User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 53
  2. Negative: 22 out of 53
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    6
    I like it but I never went back after the 2nd game so its ok so buy it for 4 year olds but not for older kids and in Australia the figures are not that detail
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    5
    While Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure has a very interesting concept, it suffers from one big problem: the lack of originality. The story is very bland with almost no thought put into it, the gameplay is as unoriginal as it can get and the graphics, while not horrible, could be a lot better. The characters themselves are also quite bland in terms of concept, especially in the nameWhile Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure has a very interesting concept, it suffers from one big problem: the lack of originality. The story is very bland with almost no thought put into it, the gameplay is as unoriginal as it can get and the graphics, while not horrible, could be a lot better. The characters themselves are also quite bland in terms of concept, especially in the name department. The portal can also be quite unresponsive at times. The level design is okay for the most part. This isn't a bad game by any means, but nothing really stands out. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    6
    Okay, let's try to be as unbiased as possible in this review. Spyro was my **** childhood, spyro was freakin awesome, he had fire and ice and lightning and wind, and he was a sarcastic smart aleck, so you could imagine a 7 year old boy looking up to him. That being said, skylanders does not feel like a spyro game. Even though his name is in the title, you honestly don't even need him toOkay, let's try to be as unbiased as possible in this review. Spyro was my **** childhood, spyro was freakin awesome, he had fire and ice and lightning and wind, and he was a sarcastic smart aleck, so you could imagine a 7 year old boy looking up to him. That being said, skylanders does not feel like a spyro game. Even though his name is in the title, you honestly don't even need him to complete the game. I mean, he's not a bad character in this game or anything, he just... Ehh. The whole selling point for skylanders is the fact that you can switch in characters whenever you want, right? Well, as cool as this is, it kind of takes a way from the overall epicness of the game's story. Some of the heroic struggle is lost when you can just rejuvenate all of your health by switching characters mid battle or take him off the portal so you can take a dump or something. The cutscenes are funny, TBH. Spyros character isn't much different either, he's still a smart aleck, brave, tough, all that good stuff. It just seems like they threw spyros name in there for no reason except to attract spyro fans.
    Overall, it's not a bad game by any means, it just isn't the epic spyro game I thought I would be.
    Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2011
    8
    I just picked up this game a few days ago and im loving it. It does hold your hand a little too much but in the end it is a "kids" game. Im 29 with no kids and me and my wife both played that crap out of it. I do think they made a major mistake though by making the game co-op only. If i could battle on-line with anyone across xbox live this game would have had endless replay vaule and iI just picked up this game a few days ago and im loving it. It does hold your hand a little too much but in the end it is a "kids" game. Im 29 with no kids and me and my wife both played that crap out of it. I do think they made a major mistake though by making the game co-op only. If i could battle on-line with anyone across xbox live this game would have had endless replay vaule and i would have no problem buying and caping every chrs lvl but instead i am only buying one of each element and probly going to be tired of it in a few weeks. Every time i turn it on the battle mode just sits there and taunts me laughing at the fact that i can only play it with my wife. Im a perty hard core gamer and spend the majority of my gaming on COD and battle field but i am a huge sucker for lvling up and collecting so this game really killed me when i found out it didnt support on-line play. Whoevers call it was to not have on-line play needs to be fired. This game is a great idea and a load of fun but its short lived and makes me feel like ive been short changed. A good game that could have been so much more Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    80
    Without a doubt, Skylander's Spyro's Adventure is the best family-friendly, everybody-pleasing title I've seen in quite some time, and has handily eclipsed that other collect'-em-all franchise as the go-to at our house.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jan 10, 2012
    50
    Decent game hindered by hidden costs. [Jan 2012, p.98]
  3. Dec 22, 2011
    90
    One of the most original concepts to hit the industry in the past two or three years, Skylanders is also just fun to play.