User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 208 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 208

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    Awesome Metroidvania type of game. One of the most fun games I've played. Game design is excellent. I loved the mix of 2d with 3d. Sometimes the controls can be frustrating though...the character doesn't do what you want him to do.
  2. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    Shadow Complex captures the essence of Metroidvania games and has some very great upgrades to boot. Excellent sense of progression, interesting plot great exploration and a good combat system. This game is probably the best XBLA game you can get.
  3. mobius
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Looks like there are a couple of PS3 voters here and they seem a little annoyed that shadow complex aint on their system boo hoo. anyway regardless if this is a metroid ripoff or not because ive never played a metroid game. for me this game brings back memorys of old classics like Flashback, Abe's oddysee and Another World. . its a big game and a real beauty to look at. now im off to Looks like there are a couple of PS3 voters here and they seem a little annoyed that shadow complex aint on their system boo hoo. anyway regardless if this is a metroid ripoff or not because ive never played a metroid game. for me this game brings back memorys of old classics like Flashback, Abe's oddysee and Another World. . its a big game and a real beauty to look at. now im off to give random PS3 games negative reviews because their not available on the XBOX boo hoo. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    While it doesn't have tons of replay value, Shadow Complex is an entertaining diversion if you're looking for something to play. It doesn't particularly innovate in any way, but it's a fun Metroid-style game with modern gadgets and guns.
  5. HagenM
    Aug 19, 2009
    6
    Why is this game getting so much praise when it has so many problems that hold it so far back and nearly break it all together? Too many off-screen enemies are around to kill you in 2 seconds if you're not clairvoyant enough to tell they're in an area. The entire 2.5D perspective if broken, aiming at the enemies in the background is a game of chance. The levels are bland and Why is this game getting so much praise when it has so many problems that hold it so far back and nearly break it all together? Too many off-screen enemies are around to kill you in 2 seconds if you're not clairvoyant enough to tell they're in an area. The entire 2.5D perspective if broken, aiming at the enemies in the background is a game of chance. The levels are bland and poorly designed and do nothing to make me want to explore them. The only true redeeming quality of this game is the story. This game is definitely not worth 1200 msp. Which hurts for me to say as I was very hyped for this game. Such a disappointment. This game is border-line mediocre. Expand
  6. JamesA
    Aug 20, 2009
    7
    This game is a lot of fun, anyone who loved Super Metroid will definitely love this one. Yes, it is essentially the same game, but I'm not saying that as a bad thing; there's nothing wrong with emulating success. The gameplay is fun, the level design is brilliant, all around a solid experience. Except-- I gave it a 7 because SC is just too buggy to get better than that. I This game is a lot of fun, anyone who loved Super Metroid will definitely love this one. Yes, it is essentially the same game, but I'm not saying that as a bad thing; there's nothing wrong with emulating success. The gameplay is fun, the level design is brilliant, all around a solid experience. Except-- I gave it a 7 because SC is just too buggy to get better than that. I can't believe the reviewers are ignoring this stuff. The AIs sometimes don't react when you walk right in front of them or start shooting, so you can just pick off or melee everyone in a room. The animations pop like crazy. You're constantly clipping through geometry. The ragdolls jitter and dance on the ground. The worst part is that the game chugs. A LOT. Especially during cutscenes. A game like this should run at 60 fps with no framerate issues, this one chugs and its running at 30. That's unacceptable. All that said though, I can get over the flaws and enjoy a fun experience. There are just too many flaws to warrant a very high rating. Expand
  7. MalharD
    Sep 4, 2009
    5
    Shadow Complex is an amazing game that I played on my Xbox. The graphics of this game is quite stunning and exciting as well but in simple terms and slightly in 2d version in comparison. According to this review, http://forums.techarena.in/reviews/1237906.htm , can this game be played on xbox live.
  8. ShaunM
    Oct 13, 2009
    7
    Shadow Complex is a nice attempt to bring the 'metroidvania' genre to the current generation but it lacks the depth that most of those games had. Maybe if Shadow Complex was larger, more complicated and challenging then it might have stood up as a spiritual successor to Super Metroid. Get it if you liked those games but don't get your hopes up too high.
  9. AUC
    Aug 20, 2009
    1
    This game is a total ripoff of Metroid and Castlevania, both of which have better gameplay and story. Typical M$ ripping off good games and calling it innovation. Too bad people are too occupied with their red rings of death to try and play this bilge. If this was on the PS3, then it would get a better review, but at least 6 points should be taken off for it being on the crapbox This game is a total ripoff of Metroid and Castlevania, both of which have better gameplay and story. Typical M$ ripping off good games and calling it innovation. Too bad people are too occupied with their red rings of death to try and play this bilge. If this was on the PS3, then it would get a better review, but at least 6 points should be taken off for it being on the crapbox please-fix-me. Waste of a game. Expand
  10. shane
    Aug 26, 2009
    2
    I am confused. Both Castlevania and Metroid are more engaging, interesting and more fun to play that this title. They have character, atmosphere and a fantastic setting. Here we have a generic man on a boring lets save America story which is completelly banal. Go play the games mentioned aboe right after shadow complex and you will see this is nothingI am confused. Both Castlevania and Metroid are more engaging, interesting and more fun to play that this title. They have character, atmosphere and a fantastic setting. Here we have a generic man on a boring lets save America story which is completelly banal. Go play the games mentioned aboe right after shadow complex and you will see this is nothing mohttp://clk.atdmt.com/goiframe/46210100.40947462/zdntsdva00100005642d1/direct;wi.300;hi.250/01re than a lazy, boring game made by men too pumped up on testosterone to create a game with a story that does not involve all their well worn out tropes. Expand
  11. SAKY
    Aug 26, 2009
    6
    A Visual update to Super Metroid. If you are a fan of genre SC will not disappoint. Sure, many things could have been done better such as enemy and environment variety, AI, and engine performance but this is XBLA. Considering the medium all the above are done well enough for $15. Sure, it's depth is nowhere near that of recent Castlevania games, and really it's no more A Visual update to Super Metroid. If you are a fan of genre SC will not disappoint. Sure, many things could have been done better such as enemy and environment variety, AI, and engine performance but this is XBLA. Considering the medium all the above are done well enough for $15. Sure, it's depth is nowhere near that of recent Castlevania games, and really it's no more innovative than Super Metroid, but it's great to see the genre cross over to the realm of 3D graphics. Hell it's good to see any new software in the form of a side scrolling adventure let alone a new IP with a good story. BTW, Epic, Claire's face, terrible @AU C: C'mon don't be like that, 6 more points if it's on PS3? Also, M$ didn't make this, Epic did. Expand
  12. IanC
    Aug 27, 2009
    2
    Am I missing something? I was bored to tears within minutes, all I can think is that this is favoured by gamers who came into gaming long after side scrollers fell by the wayside and are discovering them for the first time. I see nothing new, nothing interesting, can't disagree more with this being the best XBLA title ever.
  13. AnonymousMC
    Sep 14, 2009
    5
    Its an 'okay' game, nothing more nothing less. The story is so stupid I found myself skipping most of the cut-scenes in the game - it, instead of immersing you in the action, felt so poorly executed it was almost embarrassing to compliment the gameplay. Talking of gameplay it isnt revolutionary; its a 2d side scrolling action game in 3d... if that makes sense. Personally IIts an 'okay' game, nothing more nothing less. The story is so stupid I found myself skipping most of the cut-scenes in the game - it, instead of immersing you in the action, felt so poorly executed it was almost embarrassing to compliment the gameplay. Talking of gameplay it isnt revolutionary; its a 2d side scrolling action game in 3d... if that makes sense. Personally I thought it was a waste of money, others will disagree but thats my honest opinion... the hype train revolves around Epic Games, and coming from them Shadow Complex is in my mind the company's first and hopefully last abomination. Do your self a favour and buy a XBLA game like Braid instead. Expand
  14. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = Tons of replay value, and overall a very fun game. I still prefer the metroid's and castlevania's of the world though. Horrifyingly bad story.
  15. JoshuaL
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Excellent game for anyone with an XBox 360, and 1200 microsoft points to burn. Reminds me of Castlevania and Metroid without copying them. Incredibly level design, combined with fun story, and great voice acting. It feels like a whole game, not an iphone game or an episodic game. I would have gladly paid for this in stores too. Chair has proven they are the best game developers onboard Excellent game for anyone with an XBox 360, and 1200 microsoft points to burn. Reminds me of Castlevania and Metroid without copying them. Incredibly level design, combined with fun story, and great voice acting. It feels like a whole game, not an iphone game or an episodic game. I would have gladly paid for this in stores too. Chair has proven they are the best game developers onboard with Xbox Live. Can't wait to see their next project down the line. Last thing I'm gonna say: "Foam Gun Rules!" Expand
  16. PrimusM
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the best I've played all year. You may be able to argue that parts of it are ripped straight out of other games, but these mechanics still have to be executed, and they are executed very nicely. This is proof that old school game play is not dead.
  17. MichaelA
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    I only own a handful of games for my 360, all of which I have enjoyed, but SC makes the top of the list. This game is pure fun. Wonderful attention to detail has been made, especially for an independent game. The sounds effects are crisp and really pull you into the game. I've only uncovered 26% of the entire map of the game, and I can say with confidence this is one of the best I only own a handful of games for my 360, all of which I have enjoyed, but SC makes the top of the list. This game is pure fun. Wonderful attention to detail has been made, especially for an independent game. The sounds effects are crisp and really pull you into the game. I've only uncovered 26% of the entire map of the game, and I can say with confidence this is one of the best games on the 360, period. Very hard to put down, get it as soon as possible and see why! Expand
  18. ChrisS
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    Outstanding release. The best Xbox Live Arcade 360 game to release thus far in the consoles history. Following in the footsteps of Geometry Wars(and it's sequel), Braid and Castle Crashers, this is a must own in anyones gaming library. Excellent throw back gameplay, replayability, outstanding graphics and presentation. This game is the real deal and full package. What could easily be Outstanding release. The best Xbox Live Arcade 360 game to release thus far in the consoles history. Following in the footsteps of Geometry Wars(and it's sequel), Braid and Castle Crashers, this is a must own in anyones gaming library. Excellent throw back gameplay, replayability, outstanding graphics and presentation. This game is the real deal and full package. What could easily be a full priced retail release, Shadow Complex changes the way we look at downloadable games and the combination of retro/new age gaming. Expand
  19. DesO
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    I'm beginning to lose count of the number of times the bar has been raised for XBLA games and this one is no exception. Lengthy and content filled, with beautiful graphics and well thought out gameplay, Shadow complex is one of the finest modern sidescrollers I've ever played and a perfect end to the Summer.
  20. tobiasl
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    One of the best XBLA titles I've ever played. Fantastic graphics, sound and overall presentation. Good puzzles, forgiving gameplay (ie. there are a few tricky places on the maps, but the savepoints are frequent.). The story is a bit ownky, but it is quite well told. Really bloody good. Go buy it.
  21. AidanS
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    I would give this game an 8 if it was full retail price, or anything over $40. However, for $15, I can't think of any brand new game I've enjoyed more for less money since gaming on my NES. The game is fun, challenging, wonderfully designed, and rarely frustrating. I couldn't put it down the day I got it, and I still find myself going back for more. If you own a 360, Buy I would give this game an 8 if it was full retail price, or anything over $40. However, for $15, I can't think of any brand new game I've enjoyed more for less money since gaming on my NES. The game is fun, challenging, wonderfully designed, and rarely frustrating. I couldn't put it down the day I got it, and I still find myself going back for more. If you own a 360, Buy this game!!!! It blows away half the full retail games that come out for the price of a movie ticket. Expand
  22. Ryan
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    I'm shocked, in a good way. The game was way better than expected; playing it on "casual" was a quick run and on "normal" was more my style. The writing's good; the voice acting funny at times. Don't listen to folks pissing about how it's like this game or that game -- it's a great "upgrade" to side-scrollers. The quick cut scenes (i.e. an above-head shot of a I'm shocked, in a good way. The game was way better than expected; playing it on "casual" was a quick run and on "normal" was more my style. The writing's good; the voice acting funny at times. Don't listen to folks pissing about how it's like this game or that game -- it's a great "upgrade" to side-scrollers. The quick cut scenes (i.e. an above-head shot of a descending elevator when you take an elevator) add to the atmosphere of the game. Worth it. The plot's somewhat easy to figure out, and I suspect they left it wide open for a sequel...that I will most likely purchase. Expand
  23. PeteN
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    The best xbox live investment ever. it scratches the itch you had for a old school side scrolling shooter that should have came out for the wii years ago. level progression is excellent and enemies ragdoll perfectly when you kill them. on the same day i got wolfenstein for ps3 but opted for the cheaper game in shadow complex. for 3 days i went to work deprived of sleep.i hope this game The best xbox live investment ever. it scratches the itch you had for a old school side scrolling shooter that should have came out for the wii years ago. level progression is excellent and enemies ragdoll perfectly when you kill them. on the same day i got wolfenstein for ps3 but opted for the cheaper game in shadow complex. for 3 days i went to work deprived of sleep.i hope this game can be the flagship for future games. WE NEED MORE SIDE SCROLLERS. very satisfying experience indeed. Expand
  24. JayMcAvee
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Probably the best XBLA game there is. Bionic Commando and then Castle Crashers held that claim for some time, but it has been retaken. Shadow Complex goes head to head against classics like Super Metroid and still manages to not only hold its own, but also advance the genre.
  25. BenC
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    Absolutely excellent game. Chair have gone with the 'dont fix whats not broken' method and applied it to an older more forgotten genre that gave birth to one of the greatest games of all time: Super Metroid With replayability bonuses, a lengthy campaign, leaderboards, challenge rooms, achievements and more this has to be one among the best value available per point spent on Xbox live.
  26. RyanZ.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This game brings out the best in old school gaming, making your SNES dreams reappear in modern times as this wonderfully put together package. It takes games like Castlevania and Metroid and slaps a new face on it giving it the modern appeal with a new setting and Metal Gear style premise. A must have for any sidescroll lovers.
  27. RickE.
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    It's an incredible mix of shooting, puzzles and platform. The level design keeps you on the edge of the seat, searching every dark corner for some hidden passage or secret. It's no doubt a must have and no Live user should pass this one!
  28. SamF
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    A near perfect game that involves puzzle solving, hidden items and a great side scroller with a 3d perspective. I played through this game twice and both times were amazing. If your a gamer you should at least download the demo and give this a try. If there is one negative I can say its the Respawning of enemies after you clear a room and return, but thats the only one I can think of. A A near perfect game that involves puzzle solving, hidden items and a great side scroller with a 3d perspective. I played through this game twice and both times were amazing. If your a gamer you should at least download the demo and give this a try. If there is one negative I can say its the Respawning of enemies after you clear a room and return, but thats the only one I can think of. A great storyline with a pretty exciting ending IMO But everyones tastes are different. With leaderboards to follow with various topics and the endless hours looking for that 100% achievement this game has alot of replay value and will surely win Arcade game of the year. Expand
  29. JeffG.
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    Talk about bang for your buck?? This game is incredible. Not wholly original, but who cares. Solid stuff.
  30. TristanL
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Wow this game is just pure epic. It is better than most RETAIL games, let alone downloadable. I hope that maybe with enough production value, there can be a sequel. Really great stuff.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. A perfect working mix between fights and exploration: high rhythm, never boring. You're going to feel pure fun as if you're back again playing coin-up, being stuck with your pad, achievement after achievement, enjoying it for hours. Nothing more to ask from a game such this.
  2. A stunningly-executed, modern-day Super Metroid.
  3. It's a game that will delight gamers old enough to recognise the classics it celebrates, while captivating those oblivious to its inspirations.