Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure Xbox 360

Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The small purple dragon returns, bringing with him new friends in this peripheral-based adventure.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    90
    One of the most original concepts to hit the industry in the past two or three years, Skylanders is also just fun to play.
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    88
    Overall, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure is one of the more innovative gaming experiences I have played on the Xbox 360 to date. Its cross-platforming abilities, slick looking toy figures, and enjoyable gameplay all make for a game which should not only please long time Spyro fans, but will surely satisfy the games younger target audience.
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    85
    Ultimately, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure is a joy to play and a surprising treat that is destined to be the most talked-about game of the holiday season.
  4. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    Armed with a nice roster of characters, Skylanders is an engrossing experience. Outside of an odd difficulty spike at the end and a few less-than-polished moments, the game hits its target. If I were a kid, I have no doubt I'd be saving my pennies to buy more Skylanders. However, as an adult, it's hard not to feel manipulated.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    80
    While the game is fun in its own right, the figures and portal make it into more than just the average adventure game. The price may be a little steep, with the game constantly encouraging players to buy more characters, but the figures are well made and make great collectables.
  6. Oct 26, 2011
    80
    This one is a must buy for kids, it's the ultimate RPG for our younger gamers. Furthermore the game has a whole new element: the portal of power. For the first time one can put little characters on the portal and play with them inmediately in the game.
  7. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jan 10, 2012
    50
    Decent game hindered by hidden costs. [Jan 2012, p.98]

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 29
  2. Negative: 11 out of 29
  1. CL1
    Nov 10, 2011
    10
    For kids that are 6 to 10 years old this game can't be beat. My nephew and niece love that you take a real toy put it on the portal and itFor kids that are 6 to 10 years old this game can't be beat. My nephew and niece love that you take a real toy put it on the portal and it comes to life in the game. Each character has different attacks which make them fun to change. The story and game play are fun, easy to follow and safe for kids. This is a game everyone in the family can sit around a play together. I highly recommend it; I'm off to buy a three pack of new characters, enjoy! Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    My son is 7 and he absolutely loves this game. I am not ashamed to say... I also enjoy playing alongside him. I see quite a few peopleMy son is 7 and he absolutely loves this game. I am not ashamed to say... I also enjoy playing alongside him. I see quite a few people complaining about the cost of all the characters. But honestly I'm not sure why. Unless you have the desire to buy all the characters at once. Personally, I like the idea of waiting a while and then getting a few more characters. It's certainly cheaper than buying a whole new game. Skylanders is the game I've been waiting for. Pure and simple fun. Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    I have a 3 year old girl and an 8 year old boy. Screw them! I bought this game for me. They're just my excuse. The game itself is a veryI have a 3 year old girl and an 8 year old boy. Screw them! I bought this game for me. They're just my excuse. The game itself is a very good platformer, and the toy combo is perfect. Nostalgia has taken a lot of Spyro Fans too much that they forget that the original games were equally as childish- they were just younger back then. I would hate on Activision if I could, trust me. They're my #2 worst publisher. But they hit it out of the park. The figures are actually quality, and the game is fun. Be careful, though, because the 3DS version is NOT multiplayer. Which was, in my opinion, Activision's biggest mistake. Other than that, I can say so far it's a major hit with each person controlling their characters and we switched out as necessary. For people who have kids, this game is a GODSEND. An $8 character will completely renew interest. So fanboys took one for the team. It's still a great game. Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    An amusing dungeon crawler that mixes Spyro and Diablo in a weird way. It uses the figures as an amusing way to change characters on the fly.An amusing dungeon crawler that mixes Spyro and Diablo in a weird way. It uses the figures as an amusing way to change characters on the fly. Every level is set up the same way. Get from point A to B and collect treasure and kill bad guys. You can level your character and that characters stats are saved to the figure so that you can bring it a friends house. That also allows you use figures cross platform which is neat. However the downside is unlocking new characters is predicated on you buying more figures and that costs a lot of money. The game also sets itself up so that you can't unlock areas of the game with a character from each of the elemental classes in the game. Other than that money making move the game is a lot of fun. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    5
    While Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure has a very interesting concept, it suffers from one big problem: the lack of originality. The story isWhile Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure has a very interesting concept, it suffers from one big problem: the lack of originality. The story is very bland with almost no thought put into it, the gameplay is as unoriginal as it can get and the graphics, while not horrible, could be a lot better. The characters themselves are also quite bland in terms of concept, especially in the name department. The portal can also be quite unresponsive at times. The level design is okay for the most part. This isn't a bad game by any means, but nothing really stands out. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2011
    2
    Even for a series that has never exactly been stellar, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure sets the bar particularly low. The story is exceptionallyEven for a series that has never exactly been stellar, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure sets the bar particularly low. The story is exceptionally trite, the script asks very little of the voice-actors, and the gameplay is bare-bones simple (even as it holds your hand through the most rudimentary mental exercises).

    There are no platforming elements to speak of (you can't even jump in the console versions!) and practically any platforming-esque mechanic is either performed automatically (conveniently placed bounce-pads replace the aforementioned jumping) or is explained a half dozen times by in-your-face visual cues, constant narrative hints, and pop-up text explanations. The enemies in this game are laughable and should never pose the slightest threat to your life total. Graphically, the Spyro series was never really a powerhouse, and it is obvious that the same amount of effort went into this title. This could have been a PS1 title. It is marketed towards the elementary-school set, though, so it gets a pass.

    The toy mechanic itself is cute and sure to be a hit with kids from ages 9 to 90, but when taken as a whole with the design decisions in the game proper, it comes across as exceptionally aggressive marketing. Different characters basically play exactly the same as any other, even Spyro himself (which explains the loss of jumping and gliding: lazy design), with one financially relevant caveat.

    The element attached to each character serves as a key to access locked areas (ie: only a fire element skylander can unlock a fire element area) and a damage modifier is applied for certain elements in some areas as well. What this effectively does is force you to pay for additional figures in order to unlock the full content of your already expensive purchase. And why wouldn't you, after finding the character-specific advertisements sprinkled about each level that unlock abilities and short intro videos for figures that didn't come with the core package! There are already expansion packs available as well.

    When distilled to its purest form, Sklanders: Spyro's Adventure is essentially a poorly made toy tie-in game that thinks you or your children aren't intelligent enough to figure out how to solve basic challenges without being told exactly what to do in at least three separate ways. To unlock the full breadth of this franchise-turned-shovelware experience you must needs spend something to the tune of a hundred dollars, though you do get some cute toys in the process.

    And hey, at least there are hats.
    Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    This game is the worst game ive ever played. This 1, is not spyro. They only used the name spyro for it to sell. They should of left spyroThis game is the worst game ive ever played. This 1, is not spyro. They only used the name spyro for it to sell. They should of left spyro alone and started a new IP. But no, they yet again gotta ruin the spyro name. Why dont they learn and go back to the original spyro that always got good reviews. (not enter the dragonfly tho). Expand

See all 29 User Reviews