Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    60
    If you like point and click adventure games with a strong narrative, Red Johnson's Chronicles is definitely a game you should check out. If you are fond of detective novels you will find several well known elements the game manages to make its own. The caveat being that the puzzles desperately need more variety and you will often get stuck on your way to the next clue.
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    51
    Best not leave your fingerprints on this one. [Dec 2012, p.83]
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    50
    Rather like last year's Amy, Lexis Numerique have created in Red Johnson's Chronicles: One Against All a game that appears to hold much promise, only to be let down by a ham-fisted implementation of the game mechanics. While it's nowhere near as bad as that game, One Against All's annoying puzzles and clumsy interface too often suck the joy out of progressing through its pulp plot, making it impossible to recommend to even the most committed of adventure game fans.
  4. Jan 21, 2013
    71
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Oct 10, 2012
    40
    A puzzle game in a noir setting that sadly turns out pretty bad. The characters are flat and without personality, there's a lot of trial and error puzzles and the story is nowhere near interesting.
  6. 40
    You're better off just buying a puzzle magazine at the airport.
  7. 40
    Dull-witted and directionless. [Dec 2012, p.103]
  8. Oct 15, 2012
    70
    A good game with a extremely great presentation and a couple of pleasant playable features. It has some issues –difficulty lowered and very few additions– but it is a very interesting option for those who like graphic adventure games.
  9. Oct 11, 2012
    65
    Red Johnson's Chronicles: One Against All is a puzzle game for Xbox Live. The puzzles are very difficult which will be appreciated by the puzzle fans. The game looks very good, but it will become boring after a couple of minutes.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 31, 2014
    5
    I enjoyed the puzzles and characters and felt that there was little enough hand holding for me to feel like I was free to go and investigateI enjoyed the puzzles and characters and felt that there was little enough hand holding for me to feel like I was free to go and investigate what I wanted. Some of the puzzles were quite rewarding to solve, but too many were too easy, especially for a game with a mature rating. I did not feel like the puzzles were all meant for adults, and you only play this game for the puzzles.
    While the visuals looked quite pretty for this type of game, I found my self asking if this type of game had a place in the modern era of gaming. I don't know if it does for others, but in the end it didn't for me.
    A niche game that had elements I liked, but an overall package I could have enjoyed more.
    Full Review »