User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2047 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 5, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off itThis game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off it has amazing multiplayer to boot, this is no doubt one of the best games of 2010, and a must play, right now you're probably asking "if it's so perfect why not a 10?', there is a few flaws holding it back, like a few glitches, long load times, and the fact that riding everywhere takes up a lot of time and can get boring, but those are easily overlooked, this game is just shy of perfection, I can't think of anyone I wouldn't highly recommend this too. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    As civilization begins to encroach on the Wild West reformed outlaw John Martson is threatened by federal Marshalls and forced to pick up his guns in order hunt down the gang of criminals he once called friends.
    In terms of open world settings Rockstar have outdone even GTA IV for epic scale with the breathtaking, expansive and diverse landscape providing the perfect background for the
    As civilization begins to encroach on the Wild West reformed outlaw John Martson is threatened by federal Marshalls and forced to pick up his guns in order hunt down the gang of criminals he once called friends.
    In terms of open world settings Rockstar have outdone even GTA IV for epic scale with the breathtaking, expansive and diverse landscape providing the perfect background for the games story to take place. Despite some slightly overly long journeys between destinations the player’s interest in the games narrative is easily maintained thanks to a set of characters that are also amongst Rockstars best.

    In terms of gameplay Red Dead Redemption sticks pretty close to the now familiar template. Characters with missions that need completing can be seen on the in game map and once accessed further instructions are provided. While the primary focus is obviously on shooting there is a far greater variety in these missions than in the latest in the GTA series. The run, gun and cover system is virtually lifted straight from GTA IV including an auto-aim that can be switched off for those after a real challenge. This, along with a limited bullet time mechanic, is largely successful at allowing the player to feel like a hot shot gunslinger without making the game too easy.

    On top of the single-player campaign a generous number of co-op and competitive multi-player modes are also available. After all the pre-launch hype it is disappointing to realise that these don't really compete with the best online shooters but they certainly provide an entertaining distraction from John Marston’s story.
    With a charismatic lead character and hours of gameplay Red Dead Redemption is amongst Rockstars greatest achievements.
    Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    6
    the challenges in the game are stupid . HELLO ! get on with the western man killing his target people .
    way confusing . this game is a cowboy killing not retarted fun challenges . Grade C- maybe a D
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Clearly this is a game that was meant to be the wet dream of every gamer that is a huge fan of westerns and the GTA series. Judging from public opinion, that's exactly what it is. As to myself. I HATE westerns! To be honest, the only westerns that I remotely like are usually comedies. As to the GTA part: I'm not a huge fan of that franchise but I do like the series and I've enjoyedClearly this is a game that was meant to be the wet dream of every gamer that is a huge fan of westerns and the GTA series. Judging from public opinion, that's exactly what it is. As to myself. I HATE westerns! To be honest, the only westerns that I remotely like are usually comedies. As to the GTA part: I'm not a huge fan of that franchise but I do like the series and I've enjoyed everyone so far to some extent. So, even with my hatred towards westerns *pauses* I actually liked this game. It's by far one of the best games Rockstar has released to date. Great characters, Great story, great gameplay, and such a huge variety of things to do and places to explore. The only reasons I don't score this any higher are primarily because of mty detestment towards westerns, and also because as great as this game is, it also doesn't do too much that we haven't seen before somewhere else, this includes the story (I may hate westerns, but that doesn't mean I haven't seen any.) Overall: My personal grievances aside, this is a great game and deserves to be in everyone's collection. If I can like it, anyone can. Expand
  5. May 31, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead Redemption stands on top on many of my games and i appreciate the marvelous work that Rockstar has made. Very similar to GTA in terms, both are sandbox. The dialogue is amazing, very real if i say, incredible graphics are beautiful in all aspects. Wild West never looked so good , so if you want a great story line, great action, exploration all well mixed up this is worth looking out. Oh yeah , and the end will be memorable . Hope so. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    It was actually pretty good. The gameplay was fun and I enjoyed playing it. The mission objectives are a bit too repetitive, There are quite a few bugs and glitches (some of that freeze the game and force you to shut it down and restart it), and the gameplay doesnt feature much for originality (far too similar to GTA, yes I know its made by the same company). Other then that it was goodIt was actually pretty good. The gameplay was fun and I enjoyed playing it. The mission objectives are a bit too repetitive, There are quite a few bugs and glitches (some of that freeze the game and force you to shut it down and restart it), and the gameplay doesnt feature much for originality (far too similar to GTA, yes I know its made by the same company). Other then that it was good and well worth playing. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    A Rockstar novamente nunca decepciona, e com certeza Red Dead Redemption um dos seus melhores jogos. A História, personagens e gráficos e sem contar a imensidão de seu mundo aberto fabuloso.
  8. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    It was good, Not as great as everyone made it out to be but it was well worth playing. Had a fair share of annoying bugs and glitches and a campaign filled with repetitive objectives though. Other then that it was fine.
  9. May 4, 2015
    10
    Here is a game that came out in 2010 and it still holds up today.

    This game is just a fantastic masterpiece of awesomeness. The main character of the game is straight a bad-ass, taking no sh't from anybody that come in his way. The graphs in the game are gorgeous to look at, always taking my breath way every time I play the game. My only problems are some missions are a bit silly
    Here is a game that came out in 2010 and it still holds up today.

    This game is just a fantastic masterpiece of awesomeness.

    The main character of the game is straight a bad-ass, taking no sh't from anybody that come in his way. The graphs in the game are gorgeous to look at, always taking my breath way every time I play the game. My only problems are some missions are a bit silly like: Chase after a guy who took something no important from somebody, something like that. Overall Red Dead redemption is a lot of fun to play and something about riding your horse in the middle of the western desert relaxes me.
    Expand
  10. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    A bold and confident game that perfectly recreates its setting. RDR doesn't feel like it has to keep players in a constant adrenaline rush, instead focusing on realism and authenticity. The story is interesting even if takes a while to truly take off. It looks amazing and the soundtrack is fantastic. The voice acting and writing are some of the best you'll see in a video game. MultiplayerA bold and confident game that perfectly recreates its setting. RDR doesn't feel like it has to keep players in a constant adrenaline rush, instead focusing on realism and authenticity. The story is interesting even if takes a while to truly take off. It looks amazing and the soundtrack is fantastic. The voice acting and writing are some of the best you'll see in a video game. Multiplayer doesn't feel tacked on and gives players a nice change of pace. It also has a nice balance of co-operative and competitive game modes. RDR has a huge amount of excellent content and is genuinely a must-buy. Expand
  11. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a good example on how to make a fantastic game and Rockstar show's that example once again with their games. The campaign in RDR is amazing and ecery mission means something. And the multiplayer is fantastic and a lot to choose from game modes. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 9/10 Red Dead Redemtion 9.7/10
  12. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    red dead redemption is undoubtedly the best game of 2010, it is a game that unanimous merce any marks to give to him, is like a gta larger, old-west and not thieves, should I say more?
  13. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Most definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I really like the grand theft auto series but I think this is better than gta IV. They're both amazing but personally I just like the feel of red dead more than gta. Maybe because I've played several gta's and only one red dead so it sticks out to me more. I got so involved with the characters which made the ending that much moreMost definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I really like the grand theft auto series but I think this is better than gta IV. They're both amazing but personally I just like the feel of red dead more than gta. Maybe because I've played several gta's and only one red dead so it sticks out to me more. I got so involved with the characters which made the ending that much more powerful. Amazing. Probably a game I will come back to quite a few times later in life. Expand
  14. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    We all know that Rockstar can make some awesome open world games, however Red Dead Redemption might just be their best work.
    There are many reasons why this game is fantastic. The story perfectly meshes with the whole wild west theme of the game, as does the music. All the characters you meet are unique, very well acted, and memorable. The gameplay is terrific and never gets stale, not
    We all know that Rockstar can make some awesome open world games, however Red Dead Redemption might just be their best work.
    There are many reasons why this game is fantastic. The story perfectly meshes with the whole wild west theme of the game, as does the music. All the characters you meet are unique, very well acted, and memorable. The gameplay is terrific and never gets stale, not even 30 hours into the game. Really, the best part of this game is just riding your horse through Mexico without any destination in mind just to take in the scenery.

    An awesome game all around

    9.4/10
    Expand
  15. Dec 7, 2013
    6
    Being late to begin this game I thought I should of started after hearing the amazing reviews the game got. Needless to say I was disappointed. I hated the shooting mechanics which were similar to Gta's (too easy) the story became boring at about half way making the game feel like a chore. The only interesting thing about this game was the excellent characters and voice acting other thenBeing late to begin this game I thought I should of started after hearing the amazing reviews the game got. Needless to say I was disappointed. I hated the shooting mechanics which were similar to Gta's (too easy) the story became boring at about half way making the game feel like a chore. The only interesting thing about this game was the excellent characters and voice acting other then that the game was extremely repetitive. I would not recommend this game to anyone, don't waste your time and money. Expand
  16. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Again, Rockstar blows our minds. Grand Theft Auto IV was probably a top 10 game of all time on Xbox 360 and this is just another one. Everything goes right in this game. there were a few avoidable and forgettable problems with Grand theft auto IV and this just threw em out
  17. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another GrandOne of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another Grand Theft Auto game. Expand
  18. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Although it doesn't offer the multiplayer experience that GTA IV presented, it is by far Rockstar's best game, and one of my favorites as well. Rockstar takes all of the defining elements of their previous games and makes one incredible experience.
  19. May 31, 2013
    6
    I was never totally convinced with this game. There are points where it's absolutely beautiful, compelling and absorbing. There are other times where it's frustrating, cheap and shoddy. Which ever side of the fence you sit on, you're going to see at its core a great game. But at times it fails to deliver with its average control scheme, poor combat system, lacking A.I and missons whichI was never totally convinced with this game. There are points where it's absolutely beautiful, compelling and absorbing. There are other times where it's frustrating, cheap and shoddy. Which ever side of the fence you sit on, you're going to see at its core a great game. But at times it fails to deliver with its average control scheme, poor combat system, lacking A.I and missons which some times feel like a pain. These are just some things I didn't like about the game on a personal level which is a shame, because the game is very likeable. I can see why it's so famous but for me, it was average. Expand
  20. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    Is this GTA set in the old west?Yes,yes it is.
    An amazing game in a great setting.With great visuals,story,sound and gameplay this is one of the years best games.If you love westerns with Deadwood,Unforgiven and Clint Eastwood amongst many others,you will adore RDR.However,I found that after 20 or 30 hours the game became a bit of a chore.
    The story seems to drop off and the usual
    Is this GTA set in the old west?Yes,yes it is.
    An amazing game in a great setting.With great visuals,story,sound and gameplay this is one of the years best games.If you love westerns with Deadwood,Unforgiven and Clint Eastwood amongst many others,you will adore RDR.However,I found that after 20 or 30 hours the game became a bit of a chore.
    The story seems to drop off and the usual Rockstar mission structure started to bore me and getting to the end was a relief really.
    That being said,hire or buy?I don't care,just play it!
    Expand
  21. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    I never played a western shooter before, but rockstar nails the western genre perfectly. I loved how different areas reflected different topography of the western states. The visual graphics are stunning. I never got tired of seeing the sunset. The only problems I had with the game was that most of the characters gave me the creeps and that the plot line was so ambiguous that I never feltI never played a western shooter before, but rockstar nails the western genre perfectly. I loved how different areas reflected different topography of the western states. The visual graphics are stunning. I never got tired of seeing the sunset. The only problems I had with the game was that most of the characters gave me the creeps and that the plot line was so ambiguous that I never felt like I had a family that I was trying to save. Not much replay value for me though. Expand
  22. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I did not play Red Dead Redemption when it was originally released. I regret that, as it is one of the best games I have played in a long time. Unbelievable singleplayer and multiplayer.
  23. May 7, 2015
    10
    This game is very amazing

    PROS
    -Amazing story
    -Great Graphics
    -Huge world to explore

    CONS
    -None .
  24. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I am of the mindset that this ranks among the greatest games ever made. It's games like this that make me sad that there is no 'Academy Award' for video games. This game surely deserves an oscar simply based on it's writing alone. One of the most gripping experiences I have ever had.
  25. May 22, 2015
    8
    Red Dead Redemption offers a fairly vast open world with an authentic western feel to the environment, music, gameplay, and dialogue. The gunplay is great but it's rediculous how many men you shoot on and off horseback. It just gets annoying after long enough. Also, there isn't a whole lot to do aside from side missions. you can hunt, play cards...uh...there's probably some other stuff butRed Dead Redemption offers a fairly vast open world with an authentic western feel to the environment, music, gameplay, and dialogue. The gunplay is great but it's rediculous how many men you shoot on and off horseback. It just gets annoying after long enough. Also, there isn't a whole lot to do aside from side missions. you can hunt, play cards...uh...there's probably some other stuff but that's all I can even think of offhand. For the repetitveness of the shootouts and the lack of fun things to do out in the game's vast fields (along with the annoyingly long horseback rides to the majority of objectives), I can't agee that this game is a masterpeice, although I can see why some think it is. Still, it's a great game with a good story, fun shooting, and, like I said, a very authentic western feel to it. On top of single player is the sandbox multiplayer, which adds a decent deal of value to the game. Play it but don't expect to be blown away. Expand
  26. May 30, 2013
    8
    I am not a fan of Grand Theft Auto or Rockstar, but this was a well put together game. I enjoyed running around as a gunslinger and killing people for my noble quest of rescuing my family. John Marston is an awesome character and is well developed. This easily offers 40+ hours of gameplay, but once you finish the campaign and side missions, there isn't a whole lot left to do. However itI am not a fan of Grand Theft Auto or Rockstar, but this was a well put together game. I enjoyed running around as a gunslinger and killing people for my noble quest of rescuing my family. John Marston is an awesome character and is well developed. This easily offers 40+ hours of gameplay, but once you finish the campaign and side missions, there isn't a whole lot left to do. However it does have multiplayer so there is some stuff to do. Worth checking out. Expand
  27. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    To whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit ofTo whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit of repetition in some parts of the game, I found that it was a massive and rewarding experience.
    The only thing I didn't really like was the multiplayer. It's not technically bad, it's just that I feel as if there could have been a lot more done with it. But that doesn't overshadow the awesome campaign. 9/10.
    Expand
  28. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost photorealistic.Its a shame the game doesnt have some contemporary modern/western fusion music like Red-Dead Revolver had,but great game nonleless.
    Expand
  29. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    I really liked this game. I bought it on a whim, not expecting that much, and really liked it. Good story, plus its a nice open world, even if the story line is thrown at you rather forcibly if you stray near the story 'trigger points'. Only two things I didn't like - and both were probably down to my limited button pushing skills, One was, when I was out hunting wildlife like vultures andI really liked this game. I bought it on a whim, not expecting that much, and really liked it. Good story, plus its a nice open world, even if the story line is thrown at you rather forcibly if you stray near the story 'trigger points'. Only two things I didn't like - and both were probably down to my limited button pushing skills, One was, when I was out hunting wildlife like vultures and wolves I often found myself shooting passing cowboys by accident (honest, judge!). Second was the fast draw challenges which I could never get the hang of, so ended up just avoiding. An easier save game option would have solved both these for me. Overall, a great game. One warning though. There are a couple of really nasty bits in the game which justify the 18 rating. If you just skim the start of the game you may be tempted to let your kids play it. Don't, the nasty bits are really nasty. Expand
  30. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    It's amazing how Red Dead Redemption is fun, its minimal details make all the difference, the main character John Marston is one of the best because it set already see on your profile that he is an honorable man trying to rescue his family, the story an optimal history the best style Sergio Leone with moments of humor, violence and somber, even with not very good graphics and lengthyIt's amazing how Red Dead Redemption is fun, its minimal details make all the difference, the main character John Marston is one of the best because it set already see on your profile that he is an honorable man trying to rescue his family, the story an optimal history the best style Sergio Leone with moments of humor, violence and somber, even with not very good graphics and lengthy minutes riding the game manages to be catchy. Expand
  31. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    What an amazing game this was, it was unique in almost every way. I would say this is best for hardcore gamers due to many reasons. It would be nice to see more games like this in the future and with the new grand theft auto i'm sure rockstar company will be making a new game or continue one because the amount of money they made could result in another a++ game.
  32. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    This is one of the first games I played and it left some very big shoes to fill for all other games afterwards. As a brand new gamer it challenged me but didn't overwhelm me. The story and the acting are superlative and John Marston is one of the best characters I have ever experienced in any medium, movies, books, and gaming. I have played almost all of Rockstar's games and this if byThis is one of the first games I played and it left some very big shoes to fill for all other games afterwards. As a brand new gamer it challenged me but didn't overwhelm me. The story and the acting are superlative and John Marston is one of the best characters I have ever experienced in any medium, movies, books, and gaming. I have played almost all of Rockstar's games and this if by far the best. It owes a lot I must say to an old game called Gun which I played after Red Dead and I highly recommend it but it is still a very special and unique gaming experience. I am just one voice in the Red Dead army but as a burgeoning gamer this game got me hooked on gaming for life. Expand
  33. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    First thing is first: the story. It is great. My problem with it is that it is really slow and is not helped out by repetitive missions. I had this on PS3 and never beat it because I got bored at the half way point. The Multi-player is very original. I've never played anything like it, but it gets boring fast. I did finish every last percentage point of the story and I have to say IFirst thing is first: the story. It is great. My problem with it is that it is really slow and is not helped out by repetitive missions. I had this on PS3 and never beat it because I got bored at the half way point. The Multi-player is very original. I've never played anything like it, but it gets boring fast. I did finish every last percentage point of the story and I have to say I enjoyed the random side quests and hunting more then the central story missions. Expand
  34. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is exactly what you expected from a Rockstar western, the game is basically grand theft horse. The gameplay and presentation is almost identical to it's criminal counterpart and that says a lot about the qualities of this game but the true strength comes from it's characters, especially the lead character John Marston, him and his story arc is videogame storytelling atRed Dead Redemption is exactly what you expected from a Rockstar western, the game is basically grand theft horse. The gameplay and presentation is almost identical to it's criminal counterpart and that says a lot about the qualities of this game but the true strength comes from it's characters, especially the lead character John Marston, him and his story arc is videogame storytelling at it's best. This game is one of the best of it's generation, a must play and one of three contenders for game of the year, however the title just misses out to a more fun sandbox released in the same year. Expand
  35. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This game was made by aliens. San Andreas & Canis Canem Edit were open world masterpieces on the PS2, Red Dead Redemption & GTA 5 stand on the shoulders of Giants, but they are Giants themselves. Mindblowing how far games have come. Even if you hate the Western genre with a passion, RDR is an experience you can't miss.
  36. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    Graphics: 9.8 Sound: 10 Gameplay: 9.5 Fun/Story: 9.8

    An amazing sandbox with gorgeous graphics despite some minor bugs. It recreates very well the cowboy feeling and has some memorable characters and tasty moments. It remembered me Some Epona's memories which is great and very soulful. Another touch of art by Rockstar.
  37. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    The western genre hasn't really had a good number of games. Then suddenly, Red Dead Redemption comes along and was so brilliant it completely filled the gap. With an amazing setting, illustrious characters and top notch gameplay, it is hard to argue otherwise. This game brings back memories of the cowboy classics, and blows them straight out of the water. I can guarantee that you willThe western genre hasn't really had a good number of games. Then suddenly, Red Dead Redemption comes along and was so brilliant it completely filled the gap. With an amazing setting, illustrious characters and top notch gameplay, it is hard to argue otherwise. This game brings back memories of the cowboy classics, and blows them straight out of the water. I can guarantee that you will never again see a game that redefines the western genre quite like Red Dead Redemption. It's beautiful, fun and is a masterpiece. Expand
  38. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    If you hate this game you're not a gamer, simple as that. No, I'm not a Rockstar fanboy but it's really so goddamn obvious that Red Dead Redemption is the best game this gen, by far and that is a fact.
  39. May 26, 2011
    9
    Truely brilliant game. If you liked GTA IV and like western movies this is a must have. Great gameplay, story telling, graphics and voice acting. So much to do, side missions, mini games and even hunting. I love the "Dead Eye" shooting mechanic. To even mention how good the ending is does not do it justice, I stood up and cheered! As close to a 10 without being a 10 that I can give.
  40. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a stunning game that clips its spurs on the way through to the finishing line. John Marston is one of the year
  41. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am obsessed with this game and I haven't even played multiplayer yet. The story is fantastic you learn to care for this character and the people around him you also learn to hate certain characters it has a Fallout like karma system. It looks like they have filmed this in 1000000000000000000000p. It sounds like they have recorded theBEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am obsessed with this game and I haven't even played multiplayer yet. The story is fantastic you learn to care for this character and the people around him you also learn to hate certain characters it has a Fallout like karma system. It looks like they have filmed this in 1000000000000000000000p. It sounds like they have recorded the real old west with todays sound technology it is awesome 100000/10 Expand
  42. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Red Dead Redemption can not help but be compared to Grand Theft Auto IV. The story is interactive, addicting, and overall, fun. The graphics are absolutely phenomenal and look very close to real life. Completing the game 100% takes about 40 hours because of the engaging side quests and long story (57 missions). The story alone without considering optional side missions, challenges, andRed Dead Redemption can not help but be compared to Grand Theft Auto IV. The story is interactive, addicting, and overall, fun. The graphics are absolutely phenomenal and look very close to real life. Completing the game 100% takes about 40 hours because of the engaging side quests and long story (57 missions). The story alone without considering optional side missions, challenges, and strangers would probably take about 20 hours. I found myself doing the side missions first, and then doing some of the story, and then more side missions. Rockstar Games really showed improvement from Grand Theft Auto IV in terms of keeping interest of players, better story and graphics, and filling an open world with various things to do. You could even start up a game of Texas Hold 'Em or Five Finger Fillet. I really enjoyed Dead-Eye and it is really what polishes the game. Red Dead Redemption really shows the open world genre what it is all about and really immerses you in the Western culture of 1911, even if you are not into cowboys and the wild west (which I sure was not). I could not bring myself to rate it a 10 out of 10 for the following reasons. I am not going to spoil it, but the ending to the story was very disappointing, not because it was underwhelming or anticlimactic, but because it ended abruptly and was unnecessary. Furthermore, the save system and computer AI are both awkward. Many times my horse would commit suicide and would require me to get a new one. I found it kind of odd that my horse has no problem jumping off a 300 foot cliff, but there is an invisible wall every time I tell it to go down a 5 foot incline. The glitches are very numerous and you will undoubtedly run into some; such as, sinking underneath the solid ground and going under the map with long motion blurs, dueling someone as they are facing the wrong way, your horse randomly dying for absolutely no reason, objects rendering right in front of your eyes; that kind of stuff. I really hate that the majority of the missions told you to go really far away to actually start doing stuff. All that accomplished was tiring me and wasting my time. One last negative thing, the online multiplayer, in my opinion, is worse than Grand Theft Auto IV's. It works on a experience point system where you work your way up the ranks, but it is irritating because everyone else is already there and you will just get wasted away. You have no chance if you are new so get ready to do a lot of boring missions just for XP. In Grand Theft Auto IV, everyone had a chance; not so much here. Overall, great open world game that really should be picked up for its amazing single player mode and addicting, non-stop, can-not-put-it-down-until-it-is-one-hundred-percent-completed gameplay, with few problems and annoyances. Expand
  43. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Amazing western.
    Pros:
    Lots to do.
    Great graphics.
    Great gameplay.
    Great voice acting, characters, story and main protagonist.
    Great variety in missions.
    Amazing weather effects.
    Addictive side activities, strangers tasks, hunting, challenges to perform.

    Cons:
    In game economy can feel pointless at times.
    Honour and fame doesn't feel too deep and different.
  44. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    RED DEAD REDEMPTION is one of the best open world games ever made and defenetly the best Western game, i RDR has Top voice acting especially the Protagonist John Marston and the graphics are amazing, the story too! RDR has emotional moments that are just so powerful between each character, 9/10.
  45. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    Red Dead Redemption
    Immersion Done Right
    This is how you make an open world game, with immersion in mind. Red Dead Redemption does a perfect..not nearly perfect, but a perfect job at pulling the player into it’s western world. Red Dead Redemption tells the story of John Marston a former western showdown gun slinging bad guy trying to redeem himself. He does so by repaying life debts
    Red Dead Redemption
    Immersion Done Right
    This is how you make an open world game, with immersion in mind.
    Red Dead Redemption does a perfect..not nearly perfect, but a perfect job at pulling the player into it’s western world.
    Red Dead Redemption tells the story of John Marston a former western showdown gun slinging bad guy trying to redeem himself.
    He does so by repaying life debts and hunting down a few old friends.
    But you are given freedom in the way you handle things outside of the games 13 hour main campaign.
    Outside of the story is where the beauty of this games immersion really starts to shine
    Its clear to me now why so many systems from this game have been added to series like assassins creed and also why it works here and not for them.
    Red Dead redemptions world is basically a giant desert, it’s pretty empty.. this can turn off a lot of players, It won’t and doesn’t surprise me at all to hear many find this game to be boring.. it can be, but isn’t really a run around and have fun kind of game…there are very few npcs roaming and inhabiting the world, but those that do all have a personality and a story to them.
    As you travel throughout the world on horseback you’ll run into strangers asking for your help, all which is optional.
    Some wanting help with getting a land deed, their wife, or are just in need of some materials that you can find organically in the open world.
    All of which you can deal with in your own way, you can pay someone off or just kill them and take what you’re there for.
    There is however an honor scale, you can get away with doing a few not so good things, but if you terrorize the world, the npcs will react to you in a bad manner.
    Adding to the oraganicness, You can also pick flowers, herbs, and hunt and skin animals.
    Hunting in Red Dead Redemption feels so right because the animals feel alive and real like all other npcs, they don’t feel like they are triggered or spawned into the world, they feel like they live there.
    Everything down to the mechanics screams immersion.
    The game asks for physical input in both running and controlling your horse.
    You have to pay attention to the game, you can’t just hold a button and go, It definitely takes time to get used to such a system of immersive mechanics, but once you do you will greatly appreciate it.
    Where the game does loose its spark at least for me is about 1/3 of the way through the main campaign. While the story really is great and the characters are brilliant, the mission design after the first 3rd of the game all plateaus.
    At first you are doing immersive tasks like hurdling cows in a bad storm, going out to catch a wild horse, really bringing the world to life, but later in the game it gets massively boring and repetitive..
    It turns into a lot of cover based follow the marker 3rd person shooter and ride shotgun while you take out the bandits following you over and over and over, luckily if you can manage to stick it out through this grindy section of the mexico part of the game, things start to pick up again for the final 3rd and missions will begin to feel varied just like before.
    But the annoying npcs that accompany you on many missions constantly rushing you and never shutting up about how slow you’re going doesn’t make the campaign any more enjoyable.
    But trust me, it’s worth it to make it to the end of this game.
    There’s also a free roam multiplayer where you can join other players in the same open world from the single player game to take over gang hideout and earn some cash, unfortunately multiplayer these days is pretty nonexistent, so don’t expect to get too much out if unless you have dedicated friends to play with.
    Red Dead Redemption is a beautiful and immersive game.
    I found it to be relaxing, boring and grindy at times, but Escapism at its finest.

    For what it is
    Action Adventure 9 /10
    Overall 9/10
    Expand
  46. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    Quite immersive setup with a very impressive range of things to do and environments. Free-roam multilayer is a MASSIVE step in the right direction that other companies should look into. The repetitiveness of the single player kicks this otherwise great game down a few notches, but the multilayer can easily make up for it. The only issue I have so far is that ITS NOT ON PC!
  47. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a blast!! The storyline is awesome, a huge world to explore, cool gameplay mechanics like Deadeye and the best graphics out there. This is more than Grand Theft Auto 4 with horses. I strongly recommend this game to gamers everywhere. 10/10
  48. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    This an unbelievably well-made game. The game world is fairly large, the story is one of the best I have ever seen in video games, and there are tons of things to do on the side. It is an incredibly immersive game, one where you just kind of want to hang out in the game world and go exploring just to see what you might find. The stranger encounters are fun, the random encounters keep youThis an unbelievably well-made game. The game world is fairly large, the story is one of the best I have ever seen in video games, and there are tons of things to do on the side. It is an incredibly immersive game, one where you just kind of want to hang out in the game world and go exploring just to see what you might find. The stranger encounters are fun, the random encounters keep you on your toes, and as I said before the story is fantastic. It's pretty close to a perfect game. Expand
  49. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    [Pros]: Amazing graphics, music, story, characters, game play. [Cons]: The ending, boring online and little replay value.. The beginning of the game is great first time, but I was pulling my hair out the second time through. I hate that I have to rely on DLC to save this game.
  50. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    Alas I found this a clumsy and confusing game. When you're lost and don't know what to do it becomes dull. I'm sure there's a great game in here, but if it doesn't hook you, it'll be a disappointing experience.
  51. May 18, 2012
    10
    The best Xbox 360 single player in my opinion. A lot better than GTA IV, mainly because of the improved story. Played it for 90 hours till I got 100% completion. And I've never felt emotional about a video game before, wow, you really get attached to John Marston
  52. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Just when I thought that Rockstar Games couldn't create anything other than overhyped crap, I was proven wrong with this game. And I must tell you, it never felt so good to be wrong.
  53. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    More mature, deeply developed and cinematic than anything else Rockstar had done before, Red Dead Redemption really outdid my expectations. The story is gripping and well-paced, leading you across a huge and varied map. The combat is tight and stylish, though unfortunately the movement controls aren't as precise. Firing while on horseback takes a lot of getting used to, as does navigationMore mature, deeply developed and cinematic than anything else Rockstar had done before, Red Dead Redemption really outdid my expectations. The story is gripping and well-paced, leading you across a huge and varied map. The combat is tight and stylish, though unfortunately the movement controls aren't as precise. Firing while on horseback takes a lot of getting used to, as does navigation in general. These slight imperfections do nothing to tarnish the masterpiece that is RDR, and it holds its place as one of the best console exclusives of this generation. Expand
  54. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Rockstar at its best! what makes this games so excellent is the heart pounding gameplay and the always good open world freedom. finally a old west game thats actually good and fun.
  55. May 23, 2011
    10
    Despite Red Dead having a few minor problems as far as replay ability (IMO) online, Red Dead Redemption is the best cowboy game, to date. It was just recently Rockstar released their latest Sandbox game "LA Noire" which had success of it's own, but Red Dead was the start of showing that Sand box games can be fun not because you can murder whoever you want. The game lets you play throughDespite Red Dead having a few minor problems as far as replay ability (IMO) online, Red Dead Redemption is the best cowboy game, to date. It was just recently Rockstar released their latest Sandbox game "LA Noire" which had success of it's own, but Red Dead was the start of showing that Sand box games can be fun not because you can murder whoever you want. The game lets you play through a compelling story and along the way do side missions/stories that are overall fun. The engine handles really well to the demanding graphics and the game opened my eyes to the full potential of western games (which originally I thought would be slow paced and they wouldn't be as fun unless they were FPS), not to mention the sand box aspect was a complete surprise to me, and knocked my socks off when I found the amount of interaction in the world. The only people I could find hating this game are people who didn't enjoy the multiplayer, or people who can't stand fun sand box games that AREN'T Grand Theft Auto. Expand
  56. Mar 28, 2015
    10
    This game is the best western video game of all time. You will have a great time in the singleplayer story mode shooting people off horses, throwing knifes, chucking Molotov's and admiring the beautiful graphics and story line as you go along. This is a must buy. Even if your not really that into cowboys or western themes things, I'm sure you will enjoy this one. Even if you do likeThis game is the best western video game of all time. You will have a great time in the singleplayer story mode shooting people off horses, throwing knifes, chucking Molotov's and admiring the beautiful graphics and story line as you go along. This is a must buy. Even if your not really that into cowboys or western themes things, I'm sure you will enjoy this one. Even if you do like cowboys and western stuff but just hate the weapons because there all olden day and hindering, it is all made up for because of the combat mechanics. There is more stuff to do even of your finished with the story mode. You can play Poker, Liars dice, Horse shoes and more. There's a DLC which contains a whole new storymode which has zombies and new weapons Included. There is an awesome multiplayer which is tons of fun and wont get old a long time. Expand
  57. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is without a doubt a masterpiece. Red Dead Redemption is essentially Grand Theft Auto set in the old west. The story is very good and interesting and all of the missions are filled with action, excitement, and are just great to play. I love all the characters as they range from being funny to crazy to being a heartless killer. The environment is breath taking with a lotRed Dead Redemption is without a doubt a masterpiece. Red Dead Redemption is essentially Grand Theft Auto set in the old west. The story is very good and interesting and all of the missions are filled with action, excitement, and are just great to play. I love all the characters as they range from being funny to crazy to being a heartless killer. The environment is breath taking with a lot of beautiful scenery that will make you want to explore the whole map. The graphics are great and the combat is a big improvement from other Rockstar games. Red Dead Redemption also has multiplayer. The online part is incredible and extremely fun. You and your friends can roam around the map on horses and go to towns to cause trouble or even go to an armed fort and fight off incoming authorities. The death matches are really fun as they start off as a stand-off and then evolve into a blood bath. This game is a must have and it will never get old. Expand
  58. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    I've never been a fan of Western-type games. I've never thought that anyone could really develop a Western title that would have any relevance to the standard gamer. I didn't even enjoy GTA IV, despite the two game being very similar in comparison. After playing through Red Dead Redemption, it's safe to say that this game has changed my mind on the whole genre. I'm only here to write myI've never been a fan of Western-type games. I've never thought that anyone could really develop a Western title that would have any relevance to the standard gamer. I didn't even enjoy GTA IV, despite the two game being very similar in comparison. After playing through Red Dead Redemption, it's safe to say that this game has changed my mind on the whole genre. I'm only here to write my review on the single player aspect of this game, since I had to return the game back to my friend, leaving me with little time to enjoy the multiplayer aspects. To start, Red Dead Redemption does not have what I would call the most original storyline, but it still works. You're John Marston, an extremely polite former outlaw whose family is being threatened by the government if he does not assist them in hunting down several of his former gang members. The story is honestly not much more deeper than that, but it does contain plenty of interesting plot twists and arcs. Some reviewers complained about this game being more akin to a movie rather than a video game, which is true to a certain extent in a good way. Certain action sequences such as duels and Dead Eye (which is essentially slow-mo) make this statement true. But the sheer amount of intense shootouts and other Western set-pieces (such as stopping another gang of outlaws from robbing a train) solidify this title as a truly triple A game. The game displays some of the best voice-acting I've ever heard in a game before, creating a realistic feel to the whole experience. The dialogue is superbly written and contains some absolutely hilarious moments. The characters in the game are expertly done, each with their own unique personalities and backgrounds. The game is entirely open-world, allowing you to literally cross the border between Mexico and Texas freely later in the game. One of the things that amazed me was the vast amount of things to do. Whether it was saving a damsel in distress from a group of highway robbers or getting caught while cheating during a game of Texas-Hold-Em, I never ran out of things to do, even after the game's completion. The missions that advance the storyline forward never stale, despite some of them essentially being the same thing. As you progress through each Act, you'll eventually build up to a climax mission for each one. These missions really allow the game to shine, forcing you through intense shootouts that really get your adrenaline pumping. Graphically, the game is impressive for the time that it was released. The character models look fantastic and the animations are all extremely fluid. Environments look good, but do tend to stale halfway through the game. There's tons of variation in the game, so you will never have to worry about getting bored. I have played a little bit of the online, and I will say that from what I experienced, I would gladly sink in many more hours to rank up. As with every game, there's always flaws, and this one's no exception. I think that the biggest flaw for me was the controls. Speaking for myself, the controls never felt comfortable. I never enjoyed mashing the A button over and over to sprint, nor did I find the game's cover system very well-implemented. I have died multiple times throughout the game due to the poor cover system. Several times, I would slide into cover and try and maneuver my way around where I was more protected from enemy fire. Instead of maneuvering to the side, my character would simply stand back up and be brutally mowed down instantly by the deadly accurate sharpshooting AI. Riding horses is smooth enough, but carriages and carts need to be worked on. I also had a minor problem with capturing bounties in the North. I would capture a bounty and wave after wave of his friends would come, which is fine by me. But then a random wild grizzly bear would maul my horse to death, while the captured bounty falls onto the ground. As I'm desperately trying to find the nearest mount so that I don't have to hoof it halfway across the map, the continuous onslaught of enemies never ceases. I'll kill one outlaw, attempt to put the captured bounty on top of his now vacant horse, which seems to run away immediately after I kill the rider, and then find myself face-to-face with another grizzly bear, forcing me to once again place the bounty back onto the ground while I exterminate the bear. Keep in mind that the animations for placing the captured bounty anywhere take about 2 seconds each, so it really grinds my nerves when it shows my character slowly place him on the ground when in reality I need to quickly throw him away to react fast enough. Of course, I've never made it out of one of these situations in time and always end up dying, forcing me to restart the entire mission. Despite all of these complaints, which are minor to be honest, the game is still a truly elite title. Rockstar has made the Western genre relevant again and here's hoping for a sequel. Expand
  59. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Best gunslinging game Rockstar Games....ever made. Clearly beats out its superhit Grand Theft Auto IV. The gameplay's great. The cutscenes are better than GTA IV in all aspects. The graphics of the game is amazing. The storyline's great. Great game.!!! It worthed every penny i bought. I wasted my money on a great game. So, no worries..
  60. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    it kind of goes without saying that this is one of the best ideas put to video game in the history of video games, but i thought i'd just put in my two cents because this title most def deserves it.
  61. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    Another great game from Rockstar. Red Dead Redemption is the first Western game to really make it work. The Open world setting is varied and rich and filled with nice little side quests and things to search out. The game has a fairly strong AI and some good set pieces. This review is maybe a little bias as I have now played Far Cry and the Animals in Far Cry are better and there are moreAnother great game from Rockstar. Red Dead Redemption is the first Western game to really make it work. The Open world setting is varied and rich and filled with nice little side quests and things to search out. The game has a fairly strong AI and some good set pieces. This review is maybe a little bias as I have now played Far Cry and the Animals in Far Cry are better and there are more of them but this does not mark down the skill of the game.
    The Characters are well voiced and the game has a good strong plot that does move along nicely. The horse annimation was very good and it did upset me loosing a horse I had for a long time.
    The ending seemed a little rushed for me as you have a lot of missions between major plot moments early on, these seem to reduce as the game went on until it was almost only major plot driven missions towards the end. I did not venture much online with this title as with Rockstar they mainly focus on the campaign which is good.
    If you are a GTA fan and also like Clint Eastwood westerns give this a look
    Expand
  62. Jun 9, 2013
    6
    Red Dead Redemption is a pretty decent game, but nothing all that spectacular. Anyone who says this is better than Grand Theft Auto, I would have to argue with them.

    John Marston eventually becomes a pretty cool character, during the majority of the start of the game he is just incredibly nice and cheesy. He becomes developed over time, but still the beginning was just not in place with
    Red Dead Redemption is a pretty decent game, but nothing all that spectacular. Anyone who says this is better than Grand Theft Auto, I would have to argue with them.

    John Marston eventually becomes a pretty cool character, during the majority of the start of the game he is just incredibly nice and cheesy. He becomes developed over time, but still the beginning was just not in place with the rest of the game. The majority of the other characters aren't all that interesting, (with a few exceptions).

    Missions for the most part are awesome, but once again there are some bad ones. What I am mainly talking about are the herding missions. Those missions are annoying and not fun at all, and they happen entirely too many times. Otherwise, the missions are a blast. I also really liked the dead eye feature, which was fun to use.

    Red Dead Redemption is an alright game, but doesn't live up to the hype.
    Expand
  63. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This Game es PERFECT and much better than any Grand Theft Auto may have existed, but I can not wait to see what they have prepared for the sequel. Rockstar is undoubtedly the king of the sandbox!
  64. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing. It looks beautiful in every way, and the combat plays out incredibly well, with brilliant set pieces and side missions. There is always something to do in this game, whether it's storming a gang hideout to capture your old friend, or just playing a bit of poker, you'll never get bored. The storyline is great with some very funny characters (and some serious ones),This game is amazing. It looks beautiful in every way, and the combat plays out incredibly well, with brilliant set pieces and side missions. There is always something to do in this game, whether it's storming a gang hideout to capture your old friend, or just playing a bit of poker, you'll never get bored. The storyline is great with some very funny characters (and some serious ones), with some well done dialogue (But nowhere near as good as mass effect, nothing will be). The only reason this doesn't get a 10 is because of a few glitches and bugs, especially the 100% glitch (Still got Redeemed though), but rockstar has announced they're addressing the issue. Expand
  65. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    This game is the best game to come out this gen besides starcraft 2 and im pissed they didnt release this for the pc im really hoping red dead 2 gets a pc release.
    Pls rockstar do a game like this justice and release both red dead 1 and 2 for pc.
    Game is insanly good.
  66. Jul 4, 2011
    3
    Not being a huge fan of Rockstar games, I was some what hesitant to play this game. And I was pretty much right with my expectations. In the hour that I "attempted" to play this game, I found myself battle glitch after glitch. If I wasn't sinking into the terrain to the point my character couldn't move, either my game menu wasn't visible (after pressing start) or I couldn't hitch my damnNot being a huge fan of Rockstar games, I was some what hesitant to play this game. And I was pretty much right with my expectations. In the hour that I "attempted" to play this game, I found myself battle glitch after glitch. If I wasn't sinking into the terrain to the point my character couldn't move, either my game menu wasn't visible (after pressing start) or I couldn't hitch my damn horse on the initial intro to the game. Sorry Rockstar, fix your stuff before you put games out. Glitches should be a thing of the past. Expand
  67. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    It's a fun ride, till the end. Call me old fashioned, but I still feel duped when I experience the typical Rockstar endings, expecting them to be at least somewhat redeeming. It makes me feel like I wasted the 20 hours I spent on the story. Other Rockstar titles, I have a great time along the way, like stunt driving in GTA, or solving crimes in Noire, but with RDR you're just on a horse,It's a fun ride, till the end. Call me old fashioned, but I still feel duped when I experience the typical Rockstar endings, expecting them to be at least somewhat redeeming. It makes me feel like I wasted the 20 hours I spent on the story. Other Rockstar titles, I have a great time along the way, like stunt driving in GTA, or solving crimes in Noire, but with RDR you're just on a horse, in a desert, with nothing around except for around 10 small villages. The scenery is nice, but that's pretty much all you experience. If you see the the intro video you've pretty much seen it all, cause there's nothing really extra to explore. And this is coming from someone who has 100.0% completion. Expand
  68. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Feel almost ashamed to give this game a 9 out of ten but I find myself going back to it so often and it is like San Andreas where you can have fun just being a lunatic shooting at strangers ect. Love the fact you can play it outlaw or hero and even intermix the two. It's a must have game just for the fact you don't have to try too hard in order to have fun. Bullet time is a blast as well,Feel almost ashamed to give this game a 9 out of ten but I find myself going back to it so often and it is like San Andreas where you can have fun just being a lunatic shooting at strangers ect. Love the fact you can play it outlaw or hero and even intermix the two. It's a must have game just for the fact you don't have to try too hard in order to have fun. Bullet time is a blast as well, Zombies is even fun.....well it can get old. Still an awesome game and you can pick it up now 4 cheap, happy hunting :) Expand
  69. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Holy Beautiful, lush, large game Batman!

    This is a great alternative to GTA even if it has the same feel in terms of maps, movement, and battles There is so much to do and this is how downloadable content was MEANT TO BE. The game by itself feels like a full game and them some, and the zombie add-on is great welcome addition albeit not absolutely necessary to have a great gaming
    Holy Beautiful, lush, large game Batman!

    This is a great alternative to GTA even if it has the same feel in terms of maps, movement, and battles

    There is so much to do and this is how downloadable content was MEANT TO BE. The game by itself feels like a full game and them some, and the zombie add-on is great welcome addition albeit not absolutely necessary to have a great gaming experience.

    Whaddya wanna do? Hunt? Go For it. Buy some houses? Go for it. Explore for treasure? go for it. Help eccentric and likeable civilians? Go for it. Become the right hand of the law and find outlaws? Go for it. Find collectibles and acquire cool looking gear and suits? Go for it. Sit and make some extra cash playing poker or dice? Go for it. Have a duel with a loud mouth drunkard and increase your reputation? Go for it. Wanna break in a rare extra speedy horse to make your own that you found in the wilderness? Go for it.

    And NONE of this has to do with the main story which is varied and has great dialogue. The 3 large maps you explore are unique and available as the story progresses in a great way. Just as you feel you have exhausted one area of exploration, another area is opened up to you.

    The ONLY quips I have are that there is no way one man can do that much killing. Also, the getting to cover and movement can be clunky. The automatic targeting system makes it a tad easy although that may be the point in surviving with quick draws in the Wild West realistically). The graphics can get buggy and the game did freeze randomly here and there

    But that is small potatoes compared to everything it offers. This is one of the greats.
    Expand
  70. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    This game is AWESOME. I honestly don't know how RockStar could make this games varied locations like a desert, grassy plains or forest fun and interesting but they did it. it has extremely fun gameplay and dead eye is a cool way of killing your enemys. the story is awesome and the characters are fun and interesting (John Marston is one of my favorite video game characters of all time) ifThis game is AWESOME. I honestly don't know how RockStar could make this games varied locations like a desert, grassy plains or forest fun and interesting but they did it. it has extremely fun gameplay and dead eye is a cool way of killing your enemys. the story is awesome and the characters are fun and interesting (John Marston is one of my favorite video game characters of all time) if you are wondering how the seemingly basic locations can be fun I will tell you, detail and random events. in fact I had more random events in 1 hour of this game then 3 playthroughs of skyrim. they even have multiplayer and it is not just a generic death match you actually free roam the world and you can form a posse with other players where you can all just become one big gang of outlaws. so buy this game because I bought it only this year for only $20 and I now know what I have was missing. trust me you will love this Expand
  71. Aug 8, 2010
    9
    Yep, it's just as good s everyone says it is. There are a couple of periods where things move a bit slowly, and the aiming assist is probably a little too helpful-- but these are very minor complaints for a great game.
  72. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    I'm a bit late for this awesome wild-west adventure. Everything is near perfect and almost have nothing to complain about. Easily falling in love with and feeling the atmosphere of the wild west is not the only things you got from the game. More to be explored
  73. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    Really good and very original. It truly feels like a GTA in the Old west. The lack of use of the hookers is irritating. Graphics, sound and voice acting is kickass.... I played this game for hours and hours to the point Im almost sick of it.
  74. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    I originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funnyI originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funny moments but it executes the serious parts of the game wonderfully. This game is great. And SeanW is an idiot. Expand
  75. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    I'll start with the good, I suppose. The visuals are gorgeous - sweeping landscapes and beautiful effects (especially the weather. The story will last you 20+ hours, and the missions for the story are generally very enjoyable and varied. Now, for the bad. I was unimpressed with the open world, mainly because there was hardly anything worthwhile to do outside the story missions. SidequestsI'll start with the good, I suppose. The visuals are gorgeous - sweeping landscapes and beautiful effects (especially the weather. The story will last you 20+ hours, and the missions for the story are generally very enjoyable and varied. Now, for the bad. I was unimpressed with the open world, mainly because there was hardly anything worthwhile to do outside the story missions. Sidequests were very unrewarding, and collecting bounties and **** jobs get old very, very fast. Some of the game's mechanics feel broken, or just unfair (Such as instantaneously dying when you enter water, or surrendering to the authorities but still end up being gunned down by them.) I did like this game, but once the main story is beaten, there is little to no reason to keep playing in my opinion. It makes for a good 20+ hour single player experience, but that's really the only place it shines. Expand
  76. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    The story is near perfect with unforgettable moments and characters. It has an emotional and epic plot. The size of the game area is massive and has dozens of different side missions which will keep you occupied for hours! Multiplayer is top- notch and has so many fun and creative playlists! Rockstar has made their best game and best game of 2010! One of my favorite games that offersThe story is near perfect with unforgettable moments and characters. It has an emotional and epic plot. The size of the game area is massive and has dozens of different side missions which will keep you occupied for hours! Multiplayer is top- notch and has so many fun and creative playlists! Rockstar has made their best game and best game of 2010! One of my favorite games that offers hundreds of hours of offline gameplay alone! So ya get my point? BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  77. Dec 10, 2010
    8
    A massive sandbox game full of beauty and splendour, Red Dead: Redemption proves that RockStar can make a grand and fantastic western game. What I didn't like were the many glitches and a very offensive rape joke that made me lose interest in the main character. Super Mario Galaxy 2 or Bayonetta should be GOTY instead.
  78. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Upon borrowing this game from a friend, I did not wish to return it. Though I hate western films (spaghetti western), I instantly fell in love with this game. The concept, the gameplay, storyline, characters, jobs, all of it. I was even so tempted to play Undead Redemption, but my fear of screaming my lungs out whilst in the middle of gaming was too large a risk.
  79. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    Definitely one of the best games ever made. I love the concept of a western shooter and it's surprisingly how seldom this genre has been tried even though it's one of the most iconic American adventure stories. A few games have tried and they failed miserably. This one succeeds in all ways, which is impressive to say the least. It's engaging in that the story is actually fun to follow andDefinitely one of the best games ever made. I love the concept of a western shooter and it's surprisingly how seldom this genre has been tried even though it's one of the most iconic American adventure stories. A few games have tried and they failed miserably. This one succeeds in all ways, which is impressive to say the least. It's engaging in that the story is actually fun to follow and there's so much to see and do that it never gets boring. Get this game. Expand
  80. May 16, 2011
    10
    This is simply one of the best games i have ever played, with a amazing story, great weapons and game play, lots of interesting people to meet, great side quests and its online multi player is great. If I had one thing to say was not amazing it would be the fact that it has alot of glitches but we can forgive it for this as downlodable content is great.
  81. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    There is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the bestThere is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the best video game experiences of your life! Expand
  82. May 1, 2011
    9
    An engaging game with a great storyline, Red Dead only suffers from seeming slightly familiar. There have been so many sandbox games released since GTA3 that the genre is becoming a tad tired. However, Red Dead has a unique setting which creates unique gameplay mechanics. The story itself is also one of gamings finest, with an ending that ranks as one of the best ever featured in a game.An engaging game with a great storyline, Red Dead only suffers from seeming slightly familiar. There have been so many sandbox games released since GTA3 that the genre is becoming a tad tired. However, Red Dead has a unique setting which creates unique gameplay mechanics. The story itself is also one of gamings finest, with an ending that ranks as one of the best ever featured in a game. There are a couple of characters who are minorly irritating along the way, but there are also some great characters to balance them out. The game itself is also very long and has a number of great missions. Red Dead Redemption has fantastic entertainment value, great graphics and sound and a brilliant story meaning that this is one of the best games of 2010. Expand
  83. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Damn this game is fun as hell. The story is suprinsingly interesting and the mission are varied and really fun. There is no excuse to not buy this game. Theres alot of guns in the game but i usually stick to my pistols. Its not as long as the GTA games but so what, this game is amazing.
  84. May 17, 2012
    2
    This really is an awful game, I wish I played a demo first. I was tricked because it looks good, and it's made by Rockstar. The graphics are the best part, the music is decent, the voice acting and storyline are both mediocre, and the actual game mechanics are terrible.

    Shooting your gun feels awkward, imprecise, clunky, it's not fun. Riding your horse is boring too, it's like driving a
    This really is an awful game, I wish I played a demo first. I was tricked because it looks good, and it's made by Rockstar. The graphics are the best part, the music is decent, the voice acting and storyline are both mediocre, and the actual game mechanics are terrible.

    Shooting your gun feels awkward, imprecise, clunky, it's not fun.

    Riding your horse is boring too, it's like driving a car in GTA except you press A every couple seconds, and the scenery as you ride is all cactus and grass.

    Herding cattle is probably the most boring thing in the game.

    Racing is all right, but not very satisfying.

    There's no choices in the game, you just watch as the awful story unfolds.

    There's brothels in every town, but you're married so nothing to see here folks.
    Expand
  85. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    I have to admit to being prejudiced against sandbox games at times. I think Fallout 3 was done well, but the GTA and Crackdown games don't appeal to me. I doubt I would have even tried this game except for the old West theme. People praise the story and voice work in this game, but I don't see how the story compares to an epic saga like Bioshock, Halo, Uncharted or Mass Effect. If youI have to admit to being prejudiced against sandbox games at times. I think Fallout 3 was done well, but the GTA and Crackdown games don't appeal to me. I doubt I would have even tried this game except for the old West theme. People praise the story and voice work in this game, but I don't see how the story compares to an epic saga like Bioshock, Halo, Uncharted or Mass Effect. If you buy this game, get the Game of the Year edition which has the Zombies DLC and several other bonus features. Expand
  86. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    An epic western that follows the actions of a husband and father that will do anything for his family from hunting down those he used to consider friends to leading a revolution in mexico John Marston is the living definition of Redemption.

    10 out of 10
  87. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    One word..wow

    This game is a brilliant master piece, beautiful stunning graphics and sound to go with it. The story is well thought out, although fun to play online to me its more of a single player game but still being able to take that online is great. I have never been so into a game like this one, so many different species of wildlife to hunt and skin. One of the best features of
    One word..wow

    This game is a brilliant master piece, beautiful stunning graphics and sound to go with it. The story is well thought out, although fun to play online to me its more of a single player game but still being able to take that online is great. I have never been so into a game like this one, so many different species of wildlife to hunt and skin. One of the best features of this game I like is the horses, the way they look and handle are perfect. I fell in love with this game the moment I started playing, the jobs you can take on are fun and playing poker and horse shoes etc. Its a very captivating experience it makes you feel like your a part of the old west, I never was a fan of and old west theme until I played this game. You can spend countless hours on this game and not cover all of the land, you can almost live inside this game.
    Expand
  88. May 23, 2012
    10
    Well, Red Dead Redemption is one of my favorite games. The story is absorbing, the gameplay almost perfect and the graphics are really good. The atmosphere and the sound is also very well. I was so addicted at the singleplayer and later on the multiplayer. ROCKSTAR you know it, you ROCK!
  89. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the transport system, the justice system or pretty much everything has a brilliant feel to it and it really is a joy to play! For example, whilst riding your noble steed, you can keep him travelling at the same speed as the AI you are escorting or following - Yes, stallions do indeed have cruise control it would seem! Superb small features like this really add to the experience.

    This is the sort of game which is not at all predictable though, you find yourself travelling at your own pace only to be savaged by a bear or cougar - so keep your gun at the ready and your eyes peeled as you are bound to gape onscreen if you lose 10 minutes worth of hunting goods in a split second...

    Despite its minor niggles, this game would have been harder to make better than it was before its actual release...So close to perfect it is!
    Expand
  90. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    the game is absolutly amazing, i mean the stroy line behind it is really really good, the graphics are amazing!!! Rockstar really out did themselfves yet again with this game, this is definitly worth every single pit of your money and trust me you"ll be glad you bought it.
  91. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    wow i can't believe how awesome that was, don't miss out on this game. i see 50 or so people didn't like this game and i feel bad for you few that have no taste in games.
  92. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    I was never a fan of Grand Theft Auto, and when I heard that Red Dead Redemption was like a clone of GTA, I didn't know if I'd like it. But I decided to check it out cause it did look interesting, and plus being a criminal was optional this time around, which is great cause I don't like being the bad guy in video games. Plus I grew up in Texas, so playing a western style game wouldI was never a fan of Grand Theft Auto, and when I heard that Red Dead Redemption was like a clone of GTA, I didn't know if I'd like it. But I decided to check it out cause it did look interesting, and plus being a criminal was optional this time around, which is great cause I don't like being the bad guy in video games. Plus I grew up in Texas, so playing a western style game would probably remind me a bit of home. The result? Fantastic! The game definately went beyond my expectations. It had a very good story. It was funny, dramatic at times, and of course it was action packed. The game stars John Marston, a man who once walked the path of an outlaw, but decided to walk away from that life to start a family, and go straight. But Govenment officials decide to kidnap his family, in order to blackmail John into hunting down his old gang members. John agrees to do it for the sake of his family, and so you must now travel around, looking for these outlaws. Throughout the game, you have to travel between towns and countries to complete quests for people in need, so you can earn the trust of the people who can help John find his old friends and kill them. On top of the things you must do to progress, the game has a huge amount of sidequests that will earn you honor and fame, which will help unlock more side-quests, so you can get more done, and get more found. The world in this game is big, and I mean really big. It's almost as huge as the world in Elder Scrolls IV, if not bigger. So you'll never get bored of exploring the beautiful landscapes of New Austin Texas. The combat system is pretty much flawless, it's just like many other 3rd person shooter systems, you hold a button to aim over Johns shoulder, and press another to shoot. The crosshair is pretty small, it's basically a tiny white dot, but believe it or not, it's not hard to get used to at all, cause once you learn the dead-eye targeting system, you won't care how big the crosshair is. With the dead-eye system, you can freeze time, and place you crosshair on the enemy, and set your spots where you want to shoot your enemy, then once you release the time freeze, John will automatically shoot in those exact spots. Of course this has limitations, you have a dead-eye meter, and once it runs out, no dead-eye for a while. Don't like it? Tough luck cowboy. The game has all the freedom of a GTA game, you can go around and rec havoc, or you can help the good towns people. Wanna get drunk? Go to the bar and have a few drinks why don't ya? Wanna do a little gamblin? Stop by town and play some poker, some blackjack, or heck maybe even some liars dice if ur in the mood. But how bout some bounty huntin? You can do that too sonny boy. When you see a wanted poster, take it, and get yourself a nice bounty by hunting down the bastard who broke the law. It's all a great time, and why not even go into the wild, and do some hunting? Or maybe you wanna go wrangle some horses. How bout racing? Or maybe you just wanna get into some trouble with the law like you did in GTA. It's all there, all the freedom of GTA and more. Of course the game isn't perfect. As many people will tell you, Red Dead Redemption is a very glitchy game. I was once playing the game, and when I stopped in the wild to inspect something I found, I saw as my horse took off flying like it had wings. It went so high up, that it fell to the ground and died, luckily I had a horse certificate with me so I could call another one, but that was funny. It was like my horse was abducted by aliens. lol So yeah, you will expirience glitches, and probably alot of them, but they usually won't interfere with the overall progression of the game. Bottom line, this game is great, and it's a must by if you own a 360 or PS3, especially if you're a big fan of Grand Theft Auto. If you havn't already, get this game as soon as you can. I give Red Dead Redemption a 9/10. Expand
  93. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This really is a tour de force. The more I play, the better it gets. Keep coming back to this time and time again, which makes it very special. One thing to note, I think it needs an HD setup. I first played before my TV was upgraded, and it needs the detail of HD to be fully appreciated.
  94. May 21, 2013
    10
    This game reserves a spot on my all time top 10. I was extremely hesitant in playing this game, I'm not much of a Rockstar game fan, I dislike the entire GTA series and I'm also not a western-theme fan. So I approached the game negatively and was extremely surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The story, though excellent, was overly drawn out on purpose to give more of an engaging andThis game reserves a spot on my all time top 10. I was extremely hesitant in playing this game, I'm not much of a Rockstar game fan, I dislike the entire GTA series and I'm also not a western-theme fan. So I approached the game negatively and was extremely surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The story, though excellent, was overly drawn out on purpose to give more of an engaging and enveloping presence in the game's environment. However in doing so it made the game even more tedious at times than most other sandbox games. One thing that I must point out is that there are moments in this game that will stick with you for the rest of your life. It's incredibly rare to find that in a video game. The entire experience surrounding "far away" is truly unforgettable. Expand
  95. May 8, 2015
    9
    The reason I would never get rid of my XB360.

    A world build by Rockstar, inspired by some of the most iconic movies of all time. A fresh wind of a scenario and a marvellous mixture of crazyness, desperateness, adventure and romance. So often I would make camp with only my horse with me, underneath night sky luminescence, coyotes howling from a distance and a single guitar string
    The reason I would never get rid of my XB360.

    A world build by Rockstar, inspired by some of the most iconic movies of all time. A fresh wind of a scenario and a marvellous mixture of crazyness, desperateness, adventure and romance.

    So often I would make camp with only my horse with me, underneath night sky luminescence, coyotes howling from a distance and a single guitar string swinging and would be reminded why a young fella would want to be a cowboy.

    Masterpiece.
    Expand
  96. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well , what can I say about this master piece? This was one hell of a journey and I loved and lived each and every moment of it !!
    Graphics: Beside some minor glitches this is one beautiful game running on a 5 year old machine without any frame rate drop. Just wow! Just gorgeous. 10/10
    Story: This was a wonderful journey.A master piece story...10/10 little sad though.
    gameplay : 10/10.With many side quest and other stuffs to do!!
    Expand
  97. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Wow this has to be the greatest open world game ever. The characters and story are great. The multiplayer is thoroughly enjoyable. Rockstar have really made an amazing game. I can't wait what they do next
  98. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Rockstar has produced another classic, but this time in an era rarely explored. Games that take place on the american frontier are rare, you have games like Call of Juarez, but, Red Dead Redemption is truly the first epic 'wild west' game. The protagonist, John Marston, is similar to other Rockstar protagonists, but I think he's a good character. The storyline is pretty good, but it movesRockstar has produced another classic, but this time in an era rarely explored. Games that take place on the american frontier are rare, you have games like Call of Juarez, but, Red Dead Redemption is truly the first epic 'wild west' game. The protagonist, John Marston, is similar to other Rockstar protagonists, but I think he's a good character. The storyline is pretty good, but it moves slowly like GTA IV. Technically, the game is good looking but textures on rocks and such are kind of blurry, there are some glitches, the controls are well done. Overall a great game. Expand
  99. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of justThis game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of just about anything, no matter how perfect it is. The characters in this game barely ever seem like they blend together like so many others and the storyline is fantastic. Maybe this is my favorite game only because I haven't played GTA IV and don't see the similarity's, but honestly, I could care less. Expand
  100. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, captureFantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, capture criminals, or hold up a train, it gives you so much freedom, and allows for so much. The controls are a little hard to master, but are very unique, and has a lot of things you can do at once, EX: On horse press A rapidly for speed, hold down LT To Aim, While holding B To Look towards important characters/places, etc, while turning the joysticks to steer, while press RT to shoot. But it makes it so unique, and so fun. The game blew me away, I thought it was be similar to GTA4, (Which I hated) But it's nothing like it. It's so much different, and it is spectacular, you won't regret this game, I PROMISE. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.