Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 59
  2. Negative: 5 out of 59
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    93
    Ridge Racer Unbounded might not be the Ridge Racer game your dad played back in his day, but don't let the name fool you. It's dark and dirty visual style is second only to the dirty and explosive racing action that awaits when you strap in behind the wheel of this addictive arcade racer where the only limit to your fun is your imagination.
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    90
    The action-racing genre has delivered numerous treats this generation, but not one of them has been as rewarding and relentlessly entertaining, nor as feature-packed, as this. This is Ridge Racer unbounded from the shackles of its heritage, rebuilt from the ground up into one of the most subversive, sublime street-racing games ever made.
  3. Apr 9, 2012
    87
    A bold new direction for the series, one that slightly remembers the drifting fundamentals while throwing in all sorts of new rules and tricks to liven things up. It's a lot of fun to play online and off, and the presentation really guns it in all directions.
  4. Apr 11, 2012
    85
    The game's long-term entertainment value is tied up in multiplayer, and while I'm confident the user-generated tracks will always yield new and interesting experiences, playing with other players won't so much.
  5. Apr 2, 2012
    85
    Unbounded may not have much to do with the things that defined Ridge Racer, but if you can get over that, you'll discover an energetic, entertaining racer, with gratifyingly destructive environments, challenging gameplay and interesting online. Ridge Racer was due for a reboot, and here it is.
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    85
    Ridger Racer is back and manages to impress with some great gameplay and a brilliant soundtrack. The City Creator is bigger then ever, yet is only at its best when you've finished the game. The tons of new possibilities are great but they make the game a bit cluttered, giving you the feeling that you aren't accomplishing much. The multiplayer has also been expanded and will keep you entertained for many hours to come.
  7. Mar 27, 2012
    85
    Ridge Racer Unbounbed departs from the series' classical style, offering us a grittier, urban and destructive world, with very satisfying gameplay and good variety even without introducing great innovations to the genre. If you love arcade racing games and maybe you look back with nostalgia at series like PGR, you won't be disappointed. A good new starting point that deserves to be expanded further.
  8. Apr 20, 2012
    84
    Overall, Ridge Racer Unbounded is a great game with some fairly annoying problems that drag it down. The good news is I think they're all issues that could be addressed with a patch - the bad news is I don't know of one coming out, which means that while this game is worth your time, I don't quite think it's worth full-price in its present state.
  9. Apr 13, 2012
    83
    From the explosive tankers to the destructible environments, Shatter Bay makes a great first impression. Franchise loyalists may be turned off by this brand new direction, but anybody who loves Burnout will have a blast playing through Ridge Racer Unbounded. It's not without a few problems, but Namco's newest racer packs enough content to make up for any imperfection!
  10. Apr 3, 2012
    83
    Stick with Ridge Racer Unbounded long after you want to throw your controller in frustration, because patience reveals a solid, intense and fun arcade racer.
  11. May 11, 2012
    82
    The Finns sure know how to make a crash-and-burn driving game. Bugbear has transformed the Ridge Racer franchise in to a whole new level. This game has attitude. [May 2012]
  12. Apr 3, 2012
    81
    Ridge Racer Unbounded may not be true to the arcade series, but it is nonetheless a well done action racing game that surprises with a great online experience – and many explosions, of course.
  13. May 9, 2012
    80
    It is a challenging game that demands precision and patience to master and in exchange it delivers tense, thrilling racing. It isn't perfect, but it's a step in a great direction for the franchise.
  14. Apr 6, 2012
    80
    Even though it borrows a lot from other driving games, Ridge Racer: Unbounded still manages to find its own identity with fast-paced racing in high-octane environments. It may not feel like a Ridge Racer game at all, but who cares when the racing is this well-crafted?
  15. Apr 4, 2012
    80
    The frustrating moments in Ridge Racer Unbounded are far outweighed by the deeply satisfying ones. It's anarchic, well designed, thrilling to behold and will put a massive grin on any true petrol-head's face.
  16. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    Ridge Racer Unbounded might be one of the biggest missteps of this generation. Not because it is a bad game, in fact far from it, but because of the lack of explanation and more importantly, the dearth of advertising it has received
  17. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    As the latest incarnation of the series, Ridge Racer Unbounded switches focus to violent crashes and destructible environment. And it works! By delivering a great driving experience, this game takes the top position of arcade racers.
  18. Apr 2, 2012
    80
    The problem with Unbounded is that it doesn't seem comfortable sharing its secrets with you. It's called Ridge Racer, it looks like Burnout, and anyone who has played an arcade racer will, not unreasonably, expect a certain handling model...Unbounded is not that game.
  19. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    It's not really Ridge Racer, but whether you consider it a reboot or a spin-off this is the best arcade racer since Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit.
  20. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    Ridge Racer Unbounded is a dramatic departure for the series, but one that's filled with some gloriously destructive, fast-paced racing.
  21. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    This is a cautionary tale: nowhere in Unbounded does it tell you that you have to hold down the drift button the whole way through a corner, going against instincts built up by every other arcade racer ever, in order to have fun. When you do hold it down, though, Ridge Racer Unbounded is brilliant.
  22. Mar 27, 2012
    78
    More a spin-off than a reboot, Bugbear destructive racing introduces an innovative track editor, and great fun... but no real Ridge Racer feeling.
  23. Apr 30, 2012
    77
    It's Drive, Destroy, Dominate remit is delivered in spades, but after while, it can start to get a tad repetitive.
  24. Mar 29, 2012
    77
    Those looking for a reboot of Ridge Racer or for something which may resemble the iconic Namco Bandai series will become dissapointed, but anyway Unbounded is a good racing game, which control you may love or hate, a bit limited in single player content but with a great potential for used-created content in the multiplayer mode.
  25. Apr 16, 2012
    76
    This is not Ridge Racer as we know it; it is a complete re-imagining of the series. For the better or worse Ridge Racer has changed, it is no longer a circuit racer but it still features similar drift centric handling.
  26. Apr 4, 2012
    76
    With an emphasis on vehicular carnage and shattering buildings, Ridge Racer Unbounded rides high as long as you can find new thrills. However, the way it recycles elements from course to course quickly wears away the sense of discovery and makes it hard for user creations to truly stand apart.
  27. Mar 29, 2012
    76
    Ridger Racer is back with a solid and entertaining arcade racing game.
  28. Apr 18, 2012
    75
    Ridge Racer Unbounded is made for the patient and the determined.
  29. Apr 17, 2012
    75
    This departure from the franchise is an invigorating reboot that should satisfy both racing enthusiasts and action junkies alike while the decidedly robust track creation system should have the community upping the ante for months to come. Frag, destroy, create and decimate - it's all on the cards in Ridge Racer Unbounded.
  30. Apr 2, 2012
    75
    If you've grown tired of having your hand held through tutorial after tutorial, and incredibly easy arcade racers, the challenge offered by Unbounded is sure to appeal to you. I've definitely found myself enjoying this title a lot more than I would have anticipated, and urge racing fans to check it out.
  31. Mar 29, 2012
    75
    The real strength of Ridge Racer Unbounded is its Track Editor. Gameplay, options and cars are inspired by other racing brands, without bringing anything new to the arcade racing genre.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    Here's the weird thing about RRU: At first try, you'll likely hate it. The difficulty level is higher at the outset than you'd expect from aHere's the weird thing about RRU: At first try, you'll likely hate it. The difficulty level is higher at the outset than you'd expect from a racing game (expect to lose your first few races), and the controls are distinctly unforgiving -- until I started to get the hang of the game's drifting mechanic, which is far removed from Ridge Racers of yore, I was more likely to crash trying to turn a corner than not. Then I started to get the hang of it, then I started winning races, and suddenly a game I planned to trade in not one day after buying it has become a title I don't see myself parting with any time soon. A rank-advancement system that lets you keep the points you score in a given race even if you come in dead last (thus giving even the worst players a chance at eventually unlocking new cars which may better fit their play styles) went a long way in that regard. My only disappointment thus far is that, unless you got GameStop's special pre-order DLC pack with some Namco game-themed cars, there are *zero* nods to previous RR titles: even the cool car names (like 'Soldat Raggio' and 'Assoluto Fatalita') are gone. I can't wait to get into the multiplayer after I unlock some more content. Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Straight off the bat i cant praise the track editor enough its a fantastic set up and really user friendly although you need to complete theStraight off the bat i cant praise the track editor enough its a fantastic set up and really user friendly although you need to complete the main game to get the most out of it buts its a great addition. I think the series was getting a little tired and theres so many other different racers out there that it needed to catch up and maybe borrow some of their features. I dont mind games that borrow or improve on other driving game features and i think ridge racer unbounded is finely tuned. It kinda comes off as a burnout / need for speed hybrid which isnt a bad thing at all. Fun single player, destructible environments and lots of speed. best ridge racer game in a while. Full Review »
  3. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    This is one game that I wasn't expecting to enjoy as much as I do. For starters, remove the Ridge Racer from the game name. It's not neededThis is one game that I wasn't expecting to enjoy as much as I do. For starters, remove the Ridge Racer from the game name. It's not needed and it's quite misleading. Let's just call it "Unbounded." Ok, now that that is straightened out, Unbounded is a pretty great game. You get a decent amount of cars to unlock, the levels are pretty unique and diverse, the music is great, and the controls are unique in a way (the cars are a little heavy at times) but not too unique to cause issues.
    The one gripe I have with the game, and it's really not even a gripe, is the difficulty. One mess up in this game and you can kiss first place goodbye and more than likely second and third place. But, don't lose hope, the devs give you a way around this. Every time you race and even if you lose, you get XP. XP opens up new cars. New cars perform better than older cars and that event you were just bombing is now bearable. Consider it racing xp grinding to a certain degree.
    The online component of the game is where you really see the difference against other games. As you level up and finish races, you'll open up land pieces. With this pieces, you can create your own races. The crazy races that people make will keep this game interesting for a while, no doubt.
    There is regular multiplayer available as well if that is your forte. All in all, the game is a solid racer. If you are a racing fan or just like arcadey racing games, you could do a lot worse. Check it out if you get the chance.
    Full Review »