Rock Band Blitz Xbox 360

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Sep 6, 2012
    72
    Blitz proves that rhythm games can work without additional hardware, but even though it reminds sometimes of Harmonix' early masterpieces Frequency and Amplitude it lacks substance as a stand-alone-game. But throw the cross-compatibility with the instrument based brethren in the mix and you get more than 20 new songs to play for a fair price.
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    70
    Definitely worth spending some time with. Doubly so if you're a Rock Band enthusiast looking to expand your collection of playable songs. Owners of Rock Band 3 will definitely get their money's worth; for everyone else, there's a very enjoyable rhythm game here.
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    60
    Rock Band Blitz manages to improve on its predecessors' concept and control schemes, but the harsh monetization of its music and repetitive controller-based gameplay ultimately doesn't measure up to the feeling of a real Rock Band experience.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    There's plenty to like here, and Blitz is an undeniably enjoyable arcade game in short bursts. But it feels like an awkward offshoot for the Rock Band name, a little desperate in its push to get people downloading more songs, and an altogether lightweight experience that is unlikely to reverse the decline of the music genre.
  5. Sep 14, 2012
    70
    The Harmonix experiment is only half good. The fast-paced mechanics of gameplay shifts the balance from the pure taste of song execution to exasperated hi-score.
  6. Sep 8, 2012
    70
    Rock Band Blitz can be compared to games such as Audiosurf and Amplitude: once you're in the right flow, you'll race over the musical track like a mad man and hopefully break your own or someone else's high score. For the competitive gamer, this means a lot of hours of entertainment, but other than that, Blitz hasn't got much to offer. That's a shame, because the main mechanic is simple and yet addicting.
  7. Sep 13, 2012
    70
    With a nice take on the Rock Band formula, Blitz plays like nothing else - in a good way. Only some poor decisions regarding the bonus system and multiplayer drags this package down.
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    60
    Rock Band Blitz is a bit like a wooden rollercoaster. When you first experience it, it's thrilling--but with each repeated ride, it starts to feel less exciting and more rickety.
  9. Aug 29, 2012
    72
    The best rhythm games successfully tie gameplay and music in such a way that players feel like they're part of the song. Rock Band Blitz doesn't quite bridge that gap.
  10. Aug 28, 2012
    60
    Rock Band Blitz is a conflicting experience for hardcore fans. The game has its moments, but the most entertaining part of Rock Band has been effectively stripped from the game.
  11. Aug 27, 2012
    70
    Oddly enough, using a standard controller instead of a plastic guitar is hardly the most jarring aspect of Rock Band Blitz. The freebie DLC still makes it a no-brainer purchase, but Rock Band fans might find themselves alienated by the strange score focus, social game elements and absent multiplayer.
  12. 60
    Harmonix are still the masters of their craft but this feels less like a rebirth for Rock Band and more like a cash-grabbing backwards step.
  13. Sep 24, 2012
    70
    Rock Band Blitz is an above-average music game and a worthy addition to the libraries of genre fans and dabblers alike.
  14. Sep 6, 2012
    70
    If you're looking for a new way to play your old tunes it's a fun change of pace, but newcomers probably won't find enough here to merit a purchase.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    This is what you call a true sleeper hit.There is unlimited replay value and a game that surprised me in just about every way.I didn't thinkThis is what you call a true sleeper hit.There is unlimited replay value and a game that surprised me in just about every way.I didn't think it was possible for a video game to be so fun.The company that's direction was going for simulation in music gaming comes back and slaps us in the face with arcade genius.Whenever I wanted to play the arcade versions of music I would pop in one of my Guitar Hero games and just have good ol' fashion fun.When I wanted to play a little on the real side of the music genre I would play my Rock Band collection,not saying that I will quit playing GH games but this is a big reason in my mind to play this work of art before I play my next GH game,just BRILLIANT! Full Review »
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Blending elements from their earlier games, Frequency/Amplitude with Rock Band on PSP, throwing in power-ups and a highly competitive scoringBlending elements from their earlier games, Frequency/Amplitude with Rock Band on PSP, throwing in power-ups and a highly competitive scoring mechanism has lead to one of the most addicting titles I have played in years. Lookins at videos, it is easy to get weary about this game. With only 2 notes to play per track, I didn't see how it could stand up to Frequency/Amplitude. Luckily, the way it is set up, you are thankful there isn't 3 notes per lane. You use the joysticks to 'flick' each note, at first it is daunting, but eventually you learn finesse and everything clicks.

    Rock Band Blitz manages to be quite a fun arcade game, I really hope they continue to make new ways to play my music since all my Rock Band DLC works perfectly fine in this game, effectively making replay a near infinite thing...especially when you think about replaying songs over and over to improve your tactics and strategy. I sat down and played for 6 hours straight last night and only left because I needed sleep for work, the game is addictive and hard to put down. Now I am at work and can't stop thinking about this game. That is how you know they made something special.

    I have not been let down by Harmonix yet. They managed to improve upon the formula of their first games, while giving me extra value out of the hundreds of DLC tracks I have bought for Rock Band over the years...that is just an unbeatable deal. If you are someone who still plays Rock Band or has stopped but still has a mountain of DLC, there should be nothing stopping you from picking up this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 8, 2012
    5
    the game is quite annoying, but the fact that the songs import freely is the best thing of this game, it's just disappointing, but I'd say ifthe game is quite annoying, but the fact that the songs import freely is the best thing of this game, it's just disappointing, but I'd say if you're into this type of games go for it, spend some 1200MSP (NOTE: this isn't really a Rhythm Videogame like previous ones). As for the setlist, "One Week", "Spoonman" and "Give It Away" are the best of this offer Full Review »