User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 139

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    Multiplayer Review - So far so good. If you like tearing zombies down with your friends and waves with increasing difficulty, you should get his DLC, im just talking about the multiplayer part since I have not played the single player campaing. I bought this game 3 weeks ago and this DLC came in the nick of time. Didn't hesitate to get the undead pack wich includes all the dlc.

    I got to
    wave 26 with 3 other online players, the dificulty till wave 15 was ok, after that I could sense how hard it was to kill even the normal zombies (there are 4 types of zombies) at wave 26 I found myselft throwing dinamite like crazy to get them off me and running and yelling at my room like a 13 year old little girl (which I'm not lol).

    I am only reviewing the multiplayer and will surely update this review when I play the single player experience.

    its fun to free roam as a zombie grunting at people...
    Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    Undead Nightmare picks up where Red Dead Redemption ended (sans the last few missions obviously). Awesome story, music and theme. Even though it can be cheesy and insane at times, this is how DLC should be made, 800 MS points for a full-length, action-packed gaming experience.
  3. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best DLC ever ! It has everything; from a story mode wide and long; to an addictive multiplayer mode so far so good, Rockstar Games really know what they want their fans.
  4. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    This expansion came at the best possible time. It adds so much to the game for such a minimal price, standing as the antithesis to Fallout: New Vegas. Where New Vegas charges $60 for a game that is almost identical to Fallout 3 (except with glitches), Rockstar is charging $10 for a new, separate campaign filled with new enemy types, music, atmospheric effects, weapons, modes and more. I know it's kind of crappy to knock one game in favor of another, but Rockstar clearly respects gamers in a way that most others do not: financially. Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    7
    It was fine but a bit too expensive if you ask me. Boring and repetitive mission objectives and its over rather quickly as well. If you really love RDR then you will enjoy it but other then that, I would pass on it.
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome. I've bought a lot of DLC in the past 2 years but this & Bad Company 2:Vietnam have had the most bang for their buck in my opinion. Undead Nightmare is a whole new game. I was a little put off by how easy some of the bosses were to defeat (Mordecai,Drew McFarlane), but then I was attacked by a horde & 3 zombie Grizzly Bears so I'd say if you're for a challenge the game will definitely serve you up one. Same great game, but with zombies. The horses start possessed, but eventually you notice that the infected horses handle a little bit better sometimes than the ones in the original RDR. For the price I would highly recommend picking this up. If you haven't played the first one don't fret. This whole game is kind of like an alternate universe to the first Red Dead game. You don't have to play the first one to understand this one, but just because you played the first one won't make the story that much better. Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    All I can say is great job Rockstar for proving what DLC should be. A meaningful game expansion that doesn't leave you feeling jipped. Compare this to what other developers give you for pitiful hour long expansions and you'll really appreciate whats on offer here.
  8. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    This is a DLC? Are you sure? Am I sure? Because I don't remember a DLC this awesome. I still can't believe it's only £6.50 on Xbox Live. When I was playing this, I thought it was a full game. This is pretty much the best DLC to be ever released yet. It's so lengthy and so packed with hours and hours of fun that it is completely unbelievable that this amazing game is a DLC. The story, from what I've played was as good and compelling as the original and even though I am not keen on zombie games, I'd never had so much fun shooting zombies. Again, best DLC ever made. Expand
  9. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    The Undead Package add another side to the whole Red Dead Redemption theme. The Story alone for Undead is brilliant despite being a bit intense at times. It gives you another chance to play with one of my favourite game characters, John Marston. The Story is around 6 hours long roughly around the same as the main Campaign in Black Ops. So for an Add on it really give you some more time on this great game. The online in my opinon is better than the classic one. Its brilliant fun to take on a horde of zombies with your mates. A definet must have for any kind or Red Dead fan. And at only 800 microsoft points which is about £8 so a fantastic bargin for the Best Add on of the year so far. Expand
  10. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    You can't go wrong when you place the entertaining undead into the stunning Red Dead Redemption scenery! Can you?

    Combining a great and beautiful free roam experience with the horror genre has resulted in something very fine indeed! Plenty of action for both single player and on-line means you are getting your money's worth as this is without question one of, if not the most, the best
    value DLC expansions this year! With glory though comes some negative points, you can expect some repetitive tasks and a lot of running around slaving for people - Fine, if you are into that sort of thing. However, this is overlooked by the fact that the further the "story" uncovers, less and less makes sense...Perhaps I was expecting too much realism from a game with mythical creatures! In conclusion, Although it doesn't make the best sense at time, its still a great fun and a bargain at that. Definitely a must for the red dead fan-base!!! Expand
  11. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    One of the best single player DLC's I've ever played. For 800 MS points (a measly $10), you get a brand new adventure complete with story missions, stranger missions, weapons, challenges, outfits, mounts, multiplayer characters and 2 new online modes (Undead Overrun and Land Grab). The story missions won't take you very long to finish, but gaining 100% completion will take well over 11 hours. The single player adventure makes many witty references to the main game and throws in some truly humorous cut scenes. Undead Overrun is probably the most addicting multiplayer mode in the game and it can become insanely difficult in the later waves. The bang for your buck factor is astronomical. This DLC contains more content than most $60 games do today. Download it...NOW!!

    WARNING: I highly recommend finishing the main game before even starting Undead Nightmare..many important plot points are used in the DLC and you WILL be spoiled if you decide to play the add-on first.
    Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best Zombie DLC packs ever made, this is the only DLC pack rockstar have released and they did extremely well for a first time. The DLC pack Undead Nightmare has the sandbox layout like the orgininal, They made the atmosphere perfect along with Wondering zombies and Special infected, undead animals such as bears, cougers, birds, and horses etc, Throughout the game you also have dead towns, burning buildings and people screaming for your help while you pass and splatter the zombies brains all over the muddy ground. The story begins at your home in the Northern part, your wife and son get bitten by a zombie. you tie your family to the bed and set off the see if you can find a cure to this plague. you head straight to blackwater and start to burn coffins to cleanse the earth, after hearing Hennigans Stead is under attack by the undead, after finishing business there, you head to Armadillo and fix things there, and head to Mexico etc. Rockstar have also given people a secret suprise as in The Four Horses Of The Apocalyse.
    I can conclude that this DLC pack is well worth the money, it is a little buggy though, but either system will fix this in time.
    Expand
  13. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    This game is insanely fun, and the best DLC I've ever bought in my entire life. You spend a lot of time running around saving towns and doing various missions. Each mission is super fun and always makes the story advance. Saving towns maybe can get a little repetitive, but every now and then you'll hit a pretty hard town that will have you on the edge of your seat and having a lot of fun. Oh, and I forgot to mention, the voice acting and mouth syncing is superb, although some of the sound effects could use some work. My last complaint is the ending seemed a little flat and the last level was extremely easy. There are a lot of hilarious side quests too, that in my opinion are a lot more fun than the side quests in the original game. The flaws of this game are too few and far between to do a lot to hinder this game, it was a fantastic play and I enjoyed it a lot. Expand
  14. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    This is a great add-on to a spectacular game that introduces some fun Halloween, zombie-themed humor. It's an interesting twist to the story and it's pretty enjoyable both in the single and multiplayer fronts, though I found the single player to be a touch repetitive. That said, it's an excellent way to spend a few hours. And it's zombies, who can hate on zombies?
  15. May 2, 2011
    8
    Zombies have invaded many titles over the years, and now they've invaded the world of Red Dead Redemption, just like Borderlands The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned, this is a downloadable add-on, and offers a lot of bang for your buck pricing at $10 or 800 Microsoft points depending on your system of choice, it's a lot of fun, and offers a lot of play time, and some cool multiplayer modes, my only complaints are that the story behind it all is incredibly lame, and it gets really repetitive with all your quests being just fetch quests or clearing out graveyards, so even though it's got it's flaws the charm of Red Dead Redemption and Zombies ultimately make this a great DLC, the only reason I can find not to buy this is if you just don't like Red Dead Redemption or Zombies, a great DLC. Expand
  16. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    This expansion pack is like getting a whole new game. It's completely seperate from the main game. There is also the addition of new weapons, and zombies lot's of zombies. Awesome!!
  17. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    This is the best dlc I ever purchased. For $10 I have an unlimited time cutting down zombies. Who doesn't enjoy that? It's like a whole new game. The change in the artwork atmosphere and music was spot on to give it that horror feel. Limited ammo while your keeping back the undead really makes it an intensive game experience. I've been burned on dlc before, but this one is definitly worth it and more. Expand
  18. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    Undead Nightmare changes what you come to expect from DLC. In changing the entire game world, UN creates a fully-fledged alternate story that makes great use of existing characters by seeing what effect this strange situation would have on their lives. New side missions are also added along with new multiplayer modes. The value on offer here is incredible and well worth it.
  19. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    I can barely believe that this is just DLC. Undead Nightmare is hilarious, fun and proof that the addition of zombies can make almost anything better.
  20. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    Rockstar's DLC for one of 2010's top games is one of the best DLC I have ever played on any system. For the $10 I spent on this DLC, I got 12 hours of single player fun and additional multiplayer fun if you choose to go online. The story is cheesy, but in a good way, Rockstar had fun with this title as it manages to include zombies, unicorns, and pokes twisted fun at possible reasons for this zombie apocalypse. The missions are fun and there are plenty of challenges and side quests to keep you entertained. The graphics are just as Red Dead Redemption, just with new enemies, creatures, and the towns are usually in flames now. The music and voice acting are top notch in the DLC, and I only experienced one minor glitch, but it didn't hinder my experience in the slightest. If you so choose, Rockstar has also included a new mode for online that pits you and your friends against oncoming horde waves of zombies, with the difficulty increasing as you go. The multiplayer is just as fun as the campaign, which if you don't do the sidequest or challenges will last probably around 6-7 hours. If you are expecting a serious game about John Marston, you will be disappointed. But if enjoy the cheesiness Rockstar throws at you and can sit back and laugh at the twisted dialogue, then there should be no reason to pass up on this great deal. Expand
  21. Jul 11, 2011
    8
    Born/created in a time when Zombies were taking over the gaming community, I found Undead Nightmare to be the cream of the crop. I really enjoyed this but the only reason why I found this only semi appealing is because nearly 1/4th of the way through the actual story, I found a way to 'cheat' my way through the game. Despite that, 'cheat' I realized the game does have some great length of difficulty especially on hard. Expand
  22. May 12, 2011
    10
    10/10
    This is what DLC should be! No one does it better then Rockstar and hey.....zombies! Who can argue with Red Dead with zombies??? No one I tell you!
  23. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    R* is the DLC king of games.

    Every dlc has as much effort and focus put into it as the retail game.

    This is no exception.

    The game looks gorgeous, and who doesnt like killing zombies?
  24. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best zombie games i've ever played. 800 Microsoft points get's you a lot with this pack.
    Plus everytime you get out of a saved city, the landscape becomes dreary, nightmare-ish, and dark.
    Landscape=AWESOME
    Gameplay= Spot on!
    Atmosphere= GREAT!
    Rockstar made this also seem like a very cheesy horror movie.
  25. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Even though the game is very dark and creepy, it is still pretty awesome. I personally like zombie movies and games, but this is different. It is John Marston fighting zombies, which takes some time to get used to if you've played the first game. But if you like creepy and dark video games and like Read Dead Redemption, this is the game for you.
  26. HLR
    Aug 1, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wonderful DLC.Killing zombies is what i absolutely love in a video game and RDRUN gave me the opportunity to do that.I bought it for 20 euros only and the wonderful storyline,interesting characters,awesome graphics and landmarks made me wanna play the original RDR which i bought for just 25 euros.That's why i love xbox. Expand
  27. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    This add on content is excellent, especially for the low price. A brand new campaign, and new multiplayer modes and characters. With this content, expect the same map, but with zombies. There is also a 4 player co-op, where you fight endless waves of zombies. Although the zombie combat can get a bit repetitive, there is much to do that will satisfy your needs for fun. I recommend this pack to anyone who loves Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  28. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    Undead Nightmare is western zombie bloodbath, but is it a fun add-on for the awesome Red Dead Redemption? Its a great dlc for zombie lovers and for RDR lovers! The whole story is about 5-6 hours long witch is great for 800 microsoft points. The story is alright, but its not the point of the game. Music and gameplay are fantastic. What I love most about it is the things you can do witch you can't do in RDR, like hunting for bigfoots, clearing towns and gravyards of the undead. One real big problem is the new fustrating glitches. One when I was ready to watch a cut scene and all I see is a black screen with people talking, very annoying. Now multiplayer wise, we got this survival mod witch you must survive eaves and waves of undead hordes of zombies, sometimes even tense cand great game mode. Overall great dlc with aglitches stoping it from being amazing. Red Dead Redemption: Undead Nightmare 8.7/10 Expand
  29. May 4, 2012
    7
    Red dead redemption is an awesome game, but this undead nightmare is just a pack of expansion that should be able to download for free and not to resell as another game, the game is good but is the same places, same people, same game, just with a few new toys, missions and enemies that just get boring after a few hours, so I feel I paid twice for one game.
  30. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    Well Rockstar cut out all that boring escort missions (hold A button) and not having to go from one side of the map to the other for flowers and mission based stuff was a relief. Also probably why Nightmare was so short to complete. Fast travel works alot better no more insanely boring lengthy horse rides. Great fun to play, but it does suffer from huge FPS hits in certain areas and when using certain mounts. Expand
  31. May 23, 2012
    10
    BEST DLC besides Walking Dead, and it is only 800 MSP. This is just perfect... the perfect DLC for the perfect game! I had really a ot fun with it, singleplayer or multiplayer does not matter - it is just so good and you will be addicted hours to it. ROCKSTAR ROCKS!
  32. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    I love this pack, it is probably the best zombie "game" I have played, hell I play this more than the main game haha. This pack is defiantly worth buying, even if you don't like the whole zombie apocalypse stories.
  33. Jan 19, 2014
    6
    Let's start whit the singleplayer it sucks everything sucks about it the AI the story the side-missions,the random encouters,the gameplay and the most of all the challenges.It's all just some **** excuse for more DLC could they not have planned it out better?And the challenges just piss you of it's only worth buying it if you want all the multiplayer DLC and a new zombies mode that is only fun until level 10 when all the zombies have 100000 health pionts.The world in the singleplayer is just boring and dark nothing is fun everybody is just moaning,screaming and crying while you kill everyone it's just killing or getting something to someone.John bring me that you just would like to cut their heads off.But the multiplayer is another thing it's much more fun to with all the new maps,guns,gang hidouts,charactres,missions etc.If you want this dlc it's only worth buying for the multiplayer and if you want a good game buy red dead redemption instead. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    60
    Those who can't get enough of Red Dead's wild west action or zombies might want to give Undead Nightmare a spin. There's a lot of game here for 800 Microsoft points, and while it's rarely as compelling as the main title, there's still some fun to be had in watching John Marsten shoot zombies in the head.
  2. 90
    Red Dead's outstanding DLC in a box. Simple as.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    85
    Undead Nightmare may sound gimmicky at first, but it quickly becomes clear that Rockstar spared no expense creating what is arguably one of the best DLCs of all time. It's not just the sheer amount of content that's included, but also the method in which said content drastically renovates the Red Dead experience in an exciting and meaningful way.