Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    PES Productions demonstrates a deep understanding of how to go about recreating the feel of exiting and modern soccer. Hopefully, next they will show us how good it can look, too. Until then, I´m pretty happy to sink my teeth into this one.
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    88
    No one was expecting a PES like this. Finally, after some years of agony, Konami's game returns in great shape.
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    88
    In the great football war, Pro Evo may come up short to rival FIFA when it comes to an across-the-board feature set, but I think the gameplay is better in Konami's title. With this iteration Konami is inching the franchise forward by both refining its product while not being afraid to try new things.
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    90
    A good improvement on last year's PES, but still lacking the polish to be top dog again. [Dec 2012, p.70]
  5. Sep 25, 2012
    89
    Slowly Konami is starting to enhance its soccer experience and with PES 2013 we've finally got a good product that still misses some of the best features we'd like to see in a soccer game.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Due to AI improvements and better pathing of the players, PES 2013 feels smoother than last year's incarnation of the series. Add new features like PES Full Control or player ID and you get the best PES so far on next generation consoles. Too bad though that the AI still tends to be absent in some situations and that the graphics haven't been improved since 2010.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    90
    A wonderful return to form. [Issue#90, p.80]
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    This game is trying to be like fifa when konami realized that everybody was migrating to fifa, but the game still terrible like the otherThis game is trying to be like fifa when konami realized that everybody was migrating to fifa, but the game still terrible like the other version. The gameplay is terrible, like the phisics Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    this is easily the best pro evo since pes 6 a much welcome return to the good old days. the graphics are superb as ever and the game play isthis is easily the best pro evo since pes 6 a much welcome return to the good old days. the graphics are superb as ever and the game play is drastically slowed down but it makes the game so much more compelling to play Full Review »
  3. Oct 7, 2012
    6
    If you are new to the game, don't take it too seriously, and don't play online, then this might seem like a sublime football game. I howeverIf you are new to the game, don't take it too seriously, and don't play online, then this might seem like a sublime football game. I however am not new to the game, I do tend to take it seriously, and I do play online. So whilst Pro Evo 2013 does indeed offer blistering good playability with a pace of action that can have your heart jumping out of your chest, all this is meaningless when Konami yet again have proved inept at balancing the AI engine. Whilst they have seen fit to make crossed balls and heading totally pointless this year, they have totally overpowered the dribbling ability in the game which once again, just like the old days, means that competitve PES is basically a rat fight between penalty boxes as the two opposition robotically and unrelentlessly push to score as many easy tap ins as they can within a 10 minute game. Sure, PES can play a stunning game of football, but if you are interested in winning, it is totally necessary to bypass the game engine and exploit exploit exploit. Konami fail once again. Full Review »