Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 279 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Saints have ankled from the crackhouse to the White House—but the Earth has been invaded and it’s your responsibility to free the world from Overlord Zinyak and his alien force. With homies new and old by your side, and an arsenal of superpowers and exotic weapons, you must save the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 94
    A game that is rich and deep with personality and unmatched ridiculousness. Saints Row IV is exactly what I needed this summer. It takes everything that I love about sandbox style gaming and makes it better.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Volition did something it seems few developers are brave enough to do at this point: They were willing to reinvent the Saints Row series instead of just reiterating on it. The result is a game that I had an absolute blast with from beginning to end, but also one that—due to the escalation it exhibits—left me dumbfounded on what they’ll offer as a follow-up.
  3. 90
    It's possible someone who doesn't buy into the Saints Row universe with such enthusiasm will find Saints Row IV exhausting and boring. Might we suggest those people attend a local museum, where the paintings of flowers might be more to their taste. If violent psychopathy is the price we have to pay for a world of awesome harmony, sign us up.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    Sure, I wasn't always comfortable playing Saints Row IV these past few days with guests in my home. But work is work, and even though I'd talk to them about Journey and the like to explain my work as a video games critic, a serious part of me was secretly enjoying every last bit of silliness and bad taste Saints Row IV had to offer. And there's a massive amount of that in the game, which is as fun as it is completely and utterly stupid.
  5. Sep 7, 2013
    80
    Once hits its stride, Saints Row IV is a pleasure to try and keep up with. Its relentless insanity will occasionally tire, but its in these moments you can appreciate the smarter elements. Despite everything, this is a more mature game than its predecessors.
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    78
    Even with the screen tearing and sporadic glitches, unimpressive graphics, generic and forgettable antagonist and over-powered abilities, I have to admit, I couldn’t get enough of Saints Row IV, once it hit stride.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    70
    Unsophisticated and sloppily made but there’s a heart of gold beneath the game’s erratic exterior, as it successfully skewers some of gaming’s more pompous franchises.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 64
  2. Negative: 11 out of 64
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This game is just pure fun. I had only one problem with Saints Row: The Third: I felt like it was too slow. With the inclusion of super powers in Saints Row IV, the pace has drastically increased and I find myself giddy while playing it, because it is literally everything I had hoped for from this game. I would heavily suggest this game if you enjoyed Prototype or Crackdown, because I feel it is more fun than both of them combined!

    Also, while I think that this game probably deserves a 8, I am giving it a 10, because no game deserves a rating of 0.
    Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Although the game is graphically rough and buggy, I still loved playing through it with my brother. It's pure fun, and is chocked full of laughs, if you're into toilet humor. The story is wild, and unpredictable, plus the direction the game took was unlike anything I've seen before. I'd highly recommend this game to people who want a good time especially if they have someone else to play and laugh with. Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2013
    9
    At the top of this game, one of the Saint's gang members informs, "We don't do anything subtly!" Aside from the high production values, that's what makes this game so much fun and it richly deserves the 9 I gave it.. In a lackluster Summer waiting for the new consoles to be released, this game is a breath of fresh air!!! The graphics/cutscenes are state of the art, and the over the top "attitude" of the Saints as they assume the power of the Presidency fighting a formidable Alien race is hilarious ....and make no doubt, the high powered weapons and the easy game play will bring joy to your heart as you decimate the enemy during the captivating plot of wonderful scenarios that are both challenging and oh so, so funny.... .A great way to say good-bye to the old console Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Saints have taken the office, with you, the player, becoming President. Now aliens have taken over Earth and it's your job to save the world from Zinyak, an evil alien with a love for literature.Surprisingly, the game has a lot to offer. Having superpowers is one of the highlights of the game. The downside, you are basically invincible on casual with superpowers. The weapons are unique. I love how you can change the style of most of your guns, to either be a realistic weapon, or a space themed weapon varying from "star wars" style weapons and many more. Weapons can still be used in combination with your powers. A big problem is the vehicles. Vehicles are for the most part useless. Why spend 10 minutes driving a vehicle to one point instead of flying to said point in less than a minute. Sucks for the people who spent time on making the vehicle customization. Quests are still boring as can be, side quests at least. These are disguised as "quests" that are just for completing the activities around Steel port. There is an abundant amount of collectibles, including Audio Logs, Zinyak Statues, and clusters. With over 1000 clusters, you will be spending time after-game collecting these. Clusters are used to upgrade your superpowers. The writing is very good and is as funny as could be. For a game that was originally meant to be dlc for Saints Row 3, its a fun game that you will spend 10-15+ hours on. Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    It isn't hard to see that SR4 was originally meant to be an expansion pack for SR3, but you can also see that the sheer amount of content is far too big for a single expansion. The only decision I question is why they decided to call it SR4? It feels more like a spin-off than proper sequel. Graphically I could say it's slightly worse than SR3 in some respects, ALLOT of graphical glitches (no, not the intentional ones.) But they are forgivable and can easily be gotten rid of with a reload. If anything this games biggest flaw is that they reuse Steelport from SR3, same shops, vehicles, clothing, etc.

    But criticism aside, it is more or less on par with SR3 in terms of fun. The super powers are fun as hell to use and you really do feel like a super hero most of the time. The humor and writing are ALLOT better than in SR3. Tons of easter eggs and references to other games. Voice acting is still phenomenal.

    Overall: SR4 is not as good as previous titles, but is a worthy addition to the series. Like with SR3, as long as you don't take it too seriously and you don't expect too much, you will enjoy it.
    Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    6
    This is a fun game but its pretty much a recycled version of the last game. if you like off the wall quirky games then i highly recommend but if you have the last game then your not missing much. aside from the superpowers your character has now that's about it. save your money and buy GTA in september Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2013
    0
    Biggest letdown in the history of games. Saint's Row used to be a great series that you could have fun playing over and over again. This 'game' is noting more than something that should have been included on a dlc. No safe houses. Very few new anything as far as clothes or cars. Even took away the quick action melee combat. This so called game is not worth $10 brand new. Much less the ridiculous retail cost. Do not buy this. Period. Collapse

See all 64 User Reviews