Sleeping Dogs Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 441 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 441

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game. Superb city that is huge and has a lot to offer. The graphics are outstanding and all of the gameplay elements work really well. Sleeper hit of 2012, no doubt in my mind.
  2. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best, if not the best, games of the year, Sleeping Dogs hits all the right notes in all the right places. An engaging story, well developed characters, multiple side-missions, a great balance between realism and arcade style driving, fast-paced shooting, and last, but definitely not least, an excellent hand to hand and melee weapons combat system. This game is for sure a mustOne of the best, if not the best, games of the year, Sleeping Dogs hits all the right notes in all the right places. An engaging story, well developed characters, multiple side-missions, a great balance between realism and arcade style driving, fast-paced shooting, and last, but definitely not least, an excellent hand to hand and melee weapons combat system. This game is for sure a must play this year, and who knows, it could be a contender for GOTY. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This game deserves to be Game of The Year in my opinion. Everything that is put in this game is amazing. The story is absolutely amazing and how it is told is amazing. The combat is fluid and fun and never gets boring. When you are done with the campaign no worries you can do the very fun activities and favors that are in the world. You can also collect the hundreds of lock boxes the worldThis game deserves to be Game of The Year in my opinion. Everything that is put in this game is amazing. The story is absolutely amazing and how it is told is amazing. The combat is fluid and fun and never gets boring. When you are done with the campaign no worries you can do the very fun activities and favors that are in the world. You can also collect the hundreds of lock boxes the world has along with the Jade statues that unlock you new moves to use in combat. A very solid title and i hope to see some dlc for this game very soon and hopefully a Sleeping Dogs 2. 10/10 Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    Best game i have played last year. Great story, great characters and incredible soundtrack. Detailizing huge city with superb atmosphere. And veeery good fights!)
  5. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    love this game. has character. not as polished as GTA but GTA is getting stale. even though GTA has different location themes, they feel like the same game with tweaks. not saying its better than GTA but people who dismiss this because theyre GTA fans are missing out.
  6. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    this is gonna be the most underrated game of the year, yes, I said it, the graphics are nice and the story is extremely amazing, the combat in this game is flawless and the driving feels just right. I won't say the game is perfect, since after you complete it, there is little to nothing interesting to be done.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    I was really looking forward to this game, and I am not disappointed. The story (so far) is believable and well written. The city is living and breathing and very enjoyable to inhabit. The attention to detail is remarkable: you can see bugs crawling on the ground! The voice acting is superb. As for the gameplay, the driving is great, a great mix between realistic and arcadish. The freeI was really looking forward to this game, and I am not disappointed. The story (so far) is believable and well written. The city is living and breathing and very enjoyable to inhabit. The attention to detail is remarkable: you can see bugs crawling on the ground! The voice acting is superb. As for the gameplay, the driving is great, a great mix between realistic and arcadish. The free running sections are very fun, it's great to run around jumping and sliding to evade the cops. The combat is perfect and challenging. Some may find it a little too challenging... it takes some time getting used to, but free flow with counters and environmental takedowns is just awesome (it's like Batman meets the Bourne Conspiracy). Gunplay is satisfying and focused on moving forward, since you can combine some free running and melee with it, giving a good pace to it. You can stay in cover if you want to, but it's a lot more enjoyable not to. Had this game been published by Rockstar, the reviews probably would have been better. I mean, GTA4 was good, but not as enjoyable as this game was for me... and the reviews were so biased it's not even funny. If you're looking for a solid open-world game with great gameplay and a compelling storyline, I recommend this game hands down. Expand
  8. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Normally I find only one good game per year. 2010 it was GTA IV. 2011 it was Red Dead Redemption. 2012 I found three: Metro 2033, L.A. Noire and Witcher 2. All three completely blew me away, I was spending nights in front of them. Now 2013 starts even better: Sleeping Dogs is way better than GTA IV, indeed it is even better than I suppose GTA 5 to become. Basically, you do the same things,Normally I find only one good game per year. 2010 it was GTA IV. 2011 it was Red Dead Redemption. 2012 I found three: Metro 2033, L.A. Noire and Witcher 2. All three completely blew me away, I was spending nights in front of them. Now 2013 starts even better: Sleeping Dogs is way better than GTA IV, indeed it is even better than I suppose GTA 5 to become. Basically, you do the same things, open world with short fighting missions. What makes the difference, is the fighting and shooting with some RPG-style feature development. Also, graphics and animations are more than state of art. Finally, I like the plot and the characters. This game deserves a 10. Expand
  9. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sleeping Dogs is an open-world game with good graphics, varied gameplay and a little humor and gore.
    For me is a great game and maybe the best sandbox in the year, also it has all the components of a sandbox: A good system of combat, gunfight, car chases.
    To sum up I recommend this game
    Expand
  10. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Sleepings Dogs is just an amazing game, with a well written story and all the great qualities of a sandbox game, so hopefully this can become a well known a series as GTA and SR. If you haven't played it yet, your denying yourself from playing one of the best games of the year.
  11. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    This is a class game, it's different but good in its own way. Way too many people comparing it to GTA and saying it doesn't compare. But That's good, I think because GTA is such a benchmark for open world games every other open worlder is then compared to it. When I want another GTA game il buy GTA 5 and then compare that to the past GTA's. Rant over, Sleeping dogs is a different creatureThis is a class game, it's different but good in its own way. Way too many people comparing it to GTA and saying it doesn't compare. But That's good, I think because GTA is such a benchmark for open world games every other open worlder is then compared to it. When I want another GTA game il buy GTA 5 and then compare that to the past GTA's. Rant over, Sleeping dogs is a different creature entirely. Gritty and violent, class graphics and good slick gameplay and fight scenes, comparable to assassins creeds fight system. The driving and gunplay are equally sick. And the slow motion is a nice feature and works well. The game is far from sluggish and who doesn't want to blaze into a fight, parkour over a market stall at breakneck speed, smashing the contents of the stall over and bowling over the shop vendor in the process, charge into a few guys, throw some sick combos in, counter a guys attack the. Charge him onto a shop counter and smash down the roller shutter through his torso. To sum up, the game is awesome, a good solid free roamer with good voice acting, believable characters and good story. All of the things a story driven game should. A good driver, shooter and fighter. And all the while you feel like a bad ass. For all those comparers out there it's a Gta, Assassins Creed, Just Cause, Max Payne, True Crime, Warriors mix, and it's good for all those reasons. Expand
  12. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    I was expecting this game to be very good and it has proved to be an amazing game... I really love the way they have given so much oppurtunities for the gamer... Such side missions and all.... Its an amazing game.
  13. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    I truly loved this game, from the very exciting start to the climatic ending I sat there with a look of awe, the world that the team at United Front Games did a wonderful job. I loved the characters the missions and the combat, really their was no fault that i found with the game, ya the graphics isn't on a frostbite 2 level but it was so immersing that you will not care, in fact the onlyI truly loved this game, from the very exciting start to the climatic ending I sat there with a look of awe, the world that the team at United Front Games did a wonderful job. I loved the characters the missions and the combat, really their was no fault that i found with the game, ya the graphics isn't on a frostbite 2 level but it was so immersing that you will not care, in fact the only other world i can think of with this much detail placed in it is Skyrim. In short it will not be the general GOTY but it will be the sleeper hit of the year, I can not wait for another chance to hope back in now if you will excuse me a second play-through is in my future. Expand
  14. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    This game owns!!! The martial arts is super sweet, if you like running around Hong Kong super kicking fools as hard as you can, I would highly suggest this beast. This one dude on the skreet looked at me funny, so i took his umbrella and beat the living heck out of him with it. Its cool cause if you start fights with people who can't fight, they will try to punch you like a woman andThis game owns!!! The martial arts is super sweet, if you like running around Hong Kong super kicking fools as hard as you can, I would highly suggest this beast. This one dude on the skreet looked at me funny, so i took his umbrella and beat the living heck out of him with it. Its cool cause if you start fights with people who can't fight, they will try to punch you like a woman and you simply RUIN THEIR WORLDS. If you like tooling around a foreign city, wrecking lives all day, then I would deff check this nasty mess out, the gunplay is pretty fat too, the driving is acceptable, the streets are narrow so that can be a little tough but the fighting is super nasty, i forget to do the missions most of the time cause I'm too busy WRECKING SHOP Expand
  15. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    sleeping dogs what can i say awesome game, story is brill side missions are cool, just hope they make new missions to download, the fighting is better than batman arkham city, the driving is a little lose but nothing really to complain about, the best thing no helicopters or planes, the only way to make this game better is to have a map the size of just cause 2, and catch a plane fromsleeping dogs what can i say awesome game, story is brill side missions are cool, just hope they make new missions to download, the fighting is better than batman arkham city, the driving is a little lose but nothing really to complain about, the best thing no helicopters or planes, the only way to make this game better is to have a map the size of just cause 2, and catch a plane from hong kong to america. now that will be interesting to see Expand
  16. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Awesome! This game has to be the best I've played in a while, whilst GTA focuses on endless pockets you can only really carry 1 gun in Sleeping Dogs. Which I think is a good thing and helps the game seem more realistic, gameplay is great and the free roam aspect is so in-depth I forget the missions are even there. 10 out of 10 and a must buy (or rent)
  17. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Sleeping Dogs is a game that almost never saw the light of day, which is shocking considering how good this game turned out. The core gameplay in Sleeping Dogs offers a lot of variety. The driving is fun and arcade-like, so the handling is simple and intuitive, but it offers depth, like ramming your enemies off of the road or jumping from your car to another car and jacking it. TheSleeping Dogs is a game that almost never saw the light of day, which is shocking considering how good this game turned out. The core gameplay in Sleeping Dogs offers a lot of variety. The driving is fun and arcade-like, so the handling is simple and intuitive, but it offers depth, like ramming your enemies off of the road or jumping from your car to another car and jacking it. The shooting is basic, so it doesn't offer much depth, but there is a bullet-time feature, a la Max Payne, which makes gun combat really fun, though it must be noted that gun combat is not the focus of the game. Now onto melee, which is the focus of the game, is similar to the combat in Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, meaning it's a ton of fun and pretty stylish. In addition, you can use context-sensitive environmental attacks, allowing you to shove an enemy's head in a fan, throw him in a dumpster, impale him on swordfish, etc. It's all handled pretty gracefully and flows together nicely. Now onto the parkour, which is a real blast. Your character can climb, jump, leap, etc., so your character has real agility and makes you feel like you can get away from any bad situation or chase after those who are trying to escape you. Sleeping Dogs has a lot of talent, all lending to the story, voice acting, and the cast of characters. In many pre-release trailers and previews, they pointed out Hollywood talent like Emma Stone, but just about everyone here contributes their voice talents to make the story and characters interesting and fully realized. While the story isn't original, it's done so well that originality isn't necessary. This is a game that knows what it wants to be and completely succeeds at it. This is a top notch production from beginning to end. Without a doubt, Sleeping Dogs is my favorite looking game of this kind. To compare, you have Grand Theft Auto IV and the Saints Row games, and I believe Sleeping Dogs is the most impressive looking of the bunch. While the map is smaller and surely allows for more details, it's those details that make the world feel like it's living and breathing, which adds to the overall atmosphere of this beautiful world that is yours to explore and discover all of the little secrets it has packed within it. Expand
  18. M1R
    Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This game is AWESOME. To be honest, the story, characters, features and all that are GREAT. The best part of the game is the dopeness of the melee combat system. If you're the guy who plays this type of game and haven't played it before yet, I'D SAY YOU GO GRAB THIS GAME AND U WON'T REGRET IT!!!
  19. May 7, 2013
    10
    The game is incredibly good. And this is coming from a gamer who doesn't play any GTA or similar. The story is mature and good, Honk Kong is full of life, side-quests and collectibles and the gameplay is quite enjoyable in every way possible.
    And now is on 'Classics', so it's a must buy :D
  20. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    I'll tell you ahead of the game, beautiful, good, and boredom. I recommend.
    But there are graphical errors, I could not tell you anything. If you play the game out, then you can still do side missions. They are good.
  21. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    It's a delight to find a game that does a GTA game better than GTA. The combat is vastly superior to all entries of the GTA franchise, the storyline is tense and engage all the way through and the arcade-like style of driving makes for an exhilarating experience of Hong Kong...also makes me hungry for Pork Buns...
  22. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    This game is simply fantastic. In the alley of the GTA series, this game brings something more to the genre. The world (Hongkong) feels alive and vivid, the combat system is good and fun, the main-missions and side-missions are exciting and the character you control that jumps between police and triad missions feels conflicted and interesting. In comparison with GTA IV this game feels aThis game is simply fantastic. In the alley of the GTA series, this game brings something more to the genre. The world (Hongkong) feels alive and vivid, the combat system is good and fun, the main-missions and side-missions are exciting and the character you control that jumps between police and triad missions feels conflicted and interesting. In comparison with GTA IV this game feels a lot more complete in my opinion, and it sometimes feels like they took GTA IV and remade it the right way.

    I wanted to write something negative about this game since there is always something with every game, but im really struggling to find something. This game just holds you tight for the entire ride, and its well worth buying!
    Expand
  23. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Definitely a must buy. At first I thought that this game would be a mistake to buy but them after a few minutes I fell inlove with this game and all of the content that comes with it especially at the end leaving me with a sad face because a game as good as this should never end.
  24. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    Damn, this game was, and still is, great. Just beat it after 3 days of playing. The story was awesome, the combat was intense, and I could walk around for hours aimlessly, admiring the scenery. The graphics where beautiful, especially when it was raining. The sound track fit in well with every situation, and the radio has enough genres for everyone to enjoy. Still got more then 75% of theDamn, this game was, and still is, great. Just beat it after 3 days of playing. The story was awesome, the combat was intense, and I could walk around for hours aimlessly, admiring the scenery. The graphics where beautiful, especially when it was raining. The sound track fit in well with every situation, and the radio has enough genres for everyone to enjoy. Still got more then 75% of the side missions to complete, barely started on the collectibles, and people to one up on the leader boards. Expand
  25. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    This is one of the better open-world games not named Batman: Arkham City, GTA or Saints Row. The action in of itself is combination of both Batman and Saints Row with a tad more realism of GTA. The portrayal of Hong Kong is surprisingly accurate although abbreviated. The acting is amazing. The story has elements of Infernal Affairs and pays homages to other Hong Kong/martial artsThis is one of the better open-world games not named Batman: Arkham City, GTA or Saints Row. The action in of itself is combination of both Batman and Saints Row with a tad more realism of GTA. The portrayal of Hong Kong is surprisingly accurate although abbreviated. The acting is amazing. The story has elements of Infernal Affairs and pays homages to other Hong Kong/martial arts films. The cons include the traveling between the islands of Hong Kong which should be improved (hopefully) by the next installment, and the constant use of items. The RPG-hybrid portion of the game is done very well. Overall, it's a must-buy although it still begs for some improvements. Expand
  26. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    I waited and followed this game since its name change to "Sleeping Dogs", being a more catchy title and signaling the end of its attachment to the dead "True Crime" series. This game is superb! The voice acting is pure quality, and helps to create a connection to the characters that flourish in this bright, neon ridden, hong kong. As you play you'll notice a smartly written script thatI waited and followed this game since its name change to "Sleeping Dogs", being a more catchy title and signaling the end of its attachment to the dead "True Crime" series. This game is superb! The voice acting is pure quality, and helps to create a connection to the characters that flourish in this bright, neon ridden, hong kong. As you play you'll notice a smartly written script that brings these characters to life and begins a connection to these characters however this connection is weak. The city these characters inhabit breathes better than most open world games, specifically steelport (Saints Row). The citizens of this city seem as if they really had always been living there and go about their day engaging in convesations with other citizens. The gameplay is fun and grounded in aspects similar too grand theft auto 4 though and saints row, which is a perfect combo. Those who loved San Andreas will feel right at home. Those who loved both grand theft auto, red dead redemption, and saints row are guaranteed love this title. Expand
  27. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    Giving it a 9
    No matter how bad people say it is
    I still enjoy it especially I'm a Hong Kong people
    Hugh props to the developer on data researching
    With one example
    I saw a bus in the game with a no. 307 to Tai Po
    I live in Tai Po and the bus no. of the bus that go between Hong Kong Island and Tai Po is 307!
    I was stunned
  28. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    I've been playing for a little over 5 hours now and I'm having fun. It's definitely GTA set in Hong Kong, but still...the story is better, the fighting is 1000 times better than GTA4's fighting. The graphics are good and overall it's just a fun game with a decent story. I give it 9 out of 10 ching chongs.
  29. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    A great game with a solid engine and batman-esque hand to hand combat. Hong Kong is recreated brilliantly with lively streets and a real Hong Kong feel. The driving aspects take a bit of getting used to as the handling can range from under to over sensitive at some points. The story is fantastically laid out and it really sucks the player into the main characters situations. One of theA great game with a solid engine and batman-esque hand to hand combat. Hong Kong is recreated brilliantly with lively streets and a real Hong Kong feel. The driving aspects take a bit of getting used to as the handling can range from under to over sensitive at some points. The story is fantastically laid out and it really sucks the player into the main characters situations. One of the games of the year if not the game of the year. Expand
  30. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    Presentation - 8.0 - Accessible story, if a little too simple. HUD and UI are very nice. Cutscenes could have been better directed though. Design - 9.5 - The best playing open world game this gen. Fantastic design choices all round, especially quick travel, easy access to vehicles and weapons and well implemented collectibles.

    Gameplay -8.8 - Combat is very responsive, as is the
    Presentation - 8.0 - Accessible story, if a little too simple. HUD and UI are very nice. Cutscenes could have been better directed though. Design - 9.5 - The best playing open world game this gen. Fantastic design choices all round, especially quick travel, easy access to vehicles and weapons and well implemented collectibles.

    Gameplay -8.8 - Combat is very responsive, as is the vehicle action. Free running aspects work great in this urban environment. Gunplay and cover could have been better though. Slo mo is not utilized as well. Graphics - 8.2 - Nice lighting and Rain effects. Detailed buildings however npc Character models suffer accordingly to importance of the character. Some look plain horrible.

    Audio - 8.5 - Classic HK cinema style score. Voices are great, but some of the song selection is very poor. Bonobo stands out as the highlight of the soundtrack. Lasting Appeal - 9.0 - There is a lot to do in this game. Side missions and favours are nicely paced and provide a nice break from the main campaign, which is a little on the short side. Overall 8.8/10
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    Sleeping Dogs had been in development as the next installment of Activision's "True Crime" franchise but the publisher ceased funding and cancelled it. Square Enix turned up to salvage the project and Sleeping Dogs was the result. The fact it turned out as good as it did -- that it's executed so well, performs as well as it does, sets the bar for open world combat and driving -- made Sleeping Dogs, story stumbles aside, the most surprising game of 2012.
  2. Sep 23, 2012
    80
    As much as it may lack polish and finesse, Sleeping Dogs makes up for its minor shortcomings with pure entertainment. [Issue#89,p.78]
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    Sleeping Dogs is an addictive diamond in the rough with a compelling story and insane combat only slightly let down by poor driving and racing mechanics. [Oct 2012, p.54]