Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    As a new IP and a ballsy take on the floundering music genre, Rocksmith is an awesome first step. The technology is fantastic, and while the gameplay could use some tweaks, the dynamic charting system is a great sign of things to come.
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    There's definitely room for improvement down the road, but Rocksmith's debut has one thing going for it above all else: it's the real deal. This ambitious guitar game delivers on its promise of intense rhythm gaming action tied to the act of actual guitar playing. It has something to offer players of all skill levels, whether you're picking up and learning the guitar for the first time or have been playing for ages.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    83
    Is Rocksmith always a thrill a minute? No. However, few recent games offer so novel an experience as playing a guitar part, and hearing the notes you play flow out of your TV as part of a great rock song. It's the added incentive a lot of potential musicians might need to put in the time it takes to excel.
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    60
    It will make you feel comfortable holding and playing a real guitar, and empowered to go further in spite of its apparent animosity towards you. The less you treat Rocksmith like a game, the more fun you'll have with it.
  5. Oct 19, 2011
    85
    In the end, making the decision to purchase Rocksmith comes down to what you're looking to get out of it. If you just want a music game to bust out at parties, stick with Rock Band or Guitar Hero. On the other hand, if you've always wanted to learn how to play the guitar, Rocksmith is a great way to do it.
  6. Nov 4, 2011
    70
    At its core, Rocksmith is wildly cool, innovative technology sitting on top of a tired formula many of us have played to death. Had the story mode been anything other than the tried-and-true Guitar Hero/Rock Band "play a few songs, unlock new venues, rinse and repeat," it would have been infinitely more fun. Even so, Rocksmith is undeniably interesting, and the potential for greatness in the franchise is there.
  7. 70
    The prevailing problem with Rocksmith: defining exactly what it wants to be. It doesn't go all the way in teaching you guitar, in that you're not learning how to read notes or construct a composition. Conversely, as a videogame, its straight-faced tone, added playing mechanics, and high price make it less accessible than, say, Rock Band.
  8. Nov 1, 2011
    80
    This is a really great tool to teach gamers how to really play guitar. Experienced players will grow bored with the core campaign mode, but the additions of the amp and arcade mini-games in Guitarcade will test your fingers for sure.
  9. Oct 29, 2012
    80
    Rocksmith is a great way to enjoy a musical videogame in a more hardcore way. A great music teaching experience.
  10. Sep 27, 2012
    80
    Ubisoft tries to reinvent the rhythm game genre with Rocksmith, but unfortunately developers didn't implement an online multiplayer mode.
  11. Sep 26, 2012
    80
    The European version of Rocksmith is much better than the American one, due to a bunch of useful changes. The new balance of the automatic difficulty level is better than the original and the good practice mode is a nice touch. Few technical problems are still there, but the product is still pretty impressive.
  12. Oct 9, 2012
    75
    Rocksmith doesn't replace guitar teachers, but it provides a fun learning method that helps develop your skills, especially for learning the basics of guitar and bass guitar. Even experienced shredders will have a good time with Rocksmith, which is educational software as well as a decent game.
  13. Oct 28, 2011
    80
    A niche title lacking the surface appeal of its party-game predecessors, Rocksmith's not for everyone. Still, there's absolutely nothing else like it for its intended audience. Those who'd rather play than pretend will appreciate the lasting reward of learning riffs from Nirvana's In Bloom far more than the shallow gratification that comes with pressing colored plastic buttons to a Top 40 hit.
  14. 80
    You'd be mad to buy an electric guitar and not fork out for Rocksmith as well. [Dec 2012, p.95]
  15. 60
    A novel idea and clever piece of kit, but indecision on whether it's a videogame or learning tool is a downfall, along with its confusing bespoke notation method. [Issue#91, p.82]
  16. Nov 3, 2011
    85
    This is a strong piece of learning software under the guise of a game.
  17. Sep 28, 2012
    81
    The recognition works well and with the added bass guitar mode (which can also be emulated with a six-string) as well as the coop-option you'll get a lot of content. Unfortunately the game part of Rocksmith still needs polishing while the guitar coach has its flaws.
  18. Oct 19, 2011
    90
    Rocksmith feels like a present from the rock gods themselves. This little slice of the future is the perfect tool/game to teach all skill levels a thing or two about rocking out on the six-strings.
  19. Oct 19, 2011
    98
    It's rare to find a game that encompasses a teaching tool as effective as Rocksmith, with virtually no negatives to observe, while still being enjoyable to play. Though for the first day or two you'll feel some pain in the tips of your fingers as your new guitarist callous' begin to form, it's a small trade for the skills, abilities, and pride you'll feel as you level-up as a genuine musician. Nothing beats learning useful and fun real-life skills, especially when it's with something as cool as an electric guitar.
  20. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    A great first step in a much needed new directions in the music game genre.
  21. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    For a guy like me who had to borrow a friends guitar to actually try the game – the fact that I'm now contemplating visiting a pawn shop to cash in on someone else's inability to make ends meet and buy my very own guitar should speak volumes to the titles power as a fun learning tool. Beginners, give this a shot – especially if you've already got a guitar collecting dust in the closet.
  22. Oct 18, 2011
    50
    Rocksmith doesn't teach the player anything; they teach themselves, and there are much more entertaining and fulfilling ways to be a self-taught guitarist.
  23. Nov 2, 2012
    80
    Guitar instructors are facing serious competition from Ubisoft. Rocksmith turns dull repetitions into a fun game, and will turn you into a much better guitarist through steady increases in challenge and difficulty.
  24. 80
    I've never had as great an urge to practice and improve my skills on the guitar as I've had playing Rocksmith, but if you're still a guitar-newbie, my recommendation is a bit more modest. Rocksmith requires motivation, willpower, discipline and practice. But it'll reward you in kind if you stick with it.
  25. 70
    Rocksmith's European version is an improvement over the original but the ingenious concept still leaves some things to be desired. The idea is there, the tech works. Now it's up to future versions to serve guitar prospects the freedoms to choose how they play the game and to ditch the automatically adjusting difficulty.
  26. Sep 28, 2012
    83
    A very interesting novelty in the music games genre, very involving for guitar/bass newcomers even if quite challenging. The on-screen notes indicators are sometimes confusing and it could benefit from a more distinctive presentation, but if you always wanted to start playing guitar this is a very good tool for becoming acquainted with the instrument.
  27. Sep 27, 2012
    80
    With Rocksmith, Ubisoft offers a fun experience that will create a bunch of new guitarists thanks to a great learning method, using tabs and clear video tutorials. Moreover, with its interesting song list, though not really eclectic, Rocksmith will occupy players for hours, until they decide to get the different DLC pack released to date that will extend their game length and enhance their level with new skills.
  28. Mar 31, 2012
    98
    Rocksmith has set the next standard in music gaming, it's hard to envision bothering with fake push button guitars ever again really. Again, you still have to have that stick to it attitude to get anyplace here, but it's a spectacular jump off point for beginners and a blast once you really get going.
  29. Oct 8, 2012
    74
    I couldn't get past the lag issues and was also disappointed with the lack of metal included in the setlist. I also question how rewarding, in a game sense, it actually is.
  30. Sep 27, 2012
    82
    Rocksmith lifts the Guitar Hero formula to the next level. The game takes beginners by the hand and gives them tutorials, songs and exercises in a step-by-step manner, so you can really see a progress in your playing. The strongest element of Rocksmith is the dynamic difficulty, which adjusts to the players skills on the go during a song. But Rocksmith is not without its flaws. The graphics are faint, the loading times long and there is also a minimal sound-lag that bothers experienced musicians.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Put in 4 hours and I'm really impressed. Tons of fun and great for learning/practice. Decent song choices, excellent mini games, and oodles ofPut in 4 hours and I'm really impressed. Tons of fun and great for learning/practice. Decent song choices, excellent mini games, and oodles of tone customization. Once you set it up as described in the insert included in the game, the lag is minimal and doesn't really detract from the experience. If you have a guitar and like to play/want to improve, this product will not disappoint you. Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I have played for about 3 hrs so far on this game and I am quite impressed. It starts you off very slowly but lets you learn/progress at yourI have played for about 3 hrs so far on this game and I am quite impressed. It starts you off very slowly but lets you learn/progress at your own pace very easily. The game includes something called a Guitarcade that turns tedious exercises (like fret work and scales) into something enjoyable and fun. The dynamic difficulty is VERY cool as well. I found that I thought I had a song down and then it'd start adding notes it previously let out, and if I couldn't get it they backed off a tad so I didn't feel like a complete failure. The game also has an amp mode. This mode allows you to sue unlocked pedals, amps, and cabinets in a variety of manners, all of which sound amazing. The game (in my opinion) is well worth the buy for some one looking for a tool to learn guitar better, for some one liking guitar hero-esque gameplay, or even for a budding musician who just wants to use the game for the amp effects on his recording. Overall WELL worth the buy. Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    rocksmith is less of a game and more like a solid, guitar teaching software. it works great and after playing it a couple of hours last nightrocksmith is less of a game and more like a solid, guitar teaching software. it works great and after playing it a couple of hours last night and all day today i am loving it!! i will admit that i did have some prior guitar lessons though ive never seen myself skilled in any way. the software truly adapts to your skill set and level and smoothly adds more notes and techniques through out the course of the "campaign".i can tell already that if you stick with the lesson plan and practice daily your skills will improve. i recommend this for everyone seeking a different way to learn guitar. Full Review »