User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 171

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    What a fun game this truly holds tight a family reunion and shows endless hours of full entertainment . Guitar Hero did it first and was original, meanwhile this broke my expectations . It gives a personality on what instrument you want to use and actually more variety because (obviously) there are more instrument just like the guitar,drums and vocal totally a kick ass.
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    7
    this game is best as a party game if you have some friends to play with it can be a blast . playing by your self is pretty dull and not as good as guitar hero 3 . the song list also isnt as good . the rock band guitar also sucks ass compared to the guitar hero one . but being able to play drums , sing and play bass give this game more dimension then guitar hero . the graphics also suck andthis game is best as a party game if you have some friends to play with it can be a blast . playing by your self is pretty dull and not as good as guitar hero 3 . the song list also isnt as good . the rock band guitar also sucks ass compared to the guitar hero one . but being able to play drums , sing and play bass give this game more dimension then guitar hero . the graphics also suck and look like the belong on the PS2 but this kind of game isnt made by the graphics . its a good entry by harmonix who did much better with rock band 2 which if you havent played any of them skip this one and get that and only get this if you wana pay $5 for a license on the xbox store to get all the songs off the first one on to the second. also a much better selection of DLC songs got to be enar or over a 1000 songs by now . Collapse
  3. PDodd
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    This is the only game to date (bar Rock Band 2) that i can play with my wife and my two girls at the same time and actually enjoy the experience, the actual guitar play aswell for some reason feels more real then GH3 and the fact that you can use the GH controller with this but you can't use the Rb with GH3 makes it a bigger boon to play.
  4. AshtonJ.
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    I was never a big fan of the GH series but I instantly fell in love with Rock Band. I love vocals but its always fun to switch it up even if you have to drop down a couple difficulty levels to do so. If you enjoy this game I highly recommend moving on to Rock Band 2 if you haven't yet. It fells like a more complete version of this game, you can even transfer the songs of RB to RB2!
  5. JohnW.
    Dec 26, 2008
    8
    Great game for the family, but not for a more intense player who's accustomed to GHIII. It's a hugely fun party game, and creating your own rockstar is fun as well. But a lack of a hyperspeed and the shoddy guitar peripheral left me a little disappointed.
  6. anonymous
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    *Irish player* This game took what was fun about guitar hero 2 and multiplied by 3. It's essentially 3 games in one. Each instruments in game use is fantastic, and I have since taken up real drums (I've played guitar fo 6 years or so now). However, you may have heard about issues with the instruments and this is not without reason. The strummer is a little awkward and it took me *Irish player* This game took what was fun about guitar hero 2 and multiplied by 3. It's essentially 3 games in one. Each instruments in game use is fantastic, and I have since taken up real drums (I've played guitar fo 6 years or so now). However, you may have heard about issues with the instruments and this is not without reason. The strummer is a little awkward and it took me a while to get used to the lack of clicking noises. The pedal held out for about 5 month before it snapped at the hinge, it is currently being held down with tape (which is doing the job). However it would be unfair to mark SOFTWARE down on the HARDWARE as this is a review of the game, not the instruments. The game's graphics are good but a little grainy, which I assume is what they were going for. The sound is TOP NOTCH, it's the little things that make the difference, like the indescribable feeling of the crowd singing along. The set list is also, for the most part, and for those complaining about a lack of difficulty, I suggest YYZ on drums, or Caprici di Diablo on guitar. A final note about the user scores. If you're a prospective buyer, and you see low scores from users. I suggest reading the review briefly to see if they are simply dragging the game down despite having played it or giving out because "PLAYN A REEL INSTRUMENT IS BTTER LOL". These people should obviously be ignored. In conclusion, this is the ultimate party game, and just as good on your own, and with 500+ tracks available, you'd be mad not to invest. Expand
  7. TomG.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    An amazing game. It takes anyone who can play Guitar Hero, Karaoke Revolution, and the real drums, and combines them to make Rock Band. The song selection is amazing, the World Tour mode is fun and addictive, and the Create a Rockstar feature adds on to the replay value. I knocked off a point because the graphics aren't top notch, the background videos run at a capped rate, the An amazing game. It takes anyone who can play Guitar Hero, Karaoke Revolution, and the real drums, and combines them to make Rock Band. The song selection is amazing, the World Tour mode is fun and addictive, and the Create a Rockstar feature adds on to the replay value. I knocked off a point because the graphics aren't top notch, the background videos run at a capped rate, the peripherals weren't constructed good, and the note charts flow and play differently than Guitar Hero 3 and World Tour. Still, highly recommended. As for DLC, I recommend the Metallica track pack. Expand
  8. GregM.
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    This game is a blast to play with family and friends. My biggest complaints are that setting up a multiplayer world tour game a bit more complicated than it should be and that the hardware can break fairly easily ( two drum pads have cracked and a wire broke, foot peddle cracked, and the whammy bar on the guitar broke albeit from misuse by the hands of an overly enthusiastic 10 y/o.
  9. RaffiC
    Aug 7, 2008
    4
    Overrated by most, overpriced by anyone's standards. The controllers/instruments are of poor quality and design. Gameplay is so-so. I much prefer the fret board of GH2-3, and even their bango-sized guitar, over RB crap. I'll give them points for graphics and character customizability, as well as endowing the additional instruments for song play. Speaking of which, their song Overrated by most, overpriced by anyone's standards. The controllers/instruments are of poor quality and design. Gameplay is so-so. I much prefer the fret board of GH2-3, and even their bango-sized guitar, over RB crap. I'll give them points for graphics and character customizability, as well as endowing the additional instruments for song play. Speaking of which, their song list isn't bad, about the same as GH3 in overall quality nd enjoyability. Overall, i thoroughly regret the purchase and would not recommend it to any soloists. It's, IMO, intending for those wanting to play with their friends or family 90+ percent of the time. Expand
  10. MadsC.
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    Gets the rating because it is the first game that my girlfriend ,through ten years, is actually asking me to play with her. And that makes it perfect.
  11. CrunkP.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    From the same people who brought you Guitar Hero 1 and 2, Rock Band is the epitome of its genre (at least until Rock Band 2 comes out!) Guitar Hero is more like a video game, Rock Band has transcended this and is more than just a game. It's a new way to interact with music and with other people. It provides more options, a stellar soundtrack, tons of DLC and best of all, it's From the same people who brought you Guitar Hero 1 and 2, Rock Band is the epitome of its genre (at least until Rock Band 2 comes out!) Guitar Hero is more like a video game, Rock Band has transcended this and is more than just a game. It's a new way to interact with music and with other people. It provides more options, a stellar soundtrack, tons of DLC and best of all, it's made by musicians who know music and know how to make a good music game. The newer Guitar Hero games are more about being a "video game" and that's why they're artificially challenging (the parts you're playing don't always match up to the real music...) If I could only have one game for the Xbox 360, it would be Rock Band. Expand
  12. BrendenS.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    You might be wondering, "Why the hell did he give it a 10?" Well because I feel that there really isn't any other game to truly compare this one to. Sure we have Guitar Hero, a number of arcade drum games, and a sickening amount of karaoke games, I don't feel that any of them are comparable to the true rock band experience that you get from this game. I love Guitar Hero, but if You might be wondering, "Why the hell did he give it a 10?" Well because I feel that there really isn't any other game to truly compare this one to. Sure we have Guitar Hero, a number of arcade drum games, and a sickening amount of karaoke games, I don't feel that any of them are comparable to the true rock band experience that you get from this game. I love Guitar Hero, but if I had to choose one or the other to have and I couldn't have the other, I would have to pick Rock Band. The experience is simply superior to that of GH. Expand
  13. coling.
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    This is the best console to get it for. Although the drums are a bit noisy, the rest of the game is simply amazing! Downloading songs is also another great reason to buy it for the 360.
  14. OliverB.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    First of all I live in Denmark. this game has not been released in Denmark yet, even though its been out for almost a year in America, and when its finally released, it will most likely cost 3 times more than the American version. currently I am in America, but i cant buy rock band here and take it home because it wont run on my xbox because its European. this game is a joke. Its just the First of all I live in Denmark. this game has not been released in Denmark yet, even though its been out for almost a year in America, and when its finally released, it will most likely cost 3 times more than the American version. currently I am in America, but i cant buy rock band here and take it home because it wont run on my xbox because its European. this game is a joke. Its just the old cliche: Europe get the same thing just some months later to a much higher price. it happened with the PS3, the iPhone and many other products. I hope fable 2 will be euro exclusive for 6 months, just so the Americans can see how it feels to be shat on just because you live in a different part of the world. Expand
  15. MikeS.
    Jul 1, 2008
    5
    Lacking the challenge and skill requirements of Guitar Hero III, Rock Band is a good concept with weak peripherals that is just way too easy.
  16. FredB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  17. IanC
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    *FROM A UK PLAYER* Awesome, well worth the cash, drums are most excellent, and I find the guitar BETTER than Guitar Hero, seems faster, more exciting and a lot less twiddly, more like playing an instrument and less like playing a game. And yes I play guitar and drums for real too, so I have a frame of reference. Of course, guitar isn't too close to the real thing, closer than GH tho, *FROM A UK PLAYER* Awesome, well worth the cash, drums are most excellent, and I find the guitar BETTER than Guitar Hero, seems faster, more exciting and a lot less twiddly, more like playing an instrument and less like playing a game. And yes I play guitar and drums for real too, so I have a frame of reference. Of course, guitar isn't too close to the real thing, closer than GH tho, but drums are almost a trainer for real drum playing, you need an excellent sense of rhythm and timing, it's a real and very enjoyable challenge. I know it's expensive, but it is worth it. PS, no problems with the instruments yet. Expand
  18. LoriF.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    I can't stop playing...The BEST family game ever made !
  19. TaylorC.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Near perfect game. Totally the best music game ever made and one of the best games of any genre.
  20. DaveE.
    Apr 8, 2008
    0
    The reason I'm voting this game 0 is the price. The UK pricing is £180... That's more than the console. The game is 170 US dollars... So the UK prices works out at about 355 US dollars for EXACTLY the same game, just cause we happen to live over the ocean. Disgraceful!
  21. JordanK
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    great game. There are not a whole lot of flaws. will definitely give guitar hero a run for it's money. And the instruments are not faulty. I got it, been beating the crap out of the drums for a couple of months now, and besides the occasionally missed yellow note, it's working perfect. i guess with rock band it's just the luck of the draw.
  22. ZaidK.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Just an amazing accomplishment on Harmonix's part. They really get so much right, that you are left nit-picking at what's missing.
  23. Jakeunknown
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    This game is the best and I love the drums.
  24. LorenI.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played! If you love music and video games, this game is it!
  25. PaulE.
    Feb 22, 2008
    7
    As the dad I was able to manage the guitar at medium and once even played it at a hard level without bombing out. My 9 yr old son on the drums is pretty good on medium but gets overwhelmed on hard. My 12 yr old daughter manages to carry us on hard with the vocals. We've taken it as far as we can with our level of ability and can't seem to master the more difficult levels so our As the dad I was able to manage the guitar at medium and once even played it at a hard level without bombing out. My 9 yr old son on the drums is pretty good on medium but gets overwhelmed on hard. My 12 yr old daughter manages to carry us on hard with the vocals. We've taken it as far as we can with our level of ability and can't seem to master the more difficult levels so our interest has waned in the game. I wished they'd release songs that are more fun like "Last Train to Clarksville" and less edgy. I noticed too that the guitar is rather flimsy and that the down strokes don't always register correctly. I found it best to strum with my first two fingers with the upstroke for the faster bits but can't do much more than that. Sometimes my whole forearm starts to seize up after one of those songs and can't play anymore. Ah, to be 20 years younger again. The upside is my son now has an interest in being a drummer and has gained more rhythm. My daughter too has been more willing to push her vocals instead of singing quietly to herself. I think it has been a fun family experience but it doesn't make us run back to it anymore like it did when we first got it. Expand
  26. JonahG
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game, but requires friends (preferably in person, not online) to get the most out of the game. Playing Rock Band solo isn't even close to the awesome experience of playing it with 3 friends. Some of the best times I've ever had in 20 years of gaming have been in the past two months with Rock Band. That says enough.
  27. shorty
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This is the best music games out there if you got the extra cash or just love guitar hero this game is for you.
  28. Davie
    Feb 5, 2008
    1
    I feel you have to judge a game by playing it youself before you review it. Sadly this isn't released in the UK or the whole of europe and wont be for anytime soon. So it gets a low score.
  29. XanN
    Feb 1, 2008
    8
    This game is awesome. It far exceeds the GH series, if nothing else, just for the multiple instruments. The drums are by far my favorite. Now for the bad things: I've had two guitars break on me...not user fault by any means, and the user interface of the game is horrible. Once you establish a "leader" you have to continue to use that leader and whatever instrument you started with This game is awesome. It far exceeds the GH series, if nothing else, just for the multiple instruments. The drums are by far my favorite. Now for the bad things: I've had two guitars break on me...not user fault by any means, and the user interface of the game is horrible. Once you establish a "leader" you have to continue to use that leader and whatever instrument you started with at the beginning. That means that your custom made character can't switch between instruments. Oh, and STEVE....you can do a solo career with any of the instruments. Don't turn on your xbox with your 360 controller. That will automatically make you the singer. Plug in the guitar or drums and then turn on your xbox. then use said controller to navigate the menus. Overall, this game is excellent for parties. Expand
  30. TonyQ.
    Jan 31, 2008
    0
    If I were dumb I'd play this game. Too bad my IQ is in the millions. I don't understand why all of my friends think this game is amazing. We fight about it all the time and I win every argument because my points are discussed with greater clarity and I'm better at name calling. The developers should be embarrassed .
  31. SteveK.
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing and deep. Very well made. A great party game that gets you very invovled. Having fans and little challenges in the gigs (kinda like Fable's bast system) is an ingenious way to make you more invested in your performances. It's not without it's faults though. The interface is a little klunky and user unfriendly. Navigating the menus is much much harder This game is amazing and deep. Very well made. A great party game that gets you very invovled. Having fans and little challenges in the gigs (kinda like Fable's bast system) is an ingenious way to make you more invested in your performances. It's not without it's faults though. The interface is a little klunky and user unfriendly. Navigating the menus is much much harder than it should be. They've made some poor choices to make the game user unfriendly.... why is solo play only for singers? I realize you can go into multiplayer and just do one instrument, but the tags solo and mulit are a bit deceptive, no? And why is it that if I set a band leader, I can never change his/her instrument plus I HAVE to play with that guy all the time. Sometimes you just get sick of singing. :P This was a very poor choice. Giving players more freedom is always a good thing. Most of these things can be forgiven, but I would advise Harmonix to WATCH a few new players try to navigate their menus and set up a band and play the game for the next round of RB. Expand
  32. T.S.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    The thing to remember when considering Rock Band: this game is FUN when played with friends (as was its purpose, obviously). If you buy the Special Edition just to have it, you'll nitpick until you find a reason to hate it. If you are a child of 70s, 80s, and or 90s music, you'll love the tracks included. There's plenty from "today" too, but the nostalgic is really where The thing to remember when considering Rock Band: this game is FUN when played with friends (as was its purpose, obviously). If you buy the Special Edition just to have it, you'll nitpick until you find a reason to hate it. If you are a child of 70s, 80s, and or 90s music, you'll love the tracks included. There's plenty from "today" too, but the nostalgic is really where it's at. And with the downloadable content, it seems that the track list might be "Endless" someday afterall. Sure, the guitar is not as good as the Les Paul that comes with Guitar Hero III, but that's no reason to run away. You'll get a workout on the drums. And you'll find out you can't sing as well as you thought! It's a new game, so the makers will work out the kinks, but it's worth getting right away and getting used to it. The changes will only make it better. Expand
  33. SeanD.
    Jan 16, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing! But don't get me wrong, it does has flaws... The drum set isn't as sturdy as I had hoped it would be...and the guitar (although it is amazing) takes getting used to compared to the guitar hero 3 or 2 ones. This game is really fun for local multiplayer but online is WAY worse... There is barely anyone online and there is only tug of war or score deul...which This game is amazing! But don't get me wrong, it does has flaws... The drum set isn't as sturdy as I had hoped it would be...and the guitar (although it is amazing) takes getting used to compared to the guitar hero 3 or 2 ones. This game is really fun for local multiplayer but online is WAY worse... There is barely anyone online and there is only tug of war or score deul...which is basically the same thing but showing score/who's winning differently... Also the connections for the headsets could be fixed to work better... mine has some static and my friend even broke his headset trying to put his on... this game is especially fun if you know people that have it as well. For the most part the songs are great as well although there could be more... I feel like this game was pushed for a holiday release when it shouldn't have been... There isn't the option to play as a band with people online in band world tour which is a HUGE dissapointment for me.... Also the price tag for this game is fairly hefty...but for what you get it is worth it! I feel like I am only mentioning flaws, but remember these are for the most part minor issues. The game is overall a fantastic experience! Expand
  34. M.D.
    Jan 13, 2008
    3
    WE played the instruments as softy as possible and everyone of them broke within a couple off weeks - this is a very poorly made game ans should be avoided. I feel bad for everyone who bought this and feels like their gear is doing ok - just look at the Rockband.com forums - EVERYONE's hardware is broken - it's just a matter of time. We've all been ripped off!!
  35. SophiaL.
    Jan 13, 2008
    2
    Could have been a great game, but the rushed-to-market instruments ruin it. While some have had luck with getting fixed instruments, we've spent months waiting for the 'fixed' hardware only to get the same faulty gear back. Unfortunately we can't even sell it, as the widespread failure rate on the hardware blocks GameStop from letting you sell it back - while it's Could have been a great game, but the rushed-to-market instruments ruin it. While some have had luck with getting fixed instruments, we've spent months waiting for the 'fixed' hardware only to get the same faulty gear back. Unfortunately we can't even sell it, as the widespread failure rate on the hardware blocks GameStop from letting you sell it back - while it's a fun concept, the execution is miserable - everyone should just wait for Rock Band II rather than get screwed over by EA and Harmonix on this disaster. The brilliant concept is undeniable, the 4th rate hardware is inexcusable - if you're reading this ad thinking 'whatever, my drum pedal is fine' just give it a couple more weeks and I 'd bet money it's' busted - they knew the hardware was faulty and shipped it anyway just to make their holiday revenue look better - the gear is crap and woe be unto anyone who buys this and expects it to last more than a month - never have I seen a better example of reviews-gone-wrong than this, where the game itself is left unplayable by faulty hardware - avoid at all costs!! Expand
  36. TimW.
    Jan 8, 2008
    7
    Good song list. Great multiplayer experience. However, if you are a solo artist (like me) the game can be boring at times. Much easier than GH3 from a Guitar perspective. Long stretches of some songs with drum solos. One really annoying thing is when you see the drummer during the songs the drum volume increases dramatically then suddenly reverts to normal when the scene passes. Why? Good song list. Great multiplayer experience. However, if you are a solo artist (like me) the game can be boring at times. Much easier than GH3 from a Guitar perspective. Long stretches of some songs with drum solos. One really annoying thing is when you see the drummer during the songs the drum volume increases dramatically then suddenly reverts to normal when the scene passes. Why? Ruins the song in my book. Expand
  37. RyanM.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Absolutely spectacular. I was fortunate enough to get this even after the holidays (they were quite hard to find) and I haven't stopped playing since. Any problems I've had have been easily resolved and the fun has continued. It's so rewarding having your friends playing alongside you and creating what you would want to look like as a rock star. While the character Absolutely spectacular. I was fortunate enough to get this even after the holidays (they were quite hard to find) and I haven't stopped playing since. Any problems I've had have been easily resolved and the fun has continued. It's so rewarding having your friends playing alongside you and creating what you would want to look like as a rock star. While the character customization is somewhat limited, the guitar/bass customization is badass, you can make your dream guitar, be it hot pink with dancing unicorns, or a black guitar soaked in a bloody handprint, you can do all that and more. The setlist too, makes the game awesome (aside from The Beastie Boys, blech), and this is the game that literally keeps on giving as each week more songs are posted online in the Marketplace, and the amount of songs that Harmonix can add to this game is virtually endless. Another fun little side note is the fact that while you may not know a lot of the songs on this game, I've actually discovered four or five songs that I went to download off of iTunes, if you loved Guitar Hero, be prepared to get blown away by Rock Band, as it takes everything Guitar Hero did good, and makes it better. Expand
  38. D_rekg
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    Rock Band is a fun game with a group of friends and is still fun by yourself. The song list is way better than any guitar hero list to date. Although its a great game I have been having trouble with the guitar it came with. The green fret button was shown on the screen as being held down when it really wasnt. The whammy bar spring broke as well. I sent away for a new one but until then i Rock Band is a fun game with a group of friends and is still fun by yourself. The song list is way better than any guitar hero list to date. Although its a great game I have been having trouble with the guitar it came with. The green fret button was shown on the screen as being held down when it really wasnt. The whammy bar spring broke as well. I sent away for a new one but until then i have just been using the xplorer(which I think is better than the new fender). Expand
  39. J.G.
    Jan 3, 2008
    9
    Very entertaining from start to finish. all the instruments and executed perfectly throughout the game. The band world tour is flawless and can be played for hours with friends. The only drawback of the package is that its 170$, but since its so good its worth the price.
  40. MelindaM.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    This game so awesome! the instruments are cool and so is the gameplay. the songs are great and its fun playing with other people. the reviewers who played this game and said it was broken were probably 30 year old men who dont know their own strength and smashed everything because these instruments are not cheaply made and are well worth the money. if you dont already have it, get it!
  41. EthanW.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best if not the best game of the year besides portal. Revolutionary feeling while playing this game. The reason their aren't more positive user reviews is the fact that they are all to busy playing it to care. Drums - really fun but hard, vocals - more fun then i thought they would be, guitar/bass - brilliant. There is a reason this game won music game of the year This is one of the best if not the best game of the year besides portal. Revolutionary feeling while playing this game. The reason their aren't more positive user reviews is the fact that they are all to busy playing it to care. Drums - really fun but hard, vocals - more fun then i thought they would be, guitar/bass - brilliant. There is a reason this game won music game of the year at the VGA's over guitar hero 3. Its better. Expand
  42. MichaelF.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Amazing experience, improves on Guitar Hero, weekly DLC support - all great. Guitar broke the first week, but the express replacement came in two days and has worked great. Beyond expectations.
  43. BryanB.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    As long as you're familiar with the divide between playing a rhythm game and actually playing an instrument, this game will not disappoint you. The song selection is excellent (with more downloadable apparently every week), the interface is intuitive and it's great to break out at parties.
  44. M.G.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Truly amazing. I love the soundtrack and despite many concerns i've found the peripherals to be high-quality and durable. Am loving every part of the game so far!
  45. JeremyT.
    Dec 18, 2007
    9
    My non-gamer friends put it well: "Best game ever!" I would dock it a point for the hardware issues, though it only took two days to get a replacement guitar. Guitar hero is dead, long live rock band!
  46. RobertW.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    Our whole family plays this in the living room. I get to hear music that spans forty years. I also get to bang on the drums. The game is fun but also puts me into a possible Rock and Roll Fantasy (They should get that song in there as well)
  47. MorganK.
    Dec 13, 2007
    3
    So close to greatness, but unfortunately a totally broken, failed release. All my interested friends who were psyched to play after months of me talking about it came over the night of the launch and we played all night - it was great fun and everyone had a blast. Towards the end of the night the Stratocaster died on the downstrum like most people's. At the time it was being played So close to greatness, but unfortunately a totally broken, failed release. All my interested friends who were psyched to play after months of me talking about it came over the night of the launch and we played all night - it was great fun and everyone had a blast. Towards the end of the night the Stratocaster died on the downstrum like most people's. At the time it was being played on Medium bass. It was ok, though, as we were mostly going to be a three piece band and I still had the Xplorer from Guitar Hero II to use and I'd been reading on here that others were having the same problem and the replacements were on the way out. After a couple of days i did the non-express RMA. Although the shipper mis-delivered it, I did eventually get the empty RMA box and send the guitar out. As of today, no replacement has arrived. As we played I noticed huge issues for the mic lagging way behind the vocal tracks - this has been well documented on here as a software issue - and it was ok as long as you didn't have to do a speaking/rapping part on one of the higher difficulties. Also, having sung in a couple of bands, i have a pretty projecting singing voice, but I had to rein that way in to keep the cheap mic from freaking out at louder sounds, even after turning the sensitivity way down. It seems to be fine there as long as you are singing in a high head voice with no vibrato - which sounds really stupid most of the time, but it was still funny to hear my friends do it. For a while. I was going to buy a new, better USB mic, but was waiting for the mic lag problem to be fixed. I guess it doesn't matter now, though. Also, we started to notice a crack forming and the hinge of the bass pedal. We have just started to get to the beginnings of Hard drumming and since I'd been hearing about broken bass pedals on here since launch, I'd enforced a socks-only drumming rule. So anticipating it breaking fully eventually, I did another non-Express RMA for the pedal. Yesterday the bass pedal snapped about 30 seconds after our first play through the just-purchased DLC, The Ramones Rockaway Beach with the drummer on Easy, in socks. It snapped in a totally different place than the first crack - halfway between the hinge and the spring, easily breaking through the support plastic crisscrosses on the bottom. So, since after several days my RMA box for the pedal still hadn't shipped according to the UPS site, I called EA Support to see if I could upgrade the RMA to Express by giving them my credit card. After 2 attempts, I was both times disconnected immediately when I hit '1' to speak with Customer Support instead of the automated menu tree. As of this writing, the empty RMA box still hasn't shipped. Even after all this - now that the only properly functioning piece of hardware in this game is my 2 year old-that-I bought-used and heavily-abused-through-Expert Guitar Hero II Xplorer. The concept is great, the software is pretty solid, but the massive scale of the peripheral failure taints this game to the extent that it cannot be recommended. It's not worth the headache of dealing with endless cycle of failed hardware and 2 month warranties - either give it a year and see if they've fixed all their problems, or simply wait for Rock Band 2, because this is a trainwreck. Expand
  48. Bauermill
    Dec 11, 2007
    2
    This game is mediocre compared to any Guitar Hero game. The only good thing is the song list, but the chinsey instruments and bad controls kill any reason to buy this game.
  49. NeilK.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    RockBand rocks! All of the instruments are tons of fun and the color choices available for all the clothes and hair and instruments improve the visuals that much more. Admittedly, it is expensive, but be like me and split a bundle pack with a friend. I mean you're gonna need someone to beat World Tour with anyway.
  50. AO
    Dec 4, 2007
    8
    Rick I think he meant it literally broke, not that the gameplay is broken. Very fun game by the way.
  51. Rick
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Don't listen to Ryan F's Moronic review, the game is WELL worth the price, and is most certainly NOT Broken, It is epic beyond all limits.
  52. IanR.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    A great list of songs. The only way most people will ever get to play drums in a band. Great fun co-op and at parties.
  53. Steve
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Sheer awesome! Every instrument in the set controls perfectly and when at a party there is no other game better to play than Rock Band. A must have for all fans of Rock music!
  54. JimR.
    Nov 25, 2007
    6
    Song list is great but guitar play isn't nearly as good as Guitar Hero III and the drums pretty much stink. As for the karaoke, who really cares.
  55. CarlW.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    This game isn't so much a "should I buy it?" but a "When should I buy it?" If the price tag scares you, remember that along with the amazing multi-player, you also get pretty much Karaoke Revolution, Guitar Hero and Drum Hero in one box. Everything thing but the bass has it's own "solo" tour, which gives you plenty of time to practice before you hit the co-op or versus modes. This game isn't so much a "should I buy it?" but a "When should I buy it?" If the price tag scares you, remember that along with the amazing multi-player, you also get pretty much Karaoke Revolution, Guitar Hero and Drum Hero in one box. Everything thing but the bass has it's own "solo" tour, which gives you plenty of time to practice before you hit the co-op or versus modes. The drums are executed very well and rival the guitar in overall fun. The song selections are ranged and basically great. The downloadable content is top shelf as well. If you like music, like Guitar Hero or like having fun in general, you will want this game. Expand
  56. JasonA.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    GREAT game! It's definitely completely immersive, and really relies on everyone working together to get through each song, each set list and continue improving. In MP world tour, it also forces you to continually up the ante to harder difficulty levels, really making you constantly improve your play, never settling for just "okay". Great game for the entire family to enjoy!
  57. RyanF.
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    Not worth the price. Broke already
  58. NateB.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    I bouth Guitar Hero III but then returned it when I found out this was coming out in a couple days. I was a bit worried it wouldn't be as much fun with just one person, but i was completely wrong. Some reviews say that it is not as much fun as Guitar Heor one player but boy, they might have been trying to level out the competition but clearly, there is non. Go buy this game I bouth Guitar Hero III but then returned it when I found out this was coming out in a couple days. I was a bit worried it wouldn't be as much fun with just one person, but i was completely wrong. Some reviews say that it is not as much fun as Guitar Heor one player but boy, they might have been trying to level out the competition but clearly, there is non. Go buy this game immediately even if you have no interest in it. It is hands down one of the best games I have ever owned. Expand
  59. SHARPSH00TAH.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    First things first, the reviews are wrong. Solo is just as much fun as multiplayer. The drums are an amazing addition to the music gaming genre. There is a bit of a learning curve, but once you get them down, they are so much fun. The main reason that I give this game a 10 is this: MY WIFE LOVES THE GAME!!! She's never been against me playing games, but outside of playing NASCAR First things first, the reviews are wrong. Solo is just as much fun as multiplayer. The drums are an amazing addition to the music gaming genre. There is a bit of a learning curve, but once you get them down, they are so much fun. The main reason that I give this game a 10 is this: MY WIFE LOVES THE GAME!!! She's never been against me playing games, but outside of playing NASCAR once, she's NEVER played any of them with me. We bought this game 2 days ago. We were supposed to watch a movie last night, but I hadn't played Rock Band yet. So, she decided to play it with me. I was not looking forward to it at first. However, my wife, who normally goes to bed at 9:30 or 10, played this game with me till 1 a.m. Now, if that doesn't warrant a 10, I don't know what game does. We haven't played this at a party yet, that comes next week. But this game was already worth every penny because my wife is asking when we can play it again. Expand
  60. GlennP.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    This game is AWESOME. Guitar, singing, drums are all tight and really fun. My kids and I formed a band and rocked until the wee hours of the night last night. The most exciting thing for me was seeing them listening to some old classics for the first time. This will never get old. The only thing I was upset about was that you can play in a band but cannot form a persistent band on Xbox This game is AWESOME. Guitar, singing, drums are all tight and really fun. My kids and I formed a band and rocked until the wee hours of the night last night. The most exciting thing for me was seeing them listening to some old classics for the first time. This will never get old. The only thing I was upset about was that you can play in a band but cannot form a persistent band on Xbox Live, only on the same Xbox. The developer says that they will update the game soon to allow persistent online bands but it's not available yet. So I take a point off for missing that at launch. Other than that, this game is worth every penny. Expand
  61. rg
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    First off, the reviews are wrong, this game is just as amazing solo as MP. Each instrument is like playing a new game and even the guitar is like playing on another level because of subtle tweaks over the Guitar Hero series. The addition of vocals and drums are game changers. After playing the drums on medium all night I have no doubt playing on expert would result in being able to really First off, the reviews are wrong, this game is just as amazing solo as MP. Each instrument is like playing a new game and even the guitar is like playing on another level because of subtle tweaks over the Guitar Hero series. The addition of vocals and drums are game changers. After playing the drums on medium all night I have no doubt playing on expert would result in being able to really play the drums. That alone is astonishing. Now they just need to bring the FretLight guitar to the game so we actually learn to play real guitar (Seriously, they have to be considering taking it to that level). The vocals are also a total blast; seeing realtime pitch feedback made me a better singer almost instantly. This game exceed my high expectations and to be honest, I'm shocked it managed to do that. Simply the most fun I've ever had playing a video game, period. Expand
  62. JakeH.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    We bought the game yesterday and spent 4 hours playing last night. There were 3 of us playing and we continually rotated instruments. I haven't had so much fun with a game in a long time. This is by far the best party game I have ever played!
  63. JoshuaH.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is perfection. Amazingly fun game to play by yourself or with a few others. The set list spans many years and is categorized by difficulty. It's easy to jump into and will entice anyone around to watch what's going on. The character creation is fun and deeper than you would see on the surface. Online play is seem-less and the World Tour is epic with it's many This game is perfection. Amazingly fun game to play by yourself or with a few others. The set list spans many years and is categorized by difficulty. It's easy to jump into and will entice anyone around to watch what's going on. The character creation is fun and deeper than you would see on the surface. Online play is seem-less and the World Tour is epic with it's many venues, goals, and pure vastness of it all. Great game that deserves a 10 for not skimping on anything. Expand
  64. ThomasB.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This is a great game, i played a little of everything and it is a lot better then i had expected, it is worth the $170.
  65. JillR.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing - it connects you to other people in a way that only music can do and it overcomes the barrier of playing in front of a crowd - YOU CAN ROCK! You CAN be a rock star! It is so much FUN!!!
  66. NickC.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Simply the best rhythm and party game ever made.
  67. EricB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    The game is truly amazing. Guitar feels a lot more solid and has many more features than the Guitar Hero ones, an extremely wide range of songs from different genres, and it's essentially four games in one. This is the ultimate rhythm game, hands down.
  68. Mar 24, 2011
    0
    this game is best as a party game if you have some friends to play with it can be a blast . playing by your self is pretty dull and not as good as guitar hero 3 . the song list also isnt as good . the rock band guitar also sucks ass compared to the guitar hero one . but being able to play drums , sing and play bass give this game more dimension then guitar hero . the graphics also suck andthis game is best as a party game if you have some friends to play with it can be a blast . playing by your self is pretty dull and not as good as guitar hero 3 . the song list also isnt as good . the rock band guitar also sucks ass compared to the guitar hero one . but being able to play drums , sing and play bass give this game more dimension then guitar hero . the graphics also suck and look like the belong on the PS2 but this kind of game isnt made by the graphics . its a good entry by harmonix who did much better with rock band 2 which if you havent played any of them skip this one and get that and only get this if you wana pay $5 for a license on the xbox store to get all the songs off the first one on to the second. also a much better selection of DLC songs got to be enar or over a 1000 songs by now . Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Rock Band is so close to being a must-have game for any self respecting, music-loving gamer, but unless you’ve got money to burn and friends on tap, Rock Band isn’t half the game it could have been for half the cost [Say again, Bilbo - Ed].
  2. Problems are present, such as the inclusion of a few foreign tracks in mystery set lists during the World Tour (not the easiest of songs to jump into without having any prior experience) and we still prefer the guitars included with Guitar Hero, but these aren't enough to hurt what is a unique gaming experience.
  3. Rock Band's longevity will last as long as it has support for it.