User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2352 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Best gunslinging game Rockstar Games....ever made. Clearly beats out its superhit Grand Theft Auto IV. The gameplay's great. The cutscenes are better than GTA IV in all aspects. The graphics of the game is amazing. The storyline's great. Great game.!!! It worthed every penny i bought. I wasted my money on a great game. So, no worries..
  2. Jul 31, 2016
    9
    In a basic Rockstar's games style, like a western GTA, Red Dead Redemption is very good.
    The first missions are piddling, consists in things like ride horses to establishments and drive a cow herd, but after this, the game don't err in absolutely nothing, mantains a solid and very attractive story, its greatest point.
    And just not a story is good, also does the beautiful game landscape
    In a basic Rockstar's games style, like a western GTA, Red Dead Redemption is very good.
    The first missions are piddling, consists in things like ride horses to establishments and drive a cow herd, but after this, the game don't err in absolutely nothing, mantains a solid and very attractive story, its greatest point.
    And just not a story is good, also does the beautiful game landscape and soundtrack, the mini-games like duels, horse races, bets, hunting rewards and animals secondary missions.
    The artificial intelligence is incredible, the enemy hides itself so many times and you need shot vary times to kill it.
    Besides that, you may have a this game's abstinence after play Red Dead
    Another Rockstar's many goals.
    Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game.Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Anyone complaining about lock on shooting is out of their mind. Half the time in this game you are riding on a horse, shooting people on other horses. Without lock on you'd never hit anything as the action is too fast and people don't just stand there to let you shoot them. That's why you can go manual in Dead Eye mode, because it slows everything down to possible speeds. It is a joy to ride around the countryside and the random events that happen there really break up any monotony you might feel. Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    Awesome gameplay, awesome weapons, awesome characters, and an awesome "ending". Just about everything that I look for in a game.I also love the relation to G.T.A in that in order to buy things you have to unlock them.
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    6
    "The way I see it" this game doesn't live up to the hype. Pick flowers, kill random people, do random "quests" gets old quick especially if you're a completionist like myself. The environment is cool, the concept is great, but most of the characters seemed boring to me. By the end of the game I was just hoping for it all to end. Would love to see more wild west games, but just didn't"The way I see it" this game doesn't live up to the hype. Pick flowers, kill random people, do random "quests" gets old quick especially if you're a completionist like myself. The environment is cool, the concept is great, but most of the characters seemed boring to me. By the end of the game I was just hoping for it all to end. Would love to see more wild west games, but just didn't feel there was enough to this one. Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This game is near perfect in almost every way. From the great story arcs to the fantastic variety of characters to the INCREDIBLE SCORE that truly brings the old western feel with its classic spaghetti western music used from REAL old westerns. Which to me shows the dedication to really immerse the gamer in this world and make us feel like were cruising the old west on horse back. ThisThis game is near perfect in almost every way. From the great story arcs to the fantastic variety of characters to the INCREDIBLE SCORE that truly brings the old western feel with its classic spaghetti western music used from REAL old westerns. Which to me shows the dedication to really immerse the gamer in this world and make us feel like were cruising the old west on horse back. This remains the only game I have ever gaves a 10of10 5of5 how ever you want to rate it. To me games like this do not come along often so everyone is missing out on a work of art if you don't pick this up

    ***Warning DO NOT JUDGE IT OFF THE FIRST 2-3 MISSIONS. won't spoil any of em but they are kinda mundane things meant more for the character to be introduced to others and get to talk. Give this a good hour of playtime and I promise you will be hunting cougars and wolves for hours...& BUFFALO
    Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    This is simply the best game that I have ever played. The most realized virtual world I have ever seen, where just wandering around outside of the main campaign is a joy. And then after putting hours and hours into the single-player I found that the multiplayer mode was also fantastic. If you haven't played this yet on what is now "last generation" systems, you owe it to yourself to pickThis is simply the best game that I have ever played. The most realized virtual world I have ever seen, where just wandering around outside of the main campaign is a joy. And then after putting hours and hours into the single-player I found that the multiplayer mode was also fantastic. If you haven't played this yet on what is now "last generation" systems, you owe it to yourself to pick this up. Cannot recommend this game highly enough. Expand
  8. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I did not play Red Dead Redemption when it was originally released. I regret that, as it is one of the best games I have played in a long time. Unbelievable singleplayer and multiplayer.
  9. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is exactly what you expected from a Rockstar western, the game is basically grand theft horse. The gameplay and presentation is almost identical to it's criminal counterpart and that says a lot about the qualities of this game but the true strength comes from it's characters, especially the lead character John Marston, him and his story arc is videogame storytelling atRed Dead Redemption is exactly what you expected from a Rockstar western, the game is basically grand theft horse. The gameplay and presentation is almost identical to it's criminal counterpart and that says a lot about the qualities of this game but the true strength comes from it's characters, especially the lead character John Marston, him and his story arc is videogame storytelling at it's best. This game is one of the best of it's generation, a must play and one of three contenders for game of the year, however the title just misses out to a more fun sandbox released in the same year. Expand
  10. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    The story is awesome, voice acting,characters,story..EVERYTHING....there is not wrong with this game excepting some few bugs...a game like this you will see once at 5-10 years...a totally Masterpiece
  11. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Amazing western.
    Pros:
    Lots to do.
    Great graphics.
    Great gameplay.
    Great voice acting, characters, story and main protagonist.
    Great variety in missions.
    Amazing weather effects.
    Addictive side activities, strangers tasks, hunting, challenges to perform.

    Cons:
    In game economy can feel pointless at times.
    Honour and fame doesn't feel too deep and different.
  12. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    It's even difficult to call this just a game. It's a masterpiece. The story, the graphics, the characters, the way you love John Marston and hate Edgar Ross, and the other antagonists... Besides that, the game world is beautiful, massive and it's the perfect set. I never played a Western game, and I love Western movies. Red Dead Redemption did not disappointed me. It's certainly, with noIt's even difficult to call this just a game. It's a masterpiece. The story, the graphics, the characters, the way you love John Marston and hate Edgar Ross, and the other antagonists... Besides that, the game world is beautiful, massive and it's the perfect set. I never played a Western game, and I love Western movies. Red Dead Redemption did not disappointed me. It's certainly, with no shadow of doubt, the best game of the generation. Poor PC gamers! Expand
  13. May 21, 2014
    10
    This game was a classic from the moment it came out and Rockstar knew it. Never before have I played a game that was exactly how I expected and so much more.

    Now when I pick up a Rockstar game and play it for the first time, there's always one thing I expect: A gripping story-line with memorable characters in an authentic setting. And if ANYONE tells you that Red Dead Redemption doesn't
    This game was a classic from the moment it came out and Rockstar knew it. Never before have I played a game that was exactly how I expected and so much more.

    Now when I pick up a Rockstar game and play it for the first time, there's always one thing I expect: A gripping story-line with memorable characters in an authentic setting. And if ANYONE tells you that Red Dead Redemption doesn't deliver on these accounts; they haven't completed it.

    First of all, it does the necessary. It's an open-world western and it wants to make damn sure you know it is. From the large desert landscapes to the gorgeous mountain top views to the sun's lush lighting, the graphics at the time were stunning and even today they do a great job of immersing you in the wild west. And surprisingly there are varied settings; in a western! Every time you switch towns or cross a border the feel of the world and the characters in it completely changes the mood and tone of the game's setting.

    Secondly, it does which no one expected from a western shooter at the time. It tells a brilliantly written story through an adventurous plot with perfect pacing. It almost feels like you're playing through an old western tale or legend. John Marston is the game's tough and gritty protagonist and is exhilarating to play as. He's a whole-hearted gunslinger with a determined path, but the crooked and violent world around him fights against his will to meet his goals all the time. The story is good enough to be a novel, it's that good. People criticized it for being cliched, but c'mon, it's a western! It's supposed to be an iconic adventure tale and it suits this game perfectly.

    The gameplay feels intense and adventurous. There's so much to to it's hard to not just make a huge list. Open gunfights between gangs that builds up so much tension, one-on-one showdowns that build up suspense, bounty hunting, horse racing, gambling, robbing banks, chasing down criminals- there's just so much here.

    And I haven't even mentioned Multiplayer... well I just did, so lets talk about that. The main complaint many had with GTA IV was that the Multiplayer wasn't good enough to keep people coming back to, leaving the game with a poor replay-ability. Red Dead Redemption however, does have a good Multiplayer. The extremely immersive western world works so in it's favour online. Gather your mates and start a posse and let loose on the towns and cities with revolvers and rifles. It's uncomplicated arcade-ish cowboy gangster fun and as long as you have friends it never really gets redundant.

    Beautiful and immersive western settings, legendary story-line, action packed gameplay and a hilariously fun multiplayer to boot. (It's not got offline co-op, so without online multiplayer I'd give it a 9/10)
    Expand
  14. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very great game actually makes you think your in the dying days of the cowboy and the future(1911) is happening. Great story of love,loss and betrayal. 10/10 Expand
  15. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Rockstar really out-smarted themselves, because this is their masterpiece, the BEST rockstar game that I have seen by far. You might say "Oh it's a GTA with cowboy skin pack" and that is not true, sure you might rob horses and unleash chaos; but Red Dead Redemption is more than that.
    I recommend urgently to buy this game NOW!
  16. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    This is pretty much grand theft horse,the world felt unique and it was fun to just run around being a cowboy although the multiplayer wasn't great the single player was,the story was good and gameplay was fun.apart from the multiplayer everything's great if only this came out on PC.
  17. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    The western genre hasn't really had a good number of games. Then suddenly, Red Dead Redemption comes along and was so brilliant it completely filled the gap. With an amazing setting, illustrious characters and top notch gameplay, it is hard to argue otherwise. This game brings back memories of the cowboy classics, and blows them straight out of the water. I can guarantee that you willThe western genre hasn't really had a good number of games. Then suddenly, Red Dead Redemption comes along and was so brilliant it completely filled the gap. With an amazing setting, illustrious characters and top notch gameplay, it is hard to argue otherwise. This game brings back memories of the cowboy classics, and blows them straight out of the water. I can guarantee that you will never again see a game that redefines the western genre quite like Red Dead Redemption. It's beautiful, fun and is a masterpiece. Expand
  18. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is without a doubt a masterpiece. Red Dead Redemption is essentially Grand Theft Auto set in the old west. The story is very good and interesting and all of the missions are filled with action, excitement, and are just great to play. I love all the characters as they range from being funny to crazy to being a heartless killer. The environment is breath taking with a lotRed Dead Redemption is without a doubt a masterpiece. Red Dead Redemption is essentially Grand Theft Auto set in the old west. The story is very good and interesting and all of the missions are filled with action, excitement, and are just great to play. I love all the characters as they range from being funny to crazy to being a heartless killer. The environment is breath taking with a lot of beautiful scenery that will make you want to explore the whole map. The graphics are great and the combat is a big improvement from other Rockstar games. Red Dead Redemption also has multiplayer. The online part is incredible and extremely fun. You and your friends can roam around the map on horses and go to towns to cause trouble or even go to an armed fort and fight off incoming authorities. The death matches are really fun as they start off as a stand-off and then evolve into a blood bath. This game is a must have and it will never get old. Expand
  19. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    Years later, this is still the best game I have ever played. I still pop it in my xBox 360 to just run around and play in the open world. The graphics still look great. The sound is still amazing. The gameplay is just perfect. It's an open world game where the story actually matters and you'll want to play it through until the end. And that ending!!!.... perfect for a Western shooter.
  20. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    By far the best game I ever played. Incredible atmosphere, amazing characters, superb soundtrack and a story that punches you right in the chest. I'll never forget the main character, John Marston, so unique, well told and acted.
    I WANT MORE LIKE THIS!

    The Undead Nightmare DLC is nice great fun too, but nothing more than that.

    Cheers from Austria.
  21. Jan 21, 2016
    10
    This game is just a complete masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is just my favorite game of all time, no game that i 've ever played, has ever felt so deep, so great at going to it's purpose, that is to transmute Art in video games, the other 2 games that i nearly felt this way playing it was The Last of Us and The Witcher 3, that even though i recognize has better storytellers, they neverThis game is just a complete masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is just my favorite game of all time, no game that i 've ever played, has ever felt so deep, so great at going to it's purpose, that is to transmute Art in video games, the other 2 games that i nearly felt this way playing it was The Last of Us and The Witcher 3, that even though i recognize has better storytellers, they never made me feel like this game did, the complete art that this game is. Literally everything is perfect, for the incredible graphics, to the perfect original soundtrack, to its amazing character molding, and to it's heart breaking ending... This game made me cry, this was the first game that made me cry. John's story was made to be told and Rockstar sure made a hell of a good job. This is their best game ever, and if they ever announces a new Red Dead one day, my eyeballs will melt into tears of joy. 100/10 Expand
  22. May 7, 2015
    10
    This game is very amazing

    PROS
    -Amazing story
    -Great Graphics
    -Huge world to explore

    CONS
    -None .
  23. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played
    Thats all I have to say.............
    ...........................................................................
  24. Nov 28, 2014
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a great western themed open world game. It puts you in the cowboy boots of John Marston, a former outlaw who is now in trouble with previously associated gangs and government men, and is also trying to get back with his family. It seems a bit cliche at first, cuz it is, but it's not a bad thing because it takes a cliche setup and does cool things with it. To gain hisRed Dead Redemption is a great western themed open world game. It puts you in the cowboy boots of John Marston, a former outlaw who is now in trouble with previously associated gangs and government men, and is also trying to get back with his family. It seems a bit cliche at first, cuz it is, but it's not a bad thing because it takes a cliche setup and does cool things with it. To gain his "redemption" he meets interesting and memorable characters along the way, and asked to participate in assaults and movents and gets involved with different factions and there's some good plot twists and a few really sad moments. Even though John Marston is a little bit of an **** you still care about him and his motivations as he shows real emotion and is well written and performed. This game is made by the same people as GTA, so it takes heavy influence from the GTA games. It's an open world game where you do story missions, side missions, buy weapons and supplies from stores play mini games such as poker, and of course mess around and have chaotic fun in your own way. The open world is pretty big and surprisingly diverse. There's country side, a swampy forest areas, snowy mountains, and of course deserts. But each desert has a different tone to it, such as one that's Arizona like red while another is blaring white hot sand. You travel through the open world through riding horses all over the place which can get extremely boring at times, or fast travel by setting up a camp or paying for a carriage ride. The story missions can also get a bit repetitive. A lot of them just have you ride your horse to some place, shoot some guys that somebody doesn't like and that's it. But every now and then something refreshing happens such as raiding a fort or defending a train. The horse riding feels a bit weird at first but once you get the hang of it it works pretty well. The shooting works like a standard third person shooter. Rb take cover, lt to auto aim at an enemy, rt to shoot. But the cool thing about this game is dead eye, which allows you to slow down time and aim at specific parts of an enemy and it shoots for you. While his is fun, it's a bit overpowered and gives you an unfair advantage over the enemies at times. Which brings me to a problem I personally had with the game, but it may not bother everybody. This game is EXTREMELY easy. There is no difficulty setting, so I don't have an option to make the game more challenging if I want to. I know games these days are generally pretty easy, but can still be a little challenging every now and then, but this game is almost never challenging at all. But this May not bother everybody. One new thing this game adds is the fame and honor system. If you help random strangers and do jobs, you will gain honor and fame. But if you start shooting random people and stealing stuff, you will lose fame and honor and get a bounty on your head. In GTA if you did bad stuff you could simply wash your sins away by getting your car resprainted at pay n spray and the cops go away, so it's a nice change. This game also fixes a lot of the incredibly annoying problems that GTA IV didn't fix by adding the weapon wheel, less rag dolly physics, and a freaking mid mission checkpoint system so you don't have to start a mission all over again. All these improvements made their way into GTA V. In terms of graphics, while the game came out in 2010, it looks like it came out in 2013. They really are that freaking good. Every texture is super detailed and and it has an impressive draw distance where you can gorgeous vistas from clifftops. There are some glitches, but none of them are game breaking. There mainly just funny glitches that you tubers like to exploit for fun. The sounds effects are rather average. Gunshots sound like gunshots. Horses sound like horses. Footsteps sound like footsteps. But the voice acting is incredible as normal for a game made by Rockstar Games. The soundtrack is also very good, it sounds western the way it should. So if you like open world games, I'm not sure if this is a must have, but it's definitely worth checking out if you get the chance. After all it is super cheap nowadays. But if you want a good western cowboy game, then it's without a doubt a must have. There really aren't that many western games out there and it's awesome to see a reputable company like Rockstar to take the time and money to make one. Expand
  25. Jul 8, 2015
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is by far one of the best games I have ever played. The story was amazing and rich and followed the main character John Marston who is forced to kill his former gang members in order to save his family who has been imprisoned by the government. I loved the story so much and had a sad but satisfactory ending. The game play was also spot on. I loved how visceral the gunRed Dead Redemption is by far one of the best games I have ever played. The story was amazing and rich and followed the main character John Marston who is forced to kill his former gang members in order to save his family who has been imprisoned by the government. I loved the story so much and had a sad but satisfactory ending. The game play was also spot on. I loved how visceral the gun play. I really liked the dead eye mode which puts everything in slow mow and and allows you to select where on the target you want to shoot. The games open world was authentic and real looking and really made me feel like I was in the old west. The one thing that did bug me was the games glitches. I am looking forward to getting GTA V soon because it has had a PC release recently and I heard it had the same amazing open world and story. I am proud to give this game a 10/10. Expand
  26. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    By far, the best game that I own. I played this game about 3-4 months ago, but I wasn't interested because I was wrapped up in other games. But then I was more formally introduced to it, and now I can't play anything else. I've never played a game that is so detailed, so beautiful, and so ALIVE. Random occurrences will happen on- well, random, and it's like it wasn't scripted for it toBy far, the best game that I own. I played this game about 3-4 months ago, but I wasn't interested because I was wrapped up in other games. But then I was more formally introduced to it, and now I can't play anything else. I've never played a game that is so detailed, so beautiful, and so ALIVE. Random occurrences will happen on- well, random, and it's like it wasn't scripted for it to be there. Speaking of script, the story is absolutely incredible. The acting is amazing, the plot twists are appropriately shocking, and the script is great. Although the story does sometimes drag on a little bit without handling the task at hand, it is quickly diverted. On to gameplay. This game has the best gameplay of any game I have experienced so far, and I've played a lot of games. I've played games from Crash Bandicoot for N64, to Battlefield 4 for Xbox One, and by far, this game has the best gameplay. The gunplay is viscerally realistic. Shotgun blasts blow enemies off their feet, a pistol shot to the leg sends the enemy swinging their leg upwards and falling to the ground, and a sniper shot to the shoulder spins an enemy around, killing them before they reach the floor. And the mission variety is outstanding. I rarely found myself doing the same kind of mission. From being tied up and trying to escape in the middle of a firefight in Mexico, from using a gatling gun to take out a fort in a merchandise cart in Southern Texas, this game always delivered an amazing variety of missions. As for the open world, it is absolutely beautiful. The scenery is amazing and the towns and cities are mind-blowingly detailed. But the open world is as unforgiving as it is pretty- in the best way possible. You should save often, for if you go a while without saving, collecting money and killing bandits and buying weapons, and are killed in a sudden hold-up or duel in a town (if you aren't skilled enough, of course), you lose it all- and that's what I like. It's realistic. Now onto multiplayer. Most games can't their multiplayer to their singleplayer in awesomeness, but Red Dead Redemption pulls it off effortlessly. The open world is still the same and random occurrences are still abundant, but now you have other people you can play with. You can even form posses with your friends to take down gangs or be a gang yourself. But watch out for high-level random players, as some of them (not all) will try to kill you for XP. Customization could be a little better, but otherwise it's great. You can also participate in deathmatches, which always starts out with both sides dueling each other, increasing the intensity of the match. Red Dead Redemption is absolutely perfect in almost every single way, from the mission variety, to the gameplay, to the multiplayer, to the beautifully stunning open world. You do NOT, and I repeat NOT, want to pass up a chance to play this game. STANDING OVATION to Rockstar Games and Rockstar Games San Diego for perfecting the Western game genre and raising the bar for all games in general. Expand
  27. Jan 3, 2015
    10
    This game is life altering; like so many others in the top ten. To truly appreciate them you have to explore every nook and cranny. A race to finish it in the least amount of time and then criticize it is...well - laughable. The creative talent and effort that goes into these masterpieces is truly appreciated. Thank you from a 50 + year old. I applaud you all!
  28. Jul 4, 2015
    9
    The game is totally awesome. The graphics and soundtracks are great. The Western atmosphere is present brilliantly, and with brilliant voice acting. Although there are a few technical issues here and there, but still cannot hold back one of the best games of 2011, if not, of all time.
  29. Jan 12, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow, oh wow. Red Dead Redemption, the best game possibly ever made. The story is stunning, meaningful and also heartbreaking. Watching John Marston get shot up like that brought a tear to my eye. Games like this deserve much more than a review, Rockstar really outdid their selves this time. This game is by far the most meaningful and fun game I've ever played in my entire life. May it bring joy to you and many to come.

    100/100.
    Expand
  30. May 8, 2015
    9
    The reason I would never get rid of my XB360.

    A world build by Rockstar, inspired by some of the most iconic movies of all time. A fresh wind of a scenario and a marvellous mixture of crazyness, desperateness, adventure and romance. So often I would make camp with only my horse with me, underneath night sky luminescence, coyotes howling from a distance and a single guitar string
    The reason I would never get rid of my XB360.

    A world build by Rockstar, inspired by some of the most iconic movies of all time. A fresh wind of a scenario and a marvellous mixture of crazyness, desperateness, adventure and romance.

    So often I would make camp with only my horse with me, underneath night sky luminescence, coyotes howling from a distance and a single guitar string swinging and would be reminded why a young fella would want to be a cowboy.

    Masterpiece.
    Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. AceGamez
    97
    At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.