User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 85
  2. Negative: 30 out of 85

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    If you played silent hill 2 and 3 and liked them this is a auto 10, if you thought they were good before pretty much they just got better with the graphics update, hands down buy this! plus its only 40$ which just makes it 20 times better, if your new to silent hill and are a newer gamer (as in you started playing games on Xbox 360 and ps3 gen) then this is prob not for you as these areIf you played silent hill 2 and 3 and liked them this is a auto 10, if you thought they were good before pretty much they just got better with the graphics update, hands down buy this! plus its only 40$ which just makes it 20 times better, if your new to silent hill and are a newer gamer (as in you started playing games on Xbox 360 and ps3 gen) then this is prob not for you as these are old Xbox and Ps2 games and made to be a nostalgia effect on us who grew up with the silent hill series


    i dont see how you guys are saying there is glitch's not once in my game i played i did not see one glitch.... i installed my game to HDD idk if that helped or something but i heard the PS3 had a big glitch in it
    Collapse
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    "Silent Hill HD Collection": is a remake of the second and third games from the series, with updated 720p HD graphics, soundtrack and dialogues re-recorded (new voice acting in SH2 and 3, in SH 2 you can choose from the original or new voices, and in SH3 there is only the new version), retaining the original gameplay - plus the version of Silent Hill 2 also has the extras from the original"Silent Hill HD Collection": is a remake of the second and third games from the series, with updated 720p HD graphics, soundtrack and dialogues re-recorded (new voice acting in SH2 and 3, in SH 2 you can choose from the original or new voices, and in SH3 there is only the new version), retaining the original gameplay - plus the version of Silent Hill 2 also has the extras from the original Directors Cut release. The fourth game of the series was excluded because of the little interest in the game, and the first, I think, is because the original game is available on PSN (initially the game was to be released only in Playstation 3). "Silent Hill", to whom don't know the franchise is a series of games, with a psychological-horror theme, with some bizarre and grotesque elements, and with a constant fear and tension feeling in the gameplay, enhanced by dark and misty scenarios, atmospheric orchestrated music, strategic sound effects among the essential silent gameplay, and scattered bizarre enemies, that suddenly appears. The core gameplay has a third person view (only the 4th game has a first person view), with puzzles and combat sequences (that in most cases can be avoided, if wished) along the game. Other known feature in the series are the variety of game endings, that can be achieved according to your actions in the game, being good, bad, alternatives or without anything in common with the history (like the UFO ones). This game is more that recommended, from whom is a fan of the series, tho ones doesn't have played the originals games in Playstation 2 or the casual gamer who like Horror survival games - these are classical game, that any gamer serious should at least know (and play). My score: 9,1 / 10,0 . Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Wow when i played these games when i was a kid they freaked me out and they were fun as hell but both silent hill 2 & 3 with new voices,achievments,and in HD for just $40 that is a great deal and a must buy for both silent hill fans and survival horror fans.
  4. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Arguably the greatest survival horror franchise just got ten times better. Fans of the series especially those who have been there since the beginning are going to fall in love with this game. New voice actors that add so much to the story and hd graphics are the ultimate nod to silent hill buffs. While seasoned vets will love this collection, players whove barely entered the fray areArguably the greatest survival horror franchise just got ten times better. Fans of the series especially those who have been there since the beginning are going to fall in love with this game. New voice actors that add so much to the story and hd graphics are the ultimate nod to silent hill buffs. While seasoned vets will love this collection, players whove barely entered the fray are going to have a hard time using last gen controls. But give it a chance and silent hill will suck you in with story elements that were ahead of its time and atmosphere that will have you checking under your bed at night. Buy this game its worth more then the 40 bucks it costs !! Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    Having never played Silent Hill 2 or 3 when I was younger, I decided to jump into what many have dubbed the true classics, or embodiment of the survival horror genre, and I was impressed. Unlike the typical horror of today, focusing on cheap scares, and soundtrack jumps to physically frighten the character, Silent Hill does more:
    In an earlier review of mine for Amnesia: The Dark Descent,
    Having never played Silent Hill 2 or 3 when I was younger, I decided to jump into what many have dubbed the true classics, or embodiment of the survival horror genre, and I was impressed. Unlike the typical horror of today, focusing on cheap scares, and soundtrack jumps to physically frighten the character, Silent Hill does more:
    In an earlier review of mine for Amnesia: The Dark Descent, I explained the three types of horror:
    1) A monster jumps out of a closet trying to kill you, and you blow it away with heavy ordinance (Doom 3 for example).
    2) A monster jumps out of a closet into a brightly lit room before dancing in the light for camera time before killing you (Dead Space).
    3) A monster is not in a closet but following behind you, and you don't know when it will attack you, or if it's even a monster.
    The first two are representative of Hollywood, and the typical horror genre in general, but the third is what Silent Hill does best. It was created to get under your skin, and that's exactly what it does best. It gets under your skin, and claws at your insides, yes it's that disturbing, and that hard hitting. The reason it's so successfully terrifying is because it doesn't throw monsters at you left, and right, it focuses on human nature, twisting it to such a disturbing extent, and all the while your left to stay sane while playing it. Although these games are fairly old, they most certainly are not becoming outdated. The only complaints I can think of are outdated controls (understandable due to its age), and the new voices that were recorded are terrible. If you're going to play it, pick the original voices, because they are far superior.
    A must play if you haven't gotten it already. Well worth the full price.
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    If you ever loved silent hill. You should definetly buy this right now! Everything about this is perfect. the scares are still as effective as they were 10 years ago.
  7. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Played this collection the last couple of days, this is my experience so far. The HD remarstered collection offers great value, the graphic looks crisp, and specialy Silent hill 2 is looking great considered its age. The new voices are a great offer. The old one seems kind of weird listening to, like the emotional sequences sound unrealistic and outdated. The sound effects are still great,Played this collection the last couple of days, this is my experience so far. The HD remarstered collection offers great value, the graphic looks crisp, and specialy Silent hill 2 is looking great considered its age. The new voices are a great offer. The old one seems kind of weird listening to, like the emotional sequences sound unrealistic and outdated. The sound effects are still great, and still makes you s#4i! your pants, too bad the music ha sent been remasterd too, like the voices. There are some small texture problems, and some small framerate issues, but nothing thats inflicts the great experience of revisiting Silent Hill in these two great games. Expand
  8. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    I don't like silent hill, but I need reconize that this game is supreme, have 2 excellent games, with a sorpresive story, this game is better than Downpour, yeah can be old games, but are better than the new game. Silent Hill HD Collection is a classic.
  9. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    Do not read the user and critic reviews that gave the "HD remake"6 and above, they should be reported for abuse and fired!! This is the worst HD remake I EVER played, and is a slap to the original PS2 creators. Konami should be ashamed of releasing this sh!t and buying out people to rate this game a 10.
  10. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    For God's sake, stop crying about things you read and you don't even notice, graphic are OK and the HD textures are great. Course there are some glitches like every game have, and the new voices are much better.
  11. Mar 22, 2012
    0
    If you played silent hill 2 and 3 and liked them this is a auto 10, if you thought they were good before pretty much they just got better with the graphics update, hands down buy this! plus its only 40$ which just makes it 20 times better, if your new to silent hill and are a newer gamer (as in you started playing games on Xbox 360 and ps3 gen) then this is prob not for you as these areIf you played silent hill 2 and 3 and liked them this is a auto 10, if you thought they were good before pretty much they just got better with the graphics update, hands down buy this! plus its only 40$ which just makes it 20 times better, if your new to silent hill and are a newer gamer (as in you started playing games on Xbox 360 and ps3 gen) then this is prob not for you as these are old Xbox and Ps2 games and made to be a nostalgia effect on us who grew up with the silent hill series


    i dont see how you guys are saying there is glitch's not once in my game i played i did not see one glitch.... i installed my game to HDD idk if that helped or something but i heard the PS3 had a big glitch in it
    Collapse
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Apr 27, 2012
    40
    Unless you want to experience a butchered version of Silent Hill 2 and a somewhat decent Silent Hill 3, don't buy this collection.
  2. 70
    Nostalgic fans are likely to enjoy it, but by modern standards, these games lack cohesion and are flawed in such ways that new players probably won't.
  3. Apr 21, 2012
    70
    New players who haven't played these before should certainly give this compilation a shot, but those who have played these before would be better served by playing on the older systems instead.