User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 86
  2. Negative: 9 out of 86
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobbyFisher
    Oct 31, 2008
    5
    The only really positive thing I can say about this game is the in air stunts. Aside from that, this game is terrible. Once you complete the game and rank number 1 out of 100, the game just ends. Online play is bad too. I purchased this game and sold it a week later in blockbuster at a 30% loss.. It's a great rental but a useless purchase.
  2. SjaakB
    Oct 30, 2008
    6
    This game isn't for me. Physics are too simple and I don't get any feel of speed in this game. If you're terrible bad at race games then this is the game for you. If you're looking for a good arcade racer: try flatout
  3. ApocalypseBrown
    Oct 9, 2008
    7
    Never really played SSX but was looking forward to playing this after the demo, but is it a good game? The answer is it depends on what your after, if it's pure fun with thrills and shiny whistles then this is for you. If your a serious racer looking for depth and a challenge, then stay clear. I fall into the latter category, so after two weeks I was bored stiff. Online is brilliant Never really played SSX but was looking forward to playing this after the demo, but is it a good game? The answer is it depends on what your after, if it's pure fun with thrills and shiny whistles then this is for you. If your a serious racer looking for depth and a challenge, then stay clear. I fall into the latter category, so after two weeks I was bored stiff. Online is brilliant though, as 16 players tricking and flying dangerously over cliffs is a rush, however there is no depth in gameplay what so ever. What you get on the first play is exactly what you'll get on the last play. So either you like a fun shallow game, or you don't! Your choice..... Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2010
    7
    Nothing special. Limited to quad bikes. Good Tracks but can become very complicated. Especially if you just want a classic racing game. Don't bother buying unless its less than a tenner.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    This game is not great, I understand why some people like it, but although I like racing games this was fun but it gets boring quickly and is not worth buying. I only got it because it came as a bundle copy with my lego Batman.
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    Short, fun, relaxing. Being surrounded by games that want me to take them seriously it is a welcomed breathe of fresh air to play something where the decisions don't hold a huge amount of risk. Crashing from 150ft in the air trying to cram three tricks into a combo where you barely could have had two, only to reset yourself and go for it off the next jump is extremely gratifying. The paceShort, fun, relaxing. Being surrounded by games that want me to take them seriously it is a welcomed breathe of fresh air to play something where the decisions don't hold a huge amount of risk. Crashing from 150ft in the air trying to cram three tricks into a combo where you barely could have had two, only to reset yourself and go for it off the next jump is extremely gratifying. The pace of the game is perfect in my opinion; there was not a point where I felt that my ATV was limited or that I didn't get enough time to practice in the lower class. I think what held it back was how forgiving it was (even towards then end), and redundancy of the races. Motorstorm made you work your ass off and put down a perfect lap to win the last few events and I felt that the skill level required did not ramp up at the same pace in Pure. Being limited to a Freestyle, Race, and Spring got to be monotonous after a while but due to the length of the game I never felt like I was grinding. All this combined with some pretty environments and a half decent soundtrack made this a good one sitting game. This is definitely something to play with friends but I don't know if I would go back to it by myself. Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2016
    7
    Pure is a solid ATV racer.

    The gameplay is good,with great controls,decent physics,and well-designed tracks with a variety of race types. The graphics are good,with a good framerate that stutters occasionally.You can also completely create your own ATV's from scratch. The sound design and soundtrack are okay. Overall,Pure is a good game that just falls short of being considered
    Pure is a solid ATV racer.

    The gameplay is good,with great controls,decent physics,and well-designed tracks with a variety of race types.

    The graphics are good,with a good framerate that stutters occasionally.You can also completely create your own ATV's from scratch.

    The sound design and soundtrack are okay.

    Overall,Pure is a good game that just falls short of being considered a competitor in the racing game genre.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Gameplay depth comes from mastering the basic skills..., but none of this is overcomplicated: Pure delivers that prized "pick up and play" experience with several shots of adrenaline. [Oct 2008, p.72]
  2. It looks gorgeous, it has an addictive ‘one more turn’ feel to it, and it has a truly awesome soundtrack packed full of some seriously phat beats. At the end of the day, Pure is a shinning example of an arcade experience done right and it delivers on this with big air, big thrills, and a whole lotta dirt.
  3. The game achieves its core focus, taking you along for a thrilling ride. [Oct 2008, p.103]