Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.3

Overwhelming dislike- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game is set in the last years of the roaring 1960s, a time of sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll. The biker movement, rock music and the hippie counterculture all add to the fascinating atmosphere to be experienced in Ride to Hell. Action-loaded from the very start with free roaming environments, players can immerse themselves in the liberty and freedom of riding full throttle with their gang on a multitude of different vehicles through the dusty flats of Western America. Protecting their turf, their brothers and their machines from rival gangs is just a taste of what this epic game involves. Ride to Hell is not for the faint-hearted; it's aimed heavily at the player who wants to become fully involved in the original West Coast biker culture. With its hard drinking, bare-knuckle environment, this is as close to the action as you can get. [Deep Silver] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 14 out of 14
  1. Jul 9, 2013
    45
    Ride to Hell: Retribution fails to deliver, to say the least. The game brings to the table a lot of good ideas, but the result is poor.
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    40
    Retribution is filled with so many flaws it’s painful. I’m a fan of Deep Silver’s work, but this is far below their caliber.
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    35
    Simply a really badly developed game, with a few good ideas nullified by a terrifying technical and artistic production, and a bug-ridden gameplay.
  4. 20
    A failed project that should have been scrapped, Ride to Hell: Retribution represents and includes everything bad about video games.
  5. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Let’s leave it with Jake’s own words, spoken as if holding up a mirror to his own life: “Swear to god - I’d rather be polishing boots than sit through this crap.”
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Clearly this game was not in a condition to be published. Check it out only for a history lesson of "what went wrong".
  7. Jun 27, 2013
    5
    Don’t play Ride to Hell: Retribution. Don’t think about playing it. Don’t think about thinking about playing it. Forget it exists, and continue your life as though it never did.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 80
  2. Negative: 63 out of 80
  1. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    This game is so bad, it's funny. Trust me, when it goes on sale for about £5, buy it and laugh. It's that funny.The dialogue is hilariously bad, the glitches are funny and the gameplay is so broken it's just a laugh. Buy it Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    6
    Yes this game is pretty bad and stupid but idk I am really enjoying it. It's like onechanbara bikini samurai squad. That game was terrible but also kind of enjoyable. Plus there aren't a lot of biker games out there. (besides the lost and damned gta add on)

    The good:

    Graphics are nice
    Combat is ok and some environmental kills are pretty cool
    Lots of guns, upgrades, melee moves to buy make you more badass
    Some bike missions are fun
    Customizing your bike
    Interesting varied locations from saw mills to casinos
    The story at times
    The hilariously bad sex scenes had me laughing
    Game length

    The bad

    Lip synching
    Voice acting
    Various glitches
    Some ugly textures and facial animation
    Most bike missions
    The shooting missions are mediocre yet enjoyable
    Canned animations
    The price
    The ai
    Not open world (originally was)

    Well there you have It a bad game that has some good qualities I do not recommend anyone buying it new or at all but if you enjoy bad games that can do some good like aforementioned onechanbara then rent this game or wait till it is about $5 at GameStop. Most ppl want give this game a chance but I decided to and I had a good time it is definitely a bad game but its an enjoyable one

    6/10
    Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    2
    This is a game I was expecting for 4 years. I saw first concept arts at 2009, and thought that is Full Throttle 2 I was waiting for!
    And
    finally it released.. Well, background of the game is till cool, but graphics, gameplay, and scenario are awful. The 3D models and skeletons of people in game are primitive, textures are low, you can't even read a colors on their jackets!
    Gameplay is screwed, it looks like a bad port from a PS2 with all possible bugs.
    And scenario is so weak I can't even speak about it.
    This game is a real digital trash. I really regret money and time I spent for it.
    Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    This game is so bad, I think the developers and everyone related to the story should be extremely embarrassed.I luckily never bought the game because I never liked the biker genre.Though I have seen plenty of horrible reviews.But as a warning to anyone expecting anything good look elsewhere.Now I'll tell you guys why this should be incinerated and then recycled into plastic.Horrible story -Terrible dialogue -Horrible and offensive portrayal of women -Game looks like somebody took a **** in a box -Terrible game play -tons of missing animations and sounds -voice recording sounds horrible and I could go on but I don't want to waste my time talking about this game. DON'T BUY. Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    Anyone who gave this review really do have problem. This is like a pile of s**t, the graphics are horrible, gameplay is horrible and you should never, ever consider buying this. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2013
    0
    Could be worse than cancer. The gameplay is virtually not there at all. the art is from 8 years ago, Half life 2 looks better and it is9 years old. women are just used as swx machines and are nothing else, a truly awful game. Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2013
    0
    Console version makes this game very slightly better, at least that fixes the problem with broken aiming. But that's still not enough to save this game from being the worst creation of current generation. Shortly, don't play it. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews