User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 59
  2. Negative: 6 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    4
    With many positive reviews, I decided to drop $15. This is also after considering the fact the first game had a near non-existent community on the 360. I do not know how long the PC or PS3 communities lasted, but the forums were never a good indicator since the forums were more alive than the servers. There were many internal conflicts, especially on the PC side. Moving on...

    The campaign
    With many positive reviews, I decided to drop $15. This is also after considering the fact the first game had a near non-existent community on the 360. I do not know how long the PC or PS3 communities lasted, but the forums were never a good indicator since the forums were more alive than the servers. There were many internal conflicts, especially on the PC side. Moving on...

    The campaign is bad. Just bad. Voice acting, story, character development, all of it. There is some nice objective variety throughout the missions, the cutscenes can sometimes be cool, but that's it. The enemy AI is stupid, worthless, and makes Crysis 2's buggy AI look like deities, and simply heaven when they work. For a squad oriented game, you can't tell allied AI what to do like in Gears of War, and you can't rely on them to help you beyond attracting bullets while you regen. There are major difficulty spikes that make the game stupidly frustrating rather than challenging, especially midtier enemies that take well over 60-80 bullets to put down compared to grunts in 15-30. God help you when the midtier engineers can repair each other constantly while you try to whittle them down. It is just plain, bad, frustrating game design. I do not recall any smart uses of their jetpack or being incredibly mobile like what basic players can do in Halo Reach. I'll just end this and say that the campaign is a frustrating, poorly designed experience, and should not be something to look forward to by any fans of fpses. No one should have to endure this crap.

    Guns kill faster than they did in the 1st game, but this isn't COD or BF. More like Halo Reach with 2x the health, roughly. Players can modify armor stats in tiny increments with bonuses against certain types of damage. Guns have many options, like the machine gun has emp ammo which rips shields and fails on armor, or incendiary ammo that does the opposite with burning damage. Then there are crash rounds to chew through vehicles better, but do poorly on infantry. However, all of the guns donâ
    Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    1
    Do not buy. This is a team game that does not have party matchmaking or joining. You cannot team up with your friends. Joining a server results in a random chance of you on the same team with your friend, against them, or if you start on the same team then all ranked servers have autobalance which can separate you from your friends later on. For a team game, this feature is a deal breakerDo not buy. This is a team game that does not have party matchmaking or joining. You cannot team up with your friends. Joining a server results in a random chance of you on the same team with your friend, against them, or if you start on the same team then all ranked servers have autobalance which can separate you from your friends later on. For a team game, this feature is a deal breaker and I warn all prospective buyers that for the cheap price this arcade title is, it is cheap because it has poor multiplayer features. Do not buy. Better team games to spend your hard earned money on no matter how little. The devs promised they would fix this feature from the previous game despite all the complaints on their forums now and years ago. They still haven't fixed it and lied again. Do not support these devs and their empty promises. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2011
    4
    Eurogamer is a site known to save its high scores for truly good titles, bestowed upon Section 8 Prejudice a 9/10. I was dazzled. To call this the best shooter since bfbc2 is quite a remark. Naturally I had to give this game a shot. I was ready for outdated graphics and lower than normal production values. I mean, green eggs and ham is actually quite good despite how it looks. I couldEurogamer is a site known to save its high scores for truly good titles, bestowed upon Section 8 Prejudice a 9/10. I was dazzled. To call this the best shooter since bfbc2 is quite a remark. Naturally I had to give this game a shot. I was ready for outdated graphics and lower than normal production values. I mean, green eggs and ham is actually quite good despite how it looks. I could repeat a lot of the awesome stuff that Eurogamer said, custom armor, weapon modifications, overdrive, mechs with fatalities, tanks that can hover in the air for a bit... This game has some jaw dropping ideas. Might as well start salivating. Warmed up a bit against bots and checked out the maps a little. Tempest is nice. Called up a friend and logged in to "share some ham together." DENIED! We can't be on the same team. A bot can't be moved for us to play together or else the teams would be uneven. I asked another player for help, and he said "Oh yeah the autobalance. Don't worry we can take care of ya." WHAT THE HECK?! Eurogamer's review said nothing about autobalance for teams. Sure, there is nice people on the internet and whole lots of jerks too, but I still want to play with my friend and friends. Is that too much to ask for in a modern game? Are we going back to those old days where pc games had server browsers but didn't let friends play together on the same team? Eurogamer is right about this game having some crazy balance mechanics. Ammo types that are anti-shield, anti-armor, short out jetpacks. Pistol extended mag or burstfire. There's lots to love here. But hot DARN it if I can't join a friend and go turning others into meat. Ya this game is balanced alright. AUTOBALANCED. Seriously if this feature wasn't in, I'd be loving this game like crazy. This game is not the perfect or super highly rated game it is until autobalance is REMOVED. I feel betrayed with the omission of that little and very important detail. Bloody contracts and fine print, except fine print ain't even there to read. Portal 2, oh yes, that game is all sorts of love. That game is... COOP-able! Guess the ham is over there. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    1
    this game tries hard to be better than halo mw battlefield but it just does so much wrong. it takes too many bullets to kill someone at a low level. the higher levels have better armor, weapons, options. a aimbot is included in this game and there is no way to play without it. a aimbot in a fps! what happened to skill and only skill? why do I have to equip stealth or hide like a sissy inthis game tries hard to be better than halo mw battlefield but it just does so much wrong. it takes too many bullets to kill someone at a low level. the higher levels have better armor, weapons, options. a aimbot is included in this game and there is no way to play without it. a aimbot in a fps! what happened to skill and only skill? why do I have to equip stealth or hide like a sissy in order to stop a llama from shooting me a bit then getting a free kill with autoaim as i superspeed away? heck I can aimbot other people too and steal kills once I see some fool who is low hp. game is a joke. autoaim ruins this game. no. something else that someone said is more important. the autobalance is a joke. I have been on the winning team several times had a mech and was slapping nubs then the game autoswitches me at random. i lose my mech and my effort put into winning. this game is fail. 15 bucks for a crap game. so many overrated reviews that dont mention or totally ignore the bad parts of the game. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2011
    0
    This game is all about multiplayer: 16 v 16 battles (on dedicated servers) plus fantastic deep and balanced gameplay equals one of the best multiplayer experiences you'll find anywhere imo (always play on ranked servers as that's where the action is, though you can play offline with bots too). Chuck in a singleplayer and a horde-style mode and that is a game easily worth 1200 mspoints.This game is all about multiplayer: 16 v 16 battles (on dedicated servers) plus fantastic deep and balanced gameplay equals one of the best multiplayer experiences you'll find anywhere imo (always play on ranked servers as that's where the action is, though you can play offline with bots too). Chuck in a singleplayer and a horde-style mode and that is a game easily worth 1200 mspoints. The game does auto balance during play, but I think it's a necessary evil as it eliminates the cascade effect where losing players bail causing team mates to give up and bail also when they see their numbers drop (one flaw of BC2). Playing on full servers or with bots included makes this a rare occurrence. The "aimbot" is a counter for jetpacks and is a timed lock-on ability which has a cooldown timer, so only can be used sporadically. Expand
  6. May 7, 2011
    3
    I stumbled across this game last night on steam for the low price of $16 and began my download. I have played it now for a couple of hours and I feel like I have enough of the basics down to do a review.Let me start by saying that I did not play the original Section 8 but was able to discern, from various reviews on the net, that it left quite a bit to be desired. I think this gameI stumbled across this game last night on steam for the low price of $16 and began my download. I have played it now for a couple of hours and I feel like I have enough of the basics down to do a review.Let me start by saying that I did not play the original Section 8 but was able to discern, from various reviews on the net, that it left quite a bit to be desired. I think this game delivered better than it's predecessor in that it actually has a single-player campaign. This is where I have spent most of my time on the game thus far.The story-line of the campaign is very lacking.  Everything around the narrative seems very thrown-together and generic.  The game starts you off as a captain of a unit who holds a very important prisoner.  Inevitably, the prisoner gets away and you must track down his where-a bouts in order to bring him back to his cell.  The main characters don't seem to be that memorable.  Ultimately, it feels like just an excuse to shoot bad guys.I also had issue after issue trying to create a Microsoft LIVE ID through the game itself. I eventually navigated to the site manually with Google Chrome and registered myself externally. I think this is a bug that needs to be looked at.The graphics are ok.  Nothing spectacular but definitely not sub-par here.  The games controls are fun.  You are equipped with a jet pack, a super-sprint ability and all of the game's buttons are in a place where one would think they should be. I did not feel like I could control the character the way I wanted to most of the time though. I found myself wanting to crouch lower, to strafe while I was running and to control my jet pack direction a little better. The multiplayer seemed to be a confusing mess for me. I was able to join a server easily enough but once I got in and deployed myself (you get shot out of a drop ship anywhere you specify on the combat map) I wasn't sure what was going on at all. New missions would be assigned to either team almost sporadically.  Once the mission was assigned I had no idea where to go to accomplish the mission for my team.  The result was about thirty minutes of pure frustration before I left the server.Both weapons and amo can be selected from inventory stations or load outs before you deploy yourself. These items can be modified and certain stats can be tweaked to give your character more armor, more damage, etc.  This could make for a lot of different variations of different characters and possibly make the multiplayer more revolved around the individual's play style.All and all, the game is certainly worth the $16 I paid for it but not much more. It feels like a Halo spin-off  and I think it would be a great game for fans of Halo in the single-player aspect.  The confusion from the multiplayer matches makes the game virtually useless for those of us who are looking for a good fps to play competitively with our friends.  In this case you get what you pay for. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jul 1, 2011
    80
    The first word that comes to my mind when I think of Prejudice is 'solid'. Every element of this game was executed at least well (the Swarm mode, audio and graphics) and some of them really stand out (like the Conquest mode and Dynamic Combat Missions). [June 2011, p.60]
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    78
    Section 8: Prejudice is a worthy title for online shooter fans but won't really hold many players over with its single player campaign.
  3. 70
    Enjoyably frenetic war zone action. [July 2011, p.100]