Resident Evil 5 Xbox 360

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 543 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 543
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    this is a good game. yes, of all the things that i've said in my other more brutal burns of other things. i think that this game is amazing. and i am a die hard fan of the resident evil saga. and this by far is one of the best, and is up there next to the REmake and res. evil 4. this game revolves around chris Redfield, and a new character named Sheva. this game actually ties the seriesthis is a good game. yes, of all the things that i've said in my other more brutal burns of other things. i think that this game is amazing. and i am a die hard fan of the resident evil saga. and this by far is one of the best, and is up there next to the REmake and res. evil 4. this game revolves around chris Redfield, and a new character named Sheva. this game actually ties the series together and ends it because it involves Chris, and Sheva, and a little help from the familier stars member herself, Jill Valentine.
    it also has the badest, of badasses. Albert Wesker. holy mother of god was i psyched when i first saw him. then when i found out what he had done to Jill. i was pissed. the whole idea that he had brain washed Jill after making it seem that Jill had died after a greatly epic battle with wesker. i hated wesker more than i ever had in my career of playing the RE games. the battles with him were well done, and fun. the cutscenes were epic. the fact that there weren't as many interactive cutscenes as 4, but it was still fun.
    now, i hate the fact that people complain about some of the stupid things like the whole zombies driving, and using guns. its a **** video game. its not suposed to be realistic. idiots.
    and there are complaints about how you can't run and gun. of course you can't! if you've played any RE game, then you know that you don't run and gun. same as every freaking re game. and yes, the controls aren't re4, but you can change them! god! i really don't like the fact that people also complain about sheva. all i have to say to that is this. remember re0? and i'll leave it at that.
    Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    7
    Graphics are pretty good, the story is cool but the gameplay is not enought fun, zombie with guns, not enought guns, the chekpoint take you out of your bubble and where is the market of resident evil 4, why they changed that?
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Resident Evil 5 is one of the better games that I have played. RE5 is a good way to jump into the series if you are not interested in other RE games (like me). The story is pretty good as I kept playing, anxious to see what would happen next. I especially like Wesker as he is an amazing character and his abilities grant him a place on my list of favorite villians. The character depth isResident Evil 5 is one of the better games that I have played. RE5 is a good way to jump into the series if you are not interested in other RE games (like me). The story is pretty good as I kept playing, anxious to see what would happen next. I especially like Wesker as he is an amazing character and his abilities grant him a place on my list of favorite villians. The character depth is all very unique and the graphics are great too. The playability is solid but sometimes it seems to cause some problems as it all feels very limited but still very fun to use. The fact that you have a partner makes it all the more fun except it is wierd that your partner will always use the weakest weapon in their inventory when they have stronger ones. Overall RE5 is a great game that I recomend RE fans and other gamers alike play for the amount of fun it gives out. Expand
  4. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game..Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    When a sequel to a previous game comes around, one expects it to improve, expand, and be more fun. Resident Evil 5 refines some aspects from Resident Evil 4, but also takes a few steps backwards. The scale of the game is significantly bigger but less focused, the story is shorter and cliche. There is less freedom, which means the game is strictly more linear and for better or worse moreWhen a sequel to a previous game comes around, one expects it to improve, expand, and be more fun. Resident Evil 5 refines some aspects from Resident Evil 4, but also takes a few steps backwards. The scale of the game is significantly bigger but less focused, the story is shorter and cliche. There is less freedom, which means the game is strictly more linear and for better or worse more action oriented. The price for being more action oriented in resident evil 5 is a dramatic drop in the horror, pacing, and ambiental aspects found in resident evil 4. You still get some minigames like the mercenaries mode in which you shoot hordes of enemies, and some downloadable side stories, but in the end resident evil 5 fails to surpass resident evil 4. nicer graphics, better dialogue, and a bigger scale in resident evil 5 doesn't makes it a better game. to top it off, the acceptable control scheme used in the previous game, returns untouched and it feels far more dated than last time mostly because the pacing of the game is faster. Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2011
    1
    Just gave a second chance to this game after more than 2 years.
    Loaded my safegame from march 2009, restartet at first chapter, played for a while and well what did i expect, of course it didnt improve in the meantime. Its still just f*cking nothing.
    Gameplay wise everything that made past resident evil games enjoyable for me is simply missing in this one. You expect some kind of
    Just gave a second chance to this game after more than 2 years.
    Loaded my safegame from march 2009, restartet at first chapter, played for a while and well what did i expect, of course it didnt improve in the meantime. Its still just f*cking nothing.

    Gameplay wise everything that made past resident evil games enjoyable for me is simply missing in this one. You expect some kind of atmosphere? Better play some different game, RE5 is one of the least atmospheric games i came across. There is no tension, no horror, boring story, no motivation, close to no puzzling and the complete game pretty much just a quick rushing through hordes of cannonfodder zombies. Finishing RE4 profi mode just took me close to 20 hours on xbox 360. (RE4 is an O.K. game)
    In comparison RE5... ...here is a hint ive picked up in some RE5 guide:
    "Try to finish the game in under 5 hours when you play it first time so you can get unlimited ammo for the rocket launcher"
    Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    This is a very good game if you haven`t played RE4. If you do have played RE4 then this is just an OK game. (I would score it 6.7 but there`s no decimal scores on metacritic)

    *The good: Great graphics/Smooth gameplay/ *The not so good: Very generic cliche characters/ Not very compelling story (find bad guy-bad guy escapes-find bad guy again-bad guy scapes again....)/ After a while things
    This is a very good game if you haven`t played RE4. If you do have played RE4 then this is just an OK game. (I would score it 6.7 but there`s no decimal scores on metacritic)

    *The good: Great graphics/Smooth gameplay/ *The not so good: Very generic cliche characters/ Not very compelling story (find bad guy-bad guy escapes-find bad guy again-bad guy scapes again....)/ After a while things get very repetitive(boring)/ A bit too easy. /No blobby or real-zombie enemies.
    *The worst: It doesn`t feel like a RE game. (It feels more like a Tomb Raider one) This game is not scary at all /Nothing new since RE4.

    Overall, this is a good action-3rd person shooter, but that is it. RE5 doesn`t add anything fresh or interesting since RE4. if you want a real scary game get Dead Space
    Expand
  8. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    A blast to play in co-op. Paying 60$ for this on launch day was worth it. The graphics are stunning on xbox 360, and one of the only ones I find that actually looks good on this system. The controls are a bit awkward, but it's resident evil! What can you do?! This game was meant to be played in co-op, dont judge it based on resident evil 4. The 2 games are incredibly different in myA blast to play in co-op. Paying 60$ for this on launch day was worth it. The graphics are stunning on xbox 360, and one of the only ones I find that actually looks good on this system. The controls are a bit awkward, but it's resident evil! What can you do?! This game was meant to be played in co-op, dont judge it based on resident evil 4. The 2 games are incredibly different in my opinion. Resi 5 has absolutely zero tense and scary moments, but that doesn't stop it being fun. A game meant to be played with 2 people, 9/10! Expand
  9. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Let's be honest here. If you're a fan of RE from it's early days on the Playstation, this installment was a disappointment in several areas.

    First, it's beyond me why they didn't allow an option to play the game solo. There's a significant learning curve that accompanies having to cooperate with a computer-controlled ally for the ENTIREITY OF THE GAME. It's forced multi-player for what
    Let's be honest here. If you're a fan of RE from it's early days on the Playstation, this installment was a disappointment in several areas.

    First, it's beyond me why they didn't allow an option to play the game solo. There's a significant learning curve that accompanies having to cooperate with a computer-controlled ally for the ENTIREITY OF THE GAME. It's forced multi-player for what historically has been a single-player game. I don't have xbox live and don't want it for the simple reason that I enjoy playing games ALONE. It'd be one thing if your ally was impeccable, but he/she seems to mostly just waste ammo and get in your way.

    Secondly, the game isn't scary. At all. You spend most of your time in sunlit outdoor areas. Where's the horror?

    Finally, there's a time in the life of most long-run video game series where things just need to change. Not being able to move and attack at the same time was charming in RE1 & RE2, but it's annoying as all heck in RE5. This is especially the case as RE5 plays more like an action/shooter game than traditional survival horror....so you find yourself wanting to engage in some shootin', stabbing, and blowin' stuff up but no...you're a walking turret. First you must STOP, THEN you may fire :)
    Expand
  10. Mar 14, 2012
    6
    It is the game with fewer personality of the saga. It copies to RE4 constant, your history is weak and absurd, there is no terror and the worst thing of everything, you cannot advance while you appear.
  11. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I dont care about what people say resident evil 5 is an awesome game, i know Resident evil 4 was better! But i still think RE5 was a great one of the best this gen, cant wait for Resident Evil 6
  12. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    I've beaten this game so many times. I have every weapon with infinite ammo and im currently ranked 3,000 for fastest time on professional, enough said lol...
  13. Apr 1, 2012
    4
    This game is not very good. It lacks a fluidity that has grown from other tps, and it feels slow and akward to move. You cannot move and shoot and lacks the feel of escaping from hordes of zombies. The story is a typical resident evil, completely over the top and unrealistic story. That doesnt make it bad. Its a story that satisfies the game, but the cut sceens are aggrivating as you putThis game is not very good. It lacks a fluidity that has grown from other tps, and it feels slow and akward to move. You cannot move and shoot and lacks the feel of escaping from hordes of zombies. The story is a typical resident evil, completely over the top and unrealistic story. That doesnt make it bad. Its a story that satisfies the game, but the cut sceens are aggrivating as you put down your controller to watch and then randomly the icon "X to dodge" comes up and then you almost immediately get crushed or shot by something and tie. A lack of innovation in the series makes this game inferior to other zombie games and capcom really needs to move either back to its old ways like in re4, or go for a more modern tps.. it can't lie in the middle like it does for this game... it doesn't work Expand
  14. May 27, 2012
    8
    This game was a huge dissapointment, but I gotta admit it was still very well made. The coop system, the graphics, the inventory system, the revival, some cool new additions. I didnt like the overall design tho for the main quest. wish there was more freedom to explore the world....the mercenaries is what saved this game for me tho. It was just so damn addicting. I poured ours intoThis game was a huge dissapointment, but I gotta admit it was still very well made. The coop system, the graphics, the inventory system, the revival, some cool new additions. I didnt like the overall design tho for the main quest. wish there was more freedom to explore the world....the mercenaries is what saved this game for me tho. It was just so damn addicting. I poured ours into the mercenaries trying to perfect my score. Expand
  15. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    People need to realize that this game is not meant to be like the older entries, Capcom is trying to take the series into new directions. Just like any band that has a sound that was a hit in the beginning, things get old and they know it's time to take it into another direction. How many times can they create scary moments without going stale? And those of you who complain about notPeople need to realize that this game is not meant to be like the older entries, Capcom is trying to take the series into new directions. Just like any band that has a sound that was a hit in the beginning, things get old and they know it's time to take it into another direction. How many times can they create scary moments without going stale? And those of you who complain about not being able to shoot while moving and not being like the older games are contradicting yourselves, Resident evil ALWAYS made you stop before shooting, obviously you either haven't played the earlier games; or your trying to find reasons to **** Expand
  16. Sep 2, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is such a great game fighting through all the wierd zombies and killing all the strange monsters, throwing eggs, shooting barrels, running from chainsaw guys and scream when your ammo is gone! playing in coop is also a great way to kill wesker especially when your going up against him when mutated Expand
  17. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    The only thing that sucks about this game is the AI is retarded and it's pretty difficult to beat with the AI alone. You need two people to beat this game easily.
  18. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    As much as I would love to give this game a 10, the AI's intelligence is really that bad. The graphics, sound, game play, and everything else is solid. The AI is just really bad some times and before anyone says anything about Resident Evil not having this much action, Resident Evil 3 had a little more, it was just the technology of the time. I have played this game from Amateur toAs much as I would love to give this game a 10, the AI's intelligence is really that bad. The graphics, sound, game play, and everything else is solid. The AI is just really bad some times and before anyone says anything about Resident Evil not having this much action, Resident Evil 3 had a little more, it was just the technology of the time. I have played this game from Amateur to Professional and it runs smoothly on all difficulty, couldn't recommend this game more. Expand
  19. Rem
    Jul 7, 2015
    8
    Resident Evil 5 stirs up alot of controversy among fans. It begs the question of where the series is headed. For better or worse, Resident Evil chose the action oriented path. Scares are few and far between, but I didn't mind, I had a blast playing it. Decidedly, the game put co-op as the star of the game. I played with a buddy throughout most of this journey. The customization options inResident Evil 5 stirs up alot of controversy among fans. It begs the question of where the series is headed. For better or worse, Resident Evil chose the action oriented path. Scares are few and far between, but I didn't mind, I had a blast playing it. Decidedly, the game put co-op as the star of the game. I played with a buddy throughout most of this journey. The customization options in this game is incredibly vast. The graphics are among the best I have seen this year, if not all time. The story is more focused this time around, but still remains to be convoluted at times unless you played previous Resident Evil games. All in all I enjoyed Resident Evil 5 and its co-op as it is well implemented, but I am concerned on the direction of the series. Expand
  20. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    It's difficult to discuss this game without mentioning Resident Evil 4, since it borrows so much from that game and manages to do most of it wrong. It could've been a lot worse, and has its exciting stretches of gameplay, especially in the earlier chapters, but on the whole is a disappointment. Obviously the biggest problem is the non-optional co-op, awkwardly implemented with one ofIt's difficult to discuss this game without mentioning Resident Evil 4, since it borrows so much from that game and manages to do most of it wrong. It could've been a lot worse, and has its exciting stretches of gameplay, especially in the earlier chapters, but on the whole is a disappointment. Obviously the biggest problem is the non-optional co-op, awkwardly implemented with one of the stupidest computer AIs I've ever seen; why they thought that would be a good idea astounds me. Second biggest problem is the inventory system, definitely a downgrade despite trying to be "modern". There is also a general blandness to the feel of the game; after the novelty of the first playthrough, replaying it for too long left me depressed and listless. Expand
  21. AnonymousMC
    Jun 2, 2009
    1
    I rented the game thinking that it would be a great game, but quickly got angry with myself for wasting time on this piece of crap. The controls are god-awful, crippling what could possibly be a decent game. Having to stand still while shooting, knifing, reloading (especially with forced reloads), only makes the game that much more annoying. Really sucks when a chainsaw is being swung atI rented the game thinking that it would be a great game, but quickly got angry with myself for wasting time on this piece of crap. The controls are god-awful, crippling what could possibly be a decent game. Having to stand still while shooting, knifing, reloading (especially with forced reloads), only makes the game that much more annoying. Really sucks when a chainsaw is being swung at your face and you can't even move because your idiot character decided now is the best time to reload a shotgun. This game has nothing of what made the original Resident Evil games great, like an interesting story/plot, a good horror environment, puzzles, weapons that don't blow... Shooting a baddy five times in the face results in a baddy that acts like he has a migraine? Ammo is scarce, your fists do more damage than your knife (what the hell?)... Seriously, the game plays like Dead Space meets Far Cry 2, except they took the redeeming qualities out of both when they mixed it together. I'm glad I didn't waste $60 on this. They must have given the critics a different game (or a bribe) for them to give this pile of crap those high ratings. What a joke. Expand
  22. AnonymousMC
    Apr 22, 2009
    2
    Have to agree with Johnny K on this one, poorly designed game that resembles a modded port of RE4. Controls are clunky, just like RE4 only worse, Chris apparently has been on large doses of HGH ever since RE1, which presumably makes it more appealing to the western audience, used to action heroes like the governator and stallone. The friendly AI is horrible with Sheva standing in the wayHave to agree with Johnny K on this one, poorly designed game that resembles a modded port of RE4. Controls are clunky, just like RE4 only worse, Chris apparently has been on large doses of HGH ever since RE1, which presumably makes it more appealing to the western audience, used to action heroes like the governator and stallone. The friendly AI is horrible with Sheva standing in the way of shots and rarely offering any useful help.
    Apparently the recent invasion of casuals into the gaming market is giving developers less and less reason to be innovative, when games will be purchased in large numbers regardless of quality as long as they have that shiny franchise name. However we can't really blame them, it's our fault for buying into the hype and eating up all of the repetitive content that video games have presented us over the past 5 years.
    Expand
  23. PuckW
    Apr 13, 2009
    5
    Dead Space did this formula about 5x better. Pick that one up instead. RE5 has great graphics but the gameplay is pretty poor. The AI co-op gets frustrating. The inability to run-and-gun is ridiculous. I know the other games in the series did it this way but the enemies are so mobile now you end up swarmed in a clusterf**k. The field of vision is incredibly narrow; it's often Dead Space did this formula about 5x better. Pick that one up instead. RE5 has great graphics but the gameplay is pretty poor. The AI co-op gets frustrating. The inability to run-and-gun is ridiculous. I know the other games in the series did it this way but the enemies are so mobile now you end up swarmed in a clusterf**k. The field of vision is incredibly narrow; it's often disorienting and not at all realistic. The fear factor is low. The weapons are boring and uninspired. The upgrade system is bland. Boss battles fail to involve much strategy. The quick-time scenes and finishes are bothersome for various reasons (poor controls for one). This game just never feels fluid in my hands and has failed in the fun factor department. Expand
  24. Jul 21, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lavish graphics? No doubt! New characters and enemies? Yes. Good Game? Not really. It was the first Resident Evil I played and I have to say, while I had fun tearing through the zombies, I felt the game was too easy, especially having only played the series for the first time. The worst thing was the amount of ammo. Soon after discovering the other Resident' evils, I learned that conservation was the key. Re5 was like playing Call of Duty. What was particularly bizarre, was the fact that some of the Zombies had guns. The melee weapons not so as much, because zombies(sorry for being Politically incorrect) have could easily pick up weapons and swing. Now there are lickers, the only creatures that actually fit the bill of Resident Evil. We also have Jill Valentine, Wesker and Chris Redfield. Now the buddy system is alright, providing you are a new-gamer, with no sense of skill, and enjoys the overkill of COD. Makes for good multi -player, but since when was Re a multiplayer game. It was always about surviving on your own. Expand
  25. Jan 31, 2013
    5
    The first thing to say about Resident Evil 5 is that its not really a Resident Evil game. The series trademarks of dark, narrow environments and limited amounts of ammo are gone and this time around you even have a co-op partner in tow throughout the entire game further removing any sense of tension or fear. Played without another human controlling said partner it is very difficult toThe first thing to say about Resident Evil 5 is that its not really a Resident Evil game. The series trademarks of dark, narrow environments and limited amounts of ammo are gone and this time around you even have a co-op partner in tow throughout the entire game further removing any sense of tension or fear. Played without another human controlling said partner it is very difficult to recommend Resident Evil 5 to anyone thanks on large part to the complete incompetence of the AI to assist you at any point. With a human partner the game makes for a passable co-op experience despite the games clunky controls and poor pacing. Expand
  26. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    Resident Evil 5 gets a lot of undeserved criticism, largely for the fact that it isn't Resident Evil 4. While both games use essentially the same mechanics, and while RE4 is undoubtedly a masterpiece, those that judge RE5 often fail to acknowledge the many ways in which the game matches or even betters its predecessor. Go back to RE4 after playing through RE5 and you will notice,Resident Evil 5 gets a lot of undeserved criticism, largely for the fact that it isn't Resident Evil 4. While both games use essentially the same mechanics, and while RE4 is undoubtedly a masterpiece, those that judge RE5 often fail to acknowledge the many ways in which the game matches or even betters its predecessor. Go back to RE4 after playing through RE5 and you will notice, conspicuous by their absence, a handful of improvements that you mistakenly remembered being in the fourth main-series game.

    Most obviously, RE5 features online co-op. Although the game works well as a singleplayer experience, co-op truly is how it was designed to be played, and it is a superb addition. The co-op dynamic feels so natural when applied to the "second generation" Resident Evil framework. The storyline is broken up into chapters of a suitable size for online sessions, meaning that it's easy to jump in with a friend for anything from 30 minutes to multiple hours. As a result, I'm sure I've spent more time playing RE5 than any of the previous entries in the series, and I am a huge fan of the older games.

    The inventory system had to be reworked since weapons and restoratives needed to be easily-accessible in the heat of the moment. With pausing a thing of the past, so too the attaché case grid had to be ditched - seemingly a major issue for some, but completely necessary. The pacing of the game is spot-on. RE4, while fantastically relentless, was over-long and, at times, a bit of a slog. I felt that certain sections dragged and could have been condensed, resulting in a more impactful game. This game has very few lulls.

    All in all, a wholly worthy successor to one of the landmarks of videogaming, updated for the online age. Seeing how hideously wrong it all went for the sixth game just emphasises even more what a sensational title this is.
    Expand
  27. Nov 10, 2015
    5
    Great co-op game but as a Resident evil game it is shameful. And the DLC does not work if you re not connected to the internet! i can't believe it! DRM for DLC now
  28. Nov 16, 2012
    5
    I wish I had more to sat for why I gave this game a 5, but in short nothing this game did took me in. The controls felt clunky, the characters were shaped ridiculously, and the game just never made me care to continue.
  29. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    By no means does this game deserve the criticism that it gets. It isn't the best by a long shot but that doesn't make it bad. What really breaks this game for most people is that it has almost completely moved away from it's survival horror roots. But, to be honest, I'm not surprised. I commend Capcom for taking such a bold move with one of its most recognizable franchises. There wasBy no means does this game deserve the criticism that it gets. It isn't the best by a long shot but that doesn't make it bad. What really breaks this game for most people is that it has almost completely moved away from it's survival horror roots. But, to be honest, I'm not surprised. I commend Capcom for taking such a bold move with one of its most recognizable franchises. There was never a law that RE was always supposed to be a survival horror franchise. This game is a third person action horror and does a very good job at being just that. The action is fun, the atmosphere is tense when needed to be and the story more or less what you would expect. My only real qualms with the game are big ones. 1) The AI partner, she is unnecessary and gets more in your way than anything else. They shouldn't of bothered including her for the single player campaign. 2) The chapter/section setup doesn't always feel natural when transitioning from one to another and it does break the overall atmosphere. They feel more like levels than section of one game. Overall: RE 5: Is flawed and made some unpopular choices regarding the direction of the series, but I though this game was a sold (but flawed) attempt to do something new. Get rid of the AI partner and I would score this slightly higher. Expand
  30. May 10, 2013
    6
    I gave this game a 6 based on coop with my friend. RE 2 and 3 are my childhood favorite horror games, SO I always have special feelings for this franchise. I found this game is awkward, it was half-horror and half-action and failed at both aspects. I am a little bit of mad at how Ca(sh)com handled and ruined this gold title.
  31. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    this was awesome resident evil the best part was that you can play with a co-op in a split screen that was very great to me and the best 2-players game I've ever played.
  32. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. RE5 have its awkward moments, but the game play and graphic hold up, a lot of people were disappointed with RE5, but judge for yourself.

    Memorable Moments:

    Jill in a tight leather suit

    Chris looks like he went on steroids since Code Veronica

    Chris uppercutting a huge Rock into a lave pit

    They is some bad things here that I don't really like much:

    1. You have less space to carry things. (9 items for each character)

    2. You're friend or partner is un sure of what to do when they are surrounded by the bad guys they pick up ammo, health power ups for you yes but they don't attack the bad guys when surrounded not often enough.
    Mostly the CPU.

    3. You can't pause game at all game is ruined by this cause people can attack you still.

    4. You can't run and shoot like RE6 boo.

    What I like about this game is I recently got it and liked the new weapons on it
    like the 1 handed shotgun which only Chris can hand it 1 hand.

    The mercenaries has more stages on it too which will take hours and hours getting SS ranks.

    This game should please Resident Evil fans as it's as close as RE4 can be.
    Expand
  33. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    I have played through this game twice (on easy and then the 3rd difficulty) and I can honestly say that I will play through it again.
    Initially I found the controls awkward, and as one very decent review on here has already pointed out, the inventory system is cumbersome to say the least. however, these are both things that I have gotten used to and now don't feel hindered by in the
    I have played through this game twice (on easy and then the 3rd difficulty) and I can honestly say that I will play through it again.
    Initially I found the controls awkward, and as one very decent review on here has already pointed out, the inventory system is cumbersome to say the least. however, these are both things that I have gotten used to and now don't feel hindered by in the slightest.
    A lot has been said about how the series is losing it's 'horror' element in the more action-oriented RE4 & 5. Personally I found number 4 horrific at times (the Regenerators, even on their own had me mortified more than any other RE enemy), but number 5 just isn't horror. That's not to say that the game should be criticised. What it is is a compulsive, highly playable action shooter with the most gorgeous graphics on the 360, in my opinion.
    The choice of setting is inspired, but I don't think that the variety of environments in Africa has been exploited on this game. The early chapters, wondering through shanty towns seem authentic, but later levels could be set just about anywhere else with lakes and caves. This is a minor criticism however.
    My major problem with this game is it's simplicity, caused by linear level design, self contained and obvious puzzles and the games extremely short length. RE4 took me about 13hours to finish, this took nothing like as long.
    However these flaws are compensated by the games replay value. For all of us achievement freaks, there are alkinds of weapons, treasures etc to be gathered, plus screen filters that can be used to give the game a different look. Gimmicky, yes, but it all adds.
    I loved resident evil 4 for it's gameplay. The worst we could have expected from RE5 really was an inferior clone of 4, which is what we have sadly, but still a supremely enjoyable game while it lasts.
    A lot of people seem to be critical of Sheva's AI in the single player mode. Whilst i can understand some gripes, I can honestly say that for large portions of the game, I forgot that there was any co-operative element to the game. If you're deciding whether or not to buy this game, I wouldn't be put off by the idea of having a computer controlled partner. One or 2 sections may have you tearing your hair out because of her stupidity, but thankfully even on the harder difficulty (I have unlocked but not tried the 4th hardest difficulty by the way) you'll discover you'll only rely on her to keep herself alive and leave her to it.
    The enemies in the game are as usual ridiculous and over the top (and usually always very impressive). Lickers are particularly gruesome.
    Despite the length of time it took for this game to hit the shelves, it is, as i said, remarkably similar in feel to RE4. If you played and enjoyed the awesome Dead Space, this will really keep you entertained. It's not as good, but certainly worth the admission fee.
    Very decent stuff.
    Expand
  34. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Uno de los mejores juegos del mundo. lo amo .graficas hermosas accion historia mercenarios ampaña a pantalla dividida aun lo juego mas que halo 4 y gear of war 3 en fin esta saga es lo mejor
  35. May 4, 2013
    7
    Too much like re4 even the first part looks the same where the guy attacks Chris and he says freeze!
    The same lines as Leon says in re4 and most things here are a copy over from 4 just black people now.
    The Wesker boss was kind of silly where he can't see you in DARKNESS come on that was so silly I thought he was more powerful than what he was with the T-Virus he injected with but now
    Too much like re4 even the first part looks the same where the guy attacks Chris and he says freeze!
    The same lines as Leon says in re4 and most things here are a copy over from 4 just black people now.

    The Wesker boss was kind of silly where he can't see you in DARKNESS come on that was so silly I thought he was more powerful than what he was with the T-Virus he injected with but now he is completly blind I wanted him to be the next Tyrant.

    If you played re4 then this game will not improve as it is the same feel as that just with a partner who can be helpful at times or not.

    What I like is the weapon slots and you can move them to the left or right or up or down slots so when you push down you have that weapon equip rather than going in the inventory screen and doing it that way the inventory is the worst they done to this game because you can't PAUSE THE GAME at all leaving you able to get attack from all the place by random mobs.

    Yes the aiming is like re4 you can't move when aiming can be bad, overall a very long game.
    Expand
  36. ERB
    Aug 2, 2013
    7
    One of the best game of its series.Game play is good and even story is good.Only problem is where is the merchant?Kinda miss that guy.But It is still a great game.
  37. May 30, 2013
    8
    Resident Evil 5 is probably my favorite out of the Resident Evil franchise (this or Nemesis, still debating on that one) but I love this game to death. While the campaign is short, I think it's a perfect length so if you're going through on professional difficulty it doesn't feel like a 4 month commitment to finish it. Probably the most common complaint is only having 9 inventory slotsResident Evil 5 is probably my favorite out of the Resident Evil franchise (this or Nemesis, still debating on that one) but I love this game to death. While the campaign is short, I think it's a perfect length so if you're going through on professional difficulty it doesn't feel like a 4 month commitment to finish it. Probably the most common complaint is only having 9 inventory slots which includes guns, ammo, medical supplies and armor, but I didn't see a problem with it because a game that's trying to be SURVIVAL I liked the challenge of planning ahead of what I might need instead of carrying everything in a briefcase. Many people will disagree with me, but being narrowed down to a limited inventory made the game more challenging and offered a lot of challenge. Another complaint is having a stupid companion with you who get's in your way. While it's true that this is annoying, I do like that I can have one of my bro's pick up a controller and play as her to help me on my mission. Though it's no excuse for a piss poor A.I, it's still nice to see a co-op feature. I'd definitely get this game if you see it in stores. Expand
  38. Jul 11, 2014
    7
    Being the first RE games for the new consoles I was pretty excited for this game, RE4 had perfected the Survival horror style, so the developers should have had all they need to make the next sequel. Unfortunately they took a different path and tried to update the franchise, which took away a lot of the magic in the process. Luckily while there are a lot of annoying changes with adding coBeing the first RE games for the new consoles I was pretty excited for this game, RE4 had perfected the Survival horror style, so the developers should have had all they need to make the next sequel. Unfortunately they took a different path and tried to update the franchise, which took away a lot of the magic in the process. Luckily while there are a lot of annoying changes with adding co op and the inventory system changes, the game just scrapes through as a decent action game with some survival horror elements. They graphics look good but have some terrible tearing issues and the gunplay is solid until you need to use your inventory, which in awkward. The main AI in the game is your partner and its terrible this game would have been so much better without Sheva. All in all in was a decent ride but not really worth of the Resident evil franchise. Expand
  39. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    This is a really nice adventure that is worth the money and it's almost sure that if you haven't played the previous one you'll want to have a second playthrough in a different difficulty mode. Prepare to face African zombie hordes in a big amount and to use the so interesting arsenal against them. If you are a big fan of the previous Resident Evil games you might feel to say that is notThis is a really nice adventure that is worth the money and it's almost sure that if you haven't played the previous one you'll want to have a second playthrough in a different difficulty mode. Prepare to face African zombie hordes in a big amount and to use the so interesting arsenal against them. If you are a big fan of the previous Resident Evil games you might feel to say that is not what you were waiting for and you're right somehow, because this is not a horror game, but an action one. Anyway, I want to judge it like something new, that's how the 9 out of 10. Capcom, probably, doesn't want to keep a history because of the extremely competition these days and if they had done that, fans would be the small amount of players who preferred that. Nevertheless, Resident Evil 5 is not at all a disappointing game for those who like zombie games, a good story, special moments and a lot of action. Expand
  40. Dec 10, 2013
    1
    When Resident Evil 5 first released back 2009, Gameplay turn from Good to Worst since became Noobish, Story was BS there was no good part, Series is even more Dead thanks to making Wesker out of Character with this Release.
    Gameplay: 3/10
    Story: 0/10
    Total: 2/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  41. Sep 9, 2016
    9
    Well this was a surprise. I wasn't amazed by RE4 like the most of the gamers, so I didnt have high expectations, but I found RE5 better in almost every aspect. Still its a shame we didnt get decent story and horror has gone missing for good.
  42. Apr 9, 2015
    10
    Muitas pessoas criticam o jogo fato de falarem que ele mudou muito,mas se ele tivesse ficado a mesma coisa desde o primeiro lançamento um monte de filho da puta iria ficar falando que a série nunca muda e tals,mas bem o jogo é ótimo com uma campanha divertida e que não enjoa com o tempo,ele é um jogo pra se jogar com um amigo pois a IA do seu parceiro é simplesmente um lixo mas com umMuitas pessoas criticam o jogo fato de falarem que ele mudou muito,mas se ele tivesse ficado a mesma coisa desde o primeiro lançamento um monte de filho da puta iria ficar falando que a série nunca muda e tals,mas bem o jogo é ótimo com uma campanha divertida e que não enjoa com o tempo,ele é um jogo pra se jogar com um amigo pois a IA do seu parceiro é simplesmente um lixo mas com um amigo o jogo fica muito legal e as vezes tem uns momentos que você se desespera ao ver um inimigo que pode foder com você,como o cara da serra elétrica e o Indião (assim que eu chamo ele)mas o jogo em si é muito divertido recomendo pra se jogar com um amigo mas você pode tentar jogar sozinho que pode deixar o jogo irritante Expand
  43. Aug 26, 2015
    9
    As a resident evil fan, i still enjoy Resident Evil 5 with a friend. You still have to keep track off ammo and other items, working together to defeat different enemies, and deciding who gets which guns. Overall it has lots of replay value with mercenaries and DLC, it loses points for being straight forward for a RE game and not scary at all.
    9/10
  44. Dec 14, 2015
    9
    Really had fun with this game,glad that i had a partner who can actually help you in battle and not like that annoying brat from RE4,the game is more action than horror but it has a few scares here and there,the controls were a little cofusing at first but can get use to it in an hour or so,you can also upgrade and purchase weapons after you complete a chapter also selling items to gainReally had fun with this game,glad that i had a partner who can actually help you in battle and not like that annoying brat from RE4,the game is more action than horror but it has a few scares here and there,the controls were a little cofusing at first but can get use to it in an hour or so,you can also upgrade and purchase weapons after you complete a chapter also selling items to gain some cash.Its a great game and a must to your collection. Expand
  45. Aug 23, 2016
    6
    Jogo legal, mas depois de um tempo achei chato, nao tem mais nada de terror, os graficos estao bonitos, mas...ne, o jogo é bom, mas nada de "o meu deus"
  46. Dec 30, 2016
    7
    Resident Evil 5 foi um pouco decepcionante, nao por o jogo ser ruim, ja que ele é bom, e sim porque é muito inferior ao seu antecessor, e os personagens nao sao tao carismatico como o Leon, a historia é ate um pouco parecida com o do 4 em algumas partes, como por exemplo, o principal vai investigar tal pais, e se depara com coisas estranhas, que no caso sao zumbis, o jogo pecou em algumasResident Evil 5 foi um pouco decepcionante, nao por o jogo ser ruim, ja que ele é bom, e sim porque é muito inferior ao seu antecessor, e os personagens nao sao tao carismatico como o Leon, a historia é ate um pouco parecida com o do 4 em algumas partes, como por exemplo, o principal vai investigar tal pais, e se depara com coisas estranhas, que no caso sao zumbis, o jogo pecou em algumas coisas, os personagens nao sao tao bons, e tem fases do jogo bem chatas, mais é um bom jogo, eu gostei, me diverti bastante, mais deixou a desejar pelos personagens, mais pelo menos o vilao é bom. Nota 7.4 Expand
  47. Apr 15, 2017
    2
    Les Resident Evil se suivent et se ressemblent : ils sont toujours aussi mauvais ! une constance remarquable... Pas de quoi avoir peur dans cette survie vue et revue. Si on devait avoir peur, ce serait plutôt du côté de l'interface ratée et de la maniabilité déficiente, le Chris étant aussi agile qu'un hippopotame dans une ruelle, et des ruelles il y en a dans ce jeu-couloir scripté !Les Resident Evil se suivent et se ressemblent : ils sont toujours aussi mauvais ! une constance remarquable... Pas de quoi avoir peur dans cette survie vue et revue. Si on devait avoir peur, ce serait plutôt du côté de l'interface ratée et de la maniabilité déficiente, le Chris étant aussi agile qu'un hippopotame dans une ruelle, et des ruelles il y en a dans ce jeu-couloir scripté !

    La coéquipière n'est pas une mauvaise idée en soi mais s'avère parfois davantage un handicap qu'un atout et ça ne règle pas le problème de RE5 qui demeure d'une lourdeur incroyable à jouer. Le pire TPS en la matière qui ferait passer n'importe quel GTA pour un modèle de prise en main ! Par contre techniquement, c'est très joli. Ah si seulement on avait enfin un bon jeu de zombies ! non, il ne faut pas compter sur Capcon, ça fait des lustres qu'ils essaient et c'est toujours pareil : de la meeeerde.
    Expand
  48. Aug 10, 2017
    8
    I liked the game in general, but it just isn't scary to be a Resident Evil game. Graphics are amazing, no doubts, voice acting as well, but I just can't get over it. This isn't a horror game, it was "a beginning" of Resident Evil 6 - action game rather than horror game.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 91
  2. Negative: 1 out of 91
  1. While the developers' decision to copy elements from Resident Evil 4 make it feel less original (despite better visuals and a new location), you'll have a blast (especially with a buddy) but after waiting four years for a sequel, we expected better.
  2. 90
    It's hardly the dramatic revamp that RE4 was for the series, but it marks the first time that co-op play has been implemented. As a result, the overhaul makes it a good single-player game, but a great multiplayer one. Thanks to its persistent approach to weapon upgrades, it's well-suited to replay. It's a visually splendid game with gorgeous cinematics that evoke the same awe as previous games did in their time.
  3. You'll get a lot more out of it than you do from typical games with no competitive multiplayer and while played cooperatively it really sings. It's lost a lot of what has made the franchise a pins-and-needles experience, but that sense of dread has been replaced with pure action that's hard to match.