User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 279

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LJH
    May 17, 2011
    10
    Ever thought gta is boring and sluggish well this is the cure. With dozens of side missions and a story that easily rivals gta and just cause for emotion.
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. It's a step up from Saints Row and GTA IV, in it's shear playability. There is so much random fun things to do in this game. I could spend hours on it and never get bored. Great work Volition.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    One of my favorites of all time. Have a bad day at work? Come home and throw people off a bridge for as long as you want (without fear of being arrested). No, I'm not talking about real life (obviously), but this is one of the many unruly things a player can do in Saints Row 2. The object of this game is to be politically incorrect and have fun. Remember fun? Great game.
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    In taking nearly every aspect of "Saints Row" and upping the ante, "Saints Row 2" not only presents a wildly ridiculous gaming experience, but a wholeheartedly unforgettable one.
  5. Dec 19, 2011
    7
    There's so much content in this game, having an incredible amount of things to do, and you are able to customize just about anything in addition to being able to choose from a wast selection of ways to level up. And the game has a fun factor that is beyond most games. It's not a critical darling because it doesn't try to be, instead what it succeeds at is bringing as much over-the-top nonsense action as possible for your enjoyment. That said, the DLC content was way overpriced. Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    If you thought Saints Row was a GTA spin off with a slight tinge of gangster flavour in it, then SR2 is a full blown riot of sophomoric behaviour and sexual profanity. Saints Row 2 is the shifting point for Saints Row. Identity has been truly established and the ties to GTA are becoming less and less obvious. Is it a better game to play than GTA IV? Absolutely. Saints Row 2 has a lot of fun with itself, stroking its ego and being over the top and hilarious. Whilst some will no doubt disagree, Saints Row provides more instant and gratifying action, whereas GTA IV offers a plodding and more gradual ascension to fun. Sure SR2 doesn't look half as good or have the production values to warrant a high value. But this is the funnest, ballsiest and most insane sandbox adventure game out there. When it comes to what truly counts, Saints Row 2 is unlike any other and is the best sandbox game when it comes to pure enjoyment. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2010
    8
    This game helped fill the gap of our missing GTA title on the transition to the new generation of consoles, it was really enjoyable considering it lacked variety and vehicles (Only cars, you won't even find a bike here!). The story really entertaining and humorous, and the customize was really a surprise. The big hit is the multiplayer, I could spend an entire night with my friends playing this over Xbox Live, it was really hilarious and fun! The game is dated now by Saints Row 2, which also introduces co-op, but it's graphics seems to have fallen and the multiplayer isn't as fun. Expand
  8. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are many in people in the world who like to play call of duty most people play online with other people from around the world there are so many weapons you can unlock as you complete the levels and do all the missions on the game. Then there are people who donâ Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    Incredibly fun game. I see it as a parody of Grand Theft Auto and all of those other crime games, because the rag doll effects, missions and everything else make it hilarious, yet an intense game to play. My fiance loves playing this game. She really get's into it. A really easy game to understand and play. Only negative is the driving is terrible. Other than that, it's surprisingly long and has a TON of side missions and things to do. Expand
  10. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Remember the gameplay and humour that used to make the Old GTA's fun? That open sandbox world where you could do whatever you liked and if that included the actual game missions then fine. Remember when GTA IV came out and they seemed to ditch the fun aspect of their game? Well This game is what a next gen GTA 1-San Andreas would be like just ramped up on the fun factor, playing online co-op through the story modes missions is a blast, character creation is great to, this game oozes fun with a 'This is a game, games should be fun, let's make it over the top fun!!' feel throughout. A great game that deserves credit for allowing gamers to have fun again!! Looking forward to the third one now! Expand
  11. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    Pretty good game all around, there are a couple things that are keeping me from giving it a 10 though. The game is extremely glitchy and sometimes freezes on me causing me to loose all my gameplay. This especially sucks when you've played through a whole mission and loose everything.
  12. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 7
    Characters: 8
    Graphics: 6
    Setting: 9
    Multiplayer: 9
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 8
    Gameplay: 8
    Re-Playability Value: 10
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 8.4/10 = A-
  13. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    A really fun and over-the-top (in a good way) sandbox game.Co-op was very enjoyable and I was finding it very hard to get bored of it, even after finishing the campaign and all the activities. The only things I have found wrong with it is that it will sometime freeze causing me to sometimes lose progress, and some slight glitches that are irritating. But overall a very well-made game.
  14. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    this game is a revival of the Grand Theft auto we all came to know and love on our ps2s and Xbox's. It's just as funny and full of ridiculous stuff to do, my only complaint is its unsatisfying ending and lack of story all together. In all of the Saint's Row games, Even "The Third" i recommend not playing through the story too fast, you should do the side quests that fancy our interest first then move along in the story. Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Enjoy the old GTA games? Cant stand the seriousness of the new ones? Saints row if for you. I can say this is one of the few games I have ever sat down and played beginning to end several times over.
  16. Nov 12, 2011
    4
    This game gets boring and annoying very quickly. Very unrealistic !!! And the crappy graphics will give you a headache if you play more the 20 minutes. They had good ideas and made them crappy. In assuming sr3 will be just as bad. Rent it for a couple days but don't waste your money by purchasing it!
  17. May 31, 2012
    7
    This is a fun game. It's a lot like Gta and it's not as near as good as Gta. Fun weapons to kill with. The multiplayer is good but it's a lot like Gta so I sort of felt buying the same game but a weaker campaign but still is worth getting. Campaign 7/10 Multiplayer 7/10 Saints Row 2 7.4/10
  18. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    The playability of the game is almost endless, even though the graphics are poor and the game breaks so much. This is down to making the game itself fun, you can do silly things like take on an entire army of zombies or drive a plane into any thing you like and so on and so forth.( Im sure you can come up with a further list of crazy things you can do)

    The game has many missions and even
    more side misssions with crazy objectives such as insurance fraud (by hurting your self as much as you can in a small space of time), running fight clubs and again so on and so forth.

    A negative part of the game as stated earlier was the game breaking such as being trapped with in the car (I was standing in the bonnet) constant game crashes, spawning area is so tiny which means chasing a car you want is incridaably hard. This game you shouldn't compare with a game like Grand theift auto, Grand theft auto is taking the crime life in more of a dark and in a way more sensible, theres a sense of reality within the Grand theft auto games as on the other side you have Saints row (The acid trip of the crime games) which takes the whole crime genre and pumps it up into a bouncy castle. The two games yes cover the same genre and have similar game play but it would be like comparing Mario cart with games like Pgr4 or Forza 4.

    All in all this game is good fun, some thing to kill your brain cells for a while, and buy now you can pick up a copy from under $10 or £10 and its gonna last you longer than a book or a film so in my eyes it now has its value for money and has great playabilty value.
    Expand
  19. Apr 21, 2012
    8
    Do u ever need something funny fun to play or if u want to customize things well get Saints row 2 because its has comedy, customization, drama, good characters, good guns and good cars.if you want to get a seriouse and dull game you might as well get gta but I can asure you that Saints row 2 is fun, funny but really bad thing is about saints row 2 is that you have to get respect if u want todo missions and strong holds and the missions are good so get SR2 now if u want some comedy in a game Expand
  20. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    abolsute pleasure to play-
    guity pleasure at that- everything about this game screams polish and talent- FIRSTLY the city is wonderfully realised, varied and incredibly fun to be in- no sandbox game has had the "lived in" feel that elder scrolls oblivion did with its "radiant AI" but this is best of the modern sand box games. SECONDLY- this game just oozes fun and charm- the 3rd game in
    the series is an abomination of bad design and lack of creative talent- quite frankly saints row 3 looks like the work of 12 year old virgins- saints row 2 however tows the line between silly, insane and psychopathic- almost tarantino esque in fact.
    THIRDLY- the kitchen sink approach to the game with clothes cars and houses is magnificent without any DLC BS that only idiots would pay extra for-

    saints row 2 is top 5 games of this generation- buy it if you have any interested in sand box games- its a hell lot better than gta IV which is sh!t and much better than red dead redemption even (RDR is an ok game with a nice graphics engine that runs at 2FPS)
    Expand
  21. May 23, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The second Saints Row is again an almost perfect and really funny game. You want to play a Gangster, this is what you need. The graphics are better than form the first part but surely not top notch, the gameplay is again really awesome and you have really much funny missions to do. The Co-op option is really welcome. I liked the storyline very much because it starts where the first part ends. The player-customization and the range of vehicle is huge and amazing. Truly great gangstah-game! Expand
  22. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Saints row 2 was great, I felt like I was playing a new GTA game, just with more explosions and more interesting side missions, such as insurance fraud, where I was jumping in front of cars, the best thing you can do in any game obviously. The one thing I would complain about is some of the missions being a bit harder than you'd expect, even as a seasoned gamer.
  23. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    hours of fun i have had on this game days of killing slaughtering and having fun with friends
    multiplayer is shocking but the coop makes up for that
    a true gangster game wich is what saints row is about
  24. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    This game was brilliant when it came out because I have followed Saints row series ever since the very first Saints Row came out. People say Saints Row 2 is a lot like GTA but I really don
  25. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    Lets get one thing out of the way: people need to stop calling Saints Row a copy/rip off of GTA, just because Rockstar was the first to make a game of the sandbox/crime genre, doesn't mean other people's games are a copy, it's just like saying that COD, Halo and all those other first person shooters are a "copy" of whatever the first fps game was. I agree there are similarities, but if you do say that Saints Row is a GTA copy, you are wrong and not giving the developers the respect they deserve; you probably haven't even tried this game and you're judging it by what you've read or seen about it, this is Saints Row. It starts out with your character being revived in hospital, you're trapped on a prison island, you break out with a person and find that 3 new gangs have taken over the city, you meet with Johnny Gat, Pierce and Shaundi, you and them start by recruiting and reviving the saints, smashing up an underground refuge of homeless people and using that as a HQ; Saints hideout. However, I find it hard to explain the story in this review, I will explain what makes this game so great. You go along with buying cribs, doing activities, so much excellent missions, the mission setup is where you can pick 3 missions to do; each focuses on an individual rival gang, and if you want, you could focus on just one enemy gang at a time by sticking to just one side of missions, but I didn't do that. Buying stores, cribs and upgrading them is fun. The activities are good to play, Septic Avenger, FUZZ, Mayhem, Trailing Blazing, Crowd Control and others, all fun to play, play the activities as you progress through the storyline, don't do them all at once. Activities will earn you loads of cash and respect. There are tags to find across the city and spray over to represent the Saints, hidden discs across the world, some places to explore, and there are restaurants where you can buy food or drinks, carry them with you anytime, you can eat them when you're at dangerously low health in a fight; food can save your life. The customization is big, you can customize your car, clothes, even your character; the voice, whether it's a boy or girl, the way he or she is, how he/she taunts enemies and honors the Saints, the structure of the body, the age, the race, everything. I just use the default Caucasian, age 30-40. Oh, and you can also customize your gang; how they are outfitted, the tags, the vehicles they drive across the streets. You can customize your car as well. The storyline is fantastic and so greatly written, and like with the first game (which I never played), the game includes Ultor, like the original Red Faction game. The clothes customization is really, really good as well; you can choose the colour of it, the style, the logo and whether that's on it, but the problem is there is just not enough clothes to get. But hey, you can have the Red Faction symbols on your clothes which makes I like. You can interact with your gang, honor them, recruit them, getting them to follow you around like GTA Sanandreas, just that the problem is you can only recruit 2 or 3 people, in co-op, it's one less because the game counts your partner. I do have some complaints with this game, the graphics are poor (even for 2008), for example, when you eat food, you will see 2 bites with no animation to it and it just disappears, the game ends an activity soon as you reach the score, there is not enough clothes to buy, the wanted level goes away simply by stopping whatever you're doing, and like I said with the awfully few amount of people you can recruit at a time to follow you fight along with you or assist you in a mission that involves invading an enemy gang's crib or property like the stronghold missions and also when you've reached the score limit in an activity, it disruptively ends it. The developers have made the perfect choices of songs in this game, the music in this game is excellent. You do work with the characters often, like Carlos and Johnny Gat or Pierce, you're not always working on your own, which is good. There is also a multiplayer to this game, but there is just not much to it. Co-op is great if you have a good friend, and there are co-op achievements, so there is definitely a reason to play it. While it's not perfect, Saints Row 2 is one of the best games out there, you will have so much fun with this game and it will last you atleast 30 hours, you can always replay missions as well. Saints Row 2 gets 9/10. Expand
  26. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    the saints row 2 is must buy if your into gta or free roam games. story is immersive and customization is taken to whole another level. create your own character.
  27. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    Obviously Voltion paid everyone to give this "game" a good review. This game deserves a 40/100 (or a 4/10) at best though I'm trying to lower the rating. Why would anyone like the graphics if it looks more like a PS2 game and terrible for 2008 standards. Why would anyone like the slow shopping cart car handling? Should have been a $5 DLC for the first game! What about the low frame rates, mediocre storyline and bad characters (except for Johnny Gat). Don't forget the AI, easy missions and wanted level system??? Expand
  28. Jan 19, 2014
    8
    The story is utter **** (although doesn't take itself too seriously) and the majority of the art design is terrible but when it comes to fun this is one of the best open sandbox games on the 360. I always saw this game as the sequel to San Andreas using the sillier side of the game as inspiration while GTAIV is a true leap for the series and the genre but went in a darker direction than Saints Row and I think it's really nice to have this choice on the 360. Overall this game is very enjoyable and well worth a play but the story and art work are not really up my street. Expand
  29. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    One of best open world games ever made far better then saints row the third .
    This a brilliant open world game with lots of content plus great writing and ai
  30. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to admit. This beat the crude out of GTA IV (Except in Graphics, Online, the map, and the storyline). And I'm more of a GTA fan. After the boat expolison happens to you, you're in a prison and meet this guy named Carlos. He tells you wnats going on and you guys break out of the prison. The map Stilwater sort of change. Saint's Row looks totally different. Ultor the clothing company took it over after Hughs died in that boat explosion of yours. They're very popluar now. But while you were in that colma the Saints fell apart. The new gangs are The Brother Hood, The Sonsof Samdi, and The Ronin. You have to rebuild your gang, and take Stilwater over again. Now let's get into the gameplay. The customization's better than the last. You could talk now, fly planes, helicopters. Do whatever you want. It's like the over the top version of GTA. The gang is customizable. As the leader you can choose your style, and own cars and what not. There's countless things to do in Saint's Row 2.
    The graphcis could be better, but the AI is okay. The game's extremely glitchy, it's even more glitchy online. But the games good.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. This is a truly entertaining game. There's no pretension - just enjoyable mayhem. It doesn't claim to be the Messiah, but it is a very naughty boy. Volition has tapped into nearly every wanton act we'd want to commit in an open world and more besides. [Nov 2008, p.67]
  2. 82
    The technical shortcomings are the only truly bad part of Saints Row 2, but the core gameplay experience is extremely enjoyable.
  3. 80
    It's big dumb fun, Saints Row 2 isn't going to redefine any aspects of game design - but in doing so it does deliver on Volition's biggest promise: Saints Row 2 isn't Grand Theft Auto.