User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 549 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 549
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisG
    Mar 13, 2009
    5
    If, like me, you believe that the control system is the single most important "make or break" element of a video game, then you'll understand why Resident Evil 5 is a failure. Capcom insists on sticking to the formula that has served them well in RE games over the years, despite the fact that evolutions in gaming make their formula seem even more outdated. There are plenty of If, like me, you believe that the control system is the single most important "make or break" element of a video game, then you'll understand why Resident Evil 5 is a failure. Capcom insists on sticking to the formula that has served them well in RE games over the years, despite the fact that evolutions in gaming make their formula seem even more outdated. There are plenty of positives about this game, but ultimately it becomes one huge exercise in frustration the longer you play it. If the controls sap the fun from the game, then to me, it isn't worth the money. Just rent it, blow through it with a friend, then forget about it. Ask yourself this, if a salesman offered you a Ferrari that had the steering of a Yaris, would you still be buy it? That's what RE5 is - an awesome looking game that handles like a junker. Pass. Expand
  2. JoshB
    Mar 13, 2009
    6
    This game does everything right except for the controls. I think the only reason it's getting good reviews is because it's a RE game. If the title was anything else it would be torn apart for having outdated and broken controls.
  3. DennisT
    Mar 14, 2009
    6
    As a loyal RE player I can't help but feel as if I am at the wrong end of a cruel joke. While the player can't walk and aim at the same time, the cinematics of the game are in no short supply of people running, gunning and doing all sorts of things Capcom was adamant about restricting from the player. The bad controls might be on purpose so the player feels more pressured, but As a loyal RE player I can't help but feel as if I am at the wrong end of a cruel joke. While the player can't walk and aim at the same time, the cinematics of the game are in no short supply of people running, gunning and doing all sorts of things Capcom was adamant about restricting from the player. The bad controls might be on purpose so the player feels more pressured, but in the end they will break the illusion of the game. One does not feel overwhelmed by zombies in Africa, one feels that the controls were simply stacked against the player. Sometimes the player has to think more about how he is going to wrestle the controls, than how he is going to tactically approach the situation itself. Choices in combat are often driven by what the controls can do and not by what would be the most prudent course of action. RE5 is great in almost every aspect, but that final piece of immersion is not only missing, it will make you rage. Not something I seek in console entertainment. Just read the description of easy mode and what it is supposed to be and one can only ask the question why Capcom did not want to give the player full control then. I have the sneaking suspicion, they did not want to touch the core engine of RE4, so they did not have to make more than a graphical update. For that, 6/10 is still too good. Expand
  4. kevinstreetfighter
    Mar 14, 2009
    5
    The game is essentially the result of taking the resident evil theme and forcing it into the confines of an "over the shoulder" third-person, Gears-of-War-style shoot 'em up. Gone is the primary focus on puzzle-solving and the unnerving, patience-based gameplay the originals are known for. This is not resident evil. Let me give you an outline of the gameplay: 1) Enter arena 2) The game is essentially the result of taking the resident evil theme and forcing it into the confines of an "over the shoulder" third-person, Gears-of-War-style shoot 'em up. Gone is the primary focus on puzzle-solving and the unnerving, patience-based gameplay the originals are known for. This is not resident evil. Let me give you an outline of the gameplay: 1) Enter arena 2) Zombies appear and music kicks in 3) Kill zombies, music stops (just so you know they're all gone and there's nothing to fear any longer...is this really resident evil?) 4) loot the area 5) Repeat in next area. That's all there is to it, aside from infantile puzzles like "shoot this lock," and a boss here and there. The game is even worse if you're left to play it on your own. The AI of your teammate is retarded at best, and there's no depth to either of the characters--just your run-of-mill, impossibly attractive, impossibly brollick pretty-faces that just happen to be fighting zombies. You're literally in the game less than 5 minutes before you're stuck in an arena fighting zombies. Action first. Storyline second. It's extremely anticlimactic. The only thing I can give the game is that they've preserved some difficulties common to RE, such as the absolutely essential need to conserve ammo, and the graphics are also pretty. Other than that, it's just a Gears of War clone and it is sad. Expand
  5. TheTruth
    Mar 19, 2009
    6
    This game is a disappointment to the Resident Evil series. Survival horror, the genre that this game was built on; now is in the distant past. Capcom delivered a clunky action game that does not have the decency to even scare you anymore. Single-player is a drag but, co-op is down right fun. RE5 set high-expectations and in the end just put together a circus show with a few cheap thrillsThis game is a disappointment to the Resident Evil series. Survival horror, the genre that this game was built on; now is in the distant past. Capcom delivered a clunky action game that does not have the decency to even scare you anymore. Single-player is a drag but, co-op is down right fun. RE5 set high-expectations and in the end just put together a circus show with a few cheap thrills and gimmicks. Expand
  6. Aramis
    Mar 31, 2009
    5
    Remove the graphics from RE5 and what you get is considerably less than RE4 in every respect. Less interesting bosses, less headshots, less length, less inventiveness, less atmosphere, less creepiness, less humor, less enemy variation, less entertainment, and much less fun. A real disappointment after Capcom demoed RE5 back in 07.
  7. Jun 1, 2014
    4
    With a total lack of anything scary and an emphasis on action packed shoot-outs and set-pieces, it seems like the classic survival-horror series is moving away from the fear in this entry in favor of a more action-oriented approach. However the game still stubbornly clings to old survival-horror gameplay tropes (not moving while shooting and limited inventory space), which leads to theWith a total lack of anything scary and an emphasis on action packed shoot-outs and set-pieces, it seems like the classic survival-horror series is moving away from the fear in this entry in favor of a more action-oriented approach. However the game still stubbornly clings to old survival-horror gameplay tropes (not moving while shooting and limited inventory space), which leads to the game not only feeling like it is having an identity crisis, but also like it is incredibly dated.

    Admittedly it's a unique co-op experience. Sticking together with your buddy is a must if you want to survive the majority of the encounters, so when the game splits you up there's actually a feeling of apprehension. There are a number of cool things the game tries with co-op that makes me wish it was all tied to a better game. I found RE 5 to be an incredibly tedious experience thanks to it's dated gameplay mechanics. Not being able to move while shooting or reloading is a nightmare given just how many enemies the game will throw at you, and often from different directions. I assume this was done to create a sense of fear in players, but all it did for me was create anger. Honestly the gameplay mechanics just aren't suited for this type of action-oriented gameplay, and just make things much more complicated and awkward than they should be.

    The game was not fun for me at all. Thanks to Capcom's stubborn attempt to cling to the series past whilst also trying to movie it forward, they created an experience that I just couldn't enjoy. It fails to create any sort of fear and feels unbelievably dated for a game that came out back in 2009, despite how good looking it is. They tried to capture the essence of both action and survival-horror games, and only ended up capturing the worst things about both genres. While it is a unique co-op experience, it's also a painfully flawed one. It's probably best that you and your buddy pass on this one. My total score is a 4.3/10=Bad.
    Expand
  8. Jan 27, 2015
    8
    The game is made to be a cooperative experience. Each character complement the other, and synchronization is required to succeed.
    Playing alone transforms the game in a repetitive game with a very messy story, but ultimately enjoyable. Great voice acting and the always present cheesyness of this games makes this a must play for last-gen owners.
    Hardcore RE fans will be extremely angry
    The game is made to be a cooperative experience. Each character complement the other, and synchronization is required to succeed.
    Playing alone transforms the game in a repetitive game with a very messy story, but ultimately enjoyable. Great voice acting and the always present cheesyness of this games makes this a must play for last-gen owners.

    Hardcore RE fans will be extremely angry about this game reducing the horror factor of the franchise. However, the game is a worthy successor of RE4 even if it will always crumble when compared to it.
    Expand
  9. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Most fun I've had on this Generation of consoles - Have played it through multiple times and still keep returning for more. Beautiful Graphics, Nice story with some fantastic cinematography on the cutscenes. Loads to collect and achievemnets that you actually want to strive for. Once the main game has been completed there is Mercenaries mode which is challenging and in a similar vein to 'The Club' keeps you going back for more - even if just to better your own scores. Fantastic Game. As some people have mentioned you are stationary when aiming weapons or using the knife - after half an hour of playing this will become second nature and it suits the game perfectly - remember this isn't another Gears of War clone - and if you are running out of ammo and having to use the knife to survive you are not playing the game properly! LOL! Expand
  10. AARONG
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    I would have to agree with matt on this one. i love gears of war the best thing is the regular campaign its got a good story but the online multiplayer sucks ass hordes tight all people. but halo sucks . but this RE5 is pretty sick especially after u get the infinite ammo its jsut lots of fun going around and killinG everything in seconds but its still tricky with that on.. If u have aI would have to agree with matt on this one. i love gears of war the best thing is the regular campaign its got a good story but the online multiplayer sucks ass hordes tight all people. but halo sucks . but this RE5 is pretty sick especially after u get the infinite ammo its jsut lots of fun going around and killinG everything in seconds but its still tricky with that on.. If u have a high resolution tv (Plasma or lcd) u will love the graphics. the story has been better but its still awesome no video game is perfect but i would recommend it if u are a resident evil fan. Expand
  11. GuyT
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    Most fun I've had on this Generation of consoles - Have played it through multiple times and still keep returning for more. Beautiful Graphics, Nice story with some fantastic cinematography on the cutscenes. Loads to collect and achievemnets that you actually want to strive for. Once the main game has been completed there is Mercenaries mode which is challenging and in a similar vein Most fun I've had on this Generation of consoles - Have played it through multiple times and still keep returning for more. Beautiful Graphics, Nice story with some fantastic cinematography on the cutscenes. Loads to collect and achievemnets that you actually want to strive for. Once the main game has been completed there is Mercenaries mode which is challenging and in a similar vein to 'The Club' keeps you going back for more - even if just to better your own scores. Fantastic Game. As some people have mentioned you are stationary when aiming weapons or using the knife - after half an hour of playing this will become second nature and it suits the game perfectly - remember this isn't another Gears of War clone - and if you are running out of ammo and having to use the knife to survive you are not playing the game properly! LOL! Expand
  12. BlingC
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    People are too stuck on the control problems and fail to recognize that this is NOT Gears of War 3. For what the game does the controls work very well. It's not a perfect game but it was a wonderfuly fun experience nonetheless.
  13. TomR
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    There's a short line-up of local co-op games for the Xbox 360: Rainbow 6 Vegas, Halo 3, Gears of War... What game producers just don't understand is that some gamers have friends. Some gamers have an active social life and like to have friends over. Not everyone plays by themselves and waits for strangers to join their online game. In this world of crazed online-only gaming, There's a short line-up of local co-op games for the Xbox 360: Rainbow 6 Vegas, Halo 3, Gears of War... What game producers just don't understand is that some gamers have friends. Some gamers have an active social life and like to have friends over. Not everyone plays by themselves and waits for strangers to join their online game. In this world of crazed online-only gaming, it's refreshing to be able to sit down in a room with a friend, crack open some energy drinks, have a sandwich or two handy, and play 8 straight mind-numbing hours of co-op. That's why I give this game a ten; it's probably the best co-op experience I've ever had in my life, barring Sega Genesis "Streets of Rage." Expand
  14. Adriana
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    This game is super. It has the same look and feel that the calssic RE4. The co-op gameplay is a little complicated and frustrating at the begging. Once you get the hang of it, it's actually a lot of fun. This is the type of game that will grow on folks over time, and in my view, be a classic in its own righ. Play on!
  15. DuxaC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    This is one of the most polished and detailed games I have ever played. The CO-OP experience is amazing, and there is a lot of innovation in terms of level design. I have not touched RE series since playing RE2 in 1998. Jumping back into the series RE5 delivered everything i wanted from an RE game. Controls are just what is expected from an RE game, and personally I am glad they are set This is one of the most polished and detailed games I have ever played. The CO-OP experience is amazing, and there is a lot of innovation in terms of level design. I have not touched RE series since playing RE2 in 1998. Jumping back into the series RE5 delivered everything i wanted from an RE game. Controls are just what is expected from an RE game, and personally I am glad they are set up the way they are. If I could run and gun, my experience would have not been nearly as good while playing this game. At first it could seem awkward, but 10-20 minutes in, you completely forget that you felt that the controls were awkward. Perfect game, I definitely recommend to anyone who likes action games. Expand
  16. AdamB
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is Resident Evil 4 with the inclusion of HD graphics and cooperative play. There; I said it. Is that a bad thing? Well, if you liked RE4 (presumably the majority of those who played it did) then I shall declare to you, with a resounding boom, NO. RE5 is incredible, in every sense of the word. The controls are not broken. Outdated, maybe, but certainly playable, and then Resident Evil 5 is Resident Evil 4 with the inclusion of HD graphics and cooperative play. There; I said it. Is that a bad thing? Well, if you liked RE4 (presumably the majority of those who played it did) then I shall declare to you, with a resounding boom, NO. RE5 is incredible, in every sense of the word. The controls are not broken. Outdated, maybe, but certainly playable, and then some. At first, they will feel slightly foreign to you after several years of becoming comfortable to the Gears control type, but you will quickly adjust to them. The graphics, as we all know, are a magnificent sight to behold. The cinematography rivals that of many high budget Hollywood releases. The inclusion of Co-op was a brilliant decision on the part of Capcom, and playing with a friend is incredibly satisfying and enjoyable. Not one moment throughout the 12 hour campaign was I bored. Simply put, I loved RE5. Now, if you did not enjoy RE4, then by all means, DO NOT BUY RE5. Don't say we didn't warn you. Expand
  17. RayC
    Mar 14, 2009
    9
    This game is a graphical wet-dream. From the narrow shanty town alleyways to the open African savahnna, you will never want to look away. The control scheme is very inhibiting, but is a very nice change of pace from all of the other third person shooters. You actually have to aim instead of pouring hot lead into enemies, and to do that, one has to take their status into account while This game is a graphical wet-dream. From the narrow shanty town alleyways to the open African savahnna, you will never want to look away. The control scheme is very inhibiting, but is a very nice change of pace from all of the other third person shooters. You actually have to aim instead of pouring hot lead into enemies, and to do that, one has to take their status into account while considering retreating or pressing forward. This is a beautiful game and if one can look past the blatant copies of RE4, then you will not be dissapointed. Expand
  18. JustinS
    Mar 15, 2009
    8
    The resident evil series has always been solid, but as this generation moves on, RE5 still hides in it's shell that worked years ago. Also, it's somebody's opinion if they hate that fact that you cant move while shooting, and that the controls are a little clunky. But, if you don't have a problem with those, then your in for a solid, fun, great-looking game.
  19. RobM
    Mar 17, 2009
    9
    Resident Evil 5 does alot of things right and some things wrong. Lets start with the graphics... their absolutely incredible. The only game that I can think that even comes close is Gears of War 2. The boss design is top notch, espescially at the end of chapter 5.1. The enemies all look great, although there isn't much variety in the infected locals. The gameplay is tight, solid and Resident Evil 5 does alot of things right and some things wrong. Lets start with the graphics... their absolutely incredible. The only game that I can think that even comes close is Gears of War 2. The boss design is top notch, espescially at the end of chapter 5.1. The enemies all look great, although there isn't much variety in the infected locals. The gameplay is tight, solid and enjoyable... just like Resi 4's was. The storyline is addictive and you just HAVE to know what is coming up next as you progress through the game. The co-op play is awesome, espesically if your playing with a RE veteren. Now to the bad stuff. When playing offline, Sheva is an absolute pain the backside. She turns simple boss battles into repetitive and frustrating slogs to play sometimes, because instead of being tactical, she just follows you, much like Ashley did in RE4. She CAN be dependable at times and when you split temporarly, she can kick some serious butt. But otherwise shes just a nousense. The other bad thing out RE5 is the inventory system. It's a cheap way to build up the tention and with limited slots to use and Sheva's lack of common sense to combine things that NEED to be combined, you find yourself doing it all for her... and when you have a dozen of the infected trying to eat your brains, that can be incredible frustrating. These niggles can be hard to ignore. Though they shouldn't stop you from buying RE5. It's still one of the best games on the 360 and its a very close second behind Gears 2 for best Third person shooter. I personally LOVE this game and I will be replaying it for years to come. Is it as good as RE4? No. But did we honestly expected it to be? Probably not. So there we are. Expand
  20. JohnL
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    DeJuan B - YOU ARE A COMPLETE IDIOT, THIS GAME IS NOT RACIST. Just b/c they have taken a different direction with the enemy? Come on, if you honestly think that this game is racist, you are a complete waste of intelligence, its a game, not a racial/ethnic statement, and that goes for anyone else that agrees with DeJuan the tard. Quit looking for something that isn't there. Anyway, DeJuan B - YOU ARE A COMPLETE IDIOT, THIS GAME IS NOT RACIST. Just b/c they have taken a different direction with the enemy? Come on, if you honestly think that this game is racist, you are a complete waste of intelligence, its a game, not a racial/ethnic statement, and that goes for anyone else that agrees with DeJuan the tard. Quit looking for something that isn't there. Anyway, now that that is done: This game is nothing short of addictive, accentuated with a friend in co-op. Its a good quality that when you pick up a sell item such as a gem or what not, despite which player picks it up, you both still get to sell it. I haven't beaten the entire game (playing on veteran, need to turn down the suck) so I don't know if the case increases size, but right now those nine slots are killer. Would like a larger case as in RE4 but what can you do, still an awesome game. Expand
  21. SarahS
    Mar 22, 2009
    9
    Slow to 'get good', whereas RE4 started strong, but overall a very fun game to play with a friend. The dialogue is so bad that you and your friend will be rolling with laugher. Probably an 8 or 8.5 solo, I would guess, but a 9 or 9.5 with a friend. A couple really cool fights later on in the game.
  22. mike
    Apr 4, 2009
    9
    Game is MORE realistic than GoW and half of all shooters out there. Should you be able to shoot an enemy in the head 50yards away while walking? NO! and any former soldier will tell you not to waste ammo by shooting while running. RE4 wasn't as good as this game, for only in your mind.do you get scared while playing videogames?So many nonsensical arguments about this game.so many Game is MORE realistic than GoW and half of all shooters out there. Should you be able to shoot an enemy in the head 50yards away while walking? NO! and any former soldier will tell you not to waste ammo by shooting while running. RE4 wasn't as good as this game, for only in your mind.do you get scared while playing videogames?So many nonsensical arguments about this game.so many negative reviewers with no real complaint. how about the game takes less than 6 hours to beat? that's a real complaint, but negative reviewers didn't make it that far....much more improved online than outbreak was, a must play. Expand
  23. TerrenceK
    May 20, 2009
    10
    The deal with legacy games like this is that many people will review it with certain expectations that have nothing to do with how good the game is. Resident evil is a good game, it's just not much like the older games in the series. (kind of like 4) It's not dark or scary, and yes Chris actually looks like a military dude instead of some scrawny actor in a fake uniform. But the The deal with legacy games like this is that many people will review it with certain expectations that have nothing to do with how good the game is. Resident evil is a good game, it's just not much like the older games in the series. (kind of like 4) It's not dark or scary, and yes Chris actually looks like a military dude instead of some scrawny actor in a fake uniform. But the game is action packed, and unlocking the goodies and weapon upgrades is fun. The controls are easier to get used to than what you might think, due to the laser sights on all the weapons. It doesn't work like COD games, yet you will find yourself getting good at aiming over time and sniping zombies from odd angles with pistols. The weapons are all different enough to each be useful in different situations, which means you actually want to unlock all the games content. RE was always between the survival games that made you feel totally helpless (like the old Alone in the dark games making you fight zombies with candle sticks) and outright action games. The recent ones have tipped it in favor of action simply by upping the ammo count, lighting things up, and letting you look different directions instead of giving you awkward angles. The apocalyptic settings will still intimidate teens if not grown up fans of earlier RE games. Expand
  24. GeorgeJ
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    The controls of the game seems to be bothering everyone but personally the controls just grew into me, it was'nt a big problem(although there was some funny moments while reloading)It's not like the game is unplayable it just has a unique control choice. This stop and shoot mechanic has been there since the first RE although I'm new to the series. The only thing to complain The controls of the game seems to be bothering everyone but personally the controls just grew into me, it was'nt a big problem(although there was some funny moments while reloading)It's not like the game is unplayable it just has a unique control choice. This stop and shoot mechanic has been there since the first RE although I'm new to the series. The only thing to complain about is the fact that its not all that scary and is about action,action,action. The graphics for me was stunning, and playing co-op with friends on story and mercenary modes extends the game well beyond its purpose.(also lots of unlockables) Overall this game at least deserves a rent from you so you can decide the fate of owning it. Expand
  25. DavidD
    Jun 21, 2009
    9
    Just finished RE5. I played it solo on the medium setting and not co-op. There were so many good things about this game! I have played RE1, 2 and 3 and Code Veronica X. Did not play 4 because it was on gamecube. First off, I have no earthly clue why people keep whining about the computer AI with Sheva!!! I went in expecting a total hack job with her and got the opposite. She was so Just finished RE5. I played it solo on the medium setting and not co-op. There were so many good things about this game! I have played RE1, 2 and 3 and Code Veronica X. Did not play 4 because it was on gamecube. First off, I have no earthly clue why people keep whining about the computer AI with Sheva!!! I went in expecting a total hack job with her and got the opposite. She was so incredibly helpful!! The only weak point I saw was that a few times she would shoot while I was in the line of fire. But since you can't get hurt by your partner, it is no big deal. Other then that, Sheva was Awesome! She helped me out with so many things. Giving hints of what to do. Being very competent when it came to pathing. She was a very good shot also. Being very good at conserving ammunition and knowing not to use the heavy stuff all the time. Most of the time, she knew what to pick up and what to give to me. She also was much better then I when it came to giving out the health. I usually gave her all the health because I knew she would be there if I needed it. This was one of the best AI I have ever seen in a game! The graphics were some of the best I have seen also. The character models and the face movement and lip movement while speaking was 1st rate! The settings were also diverse. You were outside, inside and even a tomb raider like ruins setting which was pretty cool. The story is kept going very well from the past. You have plenty of files you can read while you play the game and unlock the info. For people who forgot the story line from the past, they have the history of not only RE but all the characters. This game had a lot of bosses and mini bosses. I am not a big fan of bosses but it made the game very challenging. Since I am used the the RE way of movement, I didn't have too much of a problem with it until the end boss. Also, the run and gun people are talking about is a valid point. It would be very nice to have that in the game. It has loads of replay value because you can go back and play co-op or do the timed challenge levels where you see how many you can kill in a certain amount of time. All in all, this was the best RE I have seen! Expand
  26. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game..Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  27. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    Awful Game, Awful mechcanics, awful inventory, awful characters, awful story, AWFUL EVERYTHING! game is too hard and makes me want to rage. Capcom should re-invent the franchise, this game is an over-hyped piece of crap! don't buy this game!
  28. ShaneC
    Apr 18, 2009
    9
    Firstly, i have t say the graphics and the sound are simply unbelievable, and thats coming from a guy that played the game on a standard LCD TV, i can't imagine what it would be like on a HDTV. There have been many comments about the game being good, but racist, seriously, you go to America and shoot them in the games, its no different! Also many people have questioned Capcom about Firstly, i have t say the graphics and the sound are simply unbelievable, and thats coming from a guy that played the game on a standard LCD TV, i can't imagine what it would be like on a HDTV. There have been many comments about the game being good, but racist, seriously, you go to America and shoot them in the games, its no different! Also many people have questioned Capcom about taking the survival horror away from Resident Evil 5 by adding a CO-OP coption, which i personally believe makes the game what it is, because Sheva Alomar has to be the worst AI partner in history, so thats why i gave it 9/10 instead of 10/10. Now we come to the control layout, its simple, and very affective, but many people have hated it, but once you get used to it, the majority of people can then sit back, and enjoy a very exiting game. Expand
  29. RE5-is-kick-ass
    Apr 22, 2009
    10
    I don't get why people are bashing it. Okay, in the core RE4 is better, but there is just one thing... THIS HAS CO-OP!!!!! Co-Op makes this game so so so so fun.. Me and a friend have completed it 4 times now and I still want to play it again...
  30. [Anonymous]
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is not a racist game. There has been white people, black people, dogs, birds, etc... People always want to scream racist when they don't even know the half of it. If people would do some research on the other resident evils they would see there is all kinds of zombies with torn clothes. Movies do the same exact thing in a base setting in Africa or any other "not so Resident Evil 5 is not a racist game. There has been white people, black people, dogs, birds, etc... People always want to scream racist when they don't even know the half of it. If people would do some research on the other resident evils they would see there is all kinds of zombies with torn clothes. Movies do the same exact thing in a base setting in Africa or any other "not so wealthy" of a nation with a poor setting of Africans living in poverty, but people only want to point fingers at a video game. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 91
  2. Negative: 1 out of 91
  1. While the developers' decision to copy elements from Resident Evil 4 make it feel less original (despite better visuals and a new location), you'll have a blast (especially with a buddy) but after waiting four years for a sequel, we expected better.
  2. 90
    It's hardly the dramatic revamp that RE4 was for the series, but it marks the first time that co-op play has been implemented. As a result, the overhaul makes it a good single-player game, but a great multiplayer one. Thanks to its persistent approach to weapon upgrades, it's well-suited to replay. It's a visually splendid game with gorgeous cinematics that evoke the same awe as previous games did in their time.
  3. You'll get a lot more out of it than you do from typical games with no competitive multiplayer and while played cooperatively it really sings. It's lost a lot of what has made the franchise a pins-and-needles experience, but that sense of dread has been replaced with pure action that's hard to match.