Prey Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prey tells the story of Tommy, a Cherokee garage mechanic stuck on a reservation going nowhere. Abducted along with his people to a menacing mothership orbiting Earth, he sets out to save himself and his girlfriend and eventually his planet. [2K Games]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 80
  2. Negative: 2 out of 80
  1. Prey is touted as having an adaptive difficulty system -- the better you are, the better it gets -- and it really did seem to get harder as the game went on. As a result, there are just two difficulty settings, Normal and Cherokee, and I'd advise that even vets might want to give Normal a try on the first run out, letting the game's artificial intelligence pick up the pace to a comfortable level.
  2. Absolutely every aspect of the gameplay design and presentation is simply dripping with quality - the look and feel is totally unique, and the altered gravity, portals, alien weapons and spirit walking all combine to create the finest 360 shooter since "Perfect Dark Zero" at the console's launch.
  3. 85
    A visceral shooter with a great story, superb visuals, and twitch online gameplay should certainly keep players occupied through the hot days of summer.
  4. Although the game is lacking a deeper online game, the single player manages to make up for it with a very good story and good solid action.
  5. On occasion, what no doubt seemed like a crazy-cool idea down the pub just didn't work well in practice (spirit death-defying in particular) and fun has taken the edge off challenge, but you'd have to be an extremist alien sympathiser not to thoroughly enjoy Prey from the moment it sucks you into its viscera to the moment it squeezes you out again.
  6. Prey has enough setpieces to make it worth checking out, even if it’s not particularly compelling overall.
  7. We want interesting levels. We want a variety of enemies that challenge us. We want cool guns to kill them with. Instead, the developers did what they wanted. They put doors on ceilings and tables on walls and little switches to hit to pull you where they want you to go. They forgot everything that makes games fun.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 44
  2. Negative: 6 out of 44
  1. JeffA.
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    Xbox had halo and the 360 has Prey. Superb graphics, characters, weapons, storyline, controls and audio make Prey a must have FPS. 11 years Xbox had halo and the 360 has Prey. Superb graphics, characters, weapons, storyline, controls and audio make Prey a must have FPS. 11 years in the making and it was well worth the wait. The portal technology in the game sets Prey part from any other game and crowns this title as the king of FPS. Expand
  2. juicebox
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    what? gamers are spoiled brats. and the more games they play, the more tainted, i'm afraid, their opinions become. i'm noticingwhat? gamers are spoiled brats. and the more games they play, the more tainted, i'm afraid, their opinions become. i'm noticing people, instead of enjoying the experience of a made game for what it gives, they're comparing the whole experience of playing through the game to games they've played before it. it's a bunch of, "oh, they could have done this better. halo did this better." for instance, i read a guy's review, and he's complaining about there being so few enemy types in prey, so i go back to the same guy's halo review, and there's no mention of there being so few enemy types in that game. so, why is prey getting picked on? i love the game. i've never played anything like it. it's fun. it's pretty. it's one of a kind. if you want something different, give prey a playthrough. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    though the online component has long gone the way of the dodo, this is easily the reason why people should forgive 2K. I Sank a good 35 HOursthough the online component has long gone the way of the dodo, this is easily the reason why people should forgive 2K. I Sank a good 35 HOurs in the first playthrough alone,and im not ashamed to say I think portal is the poor-man's prey. Expand
  4. BrendanN.
    Jul 16, 2006
    8
    The game is short, make no mistake about it. I started playing the game at 2:30 in the afternoon and was IMMEDIATELY pulled into it. The The game is short, make no mistake about it. I started playing the game at 2:30 in the afternoon and was IMMEDIATELY pulled into it. The game, while it lasts is pretty amazing. A little after 11 PM I had finished the game, complete with the after-the-credits surprise. So, it took about 8 and a half hours to finish. What speaks so well to the game's premise is the fact that you don't necessarily die in the game, which makes it that much easier to get wrapped up in the gameplay and forget how long you've been playing. Had I actually died in the game, I may have became so frustrated that I would have put off the ending until tomorrow. It's kind of hard to be frustrated though when the game flows so smoothly between story and spectacle, gore and gaming nirvana. I'm not typically a gamer to spend 10 hours a day on one game, but with a premise like Prey's, it's kind of hard to stop. Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    One of the 360's first hugely hyped exclusives, Prey was something of a disappointment. It was a nice showcase of the console's hardwareOne of the 360's first hugely hyped exclusives, Prey was something of a disappointment. It was a nice showcase of the console's hardware capabilities but ultimately far from being Microsoft's next Halo. Prey's well-delivered story and ambitious scope are hindered by the somewhat clunky and unpolished gameplay. Worth renting or picking up cheap on PC. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2012
    6
    Prey is an intriguing game with a mind-bending concept, but that's all it really is. You can tell it's been in development for a long timePrey is an intriguing game with a mind-bending concept, but that's all it really is. You can tell it's been in development for a long time because everything feels VERY old-school. However, this isn't a bad thing because it means there are less distractions. It's extremely linear, with no objective but to go through the level. Environments aren't particularly varied either. It's simple and minimalistic, with the story being the only thing that holds it all together; albeit it's not very innovative. Character models and some environments are lacking in detail, and there is a severe frame rate drop at some points. It's a very dark game and environments don't really give the graphics a chance to shine, even though id Tech 4 has so much more to offer. It's not a long game, and the quality is very mediocre. However, even with all that taken into account, Prey is worth playing because there's nothing really like it in this generation of shooters- not on Xbox 360 anyway. Sometimes it's just nice to get away from the standards of modern shooters and play something from the 1990s. Expand
  7. ShaneS.
    Jul 19, 2006
    0
    I hate it when crappy games are hyped to death like this. How many freakin PrwaY previews have been shoved down my throat over the last few I hate it when crappy games are hyped to death like this. How many freakin PrwaY previews have been shoved down my throat over the last few months by gaming sites? Instead of actually working on making a good game, the developers simply hype it to death. Then when they release subpar garbage all the critics give it a much higher score than it deserves because they WANT to believe that the game isn't garbage. So many of the 80ish reveiws come from critics that are in denial about how bad the game actually is. Without the hype it would have garnered downright horrible scores. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.