User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 291 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 291

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JDR.
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    Brilliant sequal to the original game, saints row, entertaining game with many new features, such as new vehicles like planes and boats and helicopters and fully customizable cars, not just on the outside but under the hood. The character can be changed to anything the user wants them to be, be that male or female. whatever you want!!!
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    In taking nearly every aspect of "Saints Row" and upping the ante, "Saints Row 2" not only presents a wildly ridiculous gaming experience, but a wholeheartedly unforgettable one.
  3. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. It's a step up from Saints Row and GTA IV, in it's shear playability. There is so much random fun things to do in this game. I could spend hours on it and never get bored. Great work Volition.
  4. LJH
    May 17, 2011
    10
    Ever thought gta is boring and sluggish well this is the cure. With dozens of side missions and a story that easily rivals gta and just cause for emotion.
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    One of my favorites of all time. Have a bad day at work? Come home and throw people off a bridge for as long as you want (without fear of being arrested). No, I'm not talking about real life (obviously), but this is one of the many unruly things a player can do in Saints Row 2. The object of this game is to be politically incorrect and have fun. Remember fun? Great game.
  6. DenizY
    Oct 8, 2009
    3
    An okay game until you play for an hour or two, then it's just the same crapover and over again. Killing Lieutenants on every mission gets kind of old. Basically you're just shooting people in every mission, with no complex gameplay attached like in GTA IV. In GTA IV when you're on such a mission, at least they keep it interesting. And they didn't incorporate escaping An okay game until you play for an hour or two, then it's just the same crapover and over again. Killing Lieutenants on every mission gets kind of old. Basically you're just shooting people in every mission, with no complex gameplay attached like in GTA IV. In GTA IV when you're on such a mission, at least they keep it interesting. And they didn't incorporate escaping from the police like in GTA IV. Just get GTA IV and save yourself some time. Expand
  7. MarkF
    Oct 3, 2008
    0
    What the hell is this? It's not that much of an improvement from the first. Same horrible car handling, same ugly graphics just with a little bit more colour and it has copied a lot from GTA IV. What did they copy? They put the camera to the right side of your character, your character turns at an angle when he moves around and motion blur. You can't tell me that this isn't What the hell is this? It's not that much of an improvement from the first. Same horrible car handling, same ugly graphics just with a little bit more colour and it has copied a lot from GTA IV. What did they copy? They put the camera to the right side of your character, your character turns at an angle when he moves around and motion blur. You can't tell me that this isn't a plain copy of GTA just made worse. They shouldn't have bothered making a second one. Expand
  8. RamonAdams
    Jan 19, 2009
    1
    How funny, i can be a clown or a man with the voice of a woman! How coooool, i can throw crap at people!

    That's a game for 12 year old kids! All those who call GTA IV crappy or mean that it stands for regression have no idea.... It beats GTA IV only in 2-3 points. And those aren't the graphics, city, characters, story, decisions, handling, realism, physics, car damage .....
  9. BrewsterS
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    More fun than GTA IV but less polished. Reminds me of earlier GTA's where the focus was on having fun with your environment more than pushing story.
  10. JoshD.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    This game sets the bar for what to do in free roaming games. Co-op is the greatest addition to the game and the extended amount of activities is also awesome. The customization is what I think makes it stand out above all. This game isn't for everyone, but it is for a lot of people. The hype around GTA is the main reason for it's scores, Saints Row is earning what it's This game sets the bar for what to do in free roaming games. Co-op is the greatest addition to the game and the extended amount of activities is also awesome. The customization is what I think makes it stand out above all. This game isn't for everyone, but it is for a lot of people. The hype around GTA is the main reason for it's scores, Saints Row is earning what it's getting so even a hardcore GTA fan has to give props to that. Expand
  11. JasonC
    Nov 25, 2009
    4
    This game is really fun don't get me wrong. But the save system really needs work. Just because the game is fun doesn't mean it's fun enough to play the same missions over and over and over AND OVER again just because the save system doesn't save the game after I beat it. This is just another good game ruined by glitchy behavior. Seriously, I save a game after This game is really fun don't get me wrong. But the save system really needs work. Just because the game is fun doesn't mean it's fun enough to play the same missions over and over and over AND OVER again just because the save system doesn't save the game after I beat it. This is just another good game ruined by glitchy behavior. Seriously, I save a game after finishing a mission, and turn off the console. When I turn it on again, the save is magically like 4 or 5 missions back from where I saved. Boo to you, Saints Row 2. Expand
  12. aqibk.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    I've played GTAIV. the game that got near perfect reviews. then when i played it i was shocked on how a game franchise this well respected could make such a crap boring game. Or how it got perfect review scores. or how it sold 6 million copies! then i traded it in with a smile on my face for saints row 2. i thought it would be worse. then comes out probably the funnest video game I've played GTAIV. the game that got near perfect reviews. then when i played it i was shocked on how a game franchise this well respected could make such a crap boring game. Or how it got perfect review scores. or how it sold 6 million copies! then i traded it in with a smile on my face for saints row 2. i thought it would be worse. then comes out probably the funnest video game ever made. you cant go round in GTAIV driving a truck full of poo and spray it on corporate fatcats! or throw an unlimited amount of fireworks onto oncoming pursuers. or customize everything from your clothes to your gang to your cribs something rockstar also left out. no 2 levels are the same and i play it at least 4 hours everyday nonstop because A: i love it B: Most fun ever and C:i honestly want to know what the story line has next in store, hand on heart i am not lying. After gears of war 2, best game ever bar none. Ps remove that crap excuse of a good game called GTAIV off the top spot and put this up. i am now a saints man forever, forget liberty city and Rockstar. anyone dissapointed with GTAIV or bored of it or bored with gaming please go out and buy this, aftrer the first 1:30 hours youll be hooked from start to finish. Expand
  13. Nov 12, 2011
    4
    This game gets boring and annoying very quickly. Very unrealistic !!! And the crappy graphics will give you a headache if you play more the 20 minutes. They had good ideas and made them crappy. In assuming sr3 will be just as bad. Rent it for a couple days but don't waste your money by purchasing it!
  14. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    Obviously Voltion paid everyone to give this "game" a good review. This game deserves a 40/100 (or a 4/10) at best though I'm trying to lower the rating. Why would anyone like the graphics if it looks more like a PS2 game and terrible for 2008 standards. Why would anyone like the slow shopping cart car handling? Should have been a $5 DLC for the first game! What about the low frame rates,Obviously Voltion paid everyone to give this "game" a good review. This game deserves a 40/100 (or a 4/10) at best though I'm trying to lower the rating. Why would anyone like the graphics if it looks more like a PS2 game and terrible for 2008 standards. Why would anyone like the slow shopping cart car handling? Should have been a $5 DLC for the first game! What about the low frame rates, mediocre storyline and bad characters (except for Johnny Gat). Don't forget the AI, easy missions and wanted level system??? Expand
  15. UliWarwick
    Oct 20, 2008
    7
    Great fun but what is all this better than GTA4 talk? HELLO! GTA4 poos all over this game, as this game has copied everything from GTA4 and diluted into a mindless warzone, which is great man. But graphics are poor, A.I poor, driving poor, and story.....well what story. Great at killing things and having a laugh, but relax with GTA4 beater as GTA is game of the year.
  16. IlariL
    Dec 15, 2008
    8
    Those looking for GTA are disapointed, but those who have open minds this game will be great fun. I wouldn't compare these two francihes other than both are "sandbox-games". In SR2 you get to be psycothic who ever you want to be. Male, female, thin, fat etc. You get to play with your doll alot, furnishing homes, for example. But also you get to cause a great deal of destruction. Those looking for GTA are disapointed, but those who have open minds this game will be great fun. I wouldn't compare these two francihes other than both are "sandbox-games". In SR2 you get to be psycothic who ever you want to be. Male, female, thin, fat etc. You get to play with your doll alot, furnishing homes, for example. But also you get to cause a great deal of destruction. It's pretty simple "go there and kill everybody/marked targets", rinse and repeat. It's fun, and that is what I'm looking from my games. If you only want to play through the main part, I'd guess it'd be something like 8hrs playtime. I've spend atleast three times that and yet to have all districts. So a great game in its own. Well worth the money. Expand
  17. AshleyB
    Oct 20, 2008
    9
    People comparing this to GTA4 are going to have a tough time seeing the appeal of the game. While GTA4 took a solid series and refined it into a cinematic, atmospheric experience, it left behind a lot of what made the GTA series just so entertaining: Rampant silliness. Saints Row 2 goes all out on remedying this by dropping all pretenses of being a serious game from the get-go. After People comparing this to GTA4 are going to have a tough time seeing the appeal of the game. While GTA4 took a solid series and refined it into a cinematic, atmospheric experience, it left behind a lot of what made the GTA series just so entertaining: Rampant silliness. Saints Row 2 goes all out on remedying this by dropping all pretenses of being a serious game from the get-go. After making a character from a huge variety of options, you're thrown straight into the action, with a world packed with things to do. You can throw people a good 15 ft, use them as human shields, cheer them on, and you can't turn a corner without finding a new activity to do. Technically, SR2 isn't all that stunning and makes a poor first impression. The graphics seem poor and the vehicle handling is far too tight, with no real sense of weight, but despite sounding like major criticisms, you'd be suprised at just how easily you start to look past them when you're doing a handstand on top of a buddy's customised sports-car into oncoming traffic with the police shooting at you. Both GTA4 and SR2 are fantastic games in their own right, and chances are if you've completed GTA4, you're probably disappointed in things to do in the endgame other than going on huge killing sprees. SR2 is packed to the brim with silly things to do, and is a constantly rewarding experience. Add to this some extremely entertaining cutscenes and some very well executed voiceacting, and you have a game that, while certainly not beating GTA4 in polish, is a vastly more entertaining experience. Expand
  18. adrianfratamico
    Dec 4, 2008
    9
    to tell you the truth i think sr2 is much better than gta4 its got a much more better storyline to it the graphics are a bit of a downpoint to sr2. its more funner to play than gta4 because its more nuttier. better missions too so all those grand theft auto fans out there all i got to say is that if you think gta4 is better than sr2 than your a nutcase.
  19. Kim
    Feb 2, 2009
    9
    I haven't played GTA IV so I can't make the same comparison most people do when reviewing this game. I selected Saints Row 2 simply because it had co-op and I wanted a new game to play through with a friend. This is one of the best online multiplayer co-op games I have ever played. Every activity has both players contributing something and working together to achieve the goals I haven't played GTA IV so I can't make the same comparison most people do when reviewing this game. I selected Saints Row 2 simply because it had co-op and I wanted a new game to play through with a friend. This is one of the best online multiplayer co-op games I have ever played. Every activity has both players contributing something and working together to achieve the goals of the game. I spend most of my time (while playing this game) giggling and enjoying myself. Expand
  20. JohnnyB
    Apr 11, 2009
    9
    Saints Row 2 brings to the table what GTA IV didn't. Yes, the obvious design flaws make SR2 nowhere near as attractive as GTA IV, but instead of denying this, Volition all too proudly accentuate this feature. A customization system which blows The Sims out of the water can see the player taking on the role as a cross-dressing pirate, while spraying raw sewage on buildings purely to Saints Row 2 brings to the table what GTA IV didn't. Yes, the obvious design flaws make SR2 nowhere near as attractive as GTA IV, but instead of denying this, Volition all too proudly accentuate this feature. A customization system which blows The Sims out of the water can see the player taking on the role as a cross-dressing pirate, while spraying raw sewage on buildings purely to earn money. It's rude, it's crass and it's totally immature, but this is what truly makes SR2 what it is and the undying freedom and endless gameplay vitae truly make SR2 better than any other sandbox game of 2008. Expand
  21. JohnA.
    Oct 16, 2008
    10
    I very much enjoyed SR2 for its unadulterated fun, sheer variety of things to do, and overall nuttiness. The whole universe isn't exactly cohesive, since you've got a story trying to be serious in a world of poop trucks and skydiving, but I'm having so much fun I don't care. This is a game that really lives up to the term "sandbox." A friend and I played on-line I very much enjoyed SR2 for its unadulterated fun, sheer variety of things to do, and overall nuttiness. The whole universe isn't exactly cohesive, since you've got a story trying to be serious in a world of poop trucks and skydiving, but I'm having so much fun I don't care. This is a game that really lives up to the term "sandbox." A friend and I played on-line through Xbox Live last night and didn't even do missions, we just kept grabbing motorcycles and trying to jump and collide into each other in mid-air. Then we did a bunch of Hitman targets, where you just look for people to kill in the world. I've had a lot more fun with this than with Mercs 2 or GTA IV. It's silly, zany, and doesn't make sense or look as good as other games, but it's fun. And that's the important part. Expand
  22. KrisD
    Oct 21, 2008
    9
    When I bought it, i didn't expect so much from this game. and when i played it at first i wasn't too impressed either. i loved GTA4 and of course you compare a lot. but now I've been playing this game for a week and i can't stop! it's just so much fun and there is so much to do. yes, the graphics could be better, the damage modeling sucks and there are some When I bought it, i didn't expect so much from this game. and when i played it at first i wasn't too impressed either. i loved GTA4 and of course you compare a lot. but now I've been playing this game for a week and i can't stop! it's just so much fun and there is so much to do. yes, the graphics could be better, the damage modeling sucks and there are some serious technical flaws, but once you notice what this game has to offer, then you don't mind. the customization, the lively world, the excellent gameplay, all the things you can unlock and discover. there's just so much! I'm actually starting to prefer this game over GTA4. but who cares, they're both great games. i really recommend SR2. play it a little more than 5 hours and you'll know what i mean. Expand
  23. AdamB.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    This game is so fun and large the only things I think would improve it are 4-8 player co-op, and the ability to name your character. Also a morality/choice system would be cool because sometimes your character comes off as a bit too sadistic. But with that said, it's insane how much stuff there is to do in the game, and how much voice acting there is. Pedestrians always come up with This game is so fun and large the only things I think would improve it are 4-8 player co-op, and the ability to name your character. Also a morality/choice system would be cool because sometimes your character comes off as a bit too sadistic. But with that said, it's insane how much stuff there is to do in the game, and how much voice acting there is. Pedestrians always come up with new and funny things to say. When comparing it to GTA4, it is less realistic and polished but in my opinion much more fun. Expand
  24. DieKreateur
    Apr 23, 2009
    10
    When I picked up this game, I could tell from the cover that I held an epic in my hand. From the moment I put the disc into my XBOX 360, and played the first mission, I knew that this game DOMINATED GTA IV. While GTA IV has its moments, Saints Row 2 has the entire game that it impresses with. The best part is not having to rigidly stick to one style, you can be who you want to be, and playWhen I picked up this game, I could tell from the cover that I held an epic in my hand. From the moment I put the disc into my XBOX 360, and played the first mission, I knew that this game DOMINATED GTA IV. While GTA IV has its moments, Saints Row 2 has the entire game that it impresses with. The best part is not having to rigidly stick to one style, you can be who you want to be, and play how you want to play. Expand
  25. ShaneP.
    Jul 23, 2009
    7
    It's a good game and it is definitely fun (especially in co-op) but it lacks polish and it is rather buggy at times. It's made my Xbox crash about 3 times and it has made my friends crash at least twice. There's also some bugs in the physics that sometimes send you flying miles for no reason. I did disliked being FORCED to do the side missions especially as it breaks up the It's a good game and it is definitely fun (especially in co-op) but it lacks polish and it is rather buggy at times. It's made my Xbox crash about 3 times and it has made my friends crash at least twice. There's also some bugs in the physics that sometimes send you flying miles for no reason. I did disliked being FORCED to do the side missions especially as it breaks up the storyline a lot. The car handling is awful and there's no real weight to any of the cars. Hitting a small car while driving a truck will still make your truck veer out of control. On the plus side there's a ton of stuff to customise and there's tons to do if you include all the side missions. A good distraction, but ultimately it's no GTA killer. Expand
  26. JonathanB.
    Nov 4, 2008
    9
    Better then cs 1.6.
  27. JimF.
    Oct 14, 2008
    9
    The graphics are much better than the old game. I think throwing people is very fun and some weapons, including the taser are really cool. This game is very fun and much better than GTA IV (although thats a good game too).
  28. TS
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    This game out GTAed GTA 4. When I started playing GTA 4 I was waiting for the awesome selection of missions, customizable content. After an hour of gameplay I realized that no matter what I did I couldn't even choose the color of the freaking car I was driving. Two minutes into Saints Row 2 proved what a sandbox game was. Before you begin to play you get to pick what your character This game out GTAed GTA 4. When I started playing GTA 4 I was waiting for the awesome selection of missions, customizable content. After an hour of gameplay I realized that no matter what I did I couldn't even choose the color of the freaking car I was driving. Two minutes into Saints Row 2 proved what a sandbox game was. Before you begin to play you get to pick what your character looks like. Goodbye big nosed Russian, hello whoevertheheck you want. Instead of playing some hero-with-a-past (tm) I was playing an amoral maniac, reminding me of GTA III. Instead of a few really boring missions that basically were "TAXI" the game I got to take a car out into a part of the city and blow up everything I saw. Vote yes to options (Saints Row 2) and no to regression (GTA 4). Expand
  29. JoeyB
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    When I first played this I hadn't played the original so when I started I thought it was just a crappy GTA4 remake but I played it anyway and yes it is just copycating GTA but they've made much more fun and I'll definitly be buying the first one just to compare if nothing else.
  30. JobA
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    Great game,great game,great game.I cant say enough about Saints Row 2.What happened with the expansions though?This game takes the sand-box idea and takes it to a whole different level.How can you play the Grand Theft Auto's after playing this game and Saints Row 1.I have GTA IV.I pop it in and take it right outof my 360.I cant stand that game at times.You have to be very patient Great game,great game,great game.I cant say enough about Saints Row 2.What happened with the expansions though?This game takes the sand-box idea and takes it to a whole different level.How can you play the Grand Theft Auto's after playing this game and Saints Row 1.I have GTA IV.I pop it in and take it right outof my 360.I cant stand that game at times.You have to be very patient with that game and accept the terrible controls,Lame missions.Honestly,i dont respect that game or GTA San Andreas.After Playing Saints Row 1 in 2006 it changes your thoughts and the way you play sand-box games.There is so much thought and perfection throughout this game it is scary.The graphics need to be fixed and a few other things but until Saints Row 3 comes out,you know what I'll be playing.The intelligence behind the makers of this game are special,wow.I give it a 9.7 Expand
  31. JakeMorris
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    SR2 is probaly the best game ive played.. the Storyline, Graphics and all dat r just amazing, the glitches and some other mistakes made do play it down a little but half the time those glitches r funny.. it is a really fun game to play and cant wait till SR3 (hopefully)
  32. LeeT
    Sep 15, 2009
    8
    Okay, look, it's one of the best games I've ever played hands down. It kicks the ever living crap out of GTA4 and I love both franchises. But I paid for MORE downloadable content than my less wealthy friend, and now the game won't allow me to join him over XBLA. No way to make a new character on his server; nothing. The only available answer is for my friend to infect his Okay, look, it's one of the best games I've ever played hands down. It kicks the ever living crap out of GTA4 and I love both franchises. But I paid for MORE downloadable content than my less wealthy friend, and now the game won't allow me to join him over XBLA. No way to make a new character on his server; nothing. The only available answer is for my friend to infect his system with the same incurable viruses as me. And the whole thing stinks of capitalist bastardry, and I hope he doesn't spend a dime trying to keep up with me. There should be an option to disable DLC so friends don't have to get involved in DLC arms races. Expand
  33. Dec 19, 2011
    7
    There's so much content in this game, having an incredible amount of things to do, and you are able to customize just about anything in addition to being able to choose from a wast selection of ways to level up. And the game has a fun factor that is beyond most games. It's not a critical darling because it doesn't try to be, instead what it succeeds at is bringing as much over-the-topThere's so much content in this game, having an incredible amount of things to do, and you are able to customize just about anything in addition to being able to choose from a wast selection of ways to level up. And the game has a fun factor that is beyond most games. It's not a critical darling because it doesn't try to be, instead what it succeeds at is bringing as much over-the-top nonsense action as possible for your enjoyment. That said, the DLC content was way overpriced. Expand
  34. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    If you thought Saints Row was a GTA spin off with a slight tinge of gangster flavour in it, then SR2 is a full blown riot of sophomoric behaviour and sexual profanity. Saints Row 2 is the shifting point for Saints Row. Identity has been truly established and the ties to GTA are becoming less and less obvious. Is it a better game to play than GTA IV? Absolutely. Saints Row 2 has a lot ofIf you thought Saints Row was a GTA spin off with a slight tinge of gangster flavour in it, then SR2 is a full blown riot of sophomoric behaviour and sexual profanity. Saints Row 2 is the shifting point for Saints Row. Identity has been truly established and the ties to GTA are becoming less and less obvious. Is it a better game to play than GTA IV? Absolutely. Saints Row 2 has a lot of fun with itself, stroking its ego and being over the top and hilarious. Whilst some will no doubt disagree, Saints Row provides more instant and gratifying action, whereas GTA IV offers a plodding and more gradual ascension to fun. Sure SR2 doesn't look half as good or have the production values to warrant a high value. But this is the funnest, ballsiest and most insane sandbox adventure game out there. When it comes to what truly counts, Saints Row 2 is unlike any other and is the best sandbox game when it comes to pure enjoyment. Expand
  35. Oct 15, 2010
    8
    This game helped fill the gap of our missing GTA title on the transition to the new generation of consoles, it was really enjoyable considering it lacked variety and vehicles (Only cars, you won't even find a bike here!). The story really entertaining and humorous, and the customize was really a surprise. The big hit is the multiplayer, I could spend an entire night with my friendsThis game helped fill the gap of our missing GTA title on the transition to the new generation of consoles, it was really enjoyable considering it lacked variety and vehicles (Only cars, you won't even find a bike here!). The story really entertaining and humorous, and the customize was really a surprise. The big hit is the multiplayer, I could spend an entire night with my friends playing this over Xbox Live, it was really hilarious and fun! The game is dated now by Saints Row 2, which also introduces co-op, but it's graphics seems to have fallen and the multiplayer isn't as fun. Expand
  36. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are manyIt's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are many in people in the world who like to play call of duty most people play online with other people from around the world there are so many weapons you can unlock as you complete the levels and do all the missions on the game. Then there are people who donâ Expand
  37. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    Incredibly fun game. I see it as a parody of Grand Theft Auto and all of those other crime games, because the rag doll effects, missions and everything else make it hilarious, yet an intense game to play. My fiance loves playing this game. She really get's into it. A really easy game to understand and play. Only negative is the driving is terrible. Other than that, it's surprisingly longIncredibly fun game. I see it as a parody of Grand Theft Auto and all of those other crime games, because the rag doll effects, missions and everything else make it hilarious, yet an intense game to play. My fiance loves playing this game. She really get's into it. A really easy game to understand and play. Only negative is the driving is terrible. Other than that, it's surprisingly long and has a TON of side missions and things to do. Expand
  38. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Remember the gameplay and humour that used to make the Old GTA's fun? That open sandbox world where you could do whatever you liked and if that included the actual game missions then fine. Remember when GTA IV came out and they seemed to ditch the fun aspect of their game? Well This game is what a next gen GTA 1-San Andreas would be like just ramped up on the fun factor, playing onlineRemember the gameplay and humour that used to make the Old GTA's fun? That open sandbox world where you could do whatever you liked and if that included the actual game missions then fine. Remember when GTA IV came out and they seemed to ditch the fun aspect of their game? Well This game is what a next gen GTA 1-San Andreas would be like just ramped up on the fun factor, playing online co-op through the story modes missions is a blast, character creation is great to, this game oozes fun with a 'This is a game, games should be fun, let's make it over the top fun!!' feel throughout. A great game that deserves credit for allowing gamers to have fun again!! Looking forward to the third one now! Expand
  39. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    Pretty good game all around, there are a couple things that are keeping me from giving it a 10 though. The game is extremely glitchy and sometimes freezes on me causing me to loose all my gameplay. This especially sucks when you've played through a whole mission and loose everything.
  40. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 7
    Characters: 8
    Graphics: 6
    Setting: 9
    Multiplayer: 9
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 8
    Gameplay: 8
    Re-Playability Value: 10
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 8.4/10 = A-
  41. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    A really fun and over-the-top (in a good way) sandbox game.Co-op was very enjoyable and I was finding it very hard to get bored of it, even after finishing the campaign and all the activities. The only things I have found wrong with it is that it will sometime freeze causing me to sometimes lose progress, and some slight glitches that are irritating. But overall a very well-made game.
  42. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    this game is a revival of the Grand Theft auto we all came to know and love on our ps2s and Xbox's. It's just as funny and full of ridiculous stuff to do, my only complaint is its unsatisfying ending and lack of story all together. In all of the Saint's Row games, Even "The Third" i recommend not playing through the story too fast, you should do the side quests that fancy our interestthis game is a revival of the Grand Theft auto we all came to know and love on our ps2s and Xbox's. It's just as funny and full of ridiculous stuff to do, my only complaint is its unsatisfying ending and lack of story all together. In all of the Saint's Row games, Even "The Third" i recommend not playing through the story too fast, you should do the side quests that fancy our interest first then move along in the story. Expand
  43. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Enjoy the old GTA games? Cant stand the seriousness of the new ones? Saints row if for you. I can say this is one of the few games I have ever sat down and played beginning to end several times over.
  44. May 31, 2012
    7
    This is a fun game. It's a lot like Gta and it's not as near as good as Gta. Fun weapons to kill with. The multiplayer is good but it's a lot like Gta so I sort of felt buying the same game but a weaker campaign but still is worth getting. Campaign 7/10 Multiplayer 7/10 Saints Row 2 7.4/10
  45. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    The playability of the game is almost endless, even though the graphics are poor and the game breaks so much. This is down to making the game itself fun, you can do silly things like take on an entire army of zombies or drive a plane into any thing you like and so on and so forth.( Im sure you can come up with a further list of crazy things you can do)

    The game has many missions and even
    The playability of the game is almost endless, even though the graphics are poor and the game breaks so much. This is down to making the game itself fun, you can do silly things like take on an entire army of zombies or drive a plane into any thing you like and so on and so forth.( Im sure you can come up with a further list of crazy things you can do)

    The game has many missions and even more side misssions with crazy objectives such as insurance fraud (by hurting your self as much as you can in a small space of time), running fight clubs and again so on and so forth.

    A negative part of the game as stated earlier was the game breaking such as being trapped with in the car (I was standing in the bonnet) constant game crashes, spawning area is so tiny which means chasing a car you want is incridaably hard. This game you shouldn't compare with a game like Grand theift auto, Grand theft auto is taking the crime life in more of a dark and in a way more sensible, theres a sense of reality within the Grand theft auto games as on the other side you have Saints row (The acid trip of the crime games) which takes the whole crime genre and pumps it up into a bouncy castle. The two games yes cover the same genre and have similar game play but it would be like comparing Mario cart with games like Pgr4 or Forza 4.

    All in all this game is good fun, some thing to kill your brain cells for a while, and buy now you can pick up a copy from under $10 or £10 and its gonna last you longer than a book or a film so in my eyes it now has its value for money and has great playabilty value.
    Expand
  46. Apr 21, 2012
    8
    Do u ever need something funny fun to play or if u want to customize things well get Saints row 2 because its has comedy, customization, drama, good characters, good guns and good cars.if you want to get a seriouse and dull game you might as well get gta but I can asure you that Saints row 2 is fun, funny but really bad thing is about saints row 2 is that you have to get respect if u wantDo u ever need something funny fun to play or if u want to customize things well get Saints row 2 because its has comedy, customization, drama, good characters, good guns and good cars.if you want to get a seriouse and dull game you might as well get gta but I can asure you that Saints row 2 is fun, funny but really bad thing is about saints row 2 is that you have to get respect if u want todo missions and strong holds and the missions are good so get SR2 now if u want some comedy in a game Expand
  47. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    abolsute pleasure to play-
    guity pleasure at that- everything about this game screams polish and talent- FIRSTLY the city is wonderfully realised, varied and incredibly fun to be in- no sandbox game has had the "lived in" feel that elder scrolls oblivion did with its "radiant AI" but this is best of the modern sand box games. SECONDLY- this game just oozes fun and charm- the 3rd game in
    abolsute pleasure to play-
    guity pleasure at that- everything about this game screams polish and talent- FIRSTLY the city is wonderfully realised, varied and incredibly fun to be in- no sandbox game has had the "lived in" feel that elder scrolls oblivion did with its "radiant AI" but this is best of the modern sand box games. SECONDLY- this game just oozes fun and charm- the 3rd game in the series is an abomination of bad design and lack of creative talent- quite frankly saints row 3 looks like the work of 12 year old virgins- saints row 2 however tows the line between silly, insane and psychopathic- almost tarantino esque in fact.
    THIRDLY- the kitchen sink approach to the game with clothes cars and houses is magnificent without any DLC BS that only idiots would pay extra for-

    saints row 2 is top 5 games of this generation- buy it if you have any interested in sand box games- its a hell lot better than gta IV which is sh!t and much better than red dead redemption even (RDR is an ok game with a nice graphics engine that runs at 2FPS)
    Expand
  48. May 23, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The second Saints Row is again an almost perfect and really funny game. You want to play a Gangster, this is what you need. The graphics are better than form the first part but surely not top notch, the gameplay is again really awesome and you have really much funny missions to do. The Co-op option is really welcome. I liked the storyline very much because it starts where the first part ends. The player-customization and the range of vehicle is huge and amazing. Truly great gangstah-game! Expand
  49. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Saints row 2 was great, I felt like I was playing a new GTA game, just with more explosions and more interesting side missions, such as insurance fraud, where I was jumping in front of cars, the best thing you can do in any game obviously. The one thing I would complain about is some of the missions being a bit harder than you'd expect, even as a seasoned gamer.
  50. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    hours of fun i have had on this game days of killing slaughtering and having fun with friends
    multiplayer is shocking but the coop makes up for that
    a true gangster game wich is what saints row is about
  51. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    This game was brilliant when it came out because I have followed Saints row series ever since the very first Saints Row came out. People say Saints Row 2 is a lot like GTA but I really don
  52. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    Lets get one thing out of the way: people need to stop calling Saints Row a copy/rip off of GTA, just because Rockstar was the first to make a game of the sandbox/crime genre, doesn't mean other people's games are a copy, it's just like saying that COD, Halo and all those other first person shooters are a "copy" of whatever the first fps game was. I agree there are similarities, but if youLets get one thing out of the way: people need to stop calling Saints Row a copy/rip off of GTA, just because Rockstar was the first to make a game of the sandbox/crime genre, doesn't mean other people's games are a copy, it's just like saying that COD, Halo and all those other first person shooters are a "copy" of whatever the first fps game was. I agree there are similarities, but if you do say that Saints Row is a GTA copy, you are wrong and not giving the developers the respect they deserve; you probably haven't even tried this game and you're judging it by what you've read or seen about it, this is Saints Row. It starts out with your character being revived in hospital, you're trapped on a prison island, you break out with a person and find that 3 new gangs have taken over the city, you meet with Johnny Gat, Pierce and Shaundi, you and them start by recruiting and reviving the saints, smashing up an underground refuge of homeless people and using that as a HQ; Saints hideout. However, I find it hard to explain the story in this review, I will explain what makes this game so great. You go along with buying cribs, doing activities, so much excellent missions, the mission setup is where you can pick 3 missions to do; each focuses on an individual rival gang, and if you want, you could focus on just one enemy gang at a time by sticking to just one side of missions, but I didn't do that. Buying stores, cribs and upgrading them is fun. The activities are good to play, Septic Avenger, FUZZ, Mayhem, Trailing Blazing, Crowd Control and others, all fun to play, play the activities as you progress through the storyline, don't do them all at once. Activities will earn you loads of cash and respect. There are tags to find across the city and spray over to represent the Saints, hidden discs across the world, some places to explore, and there are restaurants where you can buy food or drinks, carry them with you anytime, you can eat them when you're at dangerously low health in a fight; food can save your life. The customization is big, you can customize your car, clothes, even your character; the voice, whether it's a boy or girl, the way he or she is, how he/she taunts enemies and honors the Saints, the structure of the body, the age, the race, everything. I just use the default Caucasian, age 30-40. Oh, and you can also customize your gang; how they are outfitted, the tags, the vehicles they drive across the streets. You can customize your car as well. The storyline is fantastic and so greatly written, and like with the first game (which I never played), the game includes Ultor, like the original Red Faction game. The clothes customization is really, really good as well; you can choose the colour of it, the style, the logo and whether that's on it, but the problem is there is just not enough clothes to get. But hey, you can have the Red Faction symbols on your clothes which makes I like. You can interact with your gang, honor them, recruit them, getting them to follow you around like GTA Sanandreas, just that the problem is you can only recruit 2 or 3 people, in co-op, it's one less because the game counts your partner. I do have some complaints with this game, the graphics are poor (even for 2008), for example, when you eat food, you will see 2 bites with no animation to it and it just disappears, the game ends an activity soon as you reach the score, there is not enough clothes to buy, the wanted level goes away simply by stopping whatever you're doing, and like I said with the awfully few amount of people you can recruit at a time to follow you fight along with you or assist you in a mission that involves invading an enemy gang's crib or property like the stronghold missions and also when you've reached the score limit in an activity, it disruptively ends it. The developers have made the perfect choices of songs in this game, the music in this game is excellent. You do work with the characters often, like Carlos and Johnny Gat or Pierce, you're not always working on your own, which is good. There is also a multiplayer to this game, but there is just not much to it. Co-op is great if you have a good friend, and there are co-op achievements, so there is definitely a reason to play it. While it's not perfect, Saints Row 2 is one of the best games out there, you will have so much fun with this game and it will last you atleast 30 hours, you can always replay missions as well. Saints Row 2 gets 9/10. Expand
  53. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    the saints row 2 is must buy if your into gta or free roam games. story is immersive and customization is taken to whole another level. create your own character.
  54. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    I must have sunken at least 2000 hours into this game by now. One of the best open world games of all time. Amazing story, great voice acting, lovable and believable characters and an extremely fun and unique open world. I have so much love for this game, more than I convey through text.

    It's not perfect, but goddamn is it amazing.
  55. Jan 19, 2014
    8
    The story is utter **** (although doesn't take itself too seriously) and the majority of the art design is terrible but when it comes to fun this is one of the best open sandbox games on the 360. I always saw this game as the sequel to San Andreas using the sillier side of the game as inspiration while GTAIV is a true leap for the series and the genre but went in a darker direction thanThe story is utter **** (although doesn't take itself too seriously) and the majority of the art design is terrible but when it comes to fun this is one of the best open sandbox games on the 360. I always saw this game as the sequel to San Andreas using the sillier side of the game as inspiration while GTAIV is a true leap for the series and the genre but went in a darker direction than Saints Row and I think it's really nice to have this choice on the 360. Overall this game is very enjoyable and well worth a play but the story and art work are not really up my street. Expand
  56. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    One of best open world games ever made far better then saints row the third .
    This a brilliant open world game with lots of content plus great writing and ai
  57. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    Simply the best saints row game ever,the newer saints row games just couldn't best this game the gameplay is very improved from 1 it is great and of course super fun and unlike GTA it's not stiff it's very fun with many activities and the story is also very very awesome your old homies are missing or either turns their back and you get to compete with 3 gangs and also ULTOR this is a superSimply the best saints row game ever,the newer saints row games just couldn't best this game the gameplay is very improved from 1 it is great and of course super fun and unlike GTA it's not stiff it's very fun with many activities and the story is also very very awesome your old homies are missing or either turns their back and you get to compete with 3 gangs and also ULTOR this is a super great game go pick this up Expand
  58. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to admit. This beat the crude out of GTA IV (Except in Graphics, Online, the map, and the storyline). And I'm more of a GTA fan. After the boat expolison happens to you, you're in a prison and meet this guy named Carlos. He tells you wnats going on and you guys break out of the prison. The map Stilwater sort of change. Saint's Row looks totally different. Ultor the clothing company took it over after Hughs died in that boat explosion of yours. They're very popluar now. But while you were in that colma the Saints fell apart. The new gangs are The Brother Hood, The Sonsof Samdi, and The Ronin. You have to rebuild your gang, and take Stilwater over again. Now let's get into the gameplay. The customization's better than the last. You could talk now, fly planes, helicopters. Do whatever you want. It's like the over the top version of GTA. The gang is customizable. As the leader you can choose your style, and own cars and what not. There's countless things to do in Saint's Row 2.
    The graphcis could be better, but the AI is okay. The game's extremely glitchy, it's even more glitchy online. But the games good.
    Expand
  59. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    Overall, the game was a huge improvement from the first one!! A lot more activities to do when not playing the story, character customization was a HUGE improvement. And they didn't make the main character a mute which is a huge improvement to me!! The melee system improved a lot with executions at the end. Also when you defeat the main characters from the other gangs you unlock theirOverall, the game was a huge improvement from the first one!! A lot more activities to do when not playing the story, character customization was a HUGE improvement. And they didn't make the main character a mute which is a huge improvement to me!! The melee system improved a lot with executions at the end. Also when you defeat the main characters from the other gangs you unlock their fighting style which is really awesome. More melee weapons were included. As a continuation from the first one, it really made a huge improvement. The actual story was really good. Online gameplay is A LOT OF FUN!! Way better than the first one. Overall, if you beat the first saints row then this is a must buy!! Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. This is a truly entertaining game. There's no pretension - just enjoyable mayhem. It doesn't claim to be the Messiah, but it is a very naughty boy. Volition has tapped into nearly every wanton act we'd want to commit in an open world and more besides. [Nov 2008, p.67]
  2. 82
    The technical shortcomings are the only truly bad part of Saints Row 2, but the core gameplay experience is extremely enjoyable.
  3. 80
    It's big dumb fun, Saints Row 2 isn't going to redefine any aspects of game design - but in doing so it does deliver on Volition's biggest promise: Saints Row 2 isn't Grand Theft Auto.