• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Rumble Roses XX Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The vixens of wrestling are back. Sure Rumble Roses XX delivers the visual "enhancements" that you would expect for a next generation game, but this is more than just another pretty face. Get in the ring and unload submission holds, reversals, and an increased number of other new moves to take down your opponent. Go online and team up with another beauty in the all-new Tag Team mode or compete in a free-for-all to determine who is Queen in the all-new Battle Royal mode. Fight fair or fight dirty - humiliation is the name of the game. The first and only all-female wrestling experience for the Xbox 360. New gameplay modes include Tag Team, Battle Royal, Elimination and more. New moves: A wider variety of moves and combinations offer a more realistic wresting experience. Compete online as a team or go head-to-head. Choose from more than 20 wrestlers each with a variety of costume changes, and new moves. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 54
  2. Negative: 6 out of 54
  1. Only now, with the power of the Xbox 360 and some truly “bonerific” graphics do we finally get to explore all the splendor of scantily clad, well-endowed women, both in and out of the wrestling ring.
  2. There’s no back story or true information regarding any of the characters in the game. There are also plenty of match types that are omitted such as a Royal Rumble which as the name implies would have been a perfect inclusion.
  3. As wrestling goes, XX is quickly learned and mastered, particularly against the computer. [May 2006, p.83]
  4. Rumble Roses XX could have been a contender against DOA4 and still set itself apart from the fray. Instead, the game comes off as juvenile with plenty of moves that would only seem to be appropriate in movies you’d find in a dark hallway in the back corner of the video store.
  5. Rumble Roses XX is like blow pop candy without the good stuff inside.
  6. I remain a firm supporter of the original PS2 Roses, but this flaccid follow-up fails to get me in the mood. [May 2006, p.89]
  7. The whole thing is an embarrassing reminder that there are still plenty of people making, publishing, and buying games who have a lot of growing up to do. [July 2006, p.93]

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Aaace5
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    Games like this are good for the industry. They are different from what everyone else is making! If it weren't for developers trying to do something different, we would be playing games called something like "Shooter part 23", which would be the 23rd version of the same game. Don't hate the game because it doesn't interest you, hate it for it's playability or something. Collapse
  2. J.DeWeese
    Mar 29, 2006
    9
    First off I love wrestling games. The PS2 Smackdown series is ok but its a bit twitchy and fast for me. I loved and prefer the Def Jam (Original) and No Mercy style games. On this note, RRXX plays like a simplified Smackdown with a slower pace. You do not have to be a hamster on crack to keep up with the game play. Secondly, I love games that have T&A in them. Outlaw Golf, DoA:BV, and Kingdom Under Fire just to name a few. I say this because I want you, the reader, to understand where I am coming from. I did not put RRXX in my 360 and expect anything but a T&A softcore show. Well I was very shocked to find a really good wrestling game behind RR. It even plays very well! Remember RAW and RAW 2 on the xbox? It was a very poor game but people wanted to enjoy it. Well if RAW would have played this well it would have beaten the Smackdown series without breaking a sweat. I am not saying RRXX is the end all of wrestling games. I AM saying it plays like a dream and online is really fun. The single player is good but no real story line hinders it a bit in my eyes. Multiplayer is wonderful and I would love to see some online leagues startup. Do I think it is for everyone? No. If you love T&A and Wrestling you could do alot worse. I want to see better wrestling games on the 360 personally. Supporting RRXX will go a long way to showing the big Microsoft that we want it on our 360. MY RATINGS: Fun (How much fun am I having): Drool... Graphics (As relates to how well they help or enhance the game): Beautiful Sound (How well does the sound help the game): Very Good. Longevity (How long is it and will I play it more than once. Including Multiplayer): 5 Months or So. BS Curve (How much bad hype, comments, and reviews have I heard of or read and agree with): A little bit. Gamer Target (Who this game is best suited for): Wrestling Fans, T&A lovers, GLOW Fans. Similar games: Rumble Roses, Dead or Alive Beach Volleyball, and Outlaw Golf Final Grade: A very good game for wrestling fans but it will not make you a fan unless you love T&A a great deal. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2010
    8
    This game gets such bad rap, its a shame really. The gameplay is simple, controls are mostly tight. Graphics are quite nice for its time, I mean, this was one of the first wave of 360 games, was it not? Its fun and accessible as well. The only real problems I have with this game are: 1. the poorly structured unlock system. To go through the sometimes absolutely rediculous requirement of unlocking a costume or something, only to have to buy it from the shop after you "unlock" it? That's kinda dumb. 2. the character customization could use some serious work, but its certainly not the worst feature of its type I've seen, and its only a first for this series, and I suppose a last. considering they most likely won't put forth the effort for a third entry.

    Other than that, its pretty much solid to me. Games like this never really get a fair shake anyway. It brings something different from the norm to the table, and apparently that's not good.
    Expand
  4. JaceN.
    Aug 28, 2006
    6
    This game feels like a minigame that should have been hidden away in a much larger title! Sure the women are amazing and the costumes...scandalous...but its really let down by the gameplay mechanics. Its far too easy for one or the other player to dominate the ENTIRE match! The AI characters cheat by reading your controller input for a near psychic prediction and countermove out fo the blue (a trademark of japanese fighting games since the 16-bit era) and there just arent enough arenas and costumes to go round. And whats with all the schoolgirl junk? Japanese people may love the look of scool culture but give us western gamers more latex & whips for our dollar! Expand
  5. Aisha(person)
    Oct 8, 2007
    5
    Gameplay is fun, I have been playing for a few hours along with the other days trying, what can I say, the gameplay has pretty good graphix, but picking up moves is pretty hard. Again, another repetative remark, if your a boy to a pretty, sad lonely guy, I'll recommend, but if your just a girl looking for just a fun game to play, don't choose this one. Also, I have no clue where story mode is, so, anybody, please tell me. I'm HorseBoard16@aol.com and would like for someone to HELP ME OUT! Thanks. xxxx Aisha, lol Expand
  6. AdamB.
    Jul 12, 2006
    4
    Shallow, with very poor controls. Save your money for a SmackDown! game, where you can make your own hottie and enjoy a quality wrestling engine.
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    0
    The computer cheats; it can reverse your attacks the second you press the button to make them. Attacks and grapple attempts consistently visibly pass through the opponent without connecting. The computer can and will stunlock you for several minutes at a time. In tag team matches, the AI's partner will routinely run into the ring to break pins and holds but your partner will just stand in their corner and watch you lose if you're being held, and if the AI's partner decides to hang around in the ring afterwards don't expect your partner to do anything whatsoever. Considering these are basic issues that occur very consistently, and since this is the same developer and even the same engine as the SVR series which does not suffer from these issues, I can only conclude that this game was not playtested at all. This lack of effort from the developer means the game receives a zero, which is sad because the game is actually fairly entertaining despite being unfair, but I'm not about to reward a lack of effort from a developer. (And speaking of the SVR series, anyone complaining about the clothing in this game has clearly never seen any of the WWE games. The Rumble Roses characters wear, on average, several times more clothing than the characters in the WWE games.) Expand

See all 11 User Reviews