it for weeks, but thats just it. Check it out though. Its all worth it for that awesome moment and a pleasent ending. Also the main reason I came on here was the user "downrater" is either a troll or has absolutely no taste in games. He'll give this a zero, all the cods a zero, (but thats kinda understandable considering each new game in series is a rehash of the last one), halo all got zeros, skyrim got a zero, zelda got a zero, mass effect got a zero,
    But the only game he gave a full 10 out of 10 was a World of Warcraft game, that personally really wreaked of suck. I feel like he has no life and has become one of Warcrafts slaves. He can't like anything else sadly.
    Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    I don't understand why everyone's giving this game so bad scores. It Doesn't deserve anything near 4 or lower. Ok so the single player wasn'tI don't understand why everyone's giving this game so bad scores. It Doesn't deserve anything near 4 or lower. Ok so the single player wasn't that long but it was defiantly a very good campaign. It defiantly did more stuff than the first one and generally was a better game over the first. It was humorous, very fun and made you think alot. It wasn't as focused on the test and challenges as the first game but instead went more towards story and expanding its universe. Also co-op is really good as well (if you can find the friend). It supports slit-screen too which makes it a little easier. Co-op is fun interesting and worth every single second. Don't listen to the reviews that say its bad, you will have fun with this game, it is better than the first one and its is worth full retail price. Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2011
    0
    I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatlyI really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu, it feels more like portal 1.5. The puzzles are mostly the same rehashed from the first, the humour is not good either, and if that wasn't enough then think : This game takes about 5-8hrs to complete, that is not very long, every review site has mentioned the the replayability is almost zero, other fps games have multiplayer to extend life, this has a boring co-op that no one would want to bother with, just pointless, only get when the price drops because otherwise people like valve are going to think it's ok to charge big money for a very short game with no point in replaying, a disgrace and a letdown. Dont fall into hype trap, i regret wasting money, dont put yourself in my shoes in a few days time when the game is done and your down money. Expand

See all 301 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: July 1, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  3. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.